Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: AdamusPL on November 07, 2014, 08:48:37 PM

Title: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: AdamusPL on November 07, 2014, 08:48:37 PM
Hi
i have avast free 2015.10.0.2206 and when i open "program and features" on windows 7sp1 x64
"avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu until i close that window.
everything is fine then avast service is off.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Eddy on November 07, 2014, 09:21:02 PM
Install the latest version (2015.10.0.2208) and see if problem is solved.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: NoelC on November 08, 2014, 05:35:10 AM
Are there release notes for these program updates somewhere?  I've not run across them.

Thanks.

-Noel
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Asyn on November 08, 2014, 05:38:05 AM
Are there release notes for these program updates somewhere?  I've not run across them.
-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=159528.0
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: AdamusPL on November 08, 2014, 07:42:24 PM
after update nothing change
still using >90% after open "program and features"
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Asyn on November 09, 2014, 07:32:41 AM
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Giraffe on November 09, 2014, 11:12:47 AM
I had to remove 2015 due to AvastSvc.exe using ~50% of CPU. It added about 100% to boot time and around 50% to opening programmes.
Customised installation: 3 Shield and Rescue Disc, nothing else.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: NoelC on November 09, 2014, 04:31:32 PM
after update nothing change
still using >90% after open "program and features"
Avast of course has to scan all the installer packages referenced when you open Programs & Features, but it normally settles down after the Programs & Features panel is filled with all the software you have installed.  Are you saying it's not settling down even after the panel stops filling?

-Noel
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: AdamusPL on November 09, 2014, 07:46:02 PM
after update nothing change
still using >90% after open "program and features"
Avast of course has to scan all the installer packages referenced when you open Programs & Features, but it normally settles down after the Programs & Features panel is filled with all the software you have installed.  Are you saying it's not settling down even after the panel stops filling?

