Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 02:53:05 AM

Title: Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 02:53:05 AM
 :) A very happy new year to you!

Hello I am new to the forum.  I have just downloaded avast home and everything was going smoothly until I came to register the product.  The email was sent and I pasted the code into the appropriate box but was told that it was invalid.

I would be grateful for some help please

Precious x
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: niko on January 01, 2005, 03:02:26 AM
Hi Precious, happy new year 2005 !
You should try to enter your license key manualy :-\
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 03:04:28 AM
I tried that and it didn't make any difference  :(


btw I'm not really a llama
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: niko on January 01, 2005, 03:17:15 AM
Sorry Precious but your pb is...amazing
The better way I think is to reload Avast! home edition and re-install it...with a new license key :o
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 04:15:16 AM

I have tried that as well I'm afraid
Sorry what is my pb and why is it amazing?

Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Vlad on January 01, 2005, 04:37:41 AM
Hi,

I could not register my key too. I got licence key is invalid.
Any help?
 ???
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: pallbear on January 01, 2005, 07:08:38 AM
I'm having the same problem too. I have tried everything including cutting and pasting the key, manually typing in the key, registering, uninstalling and reinstalling and asking for a license again (three times from one email address and once from a different one). This resulted in two different keys but neither one works and after I installed the program the second time I can't even use it in demo mode it just closes.

I'm going to write to support.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: StellarStu on January 01, 2005, 07:23:02 AM
I am having the same problem.  Registration number sent via email is invalid.

Using XP Home SP 2.  AMD 3100, 160GB, 512MB, AVast 4.5 Home

WIll wait for tech support to reply.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: darkcat on January 01, 2005, 11:37:52 AM
I get the impression that the 'bot is not sending out valid registration codes/keys for those of us who downloaded and installed today, the first of January.

Will tech support proactively send out replacements or workarounds to those of us who attempted registration in, say, the last 9 and a half hours?
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 11:48:00 AM
Hi and welcome darkcat
as you san probably tell there`s a lot of validation issues at present
all i can say as a forum member is its unusual to see this sort of problem but given the fact that its new year we may well not see a remedy until tomorrow so i can only suggest you sit tight and stay in demo mode until the problem is fixed
your first notice would be in announcements forum probably
Hope this helps
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: DamienMcBain on January 01, 2005, 12:03:37 PM
Same problem here.

I was recommended this s/w, beginning to wonder why. What kind of a software company can't get something simple like this right. No wonder they give it away for free.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 12:10:20 PM
The choice is as it should be all in your hands . if you feel you can do better elsewhere then so be it. As i said in previous post this is most unusual .
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: darkcat on January 01, 2005, 12:33:18 PM
How would I put avast home into demo mode?
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 12:37:43 PM
my understanding is that when asked for validation key, you also have the option to continue as demo for 60 days if you have not registered product. i hope this is the case
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: darkcat on January 01, 2005, 12:42:52 PM
Well, the first time I tried to open the desktop object, and all subsequent, it has asked for the registration code.  I downloaded and installed today (post midnight, local time).  I did not get the 60 day opportunity.  Not sure why.  I would love to put the application through its paces, and since it is at 4.x and climbing, I get the impression this is a fairly decent product.  I am not a fan of either Symantec or Computer Associate's offerings any more, though I am a fan of what Trend has from my days as an Exchange admin.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 12:46:07 PM
This is from the avast website
To use the Home Edition, you should register it. After the installation you have 60 days to do the registration. The registration process is very easy and will take you only a couple of minutes.
im sorry im not more familiar with it but its a while since i was there
im hoping someone who is can jump in here and bring more light perhaps  
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: darkcat on January 01, 2005, 01:12:11 PM
I did not get the 60 days, or (thus far) a working registration.

Perhaps Monday.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 01:18:13 PM
unfortunately the one thing i cannot provide you with is the one thing you most need and that is a working validation key but i can only assure you this is a very good program and normally there are several people who know the program inside out and give their time willingly just to help people in your situation.
i ask that you come back soon and give avast a second chance as im sure you wont regret it
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: guidobyte on January 01, 2005, 01:19:27 PM
hello and happy new year 2005

i have got the same problem, i couldn´t start avast 4 home, because i have got an invalid key and couldn´t enter it :(
can someone help me, because i need a runing antivirus software!
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: skydiver43 on January 01, 2005, 01:31:59 PM
Ok it seems that I am having the same problem. I tried to enter my key and it comes up as an invalid key. Will I have to reapply for a new key? Is this caused because of the new year?
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 01:43:37 PM
i would suggest to any of you wanting reg /validation keys to check back here every couple of hours and hopefully there will be an announcement that this problem is corrected.
Given that its now in the early hours of new years day in Czech i doubt it will happen in the immediate future.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: darkcat on January 01, 2005, 01:45:11 PM
Given the time where the publisher is, I would say that the only people who could help are on holiday.  For some reason, that is not in any way a surprise - given that this is new years day, after all.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Chef on January 01, 2005, 01:48:33 PM
My reaction maybe overkill, but I encounter the same problem...
Seems that the key-program is spitting out the wrong keys.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 02:17:28 PM
good day to you all, pinch punch excetera excetera!

