Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Thorev on October 25, 2014, 06:40:44 PM

Title: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Thorev on October 25, 2014, 06:40:44 PM
Hello everybody,

As a long time Avast user I'm wondering why the CPU usage for the aswFe.exe (NG) is this high.
My CPU is hardly enjoying himself, to say the least since it loves using Turbo mode pushing it to 4.8 GHz which results in a 80ºC (176ºF)  temperature for the past 40 minutes.

CPU: Intel Core i7 3770K @ 3.5GHz (O/C 4.8GHz)
RAM: 24GB DDR3
GPU: 2x MSI R7850 Twin Frozr 2GD5/OC (CrossFire)

So, when it this CPU hog gonna drop dead or do I have to start uninstalling Avast 2015?
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: avaster78 on October 25, 2014, 08:29:07 PM
I think you know this by now, but when you install Avast 2015 and NG, preparing NG takes few minutes while CPU is quite high.  Also when preparing, there's some temporary processes running, which will not be running after NG is ready.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Thorev on October 25, 2014, 08:48:37 PM
Well it's still running at ~ 15% with my CPU going, HERE HAVE 4.8GHz while we burn it up to ~ 65ºC!"

(http://puu.sh/cqemh/0463d07911.png)

I don't call this 'a few minutes' as mentioned by you and others in several threads.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: avaster78 on October 25, 2014, 09:15:40 PM
I think NG is ready, but it's on some "stuck mode". Rebooting computer is worth to try.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: RejZoR on October 25, 2014, 09:17:14 PM
Logout should be enough. Maybe avast! should have some sort of kil switch for processes inside DeepScreen NG sandbox. If something is running in there for too long (more than 10 minutes?) it should be killed.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Thorev on October 25, 2014, 09:40:04 PM
Rebooted, will let the PC run for another 30 minutes since NG is still eating ~ 15% CPU.
After that sorry Avast I'll be subscribing to the competition.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: RejZoR on October 25, 2014, 09:43:54 PM
Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Thorev on October 26, 2014, 12:22:25 AM
Left the PC running while watching a movie on TV and all seems fine now.
Weird though on how long it took and how annoying it was.

O well, feedback never hurts for the devs.

- Thread may be closed.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on October 26, 2014, 10:04:37 PM
It takes a while for the virtual drives to set up. Ones that's done, your computer is back to it's happy old self.
It's just safer than it was before the delay. :)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: GGITech on October 27, 2014, 07:25:05 PM
Read the above and am having the same issue.
I let the system run for 2 hours last night, never settled down, continued to use 15-20% of proc.
It has been running 30 minutes again today, we are on the same path. 15-20% of proc.

The suggestion to let it run is fine by me, but I need to know an end game and some idea of what is taking so long.
Quad Proc, 8GB ram, 1TB Hybrid Drive.

Not sure how anything can take this long to actually build a sand box.
Can't kill process, only option is logout, or reboot.
Then it starts again.

Input is appreciated.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: GGITech on October 27, 2014, 08:38:52 PM
1 more hour.....been pegged on 25%
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: GGITech on October 27, 2014, 09:23:20 PM
still 25%.....getting very annoying...
when will this end?
Since I am at the free version, there is no way to turn it off that I see, since I actually don't have sandbox services.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: GGITech on October 27, 2014, 09:42:47 PM
Still going....might be time to kick the energizer bunny and move to duracell....
I don't want to move from Avast after 10+ years of service....
But this is total bs.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on October 27, 2014, 10:46:23 PM
If you continue to have problems, follow RejZoR's advice:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=157998.msg1140856#msg1140856 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=157998.msg1140856#msg1140856)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: GGITech on October 28, 2014, 01:21:37 AM
Not what I expect, I would like to leave the feature, but having an application with no indication of progress, is useless. I'd rather have it do what it wants, but when will it finish?
No one seems to know that.

Sounds like the new bullshit malwarebytes 2.0 and it's interface....lets make it pretty for idiots, but take out functionality for people that are not idiots.

Any chance Avast will actually respond or tackle the problem?
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: GGITech on October 28, 2014, 01:22:46 AM
Not to mention this horrid forum, which takes you to the forum front page after a post, and on reload takes you there too....
How about I stay on the page I was on? Simple "return to referring page"
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: NoelC on October 28, 2014, 05:49:56 AM
If GC is so intrusive as to be a problem for you, go into Programs and Features, choose Avast and select Change, then disable it.

