Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 07:39:11 AM

Title: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 07:39:11 AM
Hi
i'm running wxp sp2 1giga ram
i updated avast
and i have a problem
avast scans almost every files
if i click on a directory avast scans every files
is normal??
and it slow down my system!!!
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 08:57:25 AM
Yes i have the same problem.If i download a large fail(700MB) my system slow down too.Its very good provider but there must be some settings (I've already added some addresses in the exception list)
 :-\ ::) ;D
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 09:15:17 AM
I don't understand what any of you is saying, exactly.

Mantra, your saying that avast is scanning files in a directory as soon as you open it in Explorer? Well it has always been like that - I mean, Explorer is loading icons from the files which triggers the avast Standard Shield...

Neron, so you're saying that downloading a large file from the Web slows things down? Or how do you download the file, exactly? What OS are you using? Is ashServ.exe taking up considerable CPU? BTW - aren't you using ZoneAlarm?

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 10:20:48 AM
VLK
i'm saying that the new avast is incredible slow!!
the residend shield scans tons and tons of files!
i setup the residend shield only to scan files on open
not creaded and modified!

but avast is very very very slow
the i turn on the pc , when windowsxp starts avast did scan 100 files!
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 10:23:06 AM
Only 100? On my system, it scans 400 files, which is perfectly normal, at no visible slowdown (it's scanning DLLs under XP as well). Are you saying that this changed in 4.6 (from 4.5)? I doubt it... Maybe you were using Win9x previously?
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 10:25:28 AM
Only 100? On my system, it scans 400 files, which is perfectly normal, at no visible slowdown (it's scanning DLLs under XP as well). Are you saying that this changed in 4.6 (from 4.5)? I doubt it... Maybe you were using Win9x previously?

i was using w98se and w2k and avast was super fast!
now on wxp i found avast very slow

but why on windows xp avast scans so many files
on w2k avast scans files only when i tried to open
now when i open a directory and there are inside 40 files
avast scans almost every files
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 10:29:15 AM
What do you mean slow? Isn't it just subjective? Windows XP users make up about 75% of our install base and I've heard anyone saying that avast's on-access scanner is slow (more like opposite in fact...) :)
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 10:36:01 AM
to me is slow
i told u , when i click and open a directoty  avast almost every think
with w98se and 2k only the files that i want to run!
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: RejZoR on February 20, 2005, 10:47:04 AM
Hm well i found similar issue too with this latest version.
Windows Picture and Fax viewer now takes looooong time to open images and disk is trashing really hard (my drive is defragmented and very clean). With older versions (even beta 4.6) it opened images in just a second if not less.
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 10:50:45 AM
:) There have been no changes in the way Standard Shield does its job in 4.6 whatsoever.
Don't you have Standard Shield's settings set to High?

Is there a way to reproduce the problem?
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: RejZoR on February 20, 2005, 11:11:07 AM
I use High all the time and haven't noticed such lag before.
I counted the time to open image and it takes 5 seconds to open 3KB GIF animation (34x20 pix). System is a AthlonXP 3400+ with 512MB of 400MHz DualDDR RAM and a Maxtor 200GB 8MB cache disk drive. PC power isn't the issue i belive...
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 11:14:44 AM
And stopping the Standard Shield cuts this value to zero? I mean, what makes you thing the delay is avast-related?
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: EverlastingGaze on February 20, 2005, 11:44:09 AM
Strange,... a 3 kb animation shouldn't take more then 1 second to open! :s
Especially if you are having 1 GB ram! :)

I have tested avast 4.6 beta the following way:

- flash websites with big animations and gif animations on it
- large download of demo of doom3 (app. 461 MB)
- upload of files through FTP
- general websearching with Firefox and IE
- Windows update (slow update but this was due to M$ servers I later found out)
- Email send and receive with Thunderbird
- mIRC/MSN chatting
- Webshield test with *.pif and *.jpg rule (*.jpg now removed off course)
- Webshield test by visiting a XXX-rated website which contains lots of dialers! Avast! alerted me every 5 seconds for xxxToolbar and other trash ( ;D simply to test the software guys!)

I did not found anything unusual.

Avast! Home Edition 4.6  is now running for about 1 hour and 36 minutes now and has scanned 3608 files.
I do not know if that is unusual or not.
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: RejZoR on February 20, 2005, 12:02:19 PM
Ok Vlk,sorry for that before :-[ Don't know what was the problem exactly,but one run of Norton WinDoctor (standalone ;) ) fixed the issue. Now it openes instantly. First time that i was actually saved by Symantec application ;D
Sorry again for troubles :-[
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 12:10:35 PM
Vlk,
I'm using XP pro.When I'm trying to download a large fail from ftp server with flashget my system is veeeeeeeerrrrrrryyyyyyy slow.Its true-my processor is only 633 MHz but before the new version i didn't have this problem.I'm not sure if this is because of web shield or something else.If i stop web shield during download the system is still slow ??? :-\ (maybe just little faster)
This isn't big problem-i can pause the provider when downloading big files.The strange is that if i pause the provider,begin downloading a large fail and turn on the provider the system is not so lagged ??? ??? ??? ???  ::) 8)
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 12:12:49 PM
Neron, again, WHICH PROCESS is taking up the CPU? Use the Processes tab of the Task Manager.
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: lee20 on February 20, 2005, 12:17:11 PM
Neron,

What file are you trying to download, from where?

