Author Topic: How do I schedule a weekly scan in avast! free home edition? Newbie question.  (Read 2934 times)

Offline GadgetGuru72

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Hi, newbie here, so please forgive the potentially stupid question.

I cannot seem to figure out how to schedule avast! to run a full scan on a weekly basis.  I would like to schedule it to run a full, thorough scan every Friday night at 8pm.  However, I cannot figure out how to do this.

Your help is much appreciated.  Thank you.

Offline techie101returns

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Unfortunately, this is not possible in the Avast Home version.

Offline Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9858
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:How do I schedule a weekly scan in avast! free home edition?
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2004, 06:15:13 AM »
Use the taskscheduler in Windows.

Offline Anas

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
  • Gender: Male
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
and wich program to launch?

Offline Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9858
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:How do I schedule a weekly scan in avast! free home edition?
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2004, 04:49:55 PM »
You can use ashCmd for it. You can find the commands and switches for it in Avast's manual.

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:How do I schedule a weekly scan in avast! free home edition?
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2004, 07:15:40 PM »
Eddy, ashCmd.exe is only for Professional version... and there, you can schedule with easy by the GUI.
You can make a link to ashQuick.exe but you don't have parameters to be set.
Well, as we say a lot of times, scheduling is for Professional version. Windows Tasks won't solve the entire problem.  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9858
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Yup, you are right Technical. While you where posting your message I already was busy correcting it.

There is a way to shedule a scan with the Home version. Info on how to do it can be found HERE.

Anyway it is a good reason to buy the Pro version :D

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
There is a way to shedule a scan with the Home version. Info on how to do it can be found HERE.

Indeed, a very good explanation about what can be done in Home version...  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline techie101returns

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Yes, it indeed works.

I just finished trying it, but a bit too long and complicated for most users.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now