Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: MartinZ on February 05, 2015, 05:23:20 PM

Title: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: MartinZ on February 05, 2015, 05:23:20 PM
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1 (build number 2015.10.2.2209)

What's new:

-          Improved Windows 10 Compatibility

-          Changed setup flow for better license activation

-          Avast NG – lot’s of performance and stability fixes

-          AccessAnywhere function is removed and replaced with new remote connection feature available through Account screen in all editions

-          Browser Cleanup integrated to Avast UI and added to Smart Scan

-          GrimeFighter now supports UEFI

-          Stability and performance improvements

-          Changed version number to support minor versions - 2015.10.2.2209(previously 2015.10.0.2208)


Known issues:

-          AOS plugin for chrome still needs some UI fixes

-          Some features on Windows 10 might not work correctly (Sandbox, DeepScreen, browser plugin in IE)

-          Avast UI crashes on Windows XP64b

How to install:

1. If you have installed some beta version before you can update it to this latest version via Settings->Update->Program.

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe

Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

We are looking for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Giraffe on February 05, 2015, 05:40:23 PM
Thanks!
Has the problem of Avastsvc.exe eating the CPU been solved? If so, I'll give this a go.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: CraigB on February 05, 2015, 05:44:33 PM
Thanks!
Has the problem of Avastsvc.exe eating the CPU been solved? If so, I'll give this a go.
The only way you'll know for sure is to install it, make a system image first just in case you need to return.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 05:45:25 PM
Will NG be moved away from the system restore points in 2015 R2 or later (2016) maybe?
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Eddy on February 05, 2015, 05:53:47 PM
Upgraded on a Windows XP-SP3 system.
No improvement when it comes to speed.
Both the file shield and the web shield.

BCU is still saying that I have the Adguard Webfilter installed, but it doesn't list it at any of the browsers.
Choosing remove does not change a thing, next scan it still says it is there.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Rednose on February 05, 2015, 06:05:03 PM
Nice, but I am going to make a system image first :P

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: CraigB on February 05, 2015, 06:11:11 PM
BCU is still saying that I have the Adguard Webfilter installed, but it doesn't list it at any of the browsers.
Choosing remove does not change a thing, next scan it still says it is there.
@Eddy, have you ever had Adguard or an Adguard extension installed ? possibly there are remnants in the registry that avast is seeing.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Eddy on February 05, 2015, 06:20:28 PM
Nope, never had it installed.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: CraigB on February 05, 2015, 06:26:23 PM
That's very odd then and something the devs need to look into.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 05, 2015, 06:28:25 PM
Quote from: MartinZ
Browser Cleanup integrated to Avast UI and added to Smart Scan

The Browser Cleanup I feel should remain an independent optional choice - I have so far been less than impressed with this tool, seeing many of the posts in the forums and even in this topic - I keep my browser clean, being a trusting sort, NOT. As a rule I don't run automated tools.

If it is integrated into the UI how can we opt-out of it in a custom install

Quote from: MartinZ
It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

If you have opted out of the Browser Cleanup - how would it be possible to retain your existing avast installation - when it is integrated into the UI and included in the Smart Scan (when I also deleted that scan from the drop down list).
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Eddy on February 05, 2015, 06:28:42 PM
I already reported it directly to the BCU team, just hoped that it was solved in this version.

edit:
I wonder if a browser has it build in or something...
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 06:34:26 PM
Im thinking about moving away from Avast when i see these more or less not working or completely developed features being added rather
then focusing on security features.

Like GrimeFighter and similar features.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: abruptum on February 05, 2015, 06:51:25 PM
If Browser Cleanup is integrated in Avast UI I'm not going to update Avast.
Why are you doing this ? In my opinion Browser Cleanup is horrible and very dangerous app.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: -midnight on February 05, 2015, 06:59:37 PM
If Browser Cleanup is integrated in Avast UI I'm not going to update Avast.
Why are you doing this ? In my opinion Browser Cleanup is horrible and very dangerous app.


+1
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Eddy on February 05, 2015, 07:03:26 PM
Someone already removed the BCU to see what happens with the UI ?
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Vlk on February 05, 2015, 07:05:58 PM
What's wrong with Browser Cleanup?

And Steven, why do you think we do not focus on security features?

Cheers,
Vlk
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 07:11:10 PM
Well im not sure, there were some works on security in the 2015 version Ondrej, but take a look at the latest
AV-Comparatives Summary report: http://www.av-comparatives.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/avc_sum_201412_en.pdf

Youre the most widely used AV on the market right behind Windows Defender/MSE, you could get great protection via Cloud
in the direction of Trend Micro which can block new threats within minutes, tested it myself.

