Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: hectic-mmv on February 13, 2015, 05:15:21 PM

Title: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: hectic-mmv on February 13, 2015, 05:15:21 PM
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.2.2210)

Beta 2 Contains these improvements:
-          Performance fixes in stream filter

-          IE AOSP plugin is more stable than ever

-          NG now can be installed on x86 machines without VTx/AMDv

-          BCU internal improvements


Known issues:

-          Please tell us about them

What's new in Beta 1:

-          Improved Windows 10 Compatibility
-          Changed setup flow for better license activation
-          Avast NG – lot’s of performance and stability fixes
-          AccessAnywhere function is removed and replaced with new remote connection feature available through Account screen in all editions
-          Browser Cleanup integrated to Avast UI and added to Smart Scan
-          GrimeFighter now supports UEFI
-          Stability and performance improvements
-          Changed version number to support minor versions - 2015.10.2.2209(previously 2015.10.0.2208)



How to install:

1. If you have installed some beta version before you can update it to this latest version via Settings->Update->Program.

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe

Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

We are looking for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: schmidthouse on February 13, 2015, 05:28:40 PM
Thanks. 8)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: hectic-mmv on February 13, 2015, 05:29:21 PM
Thanks. 8)

ur welcome, enjoy :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 13, 2015, 05:40:50 PM
Updating via UI right now :)

Just noticed this in the restart prompt :) See attached screenshot
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: DavidR on February 13, 2015, 06:42:29 PM
Updated from avast 2015 R2 Beta2 UI, about to reboot.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Rednose on February 13, 2015, 08:19:25 PM
I almost flipped when I saw the yellow triangle on the Avast! traybar icon :P I didn't realise it could be a new Beta update ;D

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: essexboy on February 13, 2015, 08:30:54 PM
Updated all systems no apparent problems

XP, 7, 8.1 and 10TP
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Patrick2 on February 13, 2015, 09:43:10 PM
Updated on 8.1 Pro 64bit with Media Center Desktop-NO apperant issues so far, XP Laptop updated as well, again no appearant issues, Systems running smooth, reboot fine, (shutdown fine), all programs working properly that are used.   Overall running perfectly fine on both systems that have the beta version on them

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: boe323 on February 14, 2015, 12:34:26 AM
Got a blue screen testing ng, running a suspicious app in ng while deepscreen was checking, I went to simulate installation and got blue screen, DRIVER_POWER_STATE_FAILURE, linked to ntoskrnl.exe, after blue screen and reboot, I tried again and it worked so not sure whats going on there. I had a blue screen in previous beta related to vss also, seems like it could be an issue with creating vms maybe? I also have 2 avast antivirus (32bit)  in task manager.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Patrick2 on February 14, 2015, 03:08:57 AM
Confirmed also seeing 2 Avast 32bit in Task Manager, NO NG option to install here, or i'd test that also, but I don't have it in my list on this PC for some reason, think Virtualization is on, but not sure

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: NON on February 14, 2015, 07:09:36 AM
Updated over 2015.10.2.2209. So far working fine. :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Asyn on February 14, 2015, 07:11:34 AM
Updated over 2015.10.2.2209. So far working fine. :)
Same here. :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Pirate_fin on February 14, 2015, 12:00:44 PM
Is NG going to work without system restore after this beta?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Vlk on February 14, 2015, 06:32:03 PM
Is NG going to work without system restore after this beta?

No, sorry, this is planned for R3 (~June).

Thanks,
Vlk
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Rednose on February 14, 2015, 06:40:07 PM
Because it was posted above, I checked, and I have with Win 7 also 2 avast! Antivirus processes in taskmanager ???

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: essexboy on February 14, 2015, 06:49:32 PM
Same on windows 8.1

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 14, 2015, 06:50:59 PM
Same on Windows 10 TP Build 9926 German version. :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: ondrejz on February 15, 2015, 07:11:21 PM
Hi,

in case you have problems with NG, please always attach ngtool.log (+ autosandbox.log in case of detection problems).. it will be helpful for diagnosis of what went wrong, thanks

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: boe323 on February 16, 2015, 05:06:13 AM
avast premier as suddenly gone into trial mode, its recentlyhappened as theres 30days, but online it says im still active, avast locks up when I try to use the use license button. EDIT: Manually downloading and installing licence reactivated it.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Rednose on February 16, 2015, 04:06:58 PM
avast premier as suddenly gone into trial mode, its recentlyhappened as theres 30days, but online it says im still active, avast locks up when I try to use the use license button. EDIT: Manually downloading and installing licence reactivated it.

