Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: mag on July 03, 2012, 08:28:28 PM

Title: [SOLVED] 7.0.1451/1456/etc to 1466 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 03, 2012, 08:28:28 PM
W7 64bit

Avast GUI shows an IE PID running, but either no window opens, or it opens and closes, or it opens but remains blank.

Chrome opens in sandbox (though it took a very long time at first).

Anyone else seen this?

(edit - the top left blank window is IE in sandbox)
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: pk on July 03, 2012, 08:50:17 PM
Can you try to delete sandbox contents? Thanks.
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 03, 2012, 10:44:04 PM
Made no difference I'm afraid.

 - and now Chrome won't open in sandbox either - though like IE the avast GUI says it's running, all I get (after a very long wait) is a blank window.
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: Alikhan on July 03, 2012, 10:47:19 PM
Sandbox is working fine here with both Chrome and IE9 with 7.0.1456. Have you tired a repair/clean install?
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 03, 2012, 10:59:39 PM
Sandbox is working fine here with both Chrome and IE9 with 7.0.1456. Have you tired a repair/clean install?
Yes I have - to fix a redirect driver problem that was stopping mail shield and avast shield from scanning - but it hasn't helped with the sandbox issue.

Neither has update to 7.0.1456

Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: Alikhan on July 03, 2012, 11:04:47 PM
I think you should do a clean uninstall then.

1. Download the version of your Avast
2. Download ASWclear and uninstall Avast
3. Boot into safe mode and run ASWclear for all versions of Avast installed
4. If you have CCleaner, clean out the registry
5. Then reinstall the Avast

That should fix your issue.
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 03, 2012, 11:15:20 PM
Alikhan,
I've already done a an uninstall/reinstall.

Just had a bad pool header BSD while trying to start IE in sandbox.

Is the mimidump any use to you pk?
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 03, 2012, 11:40:33 PM
Have uploaded minidump (actually full support package) in case it's any use as:
20120703_2135_3819801034
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: DavidR on July 03, 2012, 11:51:56 PM
Well you could always update to avast 7.0.1456 (service program update), see http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=100608.0;topicseen (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=100608.0;topicseen). Many of the issues reported have been resolved.
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: pk on July 03, 2012, 11:52:40 PM
20120703_2135_3819801034.zip doesn't contain minidump, please upload the latest one from \windows\minidump folder, thanks
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 04, 2012, 12:05:24 AM
20120703_2135_3819801034.zip doesn't contain minidump, please upload the latest one from \windows\minidump folder, thanks
Odd - I had minidump ticked for inclusion - may be an issue with support package generation?.

Is 070312-20810-01 any better (should be just minidump - not support package)?
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: pk on July 04, 2012, 12:20:11 AM
better  :) but can you please compress & upload \windows\memory.dmp file? thanks
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 04, 2012, 11:34:42 AM
better  :) but can you please compress & upload \windows\memory.dmp file? thanks
That was a big file - upload at my speed took a while.

Hopefully you have it now  - MEMORYMAG.zip
Title: Re: 7.0.1451 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: pk on July 04, 2012, 11:36:31 AM
just downloading, thanks!
Title: Re: 7.0.1451/1456 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 07, 2012, 10:27:20 AM
Any joy with finding the issue?
Title: Re: 7.0.1451/1456 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: pk on July 07, 2012, 10:57:31 AM
This is quite mystery crash, I'll need more time :o
Title: Re: 7.0.1451/1456 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on July 07, 2012, 11:02:43 AM
This is quite a mystery crash, I'll need more time :o

OK thanks - no real problem. Chrome works and safezone works - and those are what I mainly use in W7.
Title: Re: 7.0.1451/1456 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on August 16, 2012, 05:48:28 PM
I weakened and decided to try the latest beta.

No real change - except that now when chrome does decide to run in sandbox I don't get a red border or tab.
Title: Re: 7.0.1451/1456 - sandbox not working with IE9
Post by: mag on August 23, 2012, 04:39:45 PM
Problem solved.

It turned out to be a clash with Trusteer Rapport.

Uninstalling Rapport has fixed the problem.

Pity - I liked the idea behind Rapport - but I have Safezone anyway.