Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: claivchord93 on March 05, 2013, 11:35:57 AM

Title: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: claivchord93 on March 05, 2013, 11:35:57 AM
Yesterday I updated to Avast! Free Anti-virus 8, but today when I tried to run some 3-d games(NBA 2k13 & NFS17), I got a "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine" error.
What can I do with this?   :(
Thank you!
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Spec8472 on March 05, 2013, 12:39:19 PM
Yesterday I updated to Avast! Free Anti-virus 8, but today when I tried to run some 3-d games(NBA 2k13 & NFS17), I got a "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine" error.
What can I do with this?   :(
Thank you!

Hi, please check version of your \Windows\System32\drivers\aswVmm.sys file.
If the version is later than 8.0.1482.45, then just restart your machine and it should be OK.
If the version is 8.0.1482.45 then execute patch:
http://files.avast.com/files/emupdate/20130304.exe
as administrator. It will replace your aswVmm.sys with version 8.0.1482.47. Then restart computer.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: alexlime on March 05, 2013, 03:41:49 PM
This Patch Does Nothing at all.
(I have the same problem)
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: max-support on March 05, 2013, 04:57:00 PM
Bonjour,

We are meeting the same problem:
after updating to avast 8, we can't run Virtual PC on a machine under Win 7 Pro, because Avast 8 deny Hardware-Assisted Virtualization.

At this time, replacing aswVmm is not the solution.

After having tested the machine w Microsoft havdetectiontool.exe when avast 8 running, result is :
  "this computer does not have hardware-assisted virtualization"

Testing the machine after having uninstalled Avast 8, result is:
  "Hardware-assisted virtualizatiuon is enabled on this computer".

So, how and when would we be able to run VPC w Avast 8 installed?

TIA
Patrice
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Broken Hope on March 05, 2013, 05:46:12 PM
Except the fix does nothing, how on earth can you guys beta a program and break something like CPU hardware features? My system now believes it doesn't support hardware Virtualisation.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: hbang on March 05, 2013, 07:52:23 PM
+ 1 patch does change aswvmm but doesnt solve the prob
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: user_1000 on March 05, 2013, 08:03:29 PM
Typical Avast quality nowadays... ??? I really wonder how an Avast developers can manage to break something like this.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Spec8472 on March 05, 2013, 08:10:24 PM
Hi,

but what problem you mean? Inability to play some games or "no hw virtualization" problem or virtual pc  problem? Can you check version of aswVmm.sys file in windows\system32\drivers directory? Did you reboot computer after executing the patch? This patch should solve games and virtual pc problems. "No hw virtualization available" is actually not a problem, because Avast is using virtualization extensions of CPU to help protect your computer. If other virtualization SW is detected (like VirtualBox/VmWare), this feature is automatically disabled to not interfere with other VMM.

+ 1 patch does change aswvmm but doesnt solve the prob
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: hbang on March 05, 2013, 08:17:57 PM
for example i have a portable drive genius app, that thing cant run under Avast 8 but run under 7
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: alexlime on March 06, 2013, 12:10:50 AM
This path changes the version of file. But this file version change, changes nothing at all.  :-\
And if you want this patch to change file vervion you need to turn off self defense module not just restarting the PC
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: zachster on March 06, 2013, 07:37:50 AM
Same issue here with Dead Space 3, as well as my wireless xbox 360 controller driver failing. So glad I updated all my clients to it. Yeesh.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: user_1000 on March 06, 2013, 08:36:27 AM
(snip)
"No hw virtualization available" is actually not a problem, because Avast is using virtualization extensions of CPU to help protect your computer. If other virtualization SW is detected (like VirtualBox/VmWare), this feature is automatically disabled to not interfere with other VMM.

Is there a possibility to disable that feature manually? Obviously an automatic detection isn't working perfectly.
Title: SOLVED: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: max-support on March 06, 2013, 09:31:39 AM
Bonjour,
Problem now solved.

1) Disable Avast! self defense
2) Replace aswVmm.sys in Windows\System32\Drivers directory with patch: http://files.avast.com/files/emupdate/20130304.exe executed as administrator
3) Enable self defense again
4) Reboot

Yesterday I tried w http://www2.avast.com/files/aswvmm/x64/aswvmm.zip which didn't succeed.

Thanks to Spec8472
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: alexlime on March 06, 2013, 10:14:57 AM
This is the same patch that doesnt work man...
SO problem is nor solved
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: max-support on March 06, 2013, 10:56:32 AM
This is the same patch that doesnt work man...
SO problem is nor solved

Mine is solved with 20130304.exe, was not with aswvmm.zip . That's enough... for me.
 ;)
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: claivchord93 on March 06, 2013, 11:39:39 AM
I have tried both what you said and what max-support said, but nothing helps.
Yesterday I updated to Avast! Free Anti-virus 8, but today when I tried to run some 3-d games(NBA 2k13 & NFS17), I got a "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine" error.
What can I do with this?   :(
Thank you!

