Author Topic: Windows is not properly shut down....  (Read 6530 times)

Offline yhe1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Windows is not properly shut down....
« on: October 16, 2011, 02:01:29 AM »
Ever since I updated to 6.01289, every time avast updates, I get an "windows is not properly shut down" msg in the reliability monitor. If avast didn't find an update, this would not happen. I've already tried the repair installation option of Avast and the issue persists.

My system is a Dell XPS 1640 2.26ghz, 4 gb ram, and ati 3670 video card. I am using Windows 7 ultimate 64 bit.

Thanks.

Offline craigb

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 8055
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2011, 05:16:27 AM »
I get this problem as well, hopefully the next program update cures this issue.

I tend to recieve the warning in maintenance- view reliability history every time i shut down my system and view the monitor again after my sytem has been restarted and the windows events have been updated.

Also seems to only affect 64 bit systems as this doesn't happen on the 32 bit systems i look after, not sure if its only related to windows 7 though as i dont have any vista or xp systems anymore.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2011, 05:29:26 AM by craigb »
Windows 8.1 Pro X64/ IE 11/ Avast 9.0.2016/ MBAM Premium 2

Offline Coolmario88

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1269
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2011, 05:28:33 AM »
My computer doesn't say anything like that on my computer. (I hope I don't jinx that)
« Last Edit: October 16, 2011, 05:32:55 AM by Coolmario88cp »
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit
Avast Version: Avast free 2014.9.0.2016
Webbrowser: Internet Explorer 11

Offline Jekku

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2011, 07:29:41 AM »
avast! free 6.0.1289
Windows 7 x64

EventLog Error 6008
"The previous system shutdown at xx:xx:xx on xx.‎xx.‎xxxx was unexpected."

I've had this error on two of my systems since the latest beta of avast free (when it was at beta state) when I shut my systems down. When I unistalled avast and reinstalled the stable version at that point (6.0.1203), the problem was gone. So it's most likely avast related.

That error occurs regularly, but not every single time (could be like "yhe1" stated), when I shut my system down normally:
Start --> Shut down or reboot, also when I schedule a shut down with command "shutdown -s".

1) Intel C2Q Q8400 2.66GHz@3.2GHz, Asus P5Q Pro, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 4850, OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD, Win 7 Home Premium x64, avast Free 7.0.1426
2) AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE 3.2GHz (4 cores enabled), Asus M4A785-M, 4GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5670, 320GB HDD, Win 7 Home Premium x64, avast Free 7.0.1426

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2011, 12:22:52 PM »
My computer doesn't say anything like that on my computer. (I hope I don't jinx that)
No problems on my Windows 7 with Shutdown.
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Nesivos

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1360
  • Gender: Male
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2011, 05:35:52 PM »
You might also want to take a look here to troubleshoot the problem.  Please read the comments on both links in their entirety if you want to try and troubleshoot the problem using a "clean boot"

Quote
Reliability history reports Windows is not being shut down properly.

Make sure you expand the replys and go to the "clean boot" link (2nd link on this post)


http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-performance/reliability-history-reports-windows-is-not-being/890189c1-3120-45b8-9af4-561dfeeedc7d



Quote
To help troubleshoot error messages and other issues, you can start Windows Vista or Windows 7 by using a minimal set of drivers and startup programs. This kind of startup is known as a "clean boot." A clean boot helps eliminate software conflicts. This article describes how to troubleshoot problems in Windows Vista or in Windows 7 by performing a clean boot. This article also describes how to start the Windows Installer service and how to reset the computer so that it starts as usual.

Note When you perform a clean boot, you may temporarily lose some functionality. When you start the computer as usual, the functionality returns. However, you may receive the original error message, or you may experience the original behavior.


http://support.microsoft.com/kb/929135

OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline craigb

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 8055
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2011, 06:11:52 PM »
Nesivos  The shutdown warning problem has been an issue for a while now since the latest release and it only happens when avast is installed.