-Noel
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: CraigB on October 28, 2014, 06:41:47 AM
You can set your post and reply settings in your profile/account settings/look and layout.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: MegaV0lt on October 28, 2014, 08:16:21 AM
Similar Problem herer too. Sicne version 2015 there is alway 25% CPU-Usage (1 core) taken from avast
(http://i.imgur.com/Ptihxnc.png)


aswFe.exe - What is that and how can i fix it to not use that mach cpu?
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Gopen on October 28, 2014, 04:45:07 PM
Same here.
Updated, system reboot and now a couple of hours with the crazy CPU usage.

I can't properly work and the fans are going nuts. I'll give aswFe.exe another hour and then (sadly) bye bye Avast.

Someone screwed up big time.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Gopen on October 28, 2014, 05:50:55 PM
Same here.
Updated, system reboot and now a couple of hours with the crazy CPU usage.

I can't properly work and the fans are going nuts. I'll give aswFe.exe another hour and then (sadly) bye bye Avast.

After 61 minutes finally ended  :o. Cool.

Anyway, terribly inconvenient, i hope the feedback arrives in the right place.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: avaster78 on October 28, 2014, 06:57:12 PM
I'm surprise (after reading these posts), that mine only took maybe 10 minutes or so. And my PC is not super fast- HP desktop from 2010.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Gopen on October 28, 2014, 07:44:37 PM
After 61 minutes finally ended  :o. Cool.
Update:
it worked fine for about 5 minutes, then i logged on Skype and aswFe.exe came up again with his crazy CPU usage. It hasn't stopped yet...adding up the time it is running for almost 5 hours now.
Nice.

Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.

I'd like to try this (as a temporary solution). In the change menu i don't see the NG part, what should i remove?
Thanks.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on October 28, 2014, 09:25:19 PM
After 61 minutes finally ended  :o . Cool.
Update:
it worked fine for about 5 minutes, then i logged on Skype and aswFe.exe came up again with his crazy CPU usage. It hasn't stopped yet...adding up the time it is running for almost 5 hours now.
Nice.

Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.

I'd like to try this (as a temporary solution). In the change menu i don't see the NG part, what should i remove?
Thanks.
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1414527696582-48395.png)
If you don't see it, it either isn't installed or, something went wrong when it installed.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: NoelC on October 29, 2014, 12:35:36 AM
And sometimes people just don't realize they can scroll down...

-Noel
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Gopen on October 29, 2014, 04:16:00 PM
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1414527696582-48395.png)
If you don't see it, it either isn't installed or, something went wrong when it installed.

I don't see it. The list ends at Home Network Security.

I disabled deepscreen from general settings, rebooted and aswFe.exe actually disappeared from Task manager. Are the things related or is it just a coincidence?
Anyway, the fact that i have the NG-front end process but i don't see the NG component seems odd...any suggestions?
Thanks.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on October 29, 2014, 05:14:57 PM
I would try a clean install of Avast. You can follow the instructions outlined
in the link in my signature. :)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: art.des.muses on October 30, 2014, 12:40:01 AM
Hello,

Avast NG service used 50% of my CPU. It seems that enabling the Hardware Virtualization option in the BIOS solved this issue for me (0% now).
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on October 30, 2014, 02:38:16 AM
Hello,

Avast NG service used 50% of my CPU. It seems that enabling the Hardware Virtualization option in the BIOS solved this issue for me (0% now).
Good to hear your problem is solved. :)
Some more help on NG service can be found starting at:https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158495.msg1143215#msg1143215 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=158495.msg1143215#msg1143215)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: thekochs on October 30, 2014, 03:02:17 PM
Avast NG service used 50% of my CPU. It seems that enabling the Hardware Virtualization option in the BIOS solved this issue for me (0% now).

@Bob3160, does this mean NG will "try" to run if BIOS setting is off ?...I thought (would think) Avast during install would detect this and disable NG ?  In fact, if Avast does do this is may be good for them to pop-up a note to the user about the BIOS setting being disabled and perhaps a link to a Avast FAQ on how to enable BIOS setting.....just a thought.

Also, thought is may be good to post the Intel ID util download link for those that don't want to root around in BIOS until they know. https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=7838
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on October 30, 2014, 08:28:25 PM
Avast NG service used 50% of my CPU. It seems that enabling the Hardware Virtualization option in the BIOS solved this issue for me (0% now).

@Bob3160, does this mean NG will "try" to run if BIOS setting is off ?...I thought (would think) Avast during install would detect this and disable NG ?  In fact, if Avast does do this is may be good for them to pop-up a note to the user about the BIOS setting being disabled and perhaps a link to a Avast FAQ on how to enable BIOS setting.....just a thought.