What are you working on for 2016 versions security-wise? Or is that top secret :)

One thing you should work on are False Positives, these can get quite annoying, especially for your business users, even tho Avast has mostly private customers
if im informed right.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bri on February 05, 2015, 07:13:56 PM
So now you got rid of AccessAnywhere and made it available in all versions whats the point in buying the premier version?
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 07:15:38 PM
Firewall, Spam filter, Automatic Software Updater

Just a few ones

Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Charyb on February 05, 2015, 07:19:25 PM
Bottom of window cut off. Selecting, "Complete Free Cleanup" does nothing.



Each website I visit is unknown.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bri on February 05, 2015, 07:20:10 PM
firewall,spam are in internet security and the auto(manual in other editions) software updater is not worth paying the additional money,in my eyes there are no reasons to buy premier.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 07:20:39 PM
UI Bug, theres also a bug in the statistics with the bars
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: abruptum on February 05, 2015, 07:20:48 PM
What's wrong with Browser Cleanup?

Users end up with majority of their programs removed,False Positives,codecs detected as browser protectors,
stupid rating system based on avast community ...
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 07:22:20 PM
I already had a well known Browser plugin, i dont know which one it was detected
as potentially unwanted plugin and Avast wanted to remove it which ive denied
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Vlk on February 05, 2015, 07:23:38 PM
Well im not sure, there were some works on security in the 2015 version Ondrej, but take a look at the latest
AV-Comparatives Summary report: http://www.av-comparatives.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/01/avc_sum_201412_en.pdf

Youre the most widely used AV on the market right behind Windows Defender/MSE, you could get great protection via Cloud
in the direction of Trend Micro which can block new threats within minutes, tested it myself.

For sure 2014 wasn't a very successful year in terms of our showing in various industry tests, but hasn't that dramatically changed with v2015?

- 100.0% detection rate in December (AV-Test.org real-world)
- Significant improvement in AV-Comparatives' test as well - for details see here: http://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads/how-avast-is-performing-these-days.371019/#post-2437926

and the cloud stuff is getting better every day, which I am sure will be clearly visible from other test results in the next few months...

Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 07:24:17 PM
Will install this Beta right after my Backup is done.

I already broke my system with the combination Avast 2014 RC 2+ Windows 8.1 Preview, rendering it unbootable
giving about two dozends of errors.

@Vlk: i noticed its getting better over time now. There are still some issues with malicious files files running undetected by Avast

PS: Your free version of Avast for Business is really nice :)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Vlk on February 05, 2015, 07:34:57 PM
PS: Your free version of Avast for Business is really nice :)

Thanks. We're absolutely devoted to disrupting this space the same way we disrupted the consumer AV space a decade ago... :-)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Charyb on February 05, 2015, 08:11:05 PM
Someone already removed the BCU to see what happens with the UI ?
No sign of it after going to programs and features and uninstalling it.

Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 08:29:17 PM
No issues installing on Windows 10 Technical Preview Build 9926 (German Version):

http://prntscr.com/61h0xk

Avast NG is still based on VirtualBox, but this is only the first Beta Version, they wanted to move away from
VirtualBox as well as they wanted to revamp the context menu in the system tray.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Canard on February 05, 2015, 08:56:14 PM
If Browser Cleanup is integrated in Avast UI I'm not going to update Avast.
Why are you doing this ? In my opinion Browser Cleanup is horrible and very dangerous app.

+1.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 05, 2015, 09:02:55 PM
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1 (build number 2015.10.0.2209)
<snip>
Thank you
Avast team

I notice the version/build number inside the avast executables are 10.2.2209.788 not as reported in the notification quote above. I take it the (build number 2015.10.0.2209) is an oversight or typo.

Installation update - I did a custom installation over the top of 10.0.2208 - I unchecked all of the Tools options with exception to the Software Updater.

I can't see any indication of the Browser Cleanup in the UI.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 09:06:54 PM
See attached screenshot.

Thats Browser Cleanup inside the UI :)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 05, 2015, 09:17:14 PM
See attached screenshot.

Thats Browser Cleanup inside the UI :)

Have you just run the Smart Scan ?

As I don't see it in Tools and I don't Run The Smart Scan - I have just started one and it only does the Virus & Malware and Software Updater scan as I unchecked all of the Tools options with exception to the Software Updater.

