Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 01, 2003, 07:09:52 AM

Title: avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 01, 2003, 07:09:52 AM
Hi all.  I was having an annoying RAM leak when using Kazaa Lite K++ causing the computer to crash after about 3 hours.  I discovered (finally) that the leak stopped when I disabled the AVAST 4 P2P Resident Protection.

I don't recall this happening when I was using earlier versions of KAZAA Lite and AVAST 32

Anyone else had this problem?  
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Vlk on October 01, 2003, 11:59:17 AM
Please tell us what operating system are you using, and which version of Kazaa and avast you have...

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 01, 2003, 03:29:33 PM
Hi guys!  Using avast 4.1.268, KazaaLite versions
2.4.0. 2.4.1 and 2.4.2 will eventually crash (I have not yet tried the new version 2.4.3).  Sometimes it takes a couple of hours -- other times it'll happen very quickly when switching from the download traffic page back to the search page.  

KazaaLite version 2.1.0 build 3 seems to work better with avast 4.1.268.

Memory use is the problem.  With the P2P protection,
avast 4.1.268 is using 20,000K of memory and the KazaaLite versions I cited use more than 18,000K of memory while 2.1.0 build 3 uses less than 16,000K.

I'm using Windows XP SP1 with all critical updates.  I've got 512mb ram and a 1.8ghz processor.

Dave50
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 01, 2003, 04:15:24 PM
Hi Vlk.  I'm using Windows XP SP1,  KL Version 2.4.2 Build 1, August 26, 2003 and AVAST version 4.1 Home Edition Build 4.1.268 Sept/03 with Xtreme tookit V 1.9.4.0.

Thanks,
Ken

PS
This is a great product, it's saved my system a few times already.   Thanks guys
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 01, 2003, 04:15:49 PM
avast team -- if P2P protection is turned off while using KazaaLite, can't a downladed file be scanned manually to make sure there's no virus?  Turning off P2P protection seems to be the only way of avoiding the memory use problem between avast and the newer versions of KazaaLite.

Dave50
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Vlk on October 01, 2003, 06:30:03 PM
People, this is an important issue and I want to have it solved real soon. Gimme as much info as possible, please.

In which process did you see the leak? Was it really that big? What memory-profiling (measuring) tools did you use?

Thanks,
Vlk

Edit: One more thing: does it help if you just uncheck the KazaaLite checkbox in the P2P Shield settings, or does the Shield have to be deactivated altogether for the problem to disappear?
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Drekhead on October 01, 2003, 07:27:04 PM
Vlk; spoke to you previously via e-mail about this problem. You pointed me to this forum, so I thought I would continue here. Hope my information helps.

Quote
In which process did you see the leak?

I never could determine what process was causing the leak. I assumed in was something in Avast, because it was the only new application on my system.

Quote
Was it really that big?

Yes. It would grow until the system was no longer useable. I'd have to reboot.

Quote
What memory-profiling (measuring) tools did you use?

I have CoolMon running on my desktop. It displays RAM Free, RAM Used, and Page File usage.

Quote
One more thing: does it help if you just uncheck the KazaaLite checkbox in the P2P Shield settings, or does the Shield have to be deactivated altogether for the problem to disappear?

My leak was occuring with only BitTorrent checked. I unchecked it, no change. I had to deactivate P2P Shield altogether before the leak disappeared. I have only had it shutdown for a few hours now, but the leak behavior I had been observing has disappeared. I'll keep you posted.
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 01, 2003, 07:53:40 PM
Vlk -- I can't determine the exact process.  However, and I've pointed this out in a previous post, while
avast 4.1.268 is using 20,000K of memory and the KazaaLite versions use 18,000K, Norton 2003 uses
7,000K memory and AVG-6 Free uses less than 2,000K.
I suspect since avast and KazaaLite are both using large amounts of memory, that's the slowdown and eventual freeze -- adding to it all the other things that XP runs in the background.  

One of two things happen -- KazaaLite works fine and then all of a sudden a message comes up that it's encountered a problem and needs to shut down -- or --
it becomes slower and slower until it does nothing and just locks up and you can't even close the program.  If you then do a cold shutdown and reboot, all's well for a little while and then the cycle repeats.

Dave50
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 02, 2003, 07:46:30 AM
Hi Vlk. The method I used was to turn off various processes until I noticed the RAM memory stabilise. I just used the performance monitor in Task Mananger.

