Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: hectic-mmv on February 20, 2015, 03:16:52 PM

Title: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: hectic-mmv on February 20, 2015, 03:16:52 PM
Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new release candidate version: AVAST 2015 R2 Release Candidate 1 (build number 2015.10.2.2211)

RC 1 Contains these improvements:
-          Performance optimalizations in webshield and file system shield. Now they work much better than ever.


-          DNT in IE AOSP plugin will not crash anymore


-          AswVmm.sys driver - internal NG improvements


-          Fresh new design of the Chrome Online Security extension. Do not track detection enabled by default.


-          Https scanning works in Opera browser 25+




Known issues:

-          Please tell us about them

Beta 2 Contains these improvements:
-          Performance fixes in stream filter
-          IE AOSP plugin is more stable than ever
-          NG now can be installed on x86 machines without VTx/AMDv
-          BCU internal improvements


What's new in Beta 1:

-          Improved Windows 10 Compatibility
-          Changed setup flow for better license activation
-          Avast NG – lot’s of performance and stability fixes
-          AccessAnywhere function is removed and replaced with new remote connection feature available through Account screen in all editions
-          Browser Cleanup integrated to Avast UI and added to Smart Scan
-          GrimeFighter now supports UEFI
-          Stability and performance improvements
-          Changed version number to support minor versions - 2015.10.2.2209(previously 2015.10.0.2208)



How to install:

1. If you have installed some beta version before you can update it to this latest version via Settings->Update->Program.

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe

Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

To report BSODs, crashes or any other none trivial problems please use new SupportPackage generating tool.
- http://public.avast.com/supp/util/avastsupportR2.exe

Instructions how to use it can be easily found:
- https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle


We are looking forward for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Just_a_User on February 20, 2015, 03:43:16 PM
Updated from the previous one through the gui possibility and all went well as well the reboot. Have to mention that the previous one didn't give me troubles either. So thank you AVAST to provide us another great AV  ;D
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Lord_Ami on February 20, 2015, 04:14:34 PM
Running fine (all betas).

Perhaps add "X" to this notification?
i.snag.gy/gec5l.jpg (http://i.snag.gy/gec5l.jpg)

In my opinion it is quite complicated to spot the "Get started". Especially for average users.


//
Got UI crash when tried to initiate remote connection (remote PC is using beta2).
http://snag.gy/ysj6V.jpg
http://snag.gy/BTQRv.jpg
It is reproducable. Also there seems to be issue with showing PC status. First it is "offline", but after selecting (click on PC) it and going back, it shows it's ready to initiate remote connection.

///
I've sent support package (with new tool). 20150220_1526_9G130_3247316768
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: essexboy on February 20, 2015, 04:21:44 PM
Successfully updated all systems no apparent problems yet :)

XP SP4, 7 SP1, 8.1.1 and 10TP
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: NON on February 20, 2015, 04:38:26 PM
Thanks, I'll test it :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: parcolee on February 20, 2015, 05:04:53 PM
Now won't produce dropouts anymore?  :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: DavidR on February 20, 2015, 05:31:43 PM
Updated through the UI on R2 beta2 to10.2.2211, reboot and all appears to be well.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Rednose on February 20, 2015, 05:35:50 PM
Updated through the GUI, and no problems so far :)

Grreetz, Red.

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 20, 2015, 06:40:26 PM
I can feel a significantly better performance on my machine, good work Avast Team :)

Keep this work up and you might get the best and most widely used AV out there :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: boe323 on February 20, 2015, 06:45:59 PM
I see its now asking for reboot after installation to complete the process, which is good as the firewall driver always wants a reboot to apply, but ....its still reinstalling the vm's before avast is even ready for use, there needs to be a script of some sort to stop it doing this and to start after a few mins of logging in after the reboot and avast is complete. As it stands im having to wait for ngtool to finish before I can reboot the pc.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 20, 2015, 06:48:47 PM
Well NG will be moved away from the system restore points hopefully in R3 in a few months.

Then this will get much better and faster hopefully.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Andrey,pro on February 20, 2015, 09:09:09 PM
Hi,

Is this RC build fully compatible with the latest tech preview build of windows 10? (it was mentioned in Beta 1 that some features on Windows 10 might not work correctly (Sandbox, DeepScreen, browser plugin in IE)).
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: essexboy on February 20, 2015, 09:35:14 PM
It appears to be functioning in 10TP
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: TerraX on February 21, 2015, 12:57:34 AM
Installed...so far no problems.

NG entries in the System 32 folder...is still resolved?

TerraX
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Asyn on February 21, 2015, 06:32:20 AM
Thanks, testing it asap.

Edit: No issues so far. :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: GreenRock on February 21, 2015, 02:19:48 PM
//
Got UI crash when tried to initiate remote connection (remote PC is using beta2).
http://snag.gy/ysj6V.jpg
http://snag.gy/BTQRv.jpg
It is reproducable. Also there seems to be issue with showing PC status. First it is "offline", but after selecting (click on PC) it and going back, it shows it's ready to initiate remote connection.

