Avast WEBforum

Business Products => Archive (Legacy) => Avast Business => USA Education Products => Topic started by: karmana on September 24, 2013, 06:02:23 PM

Title: Can't remote install
Post by: karmana on September 24, 2013, 06:02:23 PM
First off, I love Avast, and have for years.  So when I got the opportunity to push out this EDU program, I was thrilled.  Unfortunately, it comes across as being still very much in Beta testing (the EAC.)  I can manually install on a workstation, and it reports in to the EAC just fine.  I've gone over config changes for the remote install tasks, variations on use of domain, then domain/username, using an * for the domain, etc...  I've searched the Windows Temp folder for stuck temp files (didn't find any,) all with no luck.  This is all I get now, when I run my remote install, in the log:

09/24/13 08:25:07:   rinstInstall begin
09/24/13 08:25:07:   Init 50 60 C:\Windows\TEMP\asw175F.tmp C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Enterprise Administration\InstPkgs NULL  0
09/24/13 08:25:07:   Store
09/24/13 08:25:07:   Domains: *,
09/24/13 08:25:07:   TerminateAll
09/24/13 08:25:07:   rinstInstall end 87

09/24/13 08:53:10:   rinstInstall begin
09/24/13 08:53:10:   Init 50 60 C:\Windows\TEMP\aswC692.tmp C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Enterprise Administration\InstPkgs NULL  0
09/24/13 08:53:10:   Store
09/24/13 08:53:10:   Domains: abcsd,
09/24/13 08:53:10:   TerminateAll
09/24/13 08:53:11:   rinstInstall end 87

Note, you'll see in the first run, I was using * for the domain as suggested in the EAC itself; for the second run, I switched to the actual domain name, and am using a domain admin account for the install push.

Compared to other logs I've seen, it doesn't appear to even attempt to initialize the domain?  Where can I find more informative logs on WHY the install ended without installing?

Thanks,
Michael
Title: Re: Can't remote install
Post by: karmana on September 24, 2013, 06:06:44 PM
This may also help, from the entServer.log:

[2013/09/24 09:00:00.322,972] Setup path: C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Enterprise Administration\InstPkgs
[2013/09/24 09:00:00.828,972] rinstInstall failed with 0x00000057 error...
Title: Re: Can't remote install
Post by: dshetter on September 26, 2013, 10:57:02 PM
Just a little question you listed domain/username as the user. It is domain\username. I don't know if you just typoed it here.

I included a screenshot of my Install setup