Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: hectic-mmv on February 25, 2015, 07:18:12 PM

Title: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: hectic-mmv on February 25, 2015, 07:18:12 PM
Update!!! - New RTM build has been already released - 10.2.2213

Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new release candidate version: AVAST 2015 R2 Release Candidate 2 (build number 2015.10.2.2212)

RC 2 Contains these improvements:
-          NG is now installed on computers with disabled virtualization CPU extension (valid only for Vista and 7 32 bit).


-          Win10 - feel free to update from Win7+ to Win10 with Avast R2 installed


-          Stream filter - fixed problem for IE and corrupted/expired certificates




Known issues:

-          Please tell us about them

RC 1 Contains these improvements:
-          Performance optimalizations in webshield and file system shield. Now they work much better than ever.
-          DNT in IE AOSP plugin will not crash anymore
-          AswVmm.sys driver - internal NG improvements
-          Fresh new design of the Chrome Online Security extension. Do not track detection enabled by default.
-          Https scanning works in Opera browser 25+


Beta 2 Contains these improvements:
-          Performance fixes in stream filter
-          IE AOSP plugin is more stable than ever
-          NG now can be installed on x86 machines without VTx/AMDv
-          BCU internal improvements


What's new in Beta 1:

-          Improved Windows 10 Compatibility
-          Changed setup flow for better license activation
-          Avast NG – lot’s of performance and stability fixes
-          AccessAnywhere function is removed and replaced with new remote connection feature available through Account screen in all editions
-          Browser Cleanup integrated to Avast UI and added to Smart Scan
-          GrimeFighter now supports UEFI
-          Stability and performance improvements
-          Changed version number to support minor versions - 2015.10.2.2209(previously 2015.10.0.2208)



How to install:

1. If you have installed some beta version before you can update it to this latest version via Settings->Update->Program.

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe

Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avastclear.exe
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 25, 2015, 08:46:28 PM
Clean install running fine without issues :)

Its even faster than before when i just updated on top of RC 1
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DavidR on February 25, 2015, 09:37:07 PM
Update from UI in 2015 R2 RC1, about to reboot.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Crashman on February 25, 2015, 10:02:21 PM
Hello, all,

Just did an over-the-top update from within the program from avast! Free RC1 to Free RC2, and noticed a small (or perhaps not, to some) interface issue.

In the Settings -> Troubleshooting section,  in RC1 there was a check box at the very bottom of the list of choices to allow or deny another party to remotely control the computer.  In RC1 I had chosen to deny remote access, and the red description text "This allows another person to remotely control..." was showing immediately below.

After I updated to RC2 from within the program, that option and its check box had disappeared from the troubleshooting page, but its red explanatory text remains there.  The end of the list now appears as "Enable hardware-assisted virtualization" with its check box, and then on the very next line (no space in between) is the red-texted description "This allows another person to remotely control...".  But the check box and line of text that pertain to the remote access setting itself have disappeared.  I then downloaded the RC2 installer and did a full over-the-top install using that, and the missing text and check box are still missing.  I have not yet uninstalled to do a clean install of RC2, and probably won't get a chance to do so until later this week.

I'm not sure whether the remote access setting is actually enabled or disabled.  I would suspect that access is still denied, and that the missing list item and its check box are just a UI bug.  But I wouldn't want to bet dinner at a nice restaurant on it.

Otherwise, things seem to be running smooth with RC2!
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Rednose on February 25, 2015, 10:09:32 PM
Updated from the GUI, and lets see if the " revert paid to trial mode bug " is fixed :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: boe323 on February 25, 2015, 10:54:24 PM
Fantastic ...installation process is loads better, ive not tried the full package like I usually do so im hoping its the same, asks you to restart to apply firwall driver, and ng doesn't start rebuilding until rebooted, so much better and creates a more stable avast this way. Looking forward to testing.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Prince Winter Flurry on February 26, 2015, 12:56:47 AM
Everything is working great here. Thanks Avast for this new release.  :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Asyn on February 26, 2015, 06:28:25 AM
Testing it asap...