-Noel

But it takes more then 5 min and cant use a computer for that time :(
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: AdamusPL on November 09, 2014, 07:50:25 PM
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
i'm using only avast and never had other AV
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: gelabel on November 09, 2014, 08:18:46 PM
Disabling the Avast Firewall makes AvastSvc stop using that huge amount of CPU...
At least in my case it worked that way.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Asyn on November 10, 2014, 05:02:41 AM
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
i'm using only avast and never had other AV
1. Download Avast Free Antivirus: http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
2. Follow instructions: http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Giraffe on November 10, 2014, 06:23:35 PM
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
i'm using only avast and never had other AV
1. Download Avast Free Antivirus: http://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
2. Follow instructions: http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
I did this twice and also cleaned out the Registry and still AvastSvc.exe churns away - NG not installed.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: runningwolf on November 14, 2014, 08:33:38 PM
I've recently been experiencing intermittent freezes on my Dell desktop running XP pro.  While monitoring Task Manager I noticed that the freezes occurred when avastSvc.exe was at a very high CPU usage (over 90%).  As soon as the high usage dropped to a lower value (0% to 5%) the computer would continue to run normally.  At the time my version of avast was Internet Security 2014.  Upon consulting the avast web forum I found the same problem from another user using a 2015 version (but not the latest).  One of the suggestions was to reload the latest version of avast (fixed this users problem).  When I loaded the latest 2015 version the problem now appears to be corrected.  Have no idea what was causing the original problem but hopefully this will take care of it.  Can anyone explain why the avastSvc.exe would have such a high CPU usage?
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: runningwolf on November 14, 2014, 08:53:09 PM
On my last post I stated after reloading the latest version of avast 2015 the problem appeared to go away.  But I've noticed it occasionally still kicks up to a high usage, but not nearly as often or remain in that status for as long.  Are there any other suggestions as to how to correct this situation?
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: runningwolf on November 17, 2014, 05:17:19 PM
Here's something else I've noticed with the high AvastSvc.exe cpu usage.  it will do it even when I have my router turned off and not connected to the Internet and with absolutely nothing else running on my computer.  It will still jump to 99% cpu usage and hang there for up to a minute and then suddenly drop to nothing.  Since Avast Svc.exe is what allows real time monitoring of your Internet traffic......how can it jump up to that high usage when there's nothing to monitor? 
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Ro Eraser on November 17, 2014, 07:31:35 PM
I am having the same problem when I'm using Incredimail. If Incredimail is started, cpu usage is 100%, with AvastSvc.exe in top of the list. If I close Incredimail (completely, not only main window), cpu usage drops to normal. This problem appeared after updating to the last version of Avast: 2015.10.0.2028. I'm using it on a PC with Win XP x64 SP3.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: runningwolf on November 19, 2014, 10:18:08 PM
Ro Eraser, what version of avast are you running?  I'm using the Internet Security version and I uninstalled it and loaded the free version, and so far I don't see anymore high cpu usage with avastSvc.exe.  I'm going to try the free version for a couple of days and then try reloading Internet Security again and see if the problem comes back.  If it goes back to high cpu usage not sure what that means..........do I have a problem with my system that is incompatible with the upgraded version and not with the free version?........or does avast have an issue with their upgraded paid for versions?   We're both using XP but I've seen other users on this forum that are have similar problems using windows 7 
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Giraffe on November 20, 2014, 12:00:29 PM
It's still bad with the free version. I haven't tried any other version.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: runningwolf on November 20, 2014, 04:40:01 PM
Since uninstalling the Internet Security version of avast and loading the free version I haven't had any issues with avastSvc.exe going to 100% and locking up my system.  I've submitted a trouble ticket with customer support a week ago with two additional updates to the ticket on what I've been doing and the results.  I have yet to have one response from them.  Therefore I've cancelled my paid for version and will stick with the free version.  I have 10 year old 32 bit Dell with a Intel Pentium 4 CPU with 2GB ram and running XP pro with SP3.   I spoke with a customer service rep (not technical support) about the problem and they said that the firewall on the Internet Security version was causing the freezes and lockups.  I tried disabling the firewall but it made no difference.  Hopefully avast technical support personnel will find a fix for this problem.   I would suggest that all users having this issue keep submitting trouble tickets with technical support.  If they get hounded often enough someone is bound to take notice.   
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: runningwolf on November 20, 2014, 11:10:19 PM
Giraffe, I received this reply from the avast technical support team today.  Thought I would pass it along for you to try if you haven't already:

Hello,

we apologize for technical difficulties with our software.

To repair your avast! Antivirus installation, please follow the steps below:

go to Start > Control Panel > Uninstall or Change a Program ( Programs and features ) > Select Avast Installation > Change -> Repair

This should fix the issue, if not please do not hesitate to contact me back.

If after running the repair feature and you're still having problems I would uninstall it and reload it if you haven't already tried it.  If you still are having problems I would definitely submit a trouble ticket to technical support.  They need to know that users are having difficulty with their products.   

Good luck
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: wb9omc on November 27, 2014, 12:08:50 AM
My Avast Free 2015 running on an HP Pavilion a730n under XPhome SP3 is just nailing the snot outta I/O reads ALL THE TIME when I look at Task Manager.  AvastSvc.exe is showing 125,487,000+ and climbing all the time.  CPU running between about 65% and 100% constantly.  Reboot does not help.   Gotta get this fixed as it slows down the machine hugely.
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: KabirK on November 27, 2014, 10:30:24 AM
Have the same problem: AvastSvc.exe loads the system at 5 to 40 %. Not that much, far from 100 % anyway, but it does so 24/7 (has system tray icon animated all the time).
Tried to repair as written in reply #20 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=159542.msg1153500#msg1153500). No effect.

Windows XP Pro SP3
Firefox 33.1
Title: Re: "avastsvc.exe" using 100% cpu
Post by: Giraffe on November 27, 2014, 06:11:01 PM
Thanks runningwolf but, like KabirK, it has no effect.
Gone back to 2014 for now - and had to turn off notifications for Updates to programme as the tray icon was showing a fault. I'll update when I want to!