The leak is bad. 200 Meg of RAM in about 3 hours. Eventually, the system does not have enough free RAM to run and crashes.

THis only happens on my machine when using Kazaa with the On Access Scanner running. I didn't try just turning off the P2P, I shut the whole Scanner down.  

I will try only disabling the P2P and report back.  If you have anything else you would like me to check, please let me know.

Cheers,
K
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Hornus Continuum on October 02, 2003, 09:30:53 PM
greatwhitenorth221, Dave50, Drekhead,

If it's available to you, you can use the Performance Monitor in Microsoft Management Console to investigate a suspected memory leak.  From the MMC help file:

    If you suspect a memory leak, monitor Memory\Available Bytes and
    Memory\Committed Bytes to observe memory behavior and monitor
    Process\Private Bytes, Process\Working Set, and Process\Handle
    Count for processes you think might be leaking memory. Also monitor
    Memory\Pool Nonpaged Bytes, Memory\Pool Nonpaged Allocs, and
    Process(process_name)\Pool Nonpaged Bytes if you suspect that a
    kernel-mode process is causing the leak.

Regards,
Hornus
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 03, 2003, 07:39:09 AM
OK, the system still loses memory with only the P2P scanner disabled. I have to stop the whole provider for the RAM to stabilise.  I had Kazaa Lite running for 24 hours with no loss of RAM without the Avast running.  It was losing 30-40 Meg an hour when running.
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 03, 2003, 07:42:42 AM
Oh,  and Hornus, thanks for the tips but you lost me on about the 3rd sentence... a bit over my head.  I suspect the crew at Avast could simulate the same thing by running these versions of KL and Avast on a home XP OS?  If the problem doesn't repeat itself.......
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 03, 2003, 07:46:48 AM
and where the heck does a llama fit in to this anyay?
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Hornus Continuum on October 03, 2003, 09:53:45 PM
Oh,  and Hornus, thanks for the tips but you lost me on about the 3rd sentence... a bit over my head.  I suspect the crew at Avast could simulate the same thing by running these versions of KL and Avast on a home XP OS?  If the problem doesn't repeat itself.......


greatwhitenorth221,

The team may or may not be able to duplicate your problem.  Since most users are not experiencing (or at least reporting) a memory leak problem, there may be something unique about your system setup that isn't present in the Alwil test beds, or they may reproduce a similar problem but not your's.  (Problems with similar symptoms may or may not have the same solution.)  By using Performance Monitor and providing them with the information you collect, you may help them zero in on what specifically is happening on your computer and develop a solution more quickly (and easily  :) ).  Help them help you.  ;D

First log on to your system with an account with administrator priveleges.  Search the  Start Menu for Administrative Tools and select Performance.  (You can also get to it through the Control Panel -> Performance and Maintenance -> Administrative Tools -> Performance.)  I won't go into the specifics here since the help file and context-sensitive help is quite detailed, but the basic premise is that you want to set up a new log to monitor memory and process performance by adding the counters listed in my last post.  A few minutes reading the help file should muddy the waters, I mean clear things up, for you.

P.S.: I don't get the llama thing either, but I've noticed it on other bulletin boards powered by the same software.

Regards,
Hornus
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 04, 2003, 05:59:44 AM
I seem to have stumbled on a solution to myK-Lite crash problem and so far, even the newest version, 2.4.3 is working with avast.

There are numerous posts on the K-Lite forum about the newer versions crashing.  Most of the K-Lite gurus are telling those with problems to get more memory.  However, one gentleman suggested getting rid of Windows Media Player 9 and going back to what you were using before that upgrade.

If that doesn't help, HP told me to get rid of ALL Windows Updates, even if it means reformatting the hard drive and reinstalling Windows XP.  (That's what worked for me).

HP told me on the phone that a number of computers, regardless of age, operating system or memory specs simply don't get along with WMP-9 and/or the Windows Updates.  While no one seems to know why this is, some people (myself included) have had numerous conflicts.

When I asked HP about the XP security holes and critical updates, the tech told me for the average user, a properly set up firewall (that includes XP's) and a good antivirus program (like avast) offers enough protection.

I'm not an expert and I don't pretend to be, but I've finally got K-Lite working with avast.  I may eventually put the Windows Updates back in, but right now, the experiment is a success.

I don't guarantee this for anyone, but you might want to give it a try.  If it doesn't work, Hornus' advice is the way to go.