///
I've sent support package (with new tool). 20150220_1526_9G130_3247316768

Thanks for you feedback, I'm investigating the issue about remote connection. Just a comment about "offline" status. It takes some time to recognize that remote PC is online (and remote connection is allowed). So, probably avast recognized it when you was on second page a if you returned back avast knew this information and thus showed that remote connection is allowed.

Thanks,
David
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Lord_Ami on February 21, 2015, 02:25:44 PM
Thanks for you feedback, I'm investigating the issue about remote connection.
I've created new thread too, so check it out :) Issue is caused by Remote control, which is not installed on host PC :)

Quote
Just a comment about "offline" status. It takes some time to recognize that remote PC is online (and remote connection is allowed). So, probably avast recognized it when you was on second page a if you returned back avast knew this information and thus showed that remote connection is allowed.
Thanks, that's reasonable.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: GreenRock on February 21, 2015, 03:02:25 PM
Thanks for you feedback, I'm investigating the issue about remote connection.
I've created new thread too, so check it out :) Issue is caused by Remote control, which is not installed on host PC :)
You are definitely right. It will be fixed in next release. Thanks a lot for your help.
David
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: schmidthouse on February 21, 2015, 05:38:56 PM
Thanks, updating via GUI on xpSP4 :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Staticguy on February 22, 2015, 12:35:04 AM
Hi Avast! Are the settings that is related to VPS update notification via the Avast GUI removed in this version? Refer to this https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=159528.165 reply number 172 and 174. I don't use beta programs. Many thanks.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Para-Noid on February 22, 2015, 12:59:48 AM
This is now a "Release Candidate". And it's more than stable.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Spec8472 on February 23, 2015, 08:09:48 AM
Installed...so far no problems.

NG entries in the System 32 folder...is still resolved?

TerraX

Problem is resolved, but you can experience last new log items during update (generated by old vbox). After update restart, it should never happen again.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: hectic-mmv on February 23, 2015, 09:24:45 AM
Well NG will be moved away from the system restore points hopefully in R3 in a few months.

Then this will get much better and faster hopefully.

Yes, this will be part of R3 in June/July
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: TerraX on February 23, 2015, 03:44:19 PM
Installed...so far no problems.

NG entries in the System 32 folder...is still resolved?

TerraX

Problem is resolved, but you can experience last new log items during update (generated by old vbox). After update restart, it should never happen again.

I have manually deleted the old text documents...everything is fine. :)

Thanks,
TerraX
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: dlp69 on February 23, 2015, 07:57:37 PM
So when is this being released?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Staticguy on February 23, 2015, 08:23:16 PM
When it is ready it will be released. You will be looking at another Release Candidate 2 and Release Candidate 3. Usually after RC3, the final version gets released.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Skakara on February 24, 2015, 04:29:38 PM
There seems to be confusion about one thing so I would like to verify it:

Is NG (or whatever it's called nowadays) already working without system protection/restore, and if not, when it is estimated to arrive in any public release? Thank you.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: DJBone on February 24, 2015, 06:33:08 PM
@Skakara

Well NG will be moved away from the system restore points hopefully in R3 in a few months.

Then this will get much better and faster hopefully.

Yes, this will be part of R3 in June/July

DJBone
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: jgutierrez on February 25, 2015, 10:09:20 AM
I noticed on RC1 an additional AvastUI process, that used -gpu-process command-line argument.

Guess it is related to Chrome/Blink, but it even appears if unchecking use Chrome webview.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Asyn on February 25, 2015, 10:24:40 AM
I noticed on RC1 an additional AvastUI process, that used -gpu-process command-line argument.
See: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166172.msg1184502#msg1184502
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: jgutierrez on February 25, 2015, 11:50:43 AM
I noticed on RC1 an additional AvastUI process, that used -gpu-process command-line argument.
See: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166172.msg1184502#msg1184502

Thanks. But have not found any official explanation about it being a confirmed bug or not.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: Asyn on February 25, 2015, 11:52:42 AM
I noticed on RC1 an additional AvastUI process, that used -gpu-process command-line argument.
See: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166172.msg1184502#msg1184502
Thanks. But have not found any official explanation about it being a confirmed bug or not.
According to Lukas, it's no bug.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: zony on February 25, 2015, 01:12:05 PM
Phenomenon: see Pictures.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: DavidR on February 25, 2015, 03:03:30 PM
Phenomenon: see Pictures.

It is correct that there are two avastUI.exe entries - however, I don't know what you are trying to say in the first image as we are unable to interpret what is in the popup ?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: zony on February 25, 2015, 03:49:20 PM
   The popup, Previous versions of the software never encountered。  Ver 10.0.2208 ,no display this popup.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC1
Post by: pk on February 25, 2015, 08:42:52 PM
RC2 version available: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166883.0