Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: YLAP on May 22, 2005, 01:26:55 PM

Title: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: YLAP on May 22, 2005, 01:26:55 PM
Hey, I've been using Beta only for 14 hours!  ;D Happy to see final version so quickly!  ;D

PS. What does it means?  ??? "Added detection of "computer reliability" and potential disabling of kernel-mode scanning if the computer doesn't seem reliable enough"
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: cvsa on May 22, 2005, 03:07:40 PM
Well done Avast! team !!!!! Just in time for the new VB100 award !!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;) ;) ;) ;) ;)
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: DaveD on May 22, 2005, 03:44:33 PM
How can you change the default maximum file size scan of 20MB scanned by Web Shield with latest version?

I can't find it in the GUI and I can't find it in the avast4.ini file.


Thanks,
Dave
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: lukor on May 22, 2005, 04:56:10 PM
How can you change the default maximum file size scan of 20MB scanned by Web Shield with latest version?

I can't find it in the GUI and I can't find it in the avast4.ini file.


Thanks,
Dave

[WebScanner]
MaxObjectSizeKB=20000
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: DaveD on May 22, 2005, 05:01:55 PM
[WebScanner]
MaxObjectSizeKB=20000

Thank you for the quick response, lukor.

That line is not in my avast4.ini file.

Should that have been there by default?
Or am I to just go ahead and add it manually?

I updated to 4.6.665 earlier this morning and have rebooted the computer several times since the update.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: lukor on May 22, 2005, 05:12:15 PM
That line is not in my avast4.ini file.

Should that have been there by default?
Or am I to just go ahead and add it manually?

Default settings are never required to be listed in the avast4.ini. Just add it if you like to change it.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: Lisandro on May 22, 2005, 08:47:55 PM
Just add it if you like to change it.
This is written in the first post of avast4.ini file thread but a lot of people do not read it...
Click 'Settings' in my signature  :-\
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: RejZoR on May 22, 2005, 09:05:30 PM
Tech,have you added any new entries for this new release to your database of avast4.ini ? I'm looking for new stuff for AEC.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: Lisandro on May 23, 2005, 12:10:05 AM
Tech,have you added any new entries for this new release to your database of avast4.ini ? I'm looking for new stuff for AEC.
Unfortunatelly, not. I'll take the last 4.6.665 version and see if any other things could be added.
What about my 'tweaker' program for all avast4.ini file settings?  ::)
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: StopMe on May 23, 2005, 01:26:03 AM
I had to reinstall just to get the 4.6.665 O_o.  Hmmm, I'm gonna check my setting for the program updates.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: The Maxx on May 23, 2005, 01:27:51 AM
Mine and my girlfriends updated to 4.6.665 just fine today.  So far it's working very well.   :)
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: Lisandro on May 23, 2005, 02:45:25 AM
I had to reinstall just to get the 4.6.665 O_o.  Hmmm, I'm gonna check my setting for the program updates.
Fixer, you should just start a manual program update to receive it...
The program updates are released but to avoid excessive load on the servers the auto update check happens randomically every 7 days and it's not checking every time you connect to the Internet as with the iAVS checks.  ;)
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: andyqkw on May 24, 2005, 04:01:39 AM
Just manual update to 4.6.665 today and everything is working fine. Thanks and keep up the good work.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: DaveD on May 24, 2005, 04:54:55 AM
I am very impressed with this release!

Not only has general browsing speeds stayed consistent, Web Shield also appears to be scanning more files than the previous release.  I am just doing some general web browsing and noticing that the numbers rise a lot quicker for how many files Web Shield has scanned.  I didn't really notice anything in the release notes for this version that would specify that it would be scanning more files with Web Shield then before for general web browsing, but it definitely is.

Has anybody else noticed the number of scanned files by Web Shield gone up dramatically?


Thank you Alwil Team!!!
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: dadkins_1 on May 24, 2005, 05:08:53 AM
Many Thanks Alwil - avast!  ;)
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: RJARRRPCGP on May 24, 2005, 05:59:10 AM
Mine and my girlfriends updated to 4.6.665 just fine today.  So far it's working very well.   :)

Because of the crash report posts, I uninstalled the earlier version of Avast and then installed Avast 4.6.665 after deleting the folder of the earlier Avast version. I didn't want to take any chances with the automatic program update because it was related to the automatic update going wrong problem.

Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: alanrf on May 24, 2005, 06:39:22 AM
Quote
I didn't want to take any chances with the automatic program update because it was related to the automatic update going wrong problem.