Edit: I can confirm the issue reported in Reply #3. (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?msg=1187779)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Lord_Ami on February 26, 2015, 09:52:43 AM
Working fine here. Since I did not touch the "Remote control button", mine works as expected.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: jgutierrez on February 26, 2015, 11:42:22 AM
Still two AvastUI process in RC2 as in RC1: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166576.msg1187471#msg1187471
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DJBone on February 26, 2015, 12:42:04 PM
Still two AvastUI process in RC2 as in RC1: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166576.msg1187471#msg1187471
Already answered here: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166172.msg1184502#msg1184502

DJBone
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: NON on February 26, 2015, 04:31:30 PM
Updated over RC1 via GUI. So far no problems. :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Just_a_User on February 26, 2015, 05:57:22 PM
Updated over RC1 via GUI. So far no problems. :)

Yes here too, again
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: essexboy on February 26, 2015, 07:05:29 PM
Installed on all systems via GUI...  No problems, nice and boring :)

XP SP4, 7 SP1, 8.1.1, 10TP
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Coyote76 on February 26, 2015, 07:22:53 PM
This is working very well and smooth! Good job.  :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on February 26, 2015, 08:57:42 PM
This is an Old Beta is it not?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 26, 2015, 08:58:12 PM
No its the newest
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Pondus on February 26, 2015, 09:07:16 PM
This is an Old Beta is it not?
check time/day/date on first post   
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: schmidthouse on February 27, 2015, 03:08:30 AM
xpSP4 updated Premier via GUI
Also hope "reverted back to Trial" Bug is fixed :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: zony on February 27, 2015, 10:09:51 AM
New phenomenon:look at the picture。This  popup no display on avast free ver 10.0.2208.
Environment:win7 x64 sp1 pro with all last update. avast free 10.2.2212.832。amd a8-7600
DDR3-1600 4G, ASUS A88XM-PLUS Motherboard. ThANKS!
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Asyn on February 27, 2015, 11:11:25 AM
What does the popup say, could you translate it..!?
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: zony on February 27, 2015, 04:38:43 PM
 Translated picture.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Andrey,pro on February 27, 2015, 04:41:30 PM
I had the same message as zony after update via the GUI, I just press the 'retry' button and it's gone.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 27, 2015, 04:47:51 PM
Installed on top of RC 2: http://prntscr.com/6aia4k

Got a reputation warning for a Windows Update right after the upgrade finished.

This screen in not neccessary: http://prntscr.com/6aigin

You should list the changelog of this update there, not that Avast has been updated to 2015
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Rednose on February 27, 2015, 05:31:51 PM
Lol, it seems that we get daily build updates now :P Just got the popup for build 10.2.2213  :)

Greetz, Red.


EDIT : After rebooting the SecureLine taskbar icon was gone. A second reboot corrected that.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on February 27, 2015, 05:33:18 PM
Me too. Was not expected so soon. Thanks Avast
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Secondmineboy on February 27, 2015, 05:34:22 PM
Avast seems to be working hard to get Avast better :)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DavidR on February 27, 2015, 06:11:35 PM
Lol, it seems that we get daily build updates now :P Just got the popup for build 10.2.2213  :)

Greetz, Red.


EDIT : After rebooting the SecureLine taskbar icon was gone. A second reboot corrected that.

Strange I didn't get a notification, but I have been off-line for a while. It was these posts that prompted me to update from the UI.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Dumi86 on February 27, 2015, 07:06:52 PM
Hi. Is the definitive version published officially today?  :)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Pondus on February 27, 2015, 09:00:57 PM
Hi. Is the definitive version published officially today?  :)
read info in first post .....

RTM = Release to manufacturing

Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Dumi86 on February 27, 2015, 09:07:49 PM
okay thanks the info  :)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: avastuser3 on February 27, 2015, 11:43:33 PM
When the final version will be released?
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Staticguy on February 27, 2015, 11:48:29 PM
@avastuser3: This has been mentioned couple of times before. When it is released it will be mentioned in this forum. Since this is RC2, we are looking at another RC3 (providing no bugs has been discovered). Usually RC3 gets released after RC2. After RC3 final version will be released and mentioned in this forum.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on February 28, 2015, 01:38:21 AM
@avastuser3: This has been mentioned couple of times before. When it is released it will be mentioned in this forum. Since this is RC2, we are looking at another RC3 (providing no bugs has been discovered). Usually RC3 gets released after RC2. After RC3 final version will be released and mentioned in this forum.

If this is the case them the three letters RTM should not be used as that indicates in most circles that the product is complete.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Rednose on February 28, 2015, 01:50:05 AM
This is the RTM ( Release To Manufacture ) meaning there won't be an RC3, and we can expect an official release very soon :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Staticguy on February 28, 2015, 02:10:54 AM
Oh must have missed the "RTM" lol. Am watching Cricket World Cup lol Australia Vs. New Zealand
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on February 28, 2015, 02:29:46 AM
This is the RTM ( Release To Manufacture ) meaning there won't be an RC3, and we can expect an official release very soon :)

Greetz, Red.