So I still don't see it.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 05, 2015, 09:21:36 PM
Its also listed under Scan: http://prntscr.com/61hupa

You can get to Browser Cleanup by clicking Scan for Browser Add-Ons there as well
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: essexboy on February 05, 2015, 09:35:10 PM
Installed on XP SP4, Win 7, Win 8.1.1 and Win 10 TP

So far no apparent problems, I will be testing out the various bits and bobs over the next few days :)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Eddy on February 05, 2015, 09:45:27 PM
XP SP4?
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: essexboy on February 05, 2015, 09:46:43 PM
Yup I am a sneaky little bugger :)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Para-Noid on February 05, 2015, 10:29:39 PM
Browser Cleanup doesn't show up if you don't install it via the custom install.  8)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 05, 2015, 11:02:46 PM
Its also listed under Scan: http://prntscr.com/61hupa

You can get to Browser Cleanup by clicking Scan for Browser Add-Ons there as well

As I keep saying I don't have those options - I installed over the top, but crucially from there I did a custom install/update. In which I unchecked all of the Tools items other than the Software Updater.

Also note I'm using the avast free version.
EDIT typo
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Rednose on February 05, 2015, 11:24:39 PM
Installed AIS custom over the top on my Win 7 system, and so far so good :)
I will look at the different modules in the next few days.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: schmidthouse on February 06, 2015, 12:24:03 AM
Also installed on xpSP4 32 Bit.      See how it goes. :)

Don't expect much difference as major improvements aren't realized/available in this old OS.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: schmidthouse on February 06, 2015, 04:54:26 AM
The installation over existing(latest release) won't accept my Premier License thus far.
Am looking into it.


Nah, My bad. Wrong License file. ::)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Asyn on February 06, 2015, 05:27:39 AM
Testing R2 Beta1 asap...

Edit: It's up and running, no issues so far.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: YLAP on February 06, 2015, 06:42:22 AM
Well, as my installation successfully remained in BETA channel, jumping into BETA train :) Just noticed, what after update Windows Update file reputation "bogus" warning is back - I had to allow it manually three times in a row...  ???
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: tosal on February 06, 2015, 10:05:46 AM
What's wrong with Browser Cleanup?

Users end up with majority of their programs removed,False Positives,codecs detected as browser protectors,
stupid rating system based on avast community ...

Programs removed: unfortunately we had a few users reporting such things around November last year. However, we never were able to reproduce the problem. Nevertheless we took some countermeasures to prevent such things in general. With latest version we didn't get such reports anymore. Please report to us if it still happens.
False positives: as of today the BCU addon database contains ~61 million addons!  With such a huge amount of addons and a user based rating system "false positives" may happen - we do our best to prevent and fix them as soon as they are reported to us. New functionality has been added to ensure that false positives are minimized even more. Due to latest feedback this works pretty well now.
Browser protectors: we did not get feedback that BCU removed a codec instead of a toobar protector. If this happens, please provide feedback to this sub-forum here https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=54.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=54.0) or use our feedback portal https://feedback.avast.com/ (https://feedback.avast.com/).
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: NON on February 06, 2015, 12:42:01 PM
Thanks for the beta release. I'll install it on my computer soon. :)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: essexboy on February 06, 2015, 03:25:58 PM
Remotely controlling my windows 10 VM from my windows 8.1   

It is faster than the old system :)


So that bit works
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 06, 2015, 04:22:08 PM
I mentioned in passing in my previous post, but keeping it as an individual question.

Why is the build number reported here 2015.10.0.2209 and on the avastUI and about avast, etc. Why then are the program executables version numbered 10.2.2209 ?

I presume this is because this is Release 2 of version avast 10, which would seem logical. If that is the explanation, then why not have this as the logical program version number for avast 10 Release 2 and avoid any confusion ?
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: priest_lucas on February 06, 2015, 05:19:00 PM
Can anyone confirm if the bug introduced a few versions back and acknowledged by Avast as being a bug has been fixed!

After a scheduled scan completed the Avast UI opens to the scan page (Quick for quick scan, Full for full scan, etc) even if no problems found.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Patrick2 on February 06, 2015, 09:28:06 PM
So far No problems Found, installed on XP 32bit SP3 System, old as dirt laptop, system performed well with it installed, did a smart scan, and one full scan, no issues to report as yet, will be testing further over next couple days

Installed also on Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit Desktop--System performance great,  Remote Desktop use from Windows phone excellent, no noticeable problems there,  Sleep mode on 8.1 so far working properly, no noticeable issues to report otherwise at the moment, continuing to test and will report any issues I find in the R2 beta