I am having the same problem as darkcat,  I cannot go into the 60 day demo, it won't let me.

I have a 'slight' threat trojan, funweb, that needs to be removed from my system restore, Trend Housecall (who I've always used) is unable to detect it or remove it.

I would be v grateful if someone could let me know asap what is going on.  Everybody I know recommends this product to me so the slight hitch is not a problem, however the wait is.

BTW what is a pb? cos apparently I have an amazing one? see above x
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Fourthdog on January 01, 2005, 02:25:25 PM
Well I'm not the only one!
Ginblossom, I will try once again with Avast because a friend of mine said that it works well, but I have to say that this problem is a little boring.
I will retry further on, maybe monday because as some of you said, today it is holiday and people is not expected to work.

Bye bye
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 02:29:25 PM
hi precious and welcome back
cant say what niko was on about with the pb ,maybe you profile got to him and he couldnt type for a second???
as for the val keys well i think iv`e said it all already
fun web products isa different story and as its adware , A/V probably wouldnt help you
can you go here http://hijackthis.de/downloads/ (http://hijackthis.de/downloads/) and get a copy of this utility, generate a log ,then paste it into a post here and we will be able to fix it for you, or show you how

Just re-read you post and if its in sys restore you can just disable it (conrol panel /system/system restore/turn off/apply) then re-activate and it should be gone
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 02:33:03 PM
Thank you Ginblossom

It looks like 2005 is not going to be a good year lol

Tried the link and got this message:

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /downloads/ on this server.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Apache/1.3.27 Server at hijackthis.de Port 80
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 02:37:14 PM
try this link http://hijackthis.de/index.php?langselect=english (http://hijackthis.de/index.php?langselect=english)
it may not be nessesary though if infection is only in sys-restore
see previous post
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Beaky on January 01, 2005, 02:39:23 PM
Precious,

Try this link http://www.pchell.com/support/spyware.shtml , half way down the page they have a several links for the removal of Fun Ware products.  Hope this helps :)
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 02:48:20 PM
Thanks Beaky

That'll be my next job,

Right I've downloaded hijack this (very interesting and helpful product) and apparently this little file is the problem!

O16 - DPF: {1D4DB7D2-6EC9-47A3-BD87-1E41684E07BB} - http://ak.imgfarm.com/images/nocache/funwebproducts/ei/SmileyCentralFWBInitialSe tup1.0.0.8.cab

does it make any sense to you Ginblossom?
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Beaky on January 01, 2005, 02:52:32 PM
Precious,

Okay, try this link, which I believe contains removal instructions http://www.pchell.com/support/smileycentral.shtml

Cheers,

Beaky
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 02:53:20 PM
yes it looks like it but i would like to see the whole log if i could cos it`ll tell me more
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Vlk on January 01, 2005, 03:04:42 PM
Hi guys, yes, you're right... :-\

Our keygen robot generates "invalid" keys since midnight Jan 1, 2005 European time. It's sort of a "Y2K5 bug" ;)

We apologize for the inconvenience.
We'll be sending out fixed keys later today.


Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 03:05:14 PM
you could Gin but it won't let me paste it cos its toooooo long
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 01, 2005, 03:06:17 PM
phew thanks Vlk but apparently its not gonna help me anyway  :(
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Cloussau on January 01, 2005, 03:08:39 PM
its ok if you post it in a attachment it will but its 1 am in aust and past bed time 4 this little black duck
plenty of keen eyes here to help though,
g`nite
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Eddy on January 01, 2005, 03:42:53 PM
There seems to be a little problem with the generation of keys. Please have a little patience and try to get a new key later on.

If you install Avast and don't put a key in it, it will automaticly function as a trial version. Nothing special for the user to do.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Kitty L on January 01, 2005, 03:49:45 PM
Hi chaps

I've just downloaded Avast today (was recommended by a friend) and I am having the same problem with "Invalid Regisitration key" message

I take it that I can still use it as a trial version and enter the correct key later ?
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: lee20 on January 01, 2005, 04:00:07 PM
Quote
I take it that I can still use it as a trial version and enter the correct key later ?

Yes, the trial version will work for 60 days, but the problem should be fixed way before the end of that, when the License  keys get 'fixed' and you have a valid key, right click the avast "A" icon (next to your system clock) and select 'About avast...' , then a box will appear, then click 'License Key' at the bottom, and paste/type in your License key in the small box that appears.

--lee
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Kitty L on January 01, 2005, 04:11:57 PM
I've tried to use it by saying that I don't have a valid registration key but it then just closes and won't do anything?

I don't like the idea of not having any anti virus software on my computer, especially as I have just changed my hard drive for the 3rd time because of faulty ones  ::)
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Eghontas on January 01, 2005, 04:16:33 PM
Off I can't register. I have deleted Norton for Avast. It's a great surprise for me. I can't register, I haven't got a anti virus program. :(

When can I register? I can't select demo mode. Please don't say select demo.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: lee20 on January 01, 2005, 04:22:51 PM
Ok, mabey i caused some confusion with my last post, so will try to make it clearer.