Also, thought is may be good to post the Intel ID util download link for those that don't want to root around in BIOS until they know. https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=7838 (https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=7838)
A question to ask Avast. I'm a user just like you. I had no problems since that feature had been turned on my systems for quite some time.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: thekochs on October 30, 2014, 09:48:28 PM
Avast NG service used 50% of my CPU. It seems that enabling the Hardware Virtualization option in the BIOS solved this issue for me (0% now).

@Bob3160, does this mean NG will "try" to run if BIOS setting is off ?...I thought (would think) Avast during install would detect this and disable NG ?  In fact, if Avast does do this is may be good for them to pop-up a note to the user about the BIOS setting being disabled and perhaps a link to a Avast FAQ on how to enable BIOS setting.....just a thought.

Also, thought is may be good to post the Intel ID util download link for those that don't want to root around in BIOS until they know. https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=7838 (https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=7838)
A question to ask Avast. I'm a user just like you. I had no problems since that feature had been turned on my systems for quite some time.

So here is my theory.....complete speculation......on install Avast detects the CPU (if it is capable of virtualization), detects memory, detects CPU speed, detects HDD speed.....and "enables" NG on install but no way Avast installer can see if HW Virtualization is enabled in BIOS.  If disabled in BIOS then NG service runs wild at high CPU usage.  I only "theorize" this since OP seemed to have same issue I did...my CPU can do virtualization but when I installed V10 I did not have NG unchecked and my system bogged....checking BIOS it was not enabled.  Installing V10 with no NG (Custom Install) I have no performance issue. 
Avast NG service used 50% of my CPU. It seems that enabling the Hardware Virtualization option in the BIOS solved this issue for me (0% now).

I have no idea if all this correlates and don't know how to submit to Avast....maybe they will read Forum. ::)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: dejanm83 on October 31, 2014, 12:20:33 PM
Hi all,

I've only started using Avast (basic) a few months ago, and I just updated to 15.
I have the same issue on my laptop (not a new one, but not crappy either), where the NG front end process is taking up 50%CPU for a long time after booting and the fans are running quite high with intermittent slower periods.

I understand that the suggested solution for now is to disable NG, but the issue that concerns me now is that when I opened the Change menu in add/remove programs for Avast, the NG box had already been unchecked.

Any ideas?

Will look into the BIOS option now.

Update: Although NG had been unchecked, I clicked Continue and after restart the process is not turning up yet. Thanks.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: odyodyodys on November 15, 2014, 10:04:23 PM
Some more info on the issue here:

While having Avast 2015.10.0.2208 I noticed the same (the process aswFe.exe, with the avast icon, was using a whole core, 12% on a 8cpu core)

I followed RejZoR's advice https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=157998.msg1140856#msg1140856 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=157998.msg1140856#msg1140856) and this happened:


Strange stuff Avast guys...

My system: i7 3770k (same as OP) with 8Gbram and IntelSmartResponse between HDD & SSD. OS: Win8.1 Enterprise.
Also, I came to this version by updating, not by installing avast 2015 directly.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: willem6 on November 26, 2014, 09:42:51 AM
There's one simple solution, just remove the NG tool (until Avast has improved it, like e.g. limit the CPU-usage):

Go to the Control panel > software > avast > (right click) change > remove the tick at the NG component

After restart your pc will run smoothy as before...  :D
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on November 26, 2014, 02:32:41 PM
I've only notice the lag or drag on the system for a while after Avast 2015 was first installed.
After the virtual drives were set up, the drag disappeared and Avast was as unobtrusive as always.
If that's not your experience, maybe a clean install might be of help.
As a last resort, if a clean install doesn't solve the problem after a reasonable amount of time,
then I would also remove the NG portion of Avast.
Removing it doesn't mean your not protected. It simply means one of the new items in 2015 isn't working well on your system
and may need to be installed at a later time.
I have also noticed that in many instances, Avast does not request a reboot of the system after the update.
Always reboot your system after you've done a program update to make sure the registry entries that get changed and added are in effect.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Yoon on December 20, 2014, 02:59:11 PM
And what to do if I can't uninstall "NG part"?

