Author Topic: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually  (Read 4920 times)

Offline Robert2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Hi,
For a few days now AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS has been unable to update automatically, or manually, for that matter. I invariably get a message saying that AVAST! could not connect to the server a954sl.avast.com (74.86.232.36.80).
I currently have AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS version 6.0.1091 with virus definitions 110502-1. These virus definitions had to be downloaded manually from http://www.avast.com/download-update.
Is there a current problem with the AVAST update server? Or is there a different cause?
I tried switching the firewall off to no avail.
Thanks for any suggestion.
Regards,
Robert

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2621
  • Gender: Male
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 01:01:04 PM »
Make sure to set Avast to "no proxy" in Settings -> Update.
And set to "Always connected".
« Last Edit: May 03, 2011, 01:03:30 PM by Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail) »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Robert2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2011, 03:37:31 PM »
Make sure to set Avast to "no proxy" in Settings -> Update.
And set to "Always connected".
Sorry but “no proxy” or “auto-detect” made no difference. AVAST still “cannot connect to server”.
I am on a dial-up connection. “Always connected” does not apply.

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64880
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2011, 03:40:12 PM »
Any firewall?
Any problem with the hosts file? (infection)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail)

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2621
  • Gender: Male
  • I can resist anything except temptation.
    • tex62
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2011, 03:51:13 PM »
Make sure to set Avast to "no proxy" in Settings -> Update.
And set to "Always connected".
Sorry but “no proxy” or “auto-detect” made no difference. AVAST still “cannot connect to server”.
I am on a dial-up connection. “Always connected” does not apply.

Check "always connected" anyway.

Please use this MS-tool to fix the Hosts-file: TOOL
Download the file to disk and then run it.

Download Malwarebytes Antimalware free by clicking on the blue MBAM in my signature.
Install it.
Start it.
Go to the update tab and update it.
Then start a "Quick scan" (takes only few minutes).
A log will appear after the scan - save that to your disk and post the file here (click "Additional Options" at the bottom of post editor window to attach the saved log file).

We'll continue then.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2011, 03:56:44 PM by Zyndstoff (aka Steven Gail) »
7 x64 SP1, FF 8a Aurora, TB6, 6.0.1203 Free
Free MBAM Clear

Offline Robert2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2011, 09:06:24 PM »
I did everything suggested.
To no avail.
AVAST still “cannot connect to server”.
Switching the firewall off did not help.
I am not sure that the “malware” found by the anti-malware application was actually “malware”. In any case, removing it changed nothing.
I am attaching the log file as requested.

Offline essexboy

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 28969
  • Gender: Male
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2011, 09:09:45 PM »
Go to Control Panel and select Internet Options
Select the Connections TAB
Select LAN settings button
Ensure there is no tick in the Proxy Server box
Select OK and restart Internet explorer


And for Firefox there are instructions on this page and you want the setting to be no proxy

THEN

First run the fixit on this page

 If that fails then try the following

  • To open a command prompt, click Start > All Programs > Accessories and then right click command prompt and select run as administrator. (Vista & 7 only)
  • Copy and paste (or type) the following command in the command box box and then press ENTER:
    netsh winsock reset c:\resetlog.txt
  • Reboot the computer.
  • In next reply please post content of the file c:\resetlog.txt

Offline Robert2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2011, 09:54:23 PM »
I did as suggested.
To no avail.
AVAST still “cannot connect to server”.
I am attaching the log file as requested.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2011, 10:26:01 PM »
I did everything suggested.
To no avail.
AVAST still “cannot connect to server”.
Switching the firewall off did not help.
<snip>

Switching off the firewall isn't a guarantee as its low level drivers will still be running and could have an impact.

What is your firewall ?
Does it allow avast.setup internet access ?
- If it does delete the entry for it and do a manual update, this should force the firewall to ask permission again.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Robert2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2011, 11:27:28 PM »
This system is running Comodo Firewall on Windows XP SP3.
“avast.setup” is a “trusted application” with Comodo (all requests are allowed).

Offline Robert2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2011, 11:35:39 PM »
I just tried updating AVAST manually. It worked even though I cannot fathom out why!
Thanks for all the help anyway!

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #11 on: May 04, 2011, 12:00:10 AM »
You're welcome.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline Robert2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2011, 06:43:04 AM »
On second thoughts, it seemed that reregistering “avast.setup” with Comodo did the trick. I am not quite sure, but I cannot think of any other explanation.
Many thanks to all for the wonderful community spirit!

Offline SpongeLikeCannon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #13 on: May 04, 2011, 10:24:06 AM »
Just had this exact same problem. Luckily I found this thread to fix it.

It was solved by going to Comodo Firewall - Define New Trusted Application - Browse running Processes (while avast was trying to update) - Avast.Setup

Fixed. Thanks.

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69208
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: unable to update AVAST! FREE ANTIVIRUS automatically, or manually
« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2011, 12:32:10 PM »
On second thoughts, it seemed that reregistering “avast.setup” with Comodo did the trick. I am not quite sure, but I cannot think of any other explanation.
Many thanks to all for the wonderful community spirit!

Sometimes it seems firewalls get digital amnesia and block what is listed as allowed; either removing the entry or reregistering it may jog its memory (resolve any corruption) ;D

Just had this exact same problem. Luckily I found this thread to fix it.

It was solved by going to Comodo Firewall - Define New Trusted Application - Browse running Processes (while avast was trying to update) - Avast.Setup

Fixed. Thanks.

You're welcome, good that you found the forum search function, a wealth of information is available on the forums.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now