Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: lukas.hasik on September 26, 2013, 04:32:32 PM

Title: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on September 26, 2013, 04:32:32 PM

The update process should be smooth and easy. You will be updated to the latest 2014 Beta build (current latest "beta" build # 2014.9.0.2003 (aka RC1)). All components from given avast edition should be present in the updated instance of avast. If there is valid license/not expired registration then all services should be running (or not if you turned them off in avast 8). In other words the setting should be preserved after the update.

If you feel that you found any issue please let us know. We will be interested in setup.logs - they are in two  locations now 1) new logs - C:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Persistent Data\Avast\Logs and 2) old logs - c:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\log\setup.log  You can either report them to the feedback.avast.com (http://feedback.avast.com) or directly to my email address hasik (a t) avast (d o t) com. Please report avast edition, update path and your OS in the report too, please.

Known issue:
thank you and enjoy the Bug Hunt
Lukas.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Eddy on September 26, 2013, 04:50:55 PM
Known issue:
* the beta does not install on cpu's who are using the MMX instruction set
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: BODUL on September 26, 2013, 05:28:46 PM
Hi,

Tried to download but again blocked downloads (from avast_a8r3IS) for about 1min (holding_1sec) then downloaded but corrupted file (a8r3) screenshot. blocked from windows.
Reported here:
https://feedback.avast.com/responses/corrupted-downloads-not-solved-avastis-2014-b3
PS. I go to my other PC to download avast8r3. I hope that after upgrading from a8r3 to a2014 everything will be fine.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Lord Ami on September 26, 2013, 06:05:52 PM
Removed previous B3 Premier with uninstall + avastclear and then installed version 8 (free).

Everything went smooth. Just for the sake of testing, I disconnected from the internet in the middle of the update (85MB downloaded, was mostly updating definitions if I got it right). Update obviously failed (Host unreachable). So it asked for restart. Did it, and then ran update again. Worked fine :)!
(I was updating from free to IS trial)

Now trying the same with free v8 to v9

EDIT:
Completely okay. No issues here.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: BODUL on September 26, 2013, 08:04:46 PM
Hi,

Upgraded from avast!IS_a8r3 from UI. Everything went good but problem with downloads not solved. :(
I made some screenshots here:
https://skydrive.live.com/?cid=61459e31facb0aa8#cid=61459E31FACB0AA8&id=61459E31FACB0AA8!113&v=3
Every screenshot in link above taken through uninstallation of avast!IS 2014_B3 and installation through avast!ISa8r3 UI shows important points.
This screenshot shows that downloading problem persists.
Overal upgrading without problems.

Take care...
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: bikemanAMD on September 26, 2013, 08:47:55 PM
Downloaded Avast free r3beta.1, (removed MSE from Secondary Laptop),  installed Avast after that in Admin Account,  rebooted after each program update,  Successfully upgraded to 9.0.2002 without any issues seen so far on that PC

Windows XP 32bit
Previous Av
Microsoft Security Essentials
Now Running Avast 9.0.2002 beta 3

Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: RejZoR on September 26, 2013, 08:53:30 PM
Known issue:
* the beta does not install on cpu's who are using the MMX instruction set

That doesn't make much sense. MMX is present on like 90% of CPU's. I think they started dropping it on latest series of CPU's in favor of SSE and later instructions...
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: drake127 on September 27, 2013, 12:26:38 AM
That doesn't make much sense. MMX is present on like 90% of CPU's. I think they started dropping it on latest series of CPU's in favor of SSE and later instructions...
Current Beta won't run on CPUs that don't support SSE2 instruction set (Pentium 3 and Athlon XP generation). For RC, we intend to relax this requirement to just MMX instruction set and that's virtually everyone (the last CPU not supporting MMX was something like Pentium 200 MHz).
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Justin_22 on September 27, 2013, 01:28:58 AM
Found a pretty big bug ill be unable to upload logs of any sort untill saturday but on my machine  (win 7 64bit sp1) with beta 3 installed windows media player will not start at all and trying to run a media file (mp4 in my case) returns the error  "C:\Users\desktop\documents ect. Server execution failed)" adding exclusions for wmp to avast doesnt fix it and neither does reboots or uninstalling beta 3. System restore does fix the issue but upon reinstall of beta 3 the issue is present again.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Asyn on September 27, 2013, 10:20:07 AM
Let me invite you to new Beta challenge. We never did beta testing of the update process before. We encourage you to try the whole upgrade path that almost whole our userbase will have to pass when they want to migrate to the latest greatest avast 2014.
As this path is critical for users, please report any issues (and as I promised there will be some awards for Blocker issues).