Dave

P.S.:  some folks here in SW Florida are raising llamas.
They like to spit.....
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 04, 2003, 05:01:11 PM
Hi everyone!  Here's the latest from my test with K-Lite and avast.....

After reformatting my hard drive and reinstalling XP and temporarily NOT installing SP1 or any other Windows Updates (no Media Player 9 -- just the XP player), I downloaded the newest K-Lite version 2.4.3.

Memory use is lower than the other recent versions --
12,576K as opposed to amounts higher than 18,000K.
Avast memory use (with 3 of 5 providers running) holds between 20,000k and 22,000k (according to task manager).

The lower memory use of K-Lite 2.4.3 seems to do the trick.  Next up, whether putting Windows Updates back in changes things.

Dave
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 04, 2003, 11:26:53 PM
OK I have figured out the performance monitor thing.  I can generate a whole big pile of counter data and save it in various formats.  Is is anyone willing to look at it? ;D  If so, what format is preferable, Theres binary , text etc.
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: greatwhitenorth221 on October 04, 2003, 11:32:18 PM
also, I want to make sure I have identified all the relevant processes.  I have in the log file:

ashdisp.exe
ashserve.exe
ashMaiSv.exe
aswvpdSv.exe
kazaalite.kpp

Any other processes I should add? Do I just want counter data?

Thanks for your patience,

K
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: YaN on October 06, 2003, 11:03:12 AM
Hi!

I pointed out a similar problem some time ago:
http://www.avast.com/forum/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=1100
I removed avast that time. On Friday I decided to try again hoping that the newer avast! is better. Well, system freezes with "no available resources" after a few hours and I have to reboot. avast! was setup to run only Standard Shield with checking on create/modify only. P2P software used - eMule 0.30. Other software - Webshots screensaver (free version). I mention it now since webshots crashed also when trying to change a background image (no resourses).
I checked the memory usage in Task Manager - but could not identify the exact process. Maybe the driver is not freeing file handles or something like this?
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Hornus Continuum on October 06, 2003, 11:21:44 AM
greatwhitenorth221,

I'll have a go at it.  I'm cursious about what will be in it and planned to have a look had you posted it anyway, but I don't guarantee results.  (Your mileage may vary.   ;D )    Make it a text log so you can attach it to your post.  Include ashSimpl.exe also if you are using the simple interface.  Run both a trace log and a counter log.

Regards,
Hornus
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Vlk on October 06, 2003, 11:30:52 AM
Virtually any status value/counter can be monitored using the Performance Monitor (perfmon.exe).

The Task manager also provides quite a number of useful info. See e.g. the Performance tab. You got handle count, thread/process count, physical memory usage, and kernel memory usage (=the memory used up by the device drivers) all on this page.

Vlk
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Hornus Continuum on October 06, 2003, 11:53:15 AM
That's one hell of a box you're running there Vlk, 8 processors  :D ?

Hornum
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Vlk on October 06, 2003, 11:55:34 AM
Hehe, yeah it's a screenshot from an 8-way test server... ;D
(and no, the memory isn't taken up by the avast processes ;D)
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 06, 2003, 12:49:23 PM
Hello Vlk and everyone else!  Since Saturday when I reformatted and reinstalled XP temporarily without SP1 and Windows Updates, avast! and the latest KazaaLite version (2.4.3) are running perfectly.  Absolutely no memory leak, no lockups and no freezes.

I've noticed on this forum and on the K-Lite forum that everyone having the crash problem is running XP -- either home or pro, along with Windows Media Player 9.

I honestly don't think the problem is with avast! or
K-Lite.  I think there's some type of conflict issue with
WMP 9 or the Windows Updates.

I'm going to spend the next day or so gradually putting Windows Updates back in to see if I can narrow this down.

Dave
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Vlk on October 06, 2003, 12:55:15 PM
Dave, thanks a lot! We really appreciate your effort -- we would very much like to fix this problem asap we aren't able to simulate it. It just works here. :-\

I'm really curious what's the real cause of the problems.
Vlk
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 07, 2003, 12:59:21 PM
Hello Vlk and avast team...

I apologize for the length of this post.  But, I want to give you everything I can regarding the KazaaLite crash issue.

I am now more confident than ever that it's a problem with Windows Updates and/or Media Player 9 and not avast.

My computer -- HP Pavilion 760n, 1.8 ghz Pentium 4, 512mb ram, 120 gb hard drive, Windows XP.

