Author Topic: Avast won't run in boot scan  (Read 2797 times)

Offline freshie247

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast won't run in boot scan
« on: February 05, 2012, 05:48:20 PM »
Something is very wrong with my system.When I run avast normially it says everything is fine.If I run it during boot scan it says the system is unsecured or it is inactivated or in an incomplete state.It says to restart the program,which I can not do.I've uninstalled,reinstalled it to no avail.My anti-malware program runs on the boot scan,but skips 10's of 1000's of registry items & them says it found nothing.Superantispyware has turned up nothing as well.Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated,Thanx!

Offline DavidR

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69214
  • Gender: Male
  • No support PMs thanks
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2012, 06:23:05 PM »
You have me at a disadvantage, if this is during a boot-time scan, this is before windows and avast starts, so I don't know how it can report being unsecured or inactive.

So when and where is this notification displayed ?

Why is it that you need to run a boot-time scan as this is a specialist scan, not something to use on a routine basis ?
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2014 9.0.2018/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 28.0, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.0.1/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Online Pondus

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 21712
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2012, 06:34:40 PM »
Quote
My anti-malware program runs on the boot scan,but skips 10's of 1000's of registry items & them says it found nothing.
and what do you mean by this ?.....and what program is that?
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline freshie247

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2012, 07:23:44 PM »
My computer is really slow,pages won't open or close at a reasonable speed,system seizes up,letters are skipped when I'm typing.If I do a regular scan Avast says I'm protected & there's no infection.Perhaps my definition of boot scan is wrong.So to try & find the problem I try to do a scan with Avast with the computer in safe mode.This is how I was shown how to find a particularly tough problem to deal with.Avast says it's not on,the system is not secured & to restart the program.This is not an option as I can't click on either of the links to restart the program or turn it on.When I try the same boot scan with Malwarebytes anti-malware it starts scanning normally at 1st, you can watch as it rolls through the files numerically,then after a couple of thousand files,it jumps to 30,000 files scanned in an instant & the scan takes a fraction of the time it should. I believe a program has been inserted underneath everything & protects itself .Avast isn't allowed by said program to work in the boot scan as it will detect & delete said program.When I 1st noticed this problem,I poked around & found my firewall had been turned off some how & a promt came up saying a script was running too slow & could cause my system to crash & did I want to close this unnamed program.I closed the box instead of answering yes or no.At this same time Avast said in regular mode that I wasn't protected, so I tried uninstall/reinstall.Thanx!

Online Pondus

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 21712
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2012, 07:36:48 PM »
boot scan and scan in safe mode are not the same thing   ;)
avast does not work in safe mode

avast boot scan is something you use when if the normal scan have a problem removing a bug

avast! Boot-time Scan  http://spgscott.wordpress.com/tutorials/avast-boot-time-scan/


OBS: and Malwarebytes is designed to work best in normal mode...safe mode should only be used if there is a problem
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Online Pondus

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 21712
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2012, 07:40:20 PM »
If you think you have a virus problem
then follow the guide here and attach the logs (not copy and paste)
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline freshie247

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2012, 05:57:39 PM »
My terminology is wrong.I'm running these programs when the computer is in safe mode & have tried when it is running normally as well.Regardless of when I run Malwarebytes anti-malware, safe or normal, it skips from 2000 objects scanned to 30000.In the safe mode Avast will not run at all.Just to get the period at the end of this sentance takes several trys.

Online Pondus

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 21712
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2012, 06:07:53 PM »
Quote
Regardless of when I run Malwarebytes anti-malware, safe or normal, it skips from 2000 objects scanned to 30000
answers to questions about malwarebytes......are usually found in mbam forum   ;)
http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=104450


avast 6 will not run in safe mode......only boot time scan


Quote
Avast will not run at all.
do you mean it does not run when computer is in normal state ?
« Last Edit: February 06, 2012, 06:11:14 PM by Pondus »
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Offline headache62

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast won't run in boot scan
« Reply #8 on: February 21, 2012, 02:51:15 AM »
I'm having the same problem - my computer won't log in at all normally, and when I am in Safe Mode Avast won't work and I cannot even schedule a boot scan. Each time I try the boot scan settings reset and restarting my computer does not do the boot scan.

I uninstalled and reinstalled Avast (v 6)  in safe mode. I tried running an update and got nothing after waiting 8 hours. I'm using a Sony Vaio Win7 Home Premium 64 bit, Core i3, 8 gigs ram.  Please help- I'm usually fairly competent but I can't get this working right now.

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now