Author Topic: Changing ISP number  (Read 3323 times)

Offline madasabox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Changing ISP number
« on: September 26, 2004, 01:07:29 AM »
I have downloaded free edition and on boot scan it said something about changing my ISP number.Whats that mean, I hope its not changing where I dial to, I am on a certain plan.Sorry to be so ignorant!

Offline Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9858
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2004, 04:31:43 AM »
Quote
it said something about changing my ISP number
What is the exact message you are getting?

Offline techie101returns

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2004, 05:16:58 AM »
madasa,

You are not ignorant by asking questions.....
certainly not here at the Forum.  I am  glad to help.

The Avast boot scan should not ask you to change ISP.
I do not suspect that Avast is the program asking.

Are you using a proxy server of any kind as part of your email client?

Avast might ask you to change POP/IMAP/SMTP server address, but not ISP.

Please explain exactly what you were doing when the error message appeared; the exact error message; and then......
Right click on the A ball in the tray and open up the Log Viewer.
Click on each icon in the left side panel and let me know if any alert messages are shown in the main panel and the category it appeared in.

I will take it from there....

« Last Edit: September 26, 2004, 05:53:03 AM by Techie101 »

Offline madasabox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2004, 09:48:18 PM »
hi there thanks for your answer but im still a bit lost. unfortunatley it was a mess that came up before i pressed for what had been downloaded to be installed. nad i didnt know what it meant but it definatley said something about my isp number changing. do i need to be worried and should i uninstall it ?
thanks for your help

Offline techie101returns

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2004, 10:39:47 PM »
madasa,

During the Avast download process, it would not ask for ISP or attempt to change it.

Were you downloading anything else after Avast?

At this point, I can't tell you whether to worry or not because I am not sure of what you have done.

How does the system appear to run?

Do a full Avast scan to see if everything is "clean".
Right click on the A ball in the tray and then click on "Start Avast".  When the GUI (User Interface) loads, click on the little icons to set the on demand scanner (Avast) to scan your hard drives.  Also set the "slider" to Thorough with Archives.

Also, the next little icon is for external and removable drives.  IF you have any, then set Avast to scan these too.

We will take it from there.

PS:  You didn't have NORTON installed prior to Avast did you?
« Last Edit: September 26, 2004, 10:42:53 PM by Techie101 »

Offline madasabox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2004, 03:55:26 PM »
madasa,

 and then......
Right click on the A ball in the tray and open up the Log Viewer.
Click on each icon in the left side panel and let me know if any alert messages are shown in the main panel and the category it appeared in.

I will take it from there....



not had error message again.After openign A ball I get
Under Warning - there are 10, date, time, application, description account

Under Notice - 1  date, time, application, description account

Offline madasabox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2004, 04:05:54 PM »
just started avast and got this

A virus was found there is no need to panic, however...try to follow the given advice.

Virus name - Win32:trojan-gen(VC)
FILENAME - C:/PROGRAMFILES/COMMONFILES/UPDMGR/UPDMGR.EXE

VPS 0439-2,24/9/04

Can I just go to this file in program files and delete it?
« Last Edit: September 28, 2004, 04:07:15 PM by madasabox »

Offline Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9858
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2004, 04:12:31 PM »
Your system is infected with adware. I suggest you click on the link in my signature and follow all steps on that page. Take your time, and do not rush things. Let us know if you still have a problem after doing so. If so, post a HijackThis log here.

Offline madasabox

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Changing ISP number
« Reply #8 on: October 02, 2004, 01:03:56 PM »
thanks all I am following all instructions now will let you know how it goes.I appreciate all your help

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now