Here my results from my first try with Beta3 (updated from 1497 to 2002). At first everything went well and it did look OK, but found some problems later on:
- System restore didn't work anymore (Related to the known issue: "Unable To locate Component atl110.dll")
- Windows search didn't work anymore (No error message.)
- Some programs, that are installed since years couldn't start anymore. (Also related to atl110.dll)

Sorry, no logs, as I did a clean reinstall afterwards, which fixed all issues.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: happy avast user on September 27, 2013, 12:13:27 PM
Found a pretty big bug ill be unable to upload logs of any sort untill saturday but on my machine  (win 7 64bit sp1) with beta 3 installed windows media player will not start at all and trying to run a media file (mp4 in my case) returns the error  "C:\Users\desktop\documents ect. Server execution failed)" adding exclusions for wmp to avast doesnt fix it and neither does reboots or uninstalling beta 3. System restore does fix the issue but upon reinstall of beta 3 the issue is present again.
Hi Justin_22 I have the same issues as you with beta 3 and windows media player, I have manged to get mine working again, what I did was completely unistall beta 3 then reinstalled it my windows media player still would not start at all.
Try this http://support.microsoft.com/mats/windows_media_player_diagnostic I followed instructions and my windows media starts and everything works again.
I would recommend intalling beta 3 first, I have the same machine as you:) and then follow the link for windows media player

I hope this helps you:)

happy avast user :)
I hope avast will look into this issue :)
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on September 27, 2013, 05:09:48 PM
We just released RC1 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=135736.0).
If you'll try the update from a8r3.1beta now then you should be updated to RC1. The issue "Unable To locate Component atl110.dll" is fixed
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Justin_22 on September 27, 2013, 05:28:24 PM
We just released RC1 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=135736.0).
If you'll try the update from a8r3.1beta now then you should be updated to RC1. The issue "Unable To locate Component atl110.dll" is fixed

Any chance it fixes the windows media player bug I and another poster reported above?
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on September 27, 2013, 05:30:21 PM
we now support even P3
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Zen11t on September 27, 2013, 09:42:20 PM
I have a big issue:

I was update from version 8 and now I can't open the gui. After restart i get this error [pic 1] and after when iI click to avast icon this [pic 2].

Win 8 64 bit
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on September 27, 2013, 10:35:06 PM
I have a big issue:

I was update from version 8 and now I can't open the gui. After restart i get this error and after when iI click to avast icon this.

Win 8 64 bit
Could you send me your logs?
- c:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Persistent Data\Avast\Logs\
- c:\ProgramData\AVAST Software\Avast\log\
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: happy avast user on September 27, 2013, 10:56:35 PM
Hi all,

I have done a clean install of FREE Avast RC1 and issues I have are as follows:

1. Avast Boot-Time scan, at the start of boot-time scan this comes up:

Avast Softwere/Avast/resources/resources.pak/resourses.pak Error 42125 (zip archive is corrupted) WHY? I never had any issues with Boot-Time Scan in Avast 8.
I have reported this issue since beta 3 and not resolved as yet.
Hope this issue will be resolved in next release:)

Other issue I have is with the VPS updates all Avast sounds and popups are enabled and update options all boxes have check marks in them.
VPS update is set default (Automatic update) but I don't get any alert NO sound or popup alert when VPS is updated and I don't know why.
I do get silent updates, does anyone else have this issue? English language

