Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Coolmario88 on October 08, 2012, 05:00:29 AM

Title: [Resolved]does avast use graphic card memory?[Resolved]
Post by: Coolmario88 on October 08, 2012, 05:00:29 AM
I'm trying to keep the graphics card memory useage as low as i can so i can to keep this laptop running.. I'm wondering does avast the graphics card memory at all? if so how much does it use?
Title: Re: does avast use graphic card memory?
Post by: DavidR on October 08, 2012, 02:05:01 PM
I'm not entirely certain of this as a fact with many different laptops, OSes, memory management software and system setups it may be possible to tweak system memory use. If your not using anything and the laptop is generally on a default setup then I believe that this is a reasonable assumption.

####
I don't believe it does, but it rather depends on what laptop and graphics 'card' you have.

If you have a graphics chip on board (built into the motherboard) that doesn't generally have any of its own memory, they generally have a sum of the mail memory 'allocated' for the graphics chip. So I wouldn't expect any of that allocated graphics memory to be used (as this is controlled by the OS), but I believe it is possible for the graphics to use more than that allocated if it is available.

Avast's memory use I believe would be governed by the OS as well in the same way as other applications/services, etc. so it would be restricted in what it can use.

If your laptop has a dedicated graphics 'card' that would have onboard memory which under normal circumstances would not be used for anything other than graphics use.
Title: Re: does avast use graphic card memory?
Post by: Coolmario88 on October 08, 2012, 06:41:39 PM
I uninstalled avast to give another antivirus a try.. MSE  and when i installed it it so far is slow and is messing with Soluto.. EDITED PART: I'm removing mse now.. I miss the avast update sound and the look of avast. btw i ran the microsoft fix it for mse.. hopefully it removed it fully.
Title: Re: does avast use graphic card memory?
Post by: pk on October 08, 2012, 09:58:02 PM
No, avast doesn't use your gfx card memory.
Title: Re: does avast use graphic card memory?
Post by: Coolmario88 on October 09, 2012, 12:04:07 AM
No, avast doesn't use your gfx card memory.
Thanks pk!  Topic resolved now! :)