Avast Crashed--when selecting remote control of Laptop PC from Account, Allow Remote control of this PC was checked in trouble shooting

Picture below from Laptop machine
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: keloo05 on February 07, 2015, 06:01:12 AM
Some Avast representative said that the next version after 2208 will introduce a redesigned menu after you right-click the status icon. Will it be ready in the final version of R2?
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Rompin Raider on February 07, 2015, 07:21:09 AM
Nice install and running well on Windows 7x64. Thanks Avast! 8)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bob3160 on February 07, 2015, 04:26:35 PM
Some Avast representative said that the next version after 2208 will introduce a redesigned menu after you right-click the status icon. Will it be ready in the final version of R2?
The last word I got was that it would be ready this Spring.
I'm right  now in Arizona and we expect to be in the low 80's today but, it's still not Spring. :)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: rcward on February 07, 2015, 05:33:24 PM
Installed the R2 beta 1 Antivirus 2015 Free version on Win 8.1 Update 1 no problems running fine.
Upgraded via Windows Update to Win 10 Pro Build 9926.
Upgraded fine alongside MBAM Pro and Comodo Firewall both  latest versions.
Well done Avast!

5year old PC Dual CPU 2.6GHz; 32bit 4GB Ram.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bob3160 on February 07, 2015, 05:48:28 PM
A video of the Free version install:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg1180726#msg1180726 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg1180726#msg1180726)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bob3160 on February 07, 2015, 08:02:35 PM
It also works well on Windows 10 Build 9926:
http://youtu.be/JUJO8gn7E94 (http://youtu.be/JUJO8gn7E94)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Sutieday on February 07, 2015, 11:36:11 PM
I have some questions, please answer them I'm somewhat new to Avast's beta system.

1) If you install the beta of avast on top of the stable version it will get upgraded to beta?

2) When the final/stable product is released, can I upgrade to it without re-install? Does this still keep me on a beta channel?

3) When avast releases another beta will my stable product request me to download it since I'm on a beta channel?
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Para-Noid on February 08, 2015, 12:09:25 AM
1) Yes
2) Yes
3) No. The beta must be manually downloaded then installed.
    Even if you do a beta test when the stable version is released you will be notified via the GUI.

Note: You will not be notified of a beta release when you are running the current stable version.
        You will only be notified when there is a stable version. Except when you are beta testing
        then avast will notify you when an updated beta is available.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Sutieday on February 08, 2015, 12:28:51 AM
1) Yes
2) Yes
3) No. The beta must be manually downloaded then installed.
    Even if you do a beta test when the stable version is released you will be notified via the GUI.

Note: You will not be notified of a beta release when you are running the current stable version.
        You will only be notified when there is a stable version. Except when you are beta testing
        then avast will notify you when an updated beta is available.

Thanks, will upgrade to beta on my seperate win7 partition.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 08, 2015, 12:37:07 AM
I have some questions, please answer them I'm somewhat new to Avast's beta system.
<snip>
3) When avast releases another beta will my stable product request me to download it since I'm on a beta channel?

3. If you have previously installed a beta build, avast should recognise this and when a beta build program update is released it should notify you of a program update.

This is a new feature, but it isn't without issues:
A. it doesn't say in the update notification being offered that this is a beta build release.
B. when you complete the program update, currently even in the UI it doesn't show it is a beta build.
I'm of the firm opinion that you should know if you are being offered a beta build and or you are running a beta build. This allows for creating a hard disk image or a means of going back if you experience any issues with the beta.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bob3160 on February 08, 2015, 01:31:55 AM
I don't know if this is new but, it's certainly helpful.
Withing the help popup:
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1423355268562-85759.png)
If you click on Subscription & Registration, you'find the following:
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1423355102203-17930.png)
No more guessing of who or how to contact someone about your purchases and any changes you might want to make.

The current version uses: [size=78%]
In this version that was called Subscription & Registration. The rest of this information hasn't changed.

[/size]
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: boe323 on February 08, 2015, 04:51:03 AM
I thought grimefighter supports uefi now?, it didn't install on windows 8.1, cant find it in tools.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: parcolee on February 08, 2015, 06:52:54 AM
Nice, hope it would improve the dropouts
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: YLAP on February 08, 2015, 07:56:10 AM
Well, as my installation successfully remained in BETA channel, jumping into BETA train :) Just noticed, what after update Windows Update file reputation "bogus" warning is back - I had to allow it manually three times in a row...  ???