Forgive me RJARRRPCGP but this sounds rather like a problem you are reporting rather than one reported by other users.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: DavidR on May 24, 2005, 03:36:23 PM
Quote
Because of the crash report posts, I uninstalled the earlier version of Avast and then installed Avast 4.6.665 after deleting the folder of the earlier Avast version. I didn't want to take any chances with the automatic program update because it was related to the automatic update going wrong problem.

Sorry I'm confused too, are you saying you are having problems or simply trying to avoid something that happened before with a previous version (and may not with this update)? At some time you have to trust the programmers (take a chance) to resolve any previous issues you experienced and the only way to find that out is to use auto update.

I have never had a problem with the auto update ever, neither when I have been using the beta or official release versions and the change between beta and official release.

Whilst there is nothing wrong with doing an uninstall, reboot and install to update avast.

Surely this thread is about 4.6.665, have you installed it are you experiencing any problems with it.

Are you having any problems with it?
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: TedNelly on May 24, 2005, 03:47:53 PM



Avast 4.6.665 working very smoothly without a hitch since update 

what else would you expect?? ;D
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: DavidR on May 24, 2005, 03:58:29 PM
I expected nothing else, especially since you said as much in the post that 'RJARRRPCGP' quoted.

What we are waiting for is to see if 'RJARRRPCGP' is having a problem with it.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: TedNelly on May 24, 2005, 04:04:11 PM


 I appears that RJARRRPCGP would ! could be in a spot of bother David he seems to have deleted the

Avast directory. If I am reading  the post correctly I feel his un-install procedure will run into just a
 
few difficulties ;D
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: DavidR on May 24, 2005, 04:13:12 PM
I think he uninstalled first then deleted the directory so that should be OK, but his post isn't too clear and I don't know if he is experiencing any problems.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: TedNelly on May 24, 2005, 04:17:00 PM


Yes it's very hard to know without a responce!!
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: SupaSmurf on May 24, 2005, 05:27:02 PM
Hmmmm Installed 4.6.665
Did the mandatory reboot - Windows halted and froze on reboot
Cold Reboot - Same result
Attempted to boot into Safe Mode - Failed
Attempted to boot to Last Known Good Configuration - Failed
Did one last reboot - Actually Worked

I'm a little paranoid at this point to turn my PC off again for fear of it not starting back up again. Any ideas?

Win2k SP4
Sygate 5.6
Ad-Aware
Spybot
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: DavidR on May 24, 2005, 06:17:39 PM
How are you going to know, you can't realistically leave your system on forever. Let us know how you get on after a reboot.

You should be ok but taking the precaution of downloading the latest release and saving it to a download folder won't hurt. That way if it doesn't start on reboot, uninstall, reboot and install the latest release that you downloaded.

IMHO System Restore is not very good and you can have an alternative to using it.
There are many, many reasons why a System Restore may fail. For example, see "Why are previous restore points not working?" in the "Troubleshooting" section of this official Microsoft page:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/winxppro/plan/faqsrwxp.mspx

There's lots more on that page that's worth reading too. Note especially the sections on "Does System Restore protect personal data files?" (the short answer: no); "What should I do if System Restore does not work?"; "Why are my restore points missing or deleted?"; "Why does the System Restore Wizard lockup?"; and so on. Just a few minutes on that page ought to convince just about anyone that System Restore is not intended for heavy-duty system protection!

More info:
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_restore.htm
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Operating_Systems/WinME/Q_20718080.html
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: SupaSmurf on May 24, 2005, 06:30:15 PM
Thanks for the speedy reply to my post.
However I believe that you may have misinterpretted what I was stating. It's not Avast that wasn't starting up. It's Windows itself.

I turned the system on this morning (It's half past noon atm where I am), updated Avast, and rebooted, and that's when Windows would freeze on restart. I never actually made it to my user login screen. My computer's never had this issue before and I've been using Avast for the last, well I'm not entirely sure but I'll say 6 months, without major issue.

Furthermore I had been refering to Last Good Configuration, not Windows System Restore, as W2k does not include said functionality.
Title: Re: avast! 4.6.665
Post by: MikeBCda on May 24, 2005, 06:30:56 PM
Interesting reading, Dave, thanks.

One of the most interesting points raised in the Q&A was that the Task Scheduler must be enabled for new restore points to be created properly.  I'd seen elsewhere a recommendation to disable TS, and that rather important point got slightly overlooked.