I can confirm this, it happened to me too ???

Greetz, Red.


EDIT : The realtime shield off was the DNS.

EDIT 2 : I got a PM from an Avast! Dev that this bug is under investigation.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Rednose on February 16, 2015, 04:27:35 PM
Btw, it would be nice if an Avast! Dev would comment on the two avast! Antivirus processes in taskmanager as reported here by several peepz.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: YLAP on February 16, 2015, 08:30:17 PM
Same on windows 8.1

+1
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: lukor on February 16, 2015, 10:33:23 PM
Hi guys,
two instances of avastui.exe are just as it is designed. One extra process is for the GUI rendering part.

Lukas.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Rednose on February 16, 2015, 10:46:26 PM
Thnx Lukas :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: boe323 on February 17, 2015, 03:42:23 AM
Avast service stopped with no errors like it was manually stopped, but that's not possible as the defence module was active, it stopped during use of avast secureline. Im using premier, 3 issue ivehad since installing this beta. Seems to be one problem after another, cant say that avast is secure tbh, the service stopped when it was being protected by your so could defense module, im having my doubts about avast just lately. How canthe 2 processes be by design if 1 disappears when the ui is opened, and comes back when the ui is closed? Was never needed before, why now? Oh yes, just to point out, since the service stopped and I restarted it ive got pooh loads of avast ng services,not impressed.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: ondrejz on February 17, 2015, 04:34:11 PM
Greetings from QA lab!

Today we have released a new beta version of Online Security extension for Chrome browser. The extension GUI has been completely redesigned and we are curious what do you think about it. Please give us some feedback in this thread or later in RC... Thanks!

Major Changes:
- New design of GUI and all warnings
- Do Not Track detection is now enabled by default (you can allow/block trackers on individual websites or set automatic blocking in global settings)
- You can set Allow/Block for tracker categories - any new tracker will respect the category setting
- The number in the extension icon now indicates ACTIVE trackers only
- Voting buttons are now more visible
- The extension remembers your rating and displays it in GUI

Please make sure your extension has version 10.1.0.246. If not, you can force update via button on the Extensions page.

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: boe323 on February 17, 2015, 04:37:10 PM
Avast ng keeps killing my pc, blue screens and loosing data when it crashes, driver power state failure and another one with memory management VMASWR0.r0+93a69, totally unusable and unstable, these happen when testing the vms/ng by running software that is thinks is dodgy avast bug report started on one occasion but I think it didn't go through
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Asyn on February 17, 2015, 04:40:51 PM
Avast ng keeps killing my pc, blue screens and loosing data when it crashes, driver power state failure and another one with memory management VMASWR0.r0+93a69, totally unusable and unstable, these happen when testing the vms/ng by running software that is thinks is dodgy avast bug report started on one occasion but I think it didn't go through
See Reply #17.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: boe323 on February 17, 2015, 04:54:37 PM
the logs aren't any good in this case, as its the drivers that are crashing, theres no info in those logs for that, ngtool installs and the service works fine, untill, you run software in the vm, you sometimes get a disconnect or a connect sound (sometimes not) then I get blue screen, in other cases it works fine, its got to be unstable avast driver not virtualbox. You also removed the reboot after install of avast over the top(updating/upgfrading), when it needs a reboot to appl the firewall driver, and having avast run ngtool before the avast software is even ready is silly also. I me here waiting for ngtool to finish so I can reboot to apply the firewall driver, if I just reboot, I get half a virtual machine and ngtool doesn't kickin to reinstall. Never had issues with any of the previous betas like im having with the 2 latest releases.Somethings changed for the worse.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Asyn on February 17, 2015, 04:56:50 PM
the logs aren't any good in this case, as its the drivers that are crashing, theres no info in those logs for that, ngtool installs and the service works fine, untill, you run software in the vm, you sometimes get a disconnect or a connect sound (sometimes not) then I get blue screen, in other cases it works fine, its got to be unstable avast driver not virtualbox.
You can upload your minidump(s) here: ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming/ (ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming/)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: boe323 on February 17, 2015, 05:01:39 PM
how do you use it? can you give some instruction, all I get is a emty page with no upload options.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Asyn on February 17, 2015, 05:04:08 PM
how do you use it? can you give some instruction, all I get is a emty page with no upload options.
-> https://www.avast.com/faq/AVKB129#artTitle
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: ondrejz on February 17, 2015, 05:59:08 PM
how do you use it? can you give some instruction, all I get is a emty page with no upload options.