I hope these small issues will be looked at and resolved before final release :)

Avast is great, keep up the great work Avast Team :)
 
happy avast user :)
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Justin_22 on September 27, 2013, 11:29:15 PM
Hi all,

I have done a clean install of FREE Avast RC1 and issues I have are as follows:

1. Avast Boot-Time scan, at the start of boot-time scan this comes up:

Avast Softwere/Avast/resources/resources.pak/resourses.pak Error 42125 (zip archive is corrupted) WHY? I never had any issues with Boot-Time Scan in Avast 8.
I have reported this issue since beta 3 and not resolved as yet.
Hope this issue will be resolved in next release:)

Other issue I have is with the VPS updates all Avast sounds and popups are enabled and update options all boxes have check marks in them.
VPS update is set default (Automatic update) but I don't get any alert NO sound or popup alert when VPS is updated and I don't know why.
I do get silent updates, does anyone else have this issue? English language

I hope these small issues will be looked at and resolved before final release :)

Avast is great, keep up the great work Avast Team :)
 
happy avast user :)

Is the windows media player bug we were experiencing with beta 3 present in RC1?
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: happy avast user on September 28, 2013, 11:04:19 AM
Hi all,

I have done a clean install of FREE Avast RC1 and issues I have are as follows:

1. Avast Boot-Time scan, at the start of boot-time scan this comes up:

Avast Softwere/Avast/resources/resources.pak/resourses.pak Error 42125 (zip archive is corrupted) WHY? I never had any issues with Boot-Time Scan in Avast 8.
I have reported this issue since beta 3 and not resolved as yet.
Hope this issue will be resolved in next release:)

Other issue I have is with the VPS updates all Avast sounds and popups are enabled and update options all boxes have check marks in them.
VPS update is set default (Automatic update) but I don't get any alert NO sound or popup alert when VPS is updated and I don't know why.
I do get silent updates, does anyone else have this issue? English language

I hope these small issues will be looked at and resolved before final release :)

Avast is great, keep up the great work Avast Team :)
 
happy avast user :)

Is the windows media player bug we were experiencing with beta 3 present in RC1?
Hi Justin_22 I am happy to say that the bug we were experiencing with beta3 has now been fixed in RC1 :)

happy avast user :)
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Dwarden on September 29, 2013, 01:16:43 PM
i have question, does the upgrade process backup old settings (all and any of them) before the conversion to new version ?
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Eddy on September 29, 2013, 01:50:46 PM
Installed RC1 over 8 and all looked to be going fine.
Did the reboot and opened the avast ui and clicked on settings, but nothing happened.
I had to do another reboot before it worked.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Lord Ami on September 30, 2013, 09:20:01 AM
Just for the sake of testing I recovered a machine whose .exe files were not working (wasn't an easy fix :/
and tried the upgrade path. Everything worked out fine, it was quite old machine with W7 and lots of programs installed.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: giogio on September 30, 2013, 10:23:44 PM
Following the entire process
for me it was flawless,
only noticed after the first boot of avast 2014 RC1,the windows security center didn't recognize the status of avast.
A second reboot has solved this "problem"  :D
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on October 02, 2013, 11:29:46 PM
i have question, does the upgrade process backup old settings (all and any of them) before the conversion to new version ?
it should. Report any problems, please.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: fed555 on October 04, 2013, 08:04:20 PM
Hi! Try this process update from avast 8 to RC2 and work well! Only two minor problem: also for me the security center did not recognize antivirus and firewall afther first reboot! A second reboot solve the problem! And the icon of safe zone remained the old one! In this case i simply click property then change icon selcted the new one and click ok and it was succesful replaced!
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: digmor crusher on October 05, 2013, 07:57:37 AM
RC 2 freezes IE 10 pretty much everytime I click on it.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: dbrisendine on October 07, 2013, 06:38:34 AM
RC 2 freezes IE 10 pretty much everytime I click on it.

