Author Topic: Error 42127 Cab archive error while scanning Avast in Boot Scan Mode  (Read 3416 times)

Offline dakers

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
This has been a problem since Avast was created almost. Why don't the software designers do something about this.Microsoft is no help as much as avast. Fix the damn error.

Offline Asyn

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 24902
  • Frohe Ostern
    • >>>  avast! Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Error 42127 Cab archive error while scanning Avast in Boot Scan Mode
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2011, 06:23:50 PM »
This has been a problem since Avast was created almost. Why don't the software designers do something about this.Microsoft is no help as much as avast. Fix the damn error.

avast! tells you that the archive is corrupted.
What should an AV do about your corrupted archives...???
Nothing to fix here. ;)
XP SP3 - avast! 9.0.2018 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [On Demand] - Firefox ESR 24.4 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP] - Thunderbird 24.4 [EM/CH]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64877
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Error 42127 Cab archive error while scanning Avast in Boot Scan Mode
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2011, 02:38:12 PM »
What do you want? A shut up antivirus? One that does not report anything it couldn't do?
By the way, avast can be configurated to not show these errors if you're upset with them (Reports > uncheck "errors").
Oh, by the way again, it's not an avast fault at all... but the archive (.cab) itself.
The best things in life are free.

Offline QueenPendragon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Error 42127 Cab archive error while scanning Avast in Boot Scan Mode
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2011, 09:46:41 PM »
So what are these errors and how do we fix them? Mine was something about temporary internet files...do I just clean my cache? It did not say it couldn't scan, like I'm turning up in the search results, it just alerted to the error. But no infected files were found overall.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2011, 09:48:44 PM by QueenPendragon »

Offline Asyn

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 24902
  • Frohe Ostern
    • >>>  avast! Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Error 42127 Cab archive error while scanning Avast in Boot Scan Mode
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2011, 09:49:13 PM »
So what are these errors and how do we fix them? Mine was something about temporary internet files...do I just clean my cache?

Yes. Clean/Delete your temporary internet files.
XP SP3 - avast! 9.0.2018 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - MBAM 1.75 [On Demand] - Firefox ESR 24.4 [NS/ABP/EHH/BP] - Thunderbird 24.4 [EM/CH]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Pondus

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 21672
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Error 42127 Cab archive error while scanning Avast in Boot Scan Mode
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2011, 10:05:29 PM »
@QueenPendragon

you can use this program or CCleaner http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner

TFC - Temp File Cleaner by OldTimer
http://www.geekstogo.com/forum/files/file/187-tfc-temp-file-cleaner-by-oldtimer/
TFC requires a reboot immediately after running. Be sure to save any
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline QueenPendragon

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Error 42127 Cab archive error while scanning Avast in Boot Scan Mode
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2011, 12:09:21 AM »
How long should it take?  Has been going 4 45 min.  It is past temp files deleted and green bar keeps moving back and forth with picture logo kind of rapidly blinking

Edit: I jumped the gun, it finished not long after I phone posted that. I guess I need to use it regularly and it'll take less time.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 03:27:12 AM by QueenPendragon »

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now