Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Makawak on July 06, 2013, 02:16:26 AM

Title: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: Makawak on July 06, 2013, 02:16:26 AM
Hey everyone,

My parents PC is having an issue. I created a deep scan for them to run on a weekly basis and its picked up 12 threats. They can't do anything with the virus, they can select any of the options such as repair, move to chest, delete however when they go to click the "Apply" button nothing happens, and the button acts as if it is greyed out and not functioning.

Any thoughts or insight on this would be greatly appreciated.

Pete
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: Lisandro on July 06, 2013, 03:00:30 AM
Which is the "problem" or virus detected?
Sometimes, the greyed out has a reason to be there?
Can you post the file names?
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: Makawak on July 06, 2013, 03:16:04 AM
I have called them asking them to run the scan again and to take a screen shot of the virus' found. Will post here as soon as I have the information.
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: DavidR on July 06, 2013, 03:22:36 AM
They don't have to run the scan again, just go to the avastUI, Maintenance, Scan Logs and select the last scan log, it will show the entries previously listed. See image example of screen, once they highlight the scan log, click the View results.
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: Makawak on July 07, 2013, 05:33:42 PM
Attached are the virus' found, sorry for the delay.
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: CraigB on July 07, 2013, 05:39:15 PM
Seems like a detection of virus signatures related to other installed security software, the solution would be to uninstall the other software and replace with Malwarebytes if they need a second opinion scanner.
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: Pondus on July 07, 2013, 05:51:57 PM
it seems somone have selected "scan memory" in the scan settings
DO not use that setting unless you know what you do
detection in memory is the second most asked question in the forum, so lots of info if you forum search

what you have detected is virus signatures from another security program loaded in memory, and not infections
these are not files that can be deleted/moved.... so button does not work


Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: Pondus on July 07, 2013, 05:57:28 PM
the programs related are IObit malware fighter / IObit advanced system care

here is some info about IObit company you should read

http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=29681
http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=30989
http://www.malwarebytes.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=33217

i recomend uninstalling the IObit programs and replace them with these
Malwarebytes antimalware.  www.malwarebytes.org
CCleaner.   www.piriform.com

use CCleaner slim installer to avoid the ask toolbar install.   http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/builds

Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: Makawak on July 07, 2013, 09:02:07 PM
Thanks so much, removing iobit and putting in tools from Piriform.
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: CraigB on July 07, 2013, 09:10:30 PM
Don't forget Malwarebytes :)
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: wyrmrider on July 08, 2013, 03:44:37 AM
back in the day they stole spybots database and there was no evidence that their scanner actually scanned anything
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: CraigB on July 08, 2013, 08:45:10 AM
back in the day they stole spybots database and there was no evidence that their scanner actually scanned anything
Never heard of that, I know the Iobit once stole Malwarebytes database.
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: wyrmrider on July 08, 2013, 03:22:35 PM
OP
in the future go to the Virus and Worms section of the forum
start with this thread
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

Maybe it was the ad-aware database- one of them
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: CraigB on July 08, 2013, 04:06:03 PM
OP
in the future go to the Virus and Worms section of the forum
start with this thread
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

Maybe it was the ad-aware database- one of them
If you read the topic correctly you will see that Pondus supplied the answer, it was Iobit virus signatures detection.

No need to be placed in the viruses and worms section as it a common mistake made by many by activating scan memory.
Title: Re: Unable to do anything with virus
Post by: wyrmrider on July 08, 2013, 10:38:43 PM
I was not suggesting that he start a thread in the virus and worms forum but that he familiarize himself with the procedures
running an MBAM scan is a great suggestion
doing it in the order found in the sticky is even better
of course if he finds anything then he can post THERE