Now it asks for it three days in a row :D What's wrong with this file reputation? Maybe it should be some kind of "forget" option? :) My computer checks WU daily, so now File Reputation behaviour starts to make me mad :D
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: thekochs on February 08, 2015, 11:29:30 PM
Browser Cleanup doesn't show up if you don't install it via the custom install.  8)

Can you post a pic of the Custom Install options ?...so much has changed I wanted to see the latest with new V10 as a guideline.
Thx !
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 09, 2015, 12:07:13 AM
Browser Cleanup doesn't show up if you don't install it via the custom install.  8)

Can you post a pic of the Custom Install options ?...so much has changed I wanted to see the latest with new V10 as a guideline.
Thx !

These are the ones I captured.
Note in the image name I have elected to show 10.2.2209 as that is what the executable files version number shows and not 10.0.2209 in the about.avast.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bob3160 on February 09, 2015, 12:56:24 AM
Browser Cleanup doesn't show up if you don't install it via the custom install.  8)

Can you post a pic of the Custom Install options ?...so much has changed I wanted to see the latest with new V10 as a guideline.
Thx !
The video shows all of them during the installation. :)
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg1180726#msg1180726 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=93544.msg1180726#msg1180726)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: MartinZ on February 09, 2015, 08:57:04 AM
Some Avast representative said that the next version after 2208 will introduce a redesigned menu after you right-click the status icon. Will it be ready in the final version of R2?
The last word I got was that it would be ready this Spring.
I'm right  now in Arizona and we expect to be in the low 80's today but, it's still not Spring. :)

Hi,
this will be done in R3.
Martin
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: MartinZ on February 09, 2015, 09:01:40 AM
If you don't like Browser Cleanup, you can disable it via Settings->Tools. It's the same as before. The fact that now it's part of UI doesn't matter.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: ondrejz on February 09, 2015, 09:52:04 AM
Bottom of window cut off. Selecting, "Complete Free Cleanup" does nothing.



Each website I visit is unknown.

Regarding to the problem with browser extension...

It should be ok since we released an update to the Chrome Store. Please could you check you have updated version now? The plugin version should be 10.1.0.177
If the problem persist please let us know, thanks.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: bob3160 on February 09, 2015, 02:02:58 PM
Bottom of window cut off. Selecting, "Complete Free Cleanup" does nothing.



Each website I visit is unknown.

Regarding to the problem with browser extension...

It should be ok since we released an update to the Chrome Store. Please could you check you have updated version now? The plugin version should be 10.1.0.177
If the problem persist please let us know, thanks.
My problem is that it didn't replace the old version when the new one was added.
I have to do it manually:
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1423486866632-92020.png)
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Rednose on February 11, 2015, 11:54:10 PM
So far I am really happy with this Beta 8)

There are only two ( small ) issues that are not solved with this Beta, but I prefer to email them directly to the Developer :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Staticguy on February 12, 2015, 02:07:29 PM
@pk and @MartinZ: Remember the PM messages that pk,you, and I had about this on my personal email address. Here it is https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=159528.165. Refer to reply #172 and #174.

Just curious has this bug been fixed in this version, because users didn't have a look at it in the current version 2015.10.0.2208. I don't use beta programs because it's my personal laptop. Thanks.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Lisandro on February 12, 2015, 10:37:33 PM
My computer got frozen twice. I have to force shutdown.
I'm testing for the third time. I suspect a memory leak.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: lukor on February 13, 2015, 11:19:19 PM
My computer got frozen twice. I have to force shutdown.
I'm testing for the third time. I suspect a memory leak.

Hi Tech, in these cases memory dump is extremely helpfull.

see here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff545499(v=vs.85).aspx
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: DavidR on February 14, 2015, 12:34:54 AM
My computer got frozen twice. I have to force shutdown.
I'm testing for the third time. I suspect a memory leak.

Hi Tech, in these cases memory dump is extremely helpfull.

see here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff545499(v=vs.85).aspx

Would it not be best to update to AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2 - to see if this is still in the latest beta.
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: mechanek on February 14, 2015, 01:19:10 AM
Installed this beta on a Win 10 tech preview system and all installed correctly

All shields active and appear to be working well.

Web app functioning as well.

No issues to report.

mechanek
Title: Re: New AVAST 2015 R2 Beta1
Post by: Lisandro on February 14, 2015, 02:17:02 PM
My computer got frozen twice. I have to force shutdown.
I'm testing for the third time. I suspect a memory leak.

Hi Tech, in these cases memory dump is extremely helpfull.

see here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff545499(v=vs.85).aspx
It happened for the third time, after hibernating/resuming. I'll install Beta2 and try again, following the directions on your link.