Author Topic: Move to chest  (Read 5525 times)

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Move to chest
« on: November 06, 2004, 10:38:25 PM »
I would like that Avast doesn't ask for confirmation when he finds an infected file but automatically moves all infected files to chest. I enabled the "move to chest" in the "Task Properties Screensaver" (see screenshot 1).

Screenshot 1:


Question 1: When I am doing a manual scan (see screenshot 2), will Avast use the same settings as defined for the screensaver? If not, how must I configurate the manual scan to automatically move infected files to chest?

Screenshot 2:


Question 2: When I am doing a "Scheduled boot-time scan" (see screenshot 3), will Avast use the same settings as defined for the screensaver? If not, how must I configurate the "Scheduled boot-time scan" to automatically move infected files to chest? ("Scheduled boot-time scan" doesn't have a "move to chest"-option)

Screenshot 3:


Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2004, 10:49:50 PM »
Eric, there isn't the possibility of sending the file to chest in boot time scanning. Chest is not available there as the drivers won't started at that time. It's not possible.
You can only send automatically to Chest into normal operation of the Pro version (Virus page) or Silent mode for Home version.  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2004, 12:03:22 AM »
Ok I understand for the Scheduled boot-time scan.

You said that it is possible in normal operation.
Where in the normal scan settings (see screenshot 4) can I put the normal scan in "Silent Mode" so that infected files will be automatically moved to chest?

Screenshot 4:


Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2004, 12:06:25 AM »
I am using the Avast Home Version

Offline Eddy

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 9859
  • Gender: Male
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2004, 02:36:05 AM »
Eric, please do not post screencaptures when not needed. Telling us what you mean is normally enough. Not everyone on this board has broadband ;)

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2004, 11:08:36 AM »
You said that it is possible in normal operation.
Where in the normal scan settings (see screenshot 4) can I put the normal scan in "Silent Mode" so that infected files will be automatically moved to chest?

Yes, eric, it's possible.

Left click the 'a' blue icon.
It will start On-access protection

Click on Standard Shield and then on Customize.
Go to Advanced tab and select Silent Mode and the default answer No.

Do the same for the Internet Mail provider.

Silent Mode and default No will send the file to Chest.
Silent Mode and default Yes will delete the file (irreversible).
The best things in life are free.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2004, 01:20:02 PM »
You have four ways to scan a file:
- screensaver scan (screenshot 1)
- boot-time scan (screenshot 3)
- resident scan (example: standard shield)
- manual scan (screenshot 2)

The settings for silent mode you explained are for the "resident" scan. How do I configurate Avast so that the infected files will be automatically be moved to chest during the "manual" scan (see screenshot 2 and screenshot 4)?

I want to scan my whole harddisk during the night using the manual scan and I don't want that he puts the scan on "pause" when he finds a virus but automatically move infected files to chest.

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2004, 01:28:28 PM »
I want to scan my whole harddisk during the night using the manual scan and I don't want that he puts the scan on "pause" when he finds a virus but automatically move infected files to chest.

Only in Professional version is possible to configure automated actions when a virus is found at the on-demand (manual) scan. In Home version you can only do this for the on-access scan.
The best things in life are free.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2004, 02:41:15 PM »
So I suppose that the only work-arround for the home-version is to use the screensaver scan. With the screensaver scan you can configure automated actions when a virus is found (see screenshot 1).
 

Offline whocares

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1698
  • I'm not a llama! :-)
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2004, 03:31:46 PM »
Hi Technical,

why don't you choose
"Repair" if Failed "Move to chest" ...?

 ???

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2004, 04:16:55 PM »
why don't you choose
"Repair" if Failed "Move to chest" ...?

Just an example  ;D
Of course, in real life I use the way you said.
The best things in life are free.

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2004, 04:17:32 PM »
So I suppose that the only work-arround for the home-version is to use the screensaver scan. With the screensaver scan you can configure automated actions when a virus is found (see screenshot 1).

Are you using the Home version or the Trial Professional version?
How do you get that window?
The best things in life are free.

Offline eric

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 24
  • I'm a llama!
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2004, 05:31:47 PM »
I am using Home version. I get that window by displaying the settings from the Avast Screensaver.

Online Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2004, 09:15:26 PM »
I am using Home version. I get that window by displaying the settings from the Avast Screensaver.

This is new to me... I thought the Virus page is only available at Pro version.
Good to know this is a Home version feature.  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11328
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re:Move to chest
« Reply #14 on: November 08, 2004, 08:17:23 AM »
Actually, I think your assumption was correct.
Eddy, are you sure it's a Home version? Isn't it rather a Pro version trial, for example?

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now