(http://s13.postimg.org/nw47n2ftv/New_Bitmap_Image_2.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/nw47n2ftv/)

WHY?! I can't see any NG part...
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on December 20, 2014, 03:28:17 PM
Sorry I don't speak your language and can't read the descriptions.
The other alternative is to do a clean install of Avast. Totally remove using the removal tool
and then do a custom install making sure not to install NG in the first place.
Installation instruction are in my signature.
You can find a helpful video at:
http://youtu.be/1kTqm7P1KtU (http://youtu.be/1kTqm7P1KtU)


Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Yoon on December 20, 2014, 03:45:59 PM
Okay
I used avastclear.exe in safe mode
Downloaded avast_free_antivirus_setup_online.exe (http://download.cnet.com/Avast-Free-Antivirus/3000-2239_4-10019223.html?part=dl-85737&subj=dl&tag=button)
But...
I still can't see any NG part...

(http://s4.postimg.org/l9auq6dwd/avast2015.png)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on December 20, 2014, 04:22:37 PM
The only way it wouldn't show up is if your computer doesn't support it.
In that case, it also wouldn't be running in the background.
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1419088817341-28970.png)
I'm reporting this to a Moderator. Maybe Avast can comment ???
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: thekochs on December 20, 2014, 05:06:23 PM
The only way it wouldn't show up is if your computer doesn't support it.
In that case, it also wouldn't be running in the background.
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1419088817341-28970.png)
I'm reporting this to a Moderator. Maybe Avast can comment ???

@bob1360......Any chance that in 10.0.2208 Avast took out the option to not install NG ?
I sure hope not.......but looks suspicious.....@Yoon shows Task Manager that clearly NG was running but no NG in Tools.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on December 20, 2014, 05:12:00 PM
My screenshot was from the Programs and Features "Change" screen and it shows up there.
Obviously I can't look at the actual install screen since the version you mentioned is already installed on my system. :)
Let's see if Avast chimes in on this thread. :)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Yoon on December 20, 2014, 05:49:38 PM
The only way it wouldn't show up is if your computer doesn't support it.
Or developer just removed that feature in 2015.10.0.2208.
When I updated antivirus from avast it installed NG but I couldn't delete it.
I did a clean install of 2015.10.0.2208 version and it didn't install NG.

Win81Pro x64
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on December 20, 2014, 05:56:21 PM
Glad to hear that your problem is now solved. :)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: EllenM on February 07, 2015, 08:02:14 PM
It was very annoying to find the CPU load exceeding the 50% causing my old vaio with core 2 duo processor T7200 and Windows 8.1 32 bits installed with only 2 GB of memory, to flutter and stutter.
Since one of the topics was talking about a sandbox installed for deepscreen, I looked into the bios and enabled the "use external drives" feature in the boot sequence.
After reboot the issue was solved.
This has probably to do with Avast installing the Deepscreen feature, which runs in a sandbox (which is a virtual drive).

The virtual drive is now installed without any problem and in the Task Menu you find a new process: AvastVirtualBox Interface.
The annoying 50% cpu use of  Avast! NG Front End process is gone.

Maybe this is helpful for somebody else.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on February 07, 2015, 08:07:52 PM
It was very annoying to find the CPU load exceeding the 50% causing my old vaio with core 2 duo processor T7200 and Windows 8.1 32 bits installed with onley 2 GB of memory, to flutter and stutter.
Since one of the topics was talking about a sandbox installed for deepscreen, I looked into the bios and enabled the "use external drives" feature in the boot sequence.
After reboot the issue was solved.
Maybe this is helpful for somebody else.
I can't see how this has anything to do with the Avast  NG service ??? What you enabled was the ability to boot from a USB device. :)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: EllenM on February 07, 2015, 08:13:20 PM
In my bios it is not only enabling the use of usb external drive but also the use of virtual drive.

I myself also could not understand the "miracle", however, it solved the issue.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: RonSH on February 11, 2015, 06:41:20 PM
I realise that this thread is a bit lengthy now but as an ordinary user of AV (not an AV expert) what I can do to stop NG occupying my lady's pc for many hours before it settles down and stops hogging 50% of her processor thus making her pc very slow. I've checked that the pc has the latest software and updates installed.

This pc is Vista and easily meets the 'spec' mentioned. NG seems to have 'repeat events' eg just downloaded and installed the monthly Microsoft Updates and 'welcome back' to NG hogging the processor! Some hours, tried 3 reboots and finally its 'gone to bed'.

If I stop this NG:
- How can I because I've looked at 'Change' and NG is not ticked to start with ... as per other comment in this thread
- What are the downside risks?
- Is it an essential and important part of AV safety

I seek guidance please ... the 'boss' could be getting difficult and my suggestion that she has a read about NG did not improve the situation!

