Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Mobile Apps => Avast Backup for Android => Topic started by: feata on October 25, 2014, 02:43:06 PM

Title: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: feata on October 25, 2014, 02:43:06 PM
Hello,
I have AVAST mobile security and back-up.
I backed up all of my data and then performed a factory reset of my phone.
I then re-installed AVAST mobile security and back-up, and registered my device again.
I then went to my.avast.com and chose the original registration name of my phone (now archived).
I then choose 'restore all' for my contacts. I chose to restore to my phone under its new registration name.
However the process always fails because 'unable to contact device'
I have tried with my phone connected to WI-FI or through data of my mobile network.
I have tried to do from my.avast.com through my phone and my laptop.
I have tried through the app on my phone.
I can communicate with my phone from my.avast.com if I want to send a message my phone.
I can also locate my phone through my.avast.com

Any ideas how I can restore my data?

Also - I tried to ring the customer services but apparently mobile is not supported as 'it is a backroom service'. Wish I'd know that before paying for a premium subscription!
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: svehlak on November 03, 2014, 08:36:58 AM
Hello, there was a little service outage on Google Drive which can cause such a problem -does it work now or the problem persists?

Thanks for report anyway..
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: 9103314730 on November 24, 2014, 06:56:29 PM
Hello! I have ABSOLUTLY same problem now!
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: argentum81 on January 29, 2015, 08:42:24 PM
I tried to restore my contacts and my pics but the only thing that avast say is we are unuble to connect to your device but is not true because i can locate it fine..
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: Andre Dutra on February 14, 2015, 03:28:33 AM
Yes,same proble to me too. I have trust in avast to make backup of my files and now everything is lost.I see the files on google drive,but it seems inacessible. I will uninstal avast from my phone and I never will instal again.   >:(
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: Eddy on February 14, 2015, 03:58:35 AM
If you can see the files on Google drive, nothing is lost.
If you want help, start your own thread please.
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: donaldayo on February 18, 2015, 06:08:12 AM
I will not be renewing my subscription. I have the same problem now. The one and only time I try to use it I can't. Cannot connect to my phone... WHAT A PIECE OF SHIT....
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: Eddy on February 18, 2015, 06:30:00 AM
donald,

instead of just complaining why not try to find out what the problem is and then try to solve it?
It could very well be the problem is with Google and not avast or you have done something wrong.

If you want help, start your own thread.
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: lentarisgeorge on February 22, 2015, 02:55:45 AM
I had the same problem initially, very frustrating.
I then installed google drive on my phone, I ran the initial virus scan, went to avast backup > browse backup > Device (archived) > Restore all
Everything good as new! All my contacts, messages, files there. Awesome!
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: Eddy on February 22, 2015, 04:09:21 AM
Yup, if things are working they can be great and useful.
Unfortunately there is no such things as perfect and things do breakdown.
Title: Re: 'Unable to contact device' to restore using mobile back-up
Post by: argentum81 on July 28, 2015, 08:13:21 PM
everyone have the same problem.. is not a good app..
i try to restore in some times but i had the same problem all of the time.. and in this time i restore my phone in factory setting and the app say that my phone is no the same and i have to load as another device.. its incredible.

sorry for my poor grammar..