Using RC which is a release candidate to RTM which is Release To Manufacturing together in the same sentence pertaining to the same release is an Oxymoron
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Rednose on February 28, 2015, 02:42:34 AM
Yes, it is a contradiction, but this is really the RTM. And anyone who contradics this, will be kicked ( under his/her ass ) by me :P

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: essexboy on February 28, 2015, 11:38:59 AM
Installed on all systems via GUI...  No problems, nice and boring :)

XP SP4, 7 SP1, 8.1.1, 10TP
Saves repeating myself :)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DavidR on February 28, 2015, 12:10:18 PM
Well I don't know if this 'is' an RTM build or not.

Doing a manual program update from the UI of avast 2015.10.0.2208 on my win7 netbook - which hasn't been used in any beta testing - results in 'Already up to date (current version 2015.10.0.2208).'

So either it isn't an RTM or the update servers aren't yet populated.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Staticguy on February 28, 2015, 12:24:26 PM
Yeah that's what I was thinking. Post said RTM and which i missed mentioning when the user above my comment said when is the final version be released. So i told RC2>RC3>final version. Name of the post says AVAST 2015 R2 RC2 but hectic-mmv did an edit that says Update!!! - New RTM build has been already released - 10.2.2213

Most probably the update servers will be updated and RTM will be released in a couple of days or early next week!
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: glnz on February 28, 2015, 02:27:04 PM
Does this new version solve the problem that Avast's "Enable Hardware-Assisted Virtualization" blocks hardware-assisted virtualization for other programs?  (See https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=162445.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=162445.0) ).

The notes for this RTM say that NG is now available on non-HAV x86 machines, but that's not the same issue.  On machines that DO have HAV (like my dual-boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit and Win 8.1 Pro 64-bit), Avast's EHAV default setting monopolizes the HAV and the PC thinks that HAV is NOT enabled.  UNchecking Avast's EHAV setting removes the block, but then Avast is not functioning fully.  Please see the link above.

Thanks.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Asyn on February 28, 2015, 04:58:56 PM
Guys, the RTM is usually the last version before the final release.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DavidR on February 28, 2015, 06:19:06 PM
Guys, the RTM is usually the last version before the final release.

Well that isn't totally correct the RTM 'is the final version', not the last version before the final release - in the old hard copy world that is what was sent to manufacturing be turned into CDs.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Asyn on February 28, 2015, 06:24:40 PM
Guys, the RTM is usually the last version before the final release.
Well that isn't totally correct the RTM 'is the final version', not the last version before the final release - in the old hard copy world that is what was sent to manufacturing be turned into CDs.
Well, nevertheless it's the way Avast does it.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DavidR on February 28, 2015, 06:32:50 PM
Guys, the RTM is usually the last version before the final release.
Well that isn't totally correct the RTM 'is the final version', not the last version before the final release - in the old hard copy world that is what was sent to manufacturing be turned into CDs.
Well, nevertheless it's the way Avast does it.

Regardless of how they do it, build 2015.10.2.2213 still isn't available through the avastUI Program Update on 2015.10.0.2208 which is why there is so much confusion in calling this RTM Update  - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2.

As has been mentioned RTM and R2 RC2 shouldn't be used in the same context.

One or other of the two terms should be removed.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Skakara on February 28, 2015, 06:34:34 PM
Wikipedia tells that:

Quote
The term "release to manufacturing", also known as "going gold", is a term used when a software product is ready to be delivered or provided to the customer. This build may be digitally signed, allowing the end user to verify the integrity and authenticity of the software purchase. A copy of the RTM build known as the "gold master" or GM is sent for mass duplication. RTM precedes general availability (GA), when the product is released to the public.
Bolding mine. And:

Quote
The time between RTM and GA can be from a week to months in some cases before a generally available release can be declared because of the time needed to complete all commercialization activities required by GA. At this stage, the software has "gone live".

So, RTM is final version, but it has not been released to the public yet as final.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on February 28, 2015, 06:37:41 PM
Yes, it is a contradiction, but this is really the RTM. And anyone who contradics this, will be kicked ( under his/her ass ) by me :P

Greetz, Red.