This is what VLK said earlier this morning

Quote
Hi guys, yes, you're right...

Our keygen robot generates "invalid" keys since midnight Jan 1, 2005 European time. It's sort of a "Y2K5 bug"

We apologize for the inconvenience.
We'll be sending out fixed keys later today.


Thanks
Vlk

So therefore any reg key you try to get at the moment will not work, so i suggest that you keep checking back here until the problem is resolved by the avast team, then forgo the steps mentioned above.
They will either email you the Valid keys from the email addresses you provided while registering, or they will simply ask you to re-register.

--lee
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Eddy on January 01, 2005, 04:26:05 PM
Eghontas, why don't you read the thread you just posted in? The answer is right in front of your nose. ;D
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Eghontas on January 01, 2005, 04:35:28 PM
Ok then please e-mail me when it works. I read many good things about avast. I really wish to try and protect my computer with avast.

Long Live Avast!
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Vlk on January 01, 2005, 05:08:54 PM
Please try reregistering now.

It should be fixed and you should receive a valid key (a different one than during the previous registration attempt; namely, the previous key had 0007 just before the dash - and the new one should have 1106).

Let me know if it works.

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Eddy on January 01, 2005, 05:21:07 PM
I know why registration didn't worked. James Bond (007) didn't allowed it ;D ;D ;D
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: XtremeKirby on January 01, 2005, 06:01:15 PM
Happy New Years Everyone!!!  ;D

Quote
It should be fixed and you should receive a valid key
Well, I read in this topic that registration was giving everyone headaches.  I think the problem is fixed now!  ;) Tried it myself and the new key worked!  :D
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: huntsman on January 01, 2005, 06:45:51 PM
The bad Key log code caused a 2nd problem.
Error message said... License has expired
& the the program terminated.
It made no difference to un-install & re-install.

Avast would NOT run in Demo mode.  

A situation I did not enjoy with the customer sitting watching as I had spent several hours attempting to get Avast Home Edition to install & run.
I could not leave the installation without AntiVirus protection, so at 2:45am Australian time, Sunday morning I gave up, installed AVG & left.   :-[
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Kitty L on January 01, 2005, 09:09:12 PM
Hurrah  :) Looks like 007 was causing the problem

Now it's having a scan of my hard drive and will most likely tell me I have a virus (didn't set up my firewall before a bit of much missed surfin  ::))

Hopefully it will be as good as I have been told and not take quite as long as another anti virus product starting with the same letter  ;)

Thanks for the help in sorting this out, especially on New Years Day  ;D
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: new to avast on January 02, 2005, 02:15:41 AM
Off I can't register. I have deleted Norton for Avast. It's a great surprise for me. I can't register, I haven't got a anti virus program. :(

When can I register? I can't select demo mode. Please don't say select demo.
I noticed a similar problem. However, I did install (XP) and register avast for the first time two days ago (31 Dec 2004) which worked just fine. Today (2 Jan 2005) I tried to install it (fresh download) on my kids computer (also XP), which resulted in that it got a screen about buying the professional version (and the resident part didn't start after the reboot that finalized the installation, i.e. it wasn't running in Demo mode). However, hidden under this window I found the license/demo box. So I think the demo mode has stopped working. But I had no problem after I entered the license key (the one obtained 31 Dec).
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: DamienMcBain on January 02, 2005, 08:56:13 AM
Up & running here too  :)

Changing the 0007 wasn't enough, I had to re-register. Let's see how it goes.

Although I was shitty when I d/l this proggy recommended to me then the key didn't work, I gotta say the fix was quick and the forum works.

cheers y'all,

Damo
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 03, 2005, 06:34:55 PM
Thats all very well and I am glad for you but my poor little computer went into standby mode on Sunday and will not move out of it.  I cannot do anything with it because I cannot see the screen.  I am heartbroken and unfortunately my mother bought it for me from TINY computers who are happy to charge £1 a minute for customer support.  Any ideas will be more than gratefully received.  I am using my firms computer right now.   :'(
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Eddy on January 03, 2005, 06:39:00 PM
Precious,

please start another thread in the off-topic forum.
You're problem has nothing to do with Avast or this thread.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Fourthdog on January 03, 2005, 10:10:24 PM
Hi everybody,

I made my registration again, and it worked.
Now I got my Avast working.

I just wanted to end what I began, it's not nice writing only for bad news... it's much more with good ones.
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Precious on January 04, 2005, 12:31:00 PM
I'm sorry Eddy

I beg to differ, for all I know avast software may have caused my problem, its strange how this has happened since the download.  However, if someone can confirm to me that this could not be the case then I shall certainly take my problem elsewhere  :)
Title: Re:Unable to register
Post by: Lisandro on January 04, 2005, 01:16:28 PM
Thats all very well and I am glad for you but my poor little computer went into standby mode on Sunday and will not move out of it.  I cannot do anything with it because I cannot see the screen.

Well, it does not seem an avast problem at first time...
Can you check the power cables?
Can you boot into Safe Mode (press F8 continuosly after the boot)?
Did you visit Windows Update site and change your video/monitor drivers recently?