Phew Ron
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on February 11, 2015, 08:34:23 PM
I realise that this thread is a bit lengthy now but as an ordinary user of AV (not an AV expert) what I can do to stop NG occupying my lady's pc for many hours before it settles down and stops hogging 50% of her processor thus making her pc very slow. I've checked that the pc has the latest software and updates installed.

This pc is Vista and easily meets the 'spec' mentioned. NG seems to have 'repeat events' eg just downloaded and installed the monthly Microsoft Updates and 'welcome back' to NG hogging the processor! Some hours, tried 3 reboots and finally its 'gone to bed'.

If I stop this NG:
- How can I because I've looked at 'Change' and NG is not ticked to start with ... as per other comment in this thread
- What are the downside risks?
- Is it an essential and important part of AV safety

I seek guidance please ... the 'boss' could be getting difficult and my suggestion that she has a read about NG did not improve the situation!

Phew Ron
You might want to give the latest beta a try where they have made improvement to NG and how it uses your memory:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0)

Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: RonSH on February 12, 2015, 11:49:46 AM
You might want to give the latest beta a try where they have made improvement to NG and how it uses your memory:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0)

Thanks for that tip ... gotta keep the lady happy.
Ron
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on February 12, 2015, 01:28:22 PM
You might want to give the latest beta a try where they have made improvement to NG and how it uses your memory:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=165749.0)

Thanks for that tip ... gotta keep the lady happy.
Ron
Hope that means it's working for you (her). :)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: RonSH on February 12, 2015, 04:05:46 PM
Hey ... life is back to normal!
I installed the beta on both of our machines (Vista & Windows7) and a very straightforward process. In both cases I chose Custom, unticking all but the Software Updater in Tools. Seems stable and currently a definite lack of fan noise ... but the house is colder  ::)
Ron
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: bob3160 on February 12, 2015, 04:09:59 PM
Hey ... life is back to normal!
I installed the beta on both of our machines (Vista & Windows7) and a very straightforward process. In both cases I chose Custom, unticking all but the Software Updater in Tools. Seems stable and currently a definite lack of fan noise ... but the house is colder  ::)
Ron
Good news. Air-conditioning without electric sparks. :)
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: greyowl on April 24, 2015, 06:02:08 AM
Is this NG issue related to Avast Free or only the paid versions?

I don't see how to disable it in the free version nor is it listed as a feature when I try to change Avast Free in Add/Remove programs in XP.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Asyn on April 24, 2015, 06:07:47 AM
Is this NG issue related to Avast Free or only the paid versions?

I don't see how to disable it in the free version nor is it listed as a feature when I try to change Avast Free in Add/Remove programs in XP.
NG isn't available on XP.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: greyowl on April 24, 2015, 06:09:33 AM
Thank you for the information.

So this won't be a problem for my laptop.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: Asyn on April 24, 2015, 06:26:35 AM
You're welcome.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: usalabs14 on June 23, 2015, 08:35:06 PM
Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.

Sorry, but avast force NG if you install the free version and there's absolutely NO WAY to uninstall NG, and if you're prepared to wait about a month (in extreme scenarios), then that's the time it'll take for NG to finish.

My PC has been on continuously for 3 weeks and NG front end is still using 35% CPU,with core temps ranging from 120F to 145F, at one time it got to 150F and the system shut down due to overheating, all because NG, and I'm still waiting for it to finish, it it takes more than a month, I'll be switching to free AVG.
Title: Re: Avast 2015 NG Front End CPU Usage
Post by: DavidR on June 23, 2015, 08:54:22 PM
Well, you can just remove the NG part if you want. Use Programs and features and use Change menu in avast! uninstaller. It will only remove the (problematic) NG part and the rest will remain where it is.

Sorry, but avast force NG if you install the free version and there's absolutely NO WAY to uninstall NG, and if you're prepared to wait about a month (in extreme scenarios), then that's the time it'll take for NG to finish.

My PC has been on continuously for 3 weeks and NG front end is still using 35% CPU,with core temps ranging from 120F to 145F, at one time it got to 150F and the system shut down due to overheating, all because NG, and I'm still waiting for it to finish, it it takes more than a month, I'll be switching to free AVG.

Of course you can uninstall NG, in the same way as you can other modules in avast, as RejZoR said in the text you quoted. I did exactly that on my win7 netbook (as I feel it is under powered to run NG).

Note: NG in the Tools section of the Programs and Features > Avast Antivirus > Change - Tools section is called Secure Virtual Machines.