Avast WEBforum

Other => General Topics => Topic started by: YLAP on August 04, 2005, 04:55:19 PM

Title: Firewall you use
Post by: YLAP on August 04, 2005, 04:55:19 PM
As we are often discussing about firewalls recently, so I think stop talking and let's look what are we using.  ;D

Besides, I'm using Kerio PF and my SmartAX MT820 ADSL Router has integrated firewall too (I think it means router/hardware firewall)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Eddy on August 04, 2005, 05:21:56 PM
I'm using a router/hardware firewall and on the systems ZA Pro.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: MikeBCda on August 04, 2005, 05:34:17 PM
ZA home here, primarily because it's quite user-friendly.  And that's a major factor if, like me, you have in effect a learning disability.  I never bothered with the Pro version mainly because (as far as I can tell) the only things that it adds are its Privacy features, which I already handle nicely with other things (which don't conflict with avast, by the way).

About the only negative about ZA is that once in a while it'll "forget" its settings, particularly with regard to program permissions, and need those cleaned up.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: DavidR on August 04, 2005, 08:56:55 PM
I'm getting this feeling the I have seen this before under something like what firewall are you using with avast!

As in this Poll - http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=4368.0 - although this states 'Poll, What Free Firewall do you use with Avast'
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Lito on August 04, 2005, 09:03:38 PM
I use Look'n'Stop (http://www.looknstop.com/En/index2.htm) ;).
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: YLAP on August 04, 2005, 09:09:40 PM
I'm getting this feeling the I have seen this before under something like what firewall are you using with avast!

As in this Poll - http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=4368.0 - although this states 'Poll, What Free Firewall do you use with Avast'

It was more than one year ago...  ;D
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: StopMe on August 04, 2005, 09:13:05 PM
Zone Alarm for me, don't have a hardware firewall yet.   :)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: FastGame on August 04, 2005, 10:12:07 PM
I used Kerio 2.1.5 but now I use XP SP2 firewall, seems faster :)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: darth.mikey on August 04, 2005, 11:14:42 PM
Kerio 4.2.0 for me is the best.I like the new Aplication Behavior Blocking feature  ;D
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: kakapo on August 04, 2005, 11:48:12 PM
Kerio 4.2.0 here and happy!
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: TAP on August 05, 2005, 04:06:21 AM
I'm using Kerio 4.2.0 too, it's rather easy to use and understand what it's supposed to do and I really love its Behavior Blocking that give me a good level of proactive protection. It seems that Kerio hasn't had any problems with avast!, they're always love each other on my machine.  ;D
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Shino on August 05, 2005, 12:59:27 PM
i'm using Jetico Firewall. use only about 4MB of RAM.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: DukeNukem on August 05, 2005, 07:41:21 PM
I voted for Router/Firewall.

Windows XP software firewall I use = Sygate 5.5 Pro

With Fedora 4 software firewall = Firestarter
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: xistenz on August 06, 2005, 11:56:34 AM
I use Smoothwall Express (http://www.smoothwall.org) as a firewall/router and Kerio
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Yinyang4evry1 on August 06, 2005, 09:40:10 PM
what's a firewall/router? I mean it's okay to use a regular firewall and that at the same time right?

greets,

tim
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Yinyang4evry1 on August 06, 2005, 09:42:29 PM
hardware firewall... is it physical or like "software"?

thnks,
tim ??? ::)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Lisandro on August 06, 2005, 09:54:43 PM
hardware firewall... is it physical or like "software"?
It's physical, a router for instance. Although, internally it runs a 'code' (like an internal software) of its 'motherboard'. I suppose  :-[
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: darth.mikey on August 07, 2005, 10:35:30 AM
what's a firewall/router? I mean it's okay to use a regular firewall and that at the same time right?

greets,

tim
A firewall/router is a router with built in hardware firewall and it only protects inbound connections and a software firewall(ZA,Sygate,Kerio...)  protects you also from outbound connections.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Eddy on August 07, 2005, 10:47:03 AM
A good router/firewall also protects outbound traffic.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: darth.mikey on August 07, 2005, 11:02:08 AM
A good router/firewall also protects outbound traffic.
How much money would that be?
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: inconnu on August 09, 2005, 02:03:43 PM
I voted "router/firewall" and I'm glad I have one;  after months of no activity, I've been bombarded with attacks for the last few weeks.  Guess someone's on vacation and doesn't have enough to do ...  >:(

