Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: slumdog on August 09, 2013, 05:29:41 PM

Title: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 09, 2013, 05:29:41 PM
I have recently been recommended Avast, so have installed. I have been able to run a full boot scan but i am unable to turn on any of the shields, the error message reads "Unable to start the ! Shield unreachable.
This is in Windows Vista if that makes any difference.
Thanks.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: Pondus on August 09, 2013, 05:53:43 PM
Did you uninstall previous used AV before installing avast?
Did you run the vendors removal tool to clear all leftover files?

tools found at   http://singularlabs.com/uninstallers/security-software/


if yes, try avast repair
controlpanel > ad/remove programs > avast > uninstall > repair option....wait a minute and reboot


Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 09, 2013, 06:03:45 PM
All i had before was MSE which I deleted.
I dont know what "vendors removal topp" is. Sorry.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: Pondus on August 09, 2013, 06:05:25 PM
sorry for typo, small screen on cellphone .... edit above

Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 09, 2013, 07:15:23 PM
Nope, still wont do anything.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: Pondus on August 09, 2013, 07:18:24 PM
Nope, still wont do anything.
OK attach a OTL diagnostic log

scroll Down to OTL here   http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0    follow instructions and attach the log (not copy and paste) 

Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 09, 2013, 08:27:25 PM
I think this is correct?
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: essexboy on August 09, 2013, 09:12:12 PM
Not a great deal there does it give any additional error reports ?

Warning This fix is only relevant for this system and no other, using on another computer may cause problems

Be advised that when the fix commences it will shut down all running processes and you may lose the desktop and icons, they will return on reboot

Run OTL
Code: [Select]
:Commands
[CREATERESTOREPOINT]

:OTL
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.defaultenginename: "Search the web (Babylon)"
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.defaulturl: "http://search.babylon.com/web/{searchTerms}?babsrc=browsersearch&AF=18827"
FF - prefs.js..browser.search.order.1: ""
FF - prefs.js..extensions.enabledItems: {CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0020-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.20
FF - prefs.js..extensions.enabledItems: {CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0022-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.22
FF - prefs.js..extensions.enabledItems: {CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0024-ABCDEFFEDCBA}:6.0.24
[2010/09/28 22:39:14 | 000,002,333 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Users\garysmithafc\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\w8lqr85o.default\searchplugins\askcom.xml
[2011/05/08 12:14:24 | 000,002,226 | ---- | M] () -- C:\Program Files\mozilla firefox\searchplugins\babylon.xml
O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - No CLSID value found.
O2 - BHO: (Reg Error: Value error.) - {EAEE5C74-6D0D-4aca-9232-0DA4A7B866BA} - C:\Program Files\PicLensIE\cooliris.dll (Cooliris Inc.)

:Commands
[resethosts]
[emptytemp]
[Reboot]
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 09, 2013, 10:04:16 PM
Hope this is correct.........?
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: essexboy on August 09, 2013, 11:33:47 PM
If Avast is still not turning on

Lets reinstall Avast

Download Uninstall Utility (http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility) to your Desktop.
Download the correct version of Avast 
Avast Free (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe)
Avast Pro (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe)
Avast Internet Security (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe)
Avast Premier (http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe)
Disconnect from the net
Uninstall Avast via control panel

(https://dl.dropbox.com/u/73555776/aswclear.JPG)
----------
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 10, 2013, 01:07:05 AM
All running now! Thanks for your help essexboy and Pondus.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 10, 2013, 01:33:58 AM
One last thing, avast does keep freezing when I click on anything and says (not responding) at the top, while my internet access is working fine at the same time. 
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 10, 2013, 11:26:26 AM
Ok......as I mentioned before, the only scan I have managed to successfully run is the boot up scan. I have tried custom scan to no avail and as for the normal scan, it doesn't even allow me to click on any of the options. It continues to say "not responding" every time i click on anything.
Is this really worth the hassle after the problems i had just to get the shields up and running?
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: essexboy on August 10, 2013, 12:38:37 PM
OK lets try one more programme as I see a file that is running with global access and is associated with WMI

Download and Install Combofix
 
Download ComboFix from one of the following locations:
Link 1  (http://download.bleepingcomputer.com/sUBs/ComboFix.exe)
Link 2 (http://www.forospyware.com/sUBs/ComboFix.exe)
 
VERY IMPORTANT !!! Save ComboFix.exe to your Desktop
 
* IMPORTANT - Disable your AntiVirus and AntiSpyware applications, usually via a right click on the System Tray icon. They may otherwise interfere with our tools. If you have difficulty properly disabling your protective programs, refer to this link here  (http://forums.whatthetech.com/How_Disable_your_Security_Programs_t96260.html&pid=494216#entry494216)
(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v706/ried7/NSIS_disclaimer_ENG.png)

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v706/ried7/NSIS_extraction.png)

Notes:
1. Do not mouse-click Combofix's window while it is running. That may cause it to stall.
2. Do not "re-run" Combofix. If you have a problem, reply back for further instructions.
3.  If after the reboot you get errors about programmes being marked for deletion then reboot, that will cure it.


Please make sure you include the combo fix log in your next reply as well as describe how your computer is running now
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 10, 2013, 10:25:42 PM
Think this is what you asked for.........
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 10, 2013, 10:29:19 PM
laptop is not stuttering/freezing anymore but is "boot-time scan" the only scan available? Because that's all I can do!
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: essexboy on August 10, 2013, 11:05:31 PM
Could you now run a repair of Avast as Combofix found an infected file

Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 11, 2013, 01:57:54 AM
Done, via the control panel.
Can you tell me in your next post, should I just be able to click on the "scan now" option with avast and the scan should run?
Sorry essexboy, this is becoming rather tedious and pointless when I could just get free AV elsewhere!
I totally respect that you are trying to help but................all I want is to do a full scan, which hasn't been done now for 6 weeks!
#worried
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: essexboy on August 11, 2013, 05:02:37 PM
Open the Avast GUI
Click on the security header
Click Antivirus
Select one of the scans
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 11, 2013, 05:11:41 PM
That is what I cannot do! It doesn't allow me to click on anything!
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 11, 2013, 05:13:22 PM
There are no scans to click on, just the boot up one where I have to schedule the scan.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: essexboy on August 11, 2013, 05:14:13 PM
So the scan page looks nothing like my screenshot and is empty ?
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 11, 2013, 11:32:34 PM
All it shows is the boot up scan or the create custom scan (at the bottom right), which I have tried to do but it doesn't run.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 12, 2013, 03:48:19 PM
So, is there no hope for me of actually being able to run a scan?
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: essexboy on August 12, 2013, 03:52:22 PM
All I can think of now is to run SFC to see if any windows files are corrupt

Open an elevated command prompt :

Go Start > All Programmes > Accessories > System tools
Right click command prompt and select "run as administrator"
In the black box that opens type the following command and press enter :

sfc /scannow

On completion reboot and try again
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 12, 2013, 05:23:50 PM
Nope. Still the same.

 I'm getting rid of Avast now because it doesn't work. All it does is slows down my pc and makes it get very hot. Bye.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: bob3160 on August 12, 2013, 09:03:52 PM
We already know thatthe problem isn't avast! but, no one is twisting your arm.
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: slumdog on August 12, 2013, 09:40:39 PM
 >:(
Title: Re: Shields will not on.
Post by: bob3160 on August 12, 2013, 09:43:52 PM
Errrr.....the problem WAS avast (a vast of space), my pc is running smoother that ever now that I have uninstalled avast and downloaded the far superior AVG.
Oh, and I can actually run a scan with AVG.
Bye Avast people.
Never again.
Enjoy. :)