Bring it on ,Here I am (http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b243/TK-1913/man_zpsa6ssgrjn.gif) (http://s20.photobucket.com/user/TK-1913/media/man_zpsa6ssgrjn.gif.html)

LOL
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Asyn on February 28, 2015, 06:40:10 PM
Guys, the RTM is usually the last version before the final release.
Well that isn't totally correct the RTM 'is the final version', not the last version before the final release - in the old hard copy world that is what was sent to manufacturing be turned into CDs.
Well, nevertheless it's the way Avast does it.
Regardless of how they do it, build 2015.10.2.2213 still isn't available through the avastUI Program Update on 2015.10.0.2208...
Sure it isn't available trough a GUI-update, as it belongs to the beta channel.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on February 28, 2015, 06:41:44 PM
Whatever the Semantics are, DazvidR is correct.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Asyn on February 28, 2015, 06:44:26 PM
Whatever the Semantics are, DazvidR is correct.
Let's see, I bet the final release will be build 10.2.2214.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: schmidthouse on February 28, 2015, 06:51:38 PM
Whatever the Semantics are, DazvidR is correct.
Let's see, I bet the final release will be build 10.2.2214.

I'll take some of that action... ;) ;D
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: hectic-mmv on February 28, 2015, 07:18:13 PM
Whatever the Semantics are, DazvidR is correct.
Let's see, I bet the final release will be build 10.2.2214.

We didn't want to do final release Friday evening, so we released it to beta repository and the final production release you can expect early next week.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: RealNature on February 28, 2015, 07:49:17 PM
That's great! Thanks! Can't wait to see the final version in action :) 8)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Rednose on February 28, 2015, 10:55:19 PM
We didn't want to do final release Friday evening, so we released it to beta repository and the final production release you can expect early next week.

And what did I tell you guys  ::)

This is the RTM ( Release To Manufacture ) meaning there won't be an RC3, and we can expect an official release very soon :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on February 28, 2015, 11:10:11 PM
Maybe even Monday :)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Rednose on February 28, 2015, 11:23:28 PM
Maybe even Monday :)

I wouldn't bet on Monday. Tuesday and Thursday are the favorite Avast! release days :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Staticguy on March 01, 2015, 04:28:46 AM
Hope it's on Monday  :)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: parcolee on March 01, 2015, 01:13:35 PM
Maybe even Monday :)

I wouldn't bet on Monday. Tuesday and Thursday are the favorite Avast! release days :)

Greetz, Red.
I guess Tuesday like Microsoft does.  ::)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Vladimyr on March 01, 2015, 02:49:02 PM
Maybe even Sunday.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: parcolee on March 01, 2015, 04:12:50 PM
Maybe even Sunday.
:o  :-X


P.S. but sorry, not for our location yet. And it won't be 2213 in final release.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Rednose on March 02, 2015, 08:22:38 PM
Oh, I forgot to tell you that the "Paid back to Trial Mode" bug is fixed indeed.
I would say : Release this shit ;D

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: GTX66 on March 02, 2015, 08:35:52 PM
I agree Rednose and they used to release Betas and such on Fridays....
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DavidR on March 02, 2015, 10:54:57 PM
I agree Rednose and they used to release Betas and such on Fridays....

It has been, https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=167184.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=167184.0).
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Secondmineboy on March 02, 2015, 10:56:25 PM
The Final version is available now, Update via UI :)
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: dlp69 on March 02, 2015, 11:05:08 PM
They put the wrong number on it... listed as 2015.10.0.2014... shouldn't it be 2015.10.2.2014
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: DavidR on March 02, 2015, 11:18:45 PM
They put the wrong number on it... listed as 2015.10.0.2014... shouldn't it be 2015.10.2.2014

Yes I believe so and was something I mentioned early in the beta testing, as the file version in the various avast .exe files reflect 2015.10.2.xxxx Presumably the 2 reflects RC2.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: gerryharris on March 10, 2015, 07:33:27 PM
Tried to do the update, also tried installing latest version.
Got the attached error message.
I am using Windows 10 64 bit on this desktop PC.
Works OK on my Laptop running Windows 10 32 bit.
Cheers
Gerry
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Staticguy on March 10, 2015, 10:07:09 PM
Tried to do the update, also tried installing latest version.
Got the attached error message.
I am using Windows 10 64 bit on this desktop PC.
Works OK on my Laptop running Windows 10 32 bit.
Cheers
Gerry

Download the avast uninstall utility
Uninstall avast via add/remove and follow the instructions.
Run the avast uninstall utility in normal mode and the tool will ask that this tool will run your computer in safe mode automatically click yes  and follow the instructions.
Install a fresh new copy of avast and after installation is complete it will run a quick start up scan. Once finished restart your computer manually and register your copy of avast.
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: gerryharris on March 11, 2015, 10:03:29 AM
Thanks for the reply.
In fact all I needed to do was to boot into safe mode. Uninstall Avast. Reboot into normal mode and install the latest Avast.
Cheers
Gerry
Title: Re: RTM Update - AVAST 2015 R2 RC2
Post by: Staticguy on March 11, 2015, 11:29:04 AM
Your welcome