The error codes are in this link  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=85684.msg693436#msg693436and hopefully avast has already read this topic
Windows 8.1 Pro X64/ IE 11/ Avast 9.0.2016/ MBAM Premium 2

Offline Nesivos

  • avast! Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1360
  • Gender: Male
  • Artists Rendering of New Pauley Pavilion @ UCLA
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2011, 06:29:02 PM »
Nesivos  The shutdown warning problem has been an issue for a while now since the latest release and it only happens when avast is installed.

The error codes are in this link  http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=85684.msg693436#msg693436and hopefully avast has already read this topic

From reading the link that you provided it sounds like there could be a conflict between avast! and Windows 7 Ultimate.

I would still suggest trying the "clean boot" to see if it resolves it.  W7 has been known to do some amazing things in resolving conflicts without requiring reprogramming of the applications software.

I wouldn't think that it can hurt to try a "clean boot". :)
OS: W7-SP1, Security: AIS 7, SAS Pro, WinPatrol Plus Network:2 Dell 570MT x64 1 Dell 660 Desktop with 8GB RAM Default Browser & Email: Firefox & Thunderbird latest Betas

Offline craigb

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 8055
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2011, 06:50:06 PM »
No ultimate here, im on premium  :) and its alot of work to go though the clean boot process and start activating services one by one until the issue appears as there has to be a reboot inbetween each service that is started and it could be a couple of hours before anything is reported in the view reliability history so that could take me weeks, not going to happen on my end im afraid this is for avast to work out.
Windows 8.1 Pro X64/ IE 11/ Avast 9.0.2016/ MBAM Premium 2

Offline Jekku

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2011, 08:13:27 AM »
No ultimate here, im on premium  :)

I have Win7 x64 Home Premium too.
1) Intel C2Q Q8400 2.66GHz@3.2GHz, Asus P5Q Pro, 8GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 4850, OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD, Win 7 Home Premium x64, avast Free 7.0.1426
2) AMD Phenom II X2 555 BE 3.2GHz (4 cores enabled), Asus M4A785-M, 4GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5670, 320GB HDD, Win 7 Home Premium x64, avast Free 7.0.1426

Offline 2good

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2011, 04:45:40 PM »
first time posting I also have the same problem on windows7 64 bit 4gb ram running sandboxie admuncher procces hacker. I just recently formated my pc clean install & the same problem when uninstalling avast everything is normal now running MSE which I can't stand. special thanks to VK & all the crew I'm sure you'll find something for this.

Offline tenseur

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #11 on: October 19, 2011, 09:38:52 PM »
It's come to 100 percent of the avast service, and nothing else

Then I kick the service each time you close or restart the PC, well I have no more worries on!

Reinstalling avast served have nothing!

http://s3.noelshack.com/upload/13996123147710_erreur1.jpg
http://s3.noelshack.com/upload/18632977135938_erreur2.jpg
http://s3.noelshack.com/upload/14207168721042_erreur3.jpg
« Last Edit: October 19, 2011, 09:50:10 PM by tenseur »

Offline 2good

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #12 on: October 19, 2011, 11:48:28 PM »
with my pc when rebooting a black screen comes up & nothing else also forgot to mention I'm running window 7 premium.

Offline craigb

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 8055
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #13 on: October 20, 2011, 05:02:10 AM »
with my pc when rebooting a black screen comes up & nothing else also forgot to mention I'm running window 7 premium.
You seem to have a different issue than what we are talking about in this thread so to get better assistance please start your own thread so this one does no go off topic.
Windows 8.1 Pro X64/ IE 11/ Avast 9.0.2016/ MBAM Premium 2

Offline stitt

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Windows is not properly shut down....
« Reply #14 on: October 25, 2011, 06:28:05 PM »
just noticed I am getting these on a clean install of windows7 64bit which is disappointing.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now