--lee
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 12:33:30 PM
when i open a directory full of zip files and exe , avast freazes for some minutes
because it scans zipped files too
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 12:37:21 PM
OK I'm here now Vlk.
You can see the pictures.If i pause web shield the process is still there and taking almost 50%.When i terminate it ,it goes away and the system is going to normal state :) ;D
I'm trying to large fails(like animations in .avi or .mpeg format)
If web shield is turned on when i stop downloading the files the monitors in the down right corner of the screen are shining all the time(not stopping)until i terminate web shield.
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 12:43:22 PM
How can i make web shield not scanning .avi and .mpeg files.I tried but its not working
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 12:46:18 PM
neron
have u my problem??
avast scans too many files to me!
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 12:51:33 PM
No i don't think so.Everything is OK except when downloading.I think that the size of the file has no matter but...If i have such problems i can terminate it and use it only when surfing.The files are scanned again from standart shield :)
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 01:13:52 PM
And if i uncheck"use smart  scan of the traffic"(i'm not sure translated from bulgarian) the CPU usage goes down with +-10%
With 2 words-the same 8) ::)
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 01:26:52 PM
What if you download without flashget?
Also, what if you disable HTTP (web) scanning? (in the WebShield's settings)
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 01:38:17 PM
mantra, are you saying the on-access scanner is decompressing archives? This is definitely NOT the default setting (and in the Home Edition, cannot even be set up via avast GUI). Did you change the avast's settings so that it decompresses archives on-access? That would definitely explain the slowdowns...
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 01:39:29 PM
The same without flashget. and without this option. ??? :-\
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 01:40:16 PM
So without flashget, ashWebSv.exe is taking up 100% CPU?
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 03:14:08 PM
no ashWebSv.exe isn't taking more than 55 %
Flashget is taking the other 45 %(or every program with which i download)
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 20, 2005, 05:49:09 PM
yes thanks it did
but now if i open a directory full of exe , and dll avast scans every files

bye the way i like more avast in windows2k!
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 06:24:14 PM
Mantra, this is quite normal (that avast is scanning all the EXEs if you open the folder in Explorer) but on my machine, it can scan like 50-100 files / second - so not really a problem...

Anyway, it's MUCH safer this way - DLLs may contain viruses!
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 06:25:45 PM
Neron, this is what I asked

So without flashget, ashWebSv.exe is taking up 100% CPU?

and you replied:

no ashWebSv.exe isn't taking more than 55 %
Flashget is taking the other 45 %(or every program with which i download)


So if you're not downloading with flashget, it doesn't consume any CPU, does it? If you download e.g. with IE only, are you saying that iexplore.exe is than taking 45%?
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Jorasik on February 20, 2005, 08:10:33 PM
Yes,if i download with ie ,iexplore.exe is thakeing 45%
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 20, 2005, 08:26:18 PM
Hmm. Aren't you using any sort of network application? BTW could you please try running http://www.cexx.org/LSPFix.exe and post a screenshot of its window?

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: BilstonBoy on February 21, 2005, 12:47:36 AM
I just upgraded to the latest version of Avast and I've had severe slowdown problems.

I ran Ad Aware. Checked task manager and AshMaiSv.exe was taking up 80-90% of the processor. When I terminated the process, Ad Aware ran much faster.

Grabit would only half run. It would clear out old news articles, then not download any updated headers. I stopped the Internet Mail provider. Grabit started working immediately.

I've only just rebuilt this computer, so there is currently very little software on it. The problems I describe only happened when I upgraded to 4.6.603.

My PC is Windows XP SP2 + latest updates. AMD XP 64 3200+. 1GB ram. 250GB sata disk. Asus A8V-E Deluxe PCI-Express motherboard. Ge-Force 6600GT graphics.  Latest versions of Firefox, Thunderbird, Grabit, Avast, ZoneAlarm, Ad Aware, Spybot  S&D + TeaTimer.
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Riker on February 21, 2005, 01:03:44 AM
I ran Ad Aware. Checked task manager and AshMaiSv.exe was taking up 80-90% of the processor. When I terminated the process, Ad Aware ran much faster.

Hi

have you downloaded any mail/news when adaware run? Because I think AshMaiSv.exe is the Avast Mailscanner Provider.

Riker
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: BilstonBoy on February 21, 2005, 01:16:50 AM
Hi

have you downloaded any mail/news when adaware run? Because I think AshMaiSv.exe is the Avast Mailscanner Provider.

Riker
Probably had. At the time I didn't know what was slowing my computer down. I haven't tried replicating the problem. I've stopped the mail scanner provider at the moment, so no further issues.
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: sephirothj4 on February 21, 2005, 01:48:04 AM
i first updated my avast porfessional 4.5 to 4.6 and when i went into the internet it says avast! proxy 503 it says the website cant be reached whts happening???
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: mantra on February 21, 2005, 08:11:36 AM
sorry fried
i use a p4 3.800
1 gb of ram
and i notice it's more slow!
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: Vlk on February 21, 2005, 09:07:17 AM
sephirothj4, in most cases this problem is caused by the personal firewall you're using. Please make sure the process ashWebSv.exe is granted access to the Web.

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re: new version of avast problem
Post by: vojtech on February 22, 2005, 03:25:59 PM
BilstonBoy, please see this
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=11400.0