Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: Vladimyr on September 21, 2014, 06:23:47 PM

Title: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: Vladimyr on September 21, 2014, 06:23:47 PM
Standard Install.
Pictures explain the subject line.
Title: Re: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: DavidR on September 21, 2014, 08:04:10 PM
I don't know if avast have made inroads into multiple cpus, some time ago there was some optimisation for those using Intel duel core processors.

I think many netbooks and laptops won't have the grunt to run the NG function - it is certainly a no go on my  Aspire One netbook, Win7 Starter (32bit) 10.1", 1024X600 screen, 2GB DDR3 RAM, Intel Atom N255 (1.5GHz dual core) CPU, (even if it has the functionality).
Title: Re: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: Secondmineboy on September 21, 2014, 08:10:15 PM
Its a known bug that the processes are not closing when the file analyzed closed.

Also Avast will test out which PCs can handle this function.

You can disable NG by deactivating use safe virtual machines under General settings.
Title: Re: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: RejZoR on September 21, 2014, 09:33:33 PM
It's not a bug, currently it's set to install NG with high priority. It will be low priority when it goes live.
Title: Re: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: Vladimyr on September 22, 2014, 05:57:12 PM
Thanks to all for the replies.
Before I read them, I went to "Programs and Features", changed avast! by unchecking "NG", rebooted.
Computer was no faster on reboot so I checked "Resource monitor". This time it listed NG Command Line Tool as the CPU hog.
Rebooted again in the hope that all NG items would be gone and now it's again "avast! NG front end" turning my CPU into a fan heater for the last few hours - this despite there being no longer any "NG" installed.

Could be time to re-image :(
Title: Re: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: Vladimyr on September 23, 2014, 05:16:04 PM
Re: previous post.
Found a pic with "ngtool.exe" in Resource Monitor.
Title: Re: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: RejZoR on September 23, 2014, 05:41:28 PM
Well, let it finish the job. My Win8.1 tablet needed like 10 minutes.
Title: Re: "NG Front End" grabbing all available CPU cycles
Post by: Vladimyr on September 23, 2014, 05:55:36 PM
Thanks RejZoR. I didn't let it run for more than about half an hour and remember, this was after I had uninstalled NG, so I thought it shouldn't be there at all.

Having moved on, system restore took care of most of the problems, however
1/. Thunderbird no longer accepts the avast! mail SSL certificate
2/. Surprising and slightly confusing message in the 'update' section (see pic).
Not sure if I dare restart  :-\

(Ahhh,  the sweet joys of beta testing  ::) )