With SP-1, all critical updates and Media Player 9 --
using avast 4.1.268 (home) -- K-Lite version 2.4.3 (the newest) eventually leads to an error that Windows Explorer has a problem and must close.  Versions 2.4.2 and 2.4.1 crash.  Version 2.1.0 build 3 gets the Windows Explorer error.  Errors happen within minutes or a couple of hours -- there's no set pattern.
Results are the same with Norton NAV 2003.  
using AVG-6 (Free) -- all versions of K-Lite get the Windows Explorer error.

With SP-1, critical updates and XP's Media Plauer --
results above are repeated but it takes a little longer to get the errors.  I suspect there's less of a memory drain without Media Player 9, but there's still a drain.

Removing SP-1 and all critical updates --
all versions of K-Lite work with avast, nav2003 and avg,
no errors, no freezes, no lockups.

As stated before, some computers just will not work correctly with Media Player 9 and Windows Updates.  On the Dell forums, there are complaints that a new XP update that came out last week is causing help files to disappear.  Other people still have problems with the revised update 811493 -- the original release 6 months ago caused thousands of computers to crash.  Indeed, when I download Windows Updates, it keeps trying to send me a Lucent phone modem driver as a critical update (I'm on cable broadband and don't even use a dial-up connection).

I would suggest that greatwhitenorth221 and anyone else having the crash problem simply try using avast and K-Lite without Windows Updates.  No guarantee it'll work for them but on my computer, it seems to be the way to go until perhaps XP's SP-2 comes out.  Perhaps there'll be fewer conflicts then.

To repeat -- on my computer -- it's not avast!

Dave

Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Vlk on October 07, 2003, 02:31:47 PM
Hi Dave, thanks for your post.

Your observations make me ask one more question: If the patched and/or updated WinXP do not work properly with the AV progs (at least with those you've tested), do they work without any AV? In other words, is the AV program the trigger, or is it completely unrelated?

Thanks
Vlk
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 07, 2003, 02:58:20 PM
Vlk -- my computer gets very sluggish with the Windows Updates WITHOUT antivirus programs.  I tried a test with a clean install of XP, putting in SP-1 and all critical updates.  Computer slowed WAY down.  I then tried to install AVG-6 (Free) which is very light on resources.  Every time I tried this, AVG would not install properly.  It installed properly if I put it in right after finishing the clean XP install.  Of course, following that with the updates then created problems again.

Also, while my case may or may not be unique, I do know of some cases where a few Windows Updates have created problems only if Norton 2003 is installed.

So, to answer your question -- on my computer, Windows Updates don't work properly at all and on some others, the trigger is the antivirus program.

Dave
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 07, 2003, 03:15:07 PM
Vlk -- one additional thought ....

The last time I installed SP-1 and all critical updates (before this latest round of testing), my computer ran into serious problems -- wouldn't boot.  I was on the phone with HP for over two hours and we discovered that the updates corrupted a system32 file.  We managed to eventually get the computer to perform a CHKDSK which repaired the file.  At that time, HP told me and I quote -- do not install SP-1 or any Windows Updates.  Perhaps HP is aware of a conflict with my particular model -- I don't know.  I can tell you that right now, without the updates, avast, k-lite and everything else on my computer is working perfectly.

Dave
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Lisandro on October 08, 2003, 04:05:31 AM
Results are the same with Norton NAV 2003.  
using AVG-6 (Free) -- all versions of K-Lite get the Windows Explorer error.

Removing SP-1 and all critical updates --
all versions of K-Lite work with avast, nav2003 and avg,
no errors, no freezes, no lockups.


To repeat -- on my computer -- it's not avast!

Dave

Thanks, Dave.
I suppose you are not using two av at the same time in the same computer...
Am I right?  8)
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Dave50 on October 08, 2003, 04:31:23 AM
You are right, Technical.  My tests for Vlk involved a clean install of XP for each antivirus test so there'd be no traces or debris left to taint the results.  

I may try the Windows Updates again in the future to see what happens.  

Dave
Title: Re:avast causing memory leak?
Post by: Lisandro on October 08, 2003, 04:37:35 AM
You are right, Technical.  My tests for Vlk involved a clean install of XP for each antivirus test so there'd be no traces or debris left to taint the results.  

I may try the Windows Updates again in the future to see what happens.  

Dave

I have updated Windows will all recomended available patches, except Q330994 that brings me some trouble with OE. Some WMP paches I did not apply because I donĀ“t use this player (RealOne is better for me...).
Good luck.  ;D