Hi, please check version of your \Windows\System32\drivers\aswVmm.sys file.
If the version is later than 8.0.1482.45, then just restart your machine and it should be OK.
If the version is 8.0.1482.45 then execute patch:
http://files.avast.com/files/emupdate/20130304.exe
as administrator. It will replace your aswVmm.sys with version 8.0.1482.47. Then restart computer.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: hbang on March 06, 2013, 05:06:13 PM
same here, no solution yet
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: zachster on March 06, 2013, 05:39:13 PM
Also, when attempting to make alterations to that folder, permissions are locked down, so it can't be updated with the patches that have been suggested here (even when run as admin), I even tried just giving myself write access, still can't replace the file. I didn't want to dive deep on permissions because I was afraid I could screw up something or leave myself vulnerable to attack.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: max-support on March 06, 2013, 05:53:12 PM
Also, when attempting to make alterations to that folder, permissions are locked down, so it can't be updated with the patches that have been suggested here (even when run as admin), I even tried just giving myself write access, still can't replace the file. I didn't want to dive deep on permissions because I was afraid I could screw up something or leave myself vulnerable to attack.

waouh boys...! let me post it again :
problem solved following exactly that procedure:

BTW, after patching you will have 2 files in your C:\Windows\System32\drivers:
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: zachster on March 06, 2013, 06:02:49 PM
I have done that exactly, nothing happens when I run the exe, no message, no error, and no update to the file when follow the directions exactly. And by disable self defense I assume you mean avast pro 8 completely?
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: True Indian on March 06, 2013, 06:05:09 PM
I have done that exactly, nothing happens when I run the exe, no message, no error, and no update to the file when follow the directions exactly. And by disable self defense I assume you mean avast pro 8 completely?

yes you got it!  ;D
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: max-support on March 06, 2013, 06:13:21 PM
I have done that exactly, nothing happens when I run the exe, no message, no error, and no update to the file when follow the directions exactly. And by disable self defense I assume you mean avast pro 8 completely?

No, only writing about Avast! 8 free version 8.01482
Disable only Self defense module (in Avast! 8 settings)

Do you see files mentionned aswVmm.sys (v 8.0.1482.47) and aswvmm.sys.sum in your in your C:\Windows\System32\drivers?

if not, :-X
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Gopher John on March 06, 2013, 06:17:38 PM
I have done that exactly, nothing happens when I run the exe, no message, no error, and no update to the file when follow the directions exactly. And by disable self defense I assume you mean avast pro 8 completely?

To disable Avast Self Defense, open Avast interface and click on the Settings in the upper right hand corner.  Go to Troubleshooting at the bottom and uncheck "Enable avast! self defense module".  Then attempt the replacement and it should be successful.  Don't forget to enable self defense module when done.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: alexlime on March 06, 2013, 09:57:28 PM
I can't believe in that! 3 days long I cannot run my games... (( And NOBODY knows how to fix it?
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Lisandro on March 07, 2013, 02:20:26 AM
Strange I have avast! 8 running very well on a Virtualbox XP 32 bits...
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Spec8472 on March 07, 2013, 07:55:51 AM
There will be new build available today containing fixed version of aswVmm and also resolving conflict with Zone Alaram.

I can't believe in that! 3 days long I cannot run my games... And NOBODY knows how to fix it. Bloody avast.
Do developers know about that problem? I NEED ANY swearing SOLUTION. All these crap patches do f*** nothing
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: user_1000 on March 07, 2013, 10:52:22 AM
(snip)
"No hw virtualization available" is actually not a problem, because Avast is using virtualization extensions of CPU to help protect your computer. If other virtualization SW is detected (like VirtualBox/VmWare), this feature is automatically disabled to not interfere with other VMM.

I would like to know... Is there a possibility to manually disable that? And also what component/shield of Avast is using virtualization extensions of CPU?
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: True Indian on March 07, 2013, 11:12:53 AM
There will be new build available today containing fixed version of aswVmm and also resolving conflict with Zone Alaram.

You mean a new program update release?? or a internal fix via VPS??

-------

Guys,Please be patient avast team is looking and trying their level best to keep up resolving the issues.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: alexlime on March 07, 2013, 03:04:59 PM
Ok, I have updated my Avast IS today and there is no fix after it. Same problem, nothing changed.

Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Spec8472 on March 07, 2013, 03:42:04 PM
Hi alexlime, I am going to investigate this issue, can you please procade your CPU specs? Also, currently there is no way in GUI to disable this feature but you can use registry hack:

1) Disable self defense
2) Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\AswVmm and change "Start" value to 4
3) Enable self defense
4) Reboot

Thanks

Ok, I have updated my Avast IS today and there is no fix after it. Same problem, nothing changed.
So guys who has the same problem - there is only one solution:
Delete Avast 8 and install any other software

P.S I was using Avast for ~ 5 years, maybe more... And 8 version update is the biggest fail that developers have made.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: alexlime on March 07, 2013, 03:47:52 PM
Pentium Dual Core E6300  2.8 GHz
Win 7 x64


Hi alexlime, I am going to investigate this issue, can you please procade your CPU specs? Also, currently there is no way in GUI to disable this feature but you can use registry hack:

1) Disable self defense
2) Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\AswVmm and change "Start" value to 4
3) Enable self defense
4) Reboot

Thanks

Ok, I have updated my Avast IS today and there is no fix after it. Same problem, nothing changed.
So guys who has the same problem - there is only one solution:
Delete Avast 8 and install any other software

P.S I was using Avast for ~ 5 years, maybe more... And 8 version update is the biggest fail that developers have made.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: hbang on March 07, 2013, 04:08:47 PM
@Alex


Disabling registry you pointed to definitely took care of the issue I had launching one portable app.

intel i7
intel I5
WIN 8 PRO and Enterprise 64 bits
Latest Avast from today
All up to date as far as drivers and such

what s the fallout from disabling that reg??
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: zachster on March 07, 2013, 09:29:35 PM
This fixed Dead Space 3, will be testing whether I can use my 360 controller again. Thanks very much for this fix, moderators should mark it as solved until A8v2 comes out including an option to disable this feature. Have been going back and forth with tech support for two days and that's the plan.  Thanks very much forum!!!

Hi alexlime, I am going to investigate this issue, can you please procade your CPU specs? Also, currently there is no way in GUI to disable this feature but you can use registry hack:

1) Disable self defense
2) Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\AswVmm and change "Start" value to 4
3) Enable self defense
4) Reboot

Thanks

Ok, I have updated my Avast IS today and there is no fix after it. Same problem, nothing changed.
So guys who has the same problem - there is only one solution:
Delete Avast 8 and install any other software

P.S I was using Avast for ~ 5 years, maybe more... And 8 version update is the biggest fail that developers have made.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: Practical on March 08, 2013, 05:30:48 AM
Also, when attempting to make alterations to that folder, permissions are locked down, so it can't be updated with the patches that have been suggested here (even when run as admin), I even tried just giving myself write access, still can't replace the file. I didn't want to dive deep on permissions because I was afraid I could screw up something or leave myself vulnerable to attack.

waouh boys...! let me post it again :
problem solved following exactly that procedure:
  • 1) Disable Avast! self defense
  • 2) run as administrator the downloaded patch 20130304.exe  (http://files.avast.com/files/emupdate/20130304.exe )
  • 3) Re-enable Avast! self defense
  • 4) Reboot

BTW, after patching you will have 2 files in your C:\Windows\System32\drivers:
  • a new aswVmm.sys (v 8.0.1482.47)
  • a aswvmm.sys.sum

it didn't help me, but this another way

Hi alexlime, I am going to investigate this issue, can you please procade your CPU specs? Also, currently there is no way in GUI to disable this feature but you can use registry hack:

1) Disable self defense
2) Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\services\AswVmm and change "Start" value to 4
3) Enable self defense
4) Reboot

I fixed my Call of Duty MW3
 ;D
I've done it 1 minute before Avast deleting from my PC
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: alexlime on March 08, 2013, 03:18:01 PM
Just one question. Can this registry hack cause any security issue?
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: zachster on March 08, 2013, 03:32:45 PM
It affects this one feature only, which pertains to virtual machines. So my guess is no.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: igor on March 08, 2013, 06:25:12 PM
With the driver disabled (which is what the registry modification does), some of the features (e.g. the sandbox) will be less reliable.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: sinan on March 10, 2013, 04:49:08 PM
I got this message too after update to version 8, and my "aswVmm.sys" version is 8.0.1483.72 and I'm still getting this error "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine" please fix it
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: xemon.mpei on March 15, 2013, 11:47:30 PM
Таже самая проблема. Временное решение - удаление аваста с трех компьютеров. Являюсь пользователем трех лицензионных версий avast! Internet Security. Очень печалит тот факт, что уже не первый раз обновления проходят с ошибками. Пора переходить на касперского с таким отношением.
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: zachster on March 17, 2013, 06:44:15 PM
After the most recent update you guys released, I now cannot open the games again, and trying the original fix no longer works. HELP. I got the 360 adapter working, wasn’t Avast
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: AlpineLV on March 23, 2013, 04:07:30 PM
Been using avast for 3 years now, bet after this... sorry, bye Avast

well.. I'cant even uninstalll it, stupid thing just stays on uninstallation progress like forever now
Title: Re: Got "Sorry, this application cannot run under a Virtual Machine"
Post by: zachster on March 23, 2013, 04:12:01 PM
Try the avast removal tool, works everytime

Been using avast for 3 years now, bet after this... sorry, bye Avast

well.. I'cant even uninstalll it, stupid thing just stays on uninstallation progress like forever now