Author Topic: Malware blocked(SOLVED)!!  (Read 2228 times)

Offline HS2234

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Malware blocked(SOLVED)!!
« on: March 16, 2012, 12:42:39 PM »
Avast blocked a malware on a site but... It still let the site go through.. it didint abort the connection?? whats wrong???

using latest version of chrome btw
« Last Edit: May 08, 2012, 12:03:36 AM by HS2234 »

Online craigb

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 6203
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 12:46:00 PM »
It's only the Web Shield that will abort connections, which shield gave you the warning ?
Intel I7 2630QM/ Win8 Pro x64/ IE10/ Avast 8.0.1489/ MBAM Pro 1.75

Offline HS2234

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2012, 12:47:01 PM »
Web sheild....

Online craigb

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 6203
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2012, 12:50:14 PM »
Strange ??? any info on the detection, right clicking the avast ball will allow you to choose show last popup.
Intel I7 2630QM/ Win8 Pro x64/ IE10/ Avast 8.0.1489/ MBAM Pro 1.75

Offline HS2234

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #4 on: March 16, 2012, 12:51:11 PM »
Its like HTML:iframe or something.. Wel since I use chrome I guess I am safe??

Offline polonus

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 16904
  • Gender: Male
  • malware fighter
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #5 on: March 16, 2012, 12:53:09 PM »
Hi HS2234,

Can you give the URL as a non-live-link, so hxtp or wXw etc.? Then we can see what may be out there?

polonus
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Online craigb

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 6203
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Online)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #6 on: March 16, 2012, 12:58:27 PM »
You can scan the site's url at VirusTotal https://www.virustotal.com/
Intel I7 2630QM/ Win8 Pro x64/ IE10/ Avast 8.0.1489/ MBAM Pro 1.75

Offline HS2234

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2012, 12:58:42 PM »
its like dsp/mediaagency.com/dsp.php.... is their anyway so I can copy and paste this?
here is a screen shot

« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 01:02:37 PM by HS2234 »

Offline true indian

  • Malware Hunter
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2012, 01:10:09 PM »
Hi web shield may be blocking a payload coming from the web site and not the whole web site.

If u still have a hitch on it scan the following location:

C:\program files\google chrome

just trace the location and right click on the chrome folder and choose to scan with avast
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 01:12:18 PM by winmaltech »
My Security : Brain.exe

Offline Asyn

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 20414
    • >>>  avast! Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2012, 01:10:17 PM »
its like dsp/mediaagency.com/dsp.php.... is their anyway so I can copy and paste this?
here is a screen shot

dsp.mediaagency.com is down.
Unable to connect to site.
XP SP3 - avast! 8.0.1489 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - EAM 7.0.0.21 [OD] - Firefox ESR 17.0.6 [NS/ABP/BP/QP/WR] - Thunderbird 17.0.6 [EM/CH]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline HS2234

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2012, 01:12:42 PM »
its like dsp/mediaagency.com/dsp.php.... is their anyway so I can copy and paste this?
here is a screen shot

dsp.mediaagency.com is down.
Unable to connect to site.

see the screen shot
if u want the link I clicked on I can give it to u..



whats a payload
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 01:14:58 PM by HS2234 »

Offline true indian

  • Malware Hunter
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2012, 01:16:43 PM »
whats a payload

Sorry for not being specific.

I mean the site u visited must have loaded a further object from a third party site that was blocked and not the whole web site just the third party site.

whats the URL address of the site?

put it as xxx or hxxp


example: xxx.xxx.com is the site u visited.

xx.xxx.com/ga.js was blocked. [Hence, the JS part got blocked and not the actual xxx.com site.]
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 01:20:51 PM by winmaltech »
My Security : Brain.exe

Offline Asyn

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 20414
    • >>>  avast! Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2012, 01:17:06 PM »
see the screen shot

web site:    dsp.apsmediaagency.com
warn:    Unable to properly scan your site. Site empty (no content).
XP SP3 - avast! 8.0.1489 - CIS 3.14 [FW/D+] - EAM 7.0.0.21 [OD] - Firefox ESR 17.0.6 [NS/ABP/BP/QP/WR] - Thunderbird 17.0.6 [EM/CH]
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> avast! Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen und Infos): http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline HS2234

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2012, 01:19:13 PM »
hxxp://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=6&ved=0CEoQFjAF&url=hxxp%3A%2F%2Fmoviereleaseschedule2012.com%2Fgo-GgDNwxy6BhI%2Fminecraft-12w09a-features-circle-brick-stone-and-new-sandstone.html&ei=v0tjT-zcOMbj0QHf6oy6CA&usg=AFQjCNFeERO2y2L2_5LV97K_RegCuiYG2A&sig2=Rt3W81L1BVM9g3vGq8fdYw
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 01:22:34 PM by HS2234 »

Offline true indian

  • Malware Hunter
  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 424
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Malware blocked!!
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2012, 01:21:31 PM »
Make the link inactive by adding hxxp

EDIT:did the alert come on the google link as soon as u clicked on it or when the site loaded??
« Last Edit: March 16, 2012, 01:25:45 PM by winmaltech »
My Security : Brain.exe