+1
Same here; IE10 freezes and nothing shows on the icon ( as it does in FF24 ).
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on October 07, 2013, 10:21:02 AM
RC 2 freezes IE 10 pretty much everytime I click on it.

+1
Same here; IE10 freezes and nothing shows on the icon ( as it does in FF24 ).
that's known issue with RC2 - will be fixed soon. - http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=136079.0

Thank you for your reports!
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: DavidR on October 08, 2013, 08:35:03 PM
avast! 2014 RC3 (9.0.2005) now released check that out, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=136310.0 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=136310.0).
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on October 08, 2013, 08:50:27 PM
And you can try the update path again ;) There are some tshirts on my desk still...
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: DavidR on October 08, 2013, 09:42:37 PM
I Download the files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe and ran the setup over the top of avast 8.0.1497 on my XP Pro SP3 system.

All appears to have gone well after first reboot.

So that was effectively an update of avast 8.0 to 9.0 without issue as far as I can see at this early stage. All settings appear to have been retained.
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: Dwarden on October 08, 2013, 11:08:25 PM
downloaded the 8 RC3 then via automatic update to v9 ...
only issue so far i encouter, but it might be v9 specific and not related to the update : http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=136310.msg997439#msg997439

looking if anything else is wrong
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: happy avast user on October 09, 2013, 09:27:37 PM
Hi,

I have just installed Avast FREE 2014 RC3 (clean install) and I have problems with it :(, the problems I have noticed (for me anyway) are:

1. Very quick to download, but very slow to install (all together it to 10 mins) and that includes a reboot after install.
I have installed and then (uninstalled Avast using the Avast uninstall/clear tool) and then re-installed Avast 2014 RC3 (9.0.2005) but has not solved the other problems I have.

2. The second problem I have is that Avast will not update at all (VPS Update), I have update settings as default and all sounds and events are enabled.
Avast won't even update when I do a manual update.
The current update I have is: ( 081013-0 08/10/2013 at 12:11:15).
When I do the manual up date it says that the Engine and Virus Definitions (Already up to date).
What is the latest VPS update please?
I have no problem with streaming updates I am receive them constantly.

3. The  third problem I have is with (My Devices) when I click on (My Devices) to connect my devices to my Avast Account it says to create an Avast Account and put my password in twice why??? I already have an Avast Account :(     

I am going back to Avast 8 for now :(

happy avast user :)
Title: Re: [bug hunt] update process from avast 8 to avast 2014
Post by: lukas.hasik on October 10, 2013, 01:31:48 PM
Hi,

I have just installed Avast FREE 2014 RC3 (clean install) and I have problems with it :(, the problems I have noticed (for me anyway) are:

1. Very quick to download, but very slow to install (all together it to 10 mins) and that includes a reboot after install.
I have installed and then (uninstalled Avast using the Avast uninstall/clear tool) and then re-installed Avast 2014 RC3 (9.0.2005) but has not solved the other problems I have.

2. The second problem I have is that Avast will not update at all (VPS Update), I have update settings as default and all sounds and events are enabled.
Avast won't even update when I do a manual update.
The current update I have is: ( 081013-0 08/10/2013 at 12:11:15).
When I do the manual up date it says that the Engine and Virus Definitions (Already up to date).
What is the latest VPS update please?
I have no problem with streaming updates I am receive them constantly.

3. The  third problem I have is with (My Devices) when I click on (My Devices) to connect my devices to my Avast Account it says to create an Avast Account and put my password in twice why??? I already have an Avast Account :(     

I am going back to Avast 8 for now :(

happy avast user :)

there is no point of sending it on forum and then private mail to me...
@1 - you used so called "online installer" - it is small and downloads everything necessary during install phase - try to download the "_full.exe" binaries
@2 - there were no release of vps9 for several days - it will be fixed soon
@3 - it should work - could you send me a few screenshots from the "steps" you did?