At the moment, I'm trying to learn Linux and using Firestarter.  I'm sure I don't have it configured like it should be, just basic restrictive rules for http, https, etc ...  ??? ??? ??? wow, it's different from the firewalls I've used and read about!  But with a router, I don't worry too much.  ;)

I'm interested in hearing more about routers which provide outbound protection.  However, it's only idle curiosity, since I'm sure they must cost!  :o
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: darth.mikey on August 09, 2005, 06:04:17 PM
I'm interested in hearing more about routers which provide outbound protection.  However, it's only idle curiosity, since I'm sure they must cost!  :o
Me too  ;D I was hoping eddy could fill us in  :)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: StopMe on August 09, 2005, 09:58:50 PM
Wow two people voted "Nothing" I wonder how they manage to survive the internet this long? :)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: YLAP on August 10, 2005, 04:18:07 PM
Two variants:
a) they are very lucky
b) they are very "fresh" people on the net

In conclusion: however, they are DOOMED!  ;D
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Shino on August 12, 2005, 07:26:15 PM
OK, im now uninstalled Jetico and give a try on Kerio. when i open Task Manager, i see two kpf4gui.exe running (one as SYSTEM, other as oemuser). is this normal? ???
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: YLAP on August 12, 2005, 07:45:35 PM
Yes, it's normal. The same here.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Yinyang4evry1 on August 13, 2005, 04:24:29 AM
well when I first started out on computers since July 2004, I hadn't used a firewall for like 7-8 months. That's why even if I recover my computer there's tiny tiny errors left from probably an infection that has to have a computer expert manually remove. I remember how I always had alerts for Backdoor Trojan and Maddog or something like that. And, at the moment, I thought the computer company cheated me off. But it was my... fault ;D
but I never noticed 2 people used nothing
that's odd... ???

greetings from,

tim ;D
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Omar on August 13, 2005, 08:45:38 PM
I use Filseclab Personal Firewall professional edition!

Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Abraxas on August 17, 2005, 05:19:37 PM
I use ZoneAlarm at present . I'll probably try others in the future, just out of interest,  but for the time being I find ZA free very good.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Inu-Ya on August 18, 2005, 02:35:33 AM
I use the Windows Firewall on Sp2 and thats it.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: DavidR on August 18, 2005, 01:45:17 PM
The Windows Firewall, shouldn't really be called a firewall as it doesn't provide full outbound protection. It is like a firedoor that only protects you from fire from one side.
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: szc on August 18, 2005, 02:11:43 PM
...and all important information from your computer are soooooo free to leave your computer because there is practically nothing to stop it  ;)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: szc on August 18, 2005, 02:14:05 PM
As we are often discussing about firewalls recently, so I think stop talking and let's look what are we using.  ;D

Besides, I'm using Kerio PF and my SmartAX MT820 ADSL Router has integrated firewall too (I think it means router/hardware firewall)

YLAP, your poll doesn't contain one very important option - Any software firewall along with hardware router/firewall. That's the protection that everyone should have. Especially if you are doing a lot of online banking stuff... One works perfect with another.  ;)
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: YLAP on August 18, 2005, 04:35:48 PM
I'll know it in the future, but now I think it's a bit too late to change something...  ::) My mistake, sorry...  :-\
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: Ricky on August 18, 2005, 10:34:17 PM
i use windows firewall when i used za the vrius was let through and the avast web sheild didn't pick it up it was only a test at the website http://www.eicar.org/anti_virus_test_file.htm
Title: Re: Firewall you use
Post by: DavidR on August 19, 2005, 12:44:02 AM
1. Windows firewall or any firewall for that matter will allow user initiated downloads (and that is what you did).

2. Web Shield, if working/enabled will stop it, however if you downloaded it using the https: protocol (which I suspect), then avast! web shield doesn't scan encrypted/secure transmissions, it will only scan http: protocol (port 80).

I suggest you ensure web shield is running and try the test again, using the http: downloads and you will see it works. When you use https: then standard shield should detect it when it gets on to your HDD.