Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: napop on July 30, 2005, 01:36:50 PM

Title: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on July 30, 2005, 01:36:50 PM
hello,

 i have avast 4.6 home and for some reason the avast program blocks the game Warcraft III Reign Of Chaos, and Warcraft III The Frozen Throne. anyhow, there r features in the game that i can play, but others that i cannot. i have contacted blizzard which is the producer of the game and technicel support of any kind, all said its my anti virus. so im looking for a way to unblock programs that avast has probably blocked them.

thx in advance,
guy kazakov,
israel, tel aviv
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: Eddy on July 30, 2005, 01:52:43 PM
Please read THIS (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=15348.msg129504#msg129504) and let us know if it solved the problem or not.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on July 30, 2005, 02:00:48 PM
did everything u said-didnt work =[ any other idea?i mean yea i just need to check what avast blocked, which is warcraft iii and i need to unblock it.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: Eddy on July 30, 2005, 02:04:24 PM
You can put the game to the exclusion list of Avast and see if that solves it.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on July 30, 2005, 02:05:24 PM
what???how do i do that??
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: Eddy on July 30, 2005, 02:17:34 PM
Open the settings in Avast and goto exclusions.
It is all explained in Avast's manual.
I suggest you spend some time reading it and make yourself familiar with Avast and all the options/settings it is offering the user.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on July 30, 2005, 03:18:57 PM
ok m8 i did what u said but didnt understand it said these programs will be excluted from scans....how can that help???
thx for the help eddy ^^
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: Eddy on July 30, 2005, 03:21:33 PM
There could be a conflict between the game and Avast.
If you exclude the game from being scanned, there may be no conflict anymore.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on July 30, 2005, 03:25:53 PM
been there done that- didnt work=[ other idea?
and m8 i told u i just need to make avast to not block warcraft III, thats the problem i belive and many more do.....thats all thx
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: DavidR on July 30, 2005, 03:46:54 PM
Is this a game you play on-line or off-line?
How is it being blocked?
What errors/warnings or symptoms are you seeing to indicate it is blocked?
Or is it that because the AV is doing what it should do, scan files that are accessed/modified by the program and this slows the game?

Whilst it is a nice option for Blizzard just to say it's your AV and send you on your way, without saying why or how an AV might block the program, it doesn't help us to help you.

Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on July 30, 2005, 06:31:19 PM
well....i got blizzard email and they said more things but they said its probably my antivirus now its an online game i mean its both but the prob is online and i think avast is not letting me connect to battle net although i can play some features in battle net but i cannot play costum games. doont know y. i dont get any warning its just icannot play it i cannot see the list of games.i got no clue whats an av
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: Eddy on July 30, 2005, 06:33:18 PM
Disable the network shield and let us know if you are able to play the game then.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 02, 2005, 07:02:01 PM
how do i do that??
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: DavidR on August 02, 2005, 07:14:03 PM
Open the On-access Scanner's detailed view (click the avast! icon) and either pause or terminate Network Shield.
Or right click the avast! icon and select, Pause Provider, Network Shield.

These details and much more information on avast is in the avast help file.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 02, 2005, 08:35:19 PM
well dude when i click on the icon it does a memory check and then when i cancle it i get like sumthing wihich isnt realy what u have shown me....i get like a grey thing.. any idea?
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: DavidR on August 02, 2005, 09:44:36 PM
Which icon are you clicking, not the one on the system tray I think?
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 02, 2005, 11:20:05 PM
what???i click on an icon which is like

"a"(blue 'a')
avast!
antivirus

and theres a blue "A" in a circle above
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: alanrf on August 03, 2005, 12:15:22 AM
napop,

1) are you using firewall software?

2) is your computer connected to the internet via a router?

both of these things are much more likely (if you have them) to be affecting your ability to play these games fully online.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 03, 2005, 12:32:40 AM
i have only avast and i dont know what u mean by router sry=[
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: DavidR on August 03, 2005, 12:39:05 AM
OK, try right click on the avast icon in the system tray and select On-Access Protection Control that should bring up the correct window.

If you aren't using a firewall (you don't have control of your system) I suggest you get one of the free ones Zone Alarm should be fine.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: alanrf on August 03, 2005, 04:10:09 AM
napop,

perhaps you can tell us how your computer is connected to the internet?



Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 03, 2005, 11:53:36 AM
modem cable

i cant find any on access thing....
ok i found what u said to me aout the web shield i just had to click on the icon in the lower place in the screen not the on in the desktop but now i pause it like usaid i just cant find my warcraft disk so i cant check =[ when ill find it ill let u guys know thx very much u helped me ALOT
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 03, 2005, 08:50:06 PM
help?
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: Lisandro on August 03, 2005, 09:04:29 PM
help?
After posting and trying some solutions, can you wrote the exactly situation/problem you have?
It's not easy to follow all the thread...  8)
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 03, 2005, 09:23:01 PM
ok here i go-

when i play the game warcraft III the frozen throne i get into bnet and everything works fine but when i go to the costume game window-which is another feature u can play games that other created- then nothing works and it gets stuck...i though it had sumtihn to do with the avast antivirus i have but now i checked it and turned off network shield and webshield it still doesnt work.....thats abuot it...
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 04, 2005, 03:34:24 PM
pls help me!!!..
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: DavidR on August 04, 2005, 08:38:22 PM
We are still waiting for answers to questions asked, we have no further information to be able to help further:
Quote
How is it being blocked?
What errors/warnings or symptoms are you seeing to indicate it is blocked?
Or is it that because the AV is doing what it should do, scan files that are accessed/modified by the program and this slows the game?