Boe323,

I recommend you a better way. Please use this tool: http://public.avast.com/supp/util/avastsupport.exe

Make sure you have checked gathering full dumps and automatic send to Avast in Advanced section.

Then please write here the Package ID

Thanks
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Patrick2 on February 17, 2015, 08:29:17 PM
Reference Reply #25, Updated Avast Security plugin for Chrome Browser, well just started using Chrome Browser recently, previously was only using Internet Explorer til a PC shop suggested i used Chrome...anyways Extension doesn't seem to wanna update, i found Update Extensions now area in this Browser, and so far staying at 10.0.2502.149 version

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Lisandro on February 18, 2015, 03:14:39 AM
From Beta 1:

My computer got frozen twice. I have to force shutdown.
I'm testing for the third time. I suspect a memory leak.

Hi Tech, in these cases memory dump is extremely helpfull.

see here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff545499(v=vs.85).aspx
I'm in a notebook without right CTRL key and without SCROLL LOCK.
Even I can create a key1 sequence, I cannot even understand how to create a key2 one.
Isn't there any other method to induce blue screen?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: schmidthouse on February 18, 2015, 04:16:40 AM
avast premier as suddenly gone into trial mode, its recentlyhappened as theres 30days, but online it says im still active, avast locks up when I try to use the use license button. EDIT: Manually downloading and installing licence reactivated it.

I can confirm this, it happened to me too ???

Greetz, Red.


EDIT : The realtime shield off was the DNS.

EDIT 2 : I got a PM from an Avast! Dev that this bug is under investigation.

Yup, Also here as well, just 5 minutes ago.
Avast Premier with over 300 days reverted to Trial with 18 days.
This is the second time since downloading Beta2
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: ondrejz on February 18, 2015, 09:25:55 AM
Reference Reply #25, Updated Avast Security plugin for Chrome Browser, well just started using Chrome Browser recently, previously was only using Internet Explorer til a PC shop suggested i used Chrome...anyways Extension doesn't seem to wanna update, i found Update Extensions now area in this Browser, and so far staying at 10.0.2502.149 version

Hi,

I cannot tell you why but you have the official public version of the plugin. I am convinced that beta installer should install the beta plugin  :-\.. Anyway here is the direct link: https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/avast-online-security-bet/daanglpcpkjjlkhcbladppjphglbigam


thanks
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Rednose on February 18, 2015, 09:23:36 PM
Is this new ?

Avast! is asking for feedback on the Beta from the GUI :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: DavidR on February 18, 2015, 09:49:09 PM
Not seeing it in the free version only the Ad for the seasonal sale.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: rbg.hptouch4 on February 18, 2015, 10:21:37 PM
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.2.2210)


Thank you
Avast team

is this build valid for windows 10 x64 yet???

thanks
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: Rednose on February 18, 2015, 10:36:40 PM
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.2.2210)


Thank you
Avast team

is this build valid for windows 10 x64 yet???

thanks

Yes,

But realise it is a Beta, so it still can have bugs :)

Greetz, Red.

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: rbg.hptouch4 on February 19, 2015, 12:04:26 AM
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.2.2210)


Thank you
Avast team

is this build valid for windows 10 x64 yet???

thanks

Yes,

But realise it is a Beta, so it still can have bugs :)

Greetz, Red.

yes I realize that and expect some issues BUT....

had a folder with pointers to info, and with the install file....

it started wiping out icons on desktop....ended up rebooting it....

missing icons on desktop and only thing in folder where I had my avast stuff is a log folder and all othere stuff I
had there is wiped out.............

did a restore to get back where I was cause the log file I looked at implied it was installing
stuff for windows 10 32 bit NOT 64 bit....so figured I'd ask...!!!

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: lukor on February 19, 2015, 09:25:48 AM
You can also use this tool to crash the PC on demand. However if the PC is already frozen, you might have hard times running the tool to induce a crash :-(

http://www.osronline.com/article.cfm?article=153

From Beta 1:

My computer got frozen twice. I have to force shutdown.
I'm testing for the third time. I suspect a memory leak.

Hi Tech, in these cases memory dump is extremely helpfull.

see here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff545499(v=vs.85).aspx
I'm in a notebook without right CTRL key and without SCROLL LOCK.
Even I can create a key1 sequence, I cannot even understand how to create a key2 one.
Isn't there any other method to induce blue screen?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 Beta2
Post by: GTX66 on February 26, 2015, 09:12:31 PM
I think I will try this, back to using Avast Internet Security after an not to enjoyable run with KIS. If you really want a slow machine try it..LOL Oh and I have a brand new attitude, I am now an Avast user for life!