With web shield and network shield disabled/paused/terminated there should be nothing scanning your on-line activity to slow/stop unless there is a lot of HDD activity (files getting accessed/updated/edited) associated with the game.

Please answer the above questions plus these:
When playing the game does the avast icon spin?
If it does spin check and see which provider is scanning? - check the Scanned Count: and Last Scanned: in the On-Access Scanner window (the one you eventually found).
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 04, 2005, 10:06:06 PM
well it does spin and it shows that webshiels
last scanned http://forum.avast.com
last infected: nothing
scanned count: 723
infected count: 0
task name: resident protection
run time: 12:26:40 and keeps counting

standart shield-
last scanned c:/.../luna.msstyles.mui
last infected: nothing
scanned count: 7937
infected count: 0
task name: resident protection
run time: 12:25:40 and keep counting(same time as webshield)

network shield-
last scanned: nothing
last infected: nothing
scanned count: 0
infected count: 0
task name: resident protection
run time: same as everytihng else.

i diabled every thing i think and it still didnt work. ill try again we'll see

well i checked and it didnt work BUT now when i think of it it doesnt work in my other computer and we have 3com network....perhaps this is what blocks it?i mean it doesnt work on both computers and in my other computer i have panda antivirus....ill check
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: DavidR on August 04, 2005, 10:22:55 PM
If as you say that having disabled the avast elements and it still happens there is obviously something else in the mix. As you say this is happening on another computer with a different AV something that is common to both has to be the cause.

Exactly what this is, your 3Com network or a firewall, I assume you have a firewall on each computer on the network? Firewall logs should show what is blocked and the reason for blocking.

Unfortunately I don't use my computer for games I don't know the ins and outs of on-line gaming. Perhaps a google search for on-line gaming forums may offer some advice.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: Lisandro on August 04, 2005, 11:32:11 PM
i diabled every thing i think and it still didnt work. ill try again we'll see
Like David said, maybe other thing in the pot...

well i checked and it didnt work BUT now when i think of it it doesnt work in my other computer and we have 3com network....perhaps this is what blocks it?
No... I have 3com network working with avast since version 4.0  ;D

i mean it doesnt work on both computers and in my other computer i have panda antivirus....ill check
Maybe software conflict... Did you install any antivirus in this machine before? How did you uninstall it?
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: alanrf on August 05, 2005, 05:30:04 AM
Slowly slowly napop reveals more about the environment. 

Previously napop told us that "the" computer is connected via cable modem.  napop seems to be unaware of the concepts of router or firewall. 

Now we hear of another computer napop uses and we hear of a 3com network. 

So, it seems that napop's computer is part of a home network and that when avast! is turned off the problem still persists. 

Frankly guys I doubt that this has anything at all to do with avast!. 

I live with a home network and an online games player.  My experience is that quite a few of these online games have port requirements that are incompatible with the standard setup of home networks. 

A little net research shows that the games being played by napop are similar in port requirements and that "port forwarding" requirements are needed in the home network for the full functionality of the games to be 
enjoyed. 

Don't let me stop you beating your heads against a wall to prove it isn't avast!
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 05, 2005, 11:38:16 AM
dude wtf i thought its avast then i checked it on my other comp and it didnt work threre so i told u....well anyhow then what should ido?how do i check the port forwarding thing?pls help me
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: alanrf on August 05, 2005, 08:49:50 PM
Try http://www.portforward.com/english/applications/port_forwarding/WarcraftIII/WarcraftIIIindex.htm
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 06, 2005, 01:07:13 PM
first of all thx alot i think this thing will help me but theres a problem i cannot find any password which i am needed to enter some website...i just cant enter it.they say the next step: You should prompted for your password. Enter your password now. By default the password is admin. Click the Ok button to log in to your router.

i type admin- password is incorrect....i dont know what to do=[
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 06, 2005, 10:19:42 PM
help plssssssssss
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: alanrf on August 06, 2005, 10:36:40 PM
The "website" is the control panel of your 3com home network. 

I suggest you talk to the person who set up your home network.
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: DavidR on August 06, 2005, 10:55:44 PM
This really is too specialist an area to get help on an AV forum, most people have exhausted their suggestions. You would probably do better on a gaming forum and probably one specialising in WarCraft III.

I did a google search for (+forum +"Warcraft III Reign Of Chaos") including the plus + signs and quotes " but excluding the brackets () and this returns many hits, obviously they won't all be relevant, but it should at least get you to a forum that is more likely to have experienced your problem.

Such as these:
http://www.world-editor-tutorials.thehelper.net/index.php
http://www.thehelper.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=e1aa4791364f9fbb18b6bf450253baed&f=70
http://faqs.thehelper.net/warcraft.php
Title: Re: avast blocking programs
Post by: napop on August 07, 2005, 04:59:15 PM
thx alot m8