Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: hectic-mmv on April 15, 2015, 07:06:57 PM

Title: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: hectic-mmv on April 15, 2015, 07:06:57 PM
Update: Version 10.2.2217 has been released 17. 4.

Hi all,

I'm glad to announce new beta version: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 (build number 2015.10.2.2216)

Beta contains these improvements:
-          Server busy problem in Avast UI with loading some remote content
-          Added option to install Skype during Avast installation 
-          Incompatability of FS shield with TrueCrypt 
-          File-system shield exclusions fixed
-          StreamFilter - Improved compatibility with other AV products
-          and performance and stability improvements




Known issues:

-          Please tell us about them

How to install:

1. If you have installed some beta version before you can update it to this latest version via Settings->Update->Program.

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe

Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

To report BSODs, crashes or any other none trivial problems please use new SupportPackage generating tool.
- http://utils.support.tools.avast.com/tools/support/utils/avastsupport.exe

Instructions how to use it can be easily found:
- https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle


We are looking forward for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: DavidR on April 15, 2015, 07:26:38 PM
Updating from the 10.2.2215 UI and about to reboot.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Secondmineboy on April 15, 2015, 07:29:47 PM
Installed on top without any issues so far :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: essexboy on April 15, 2015, 07:40:48 PM
Been running for an hour or so, no problems noticed Win 8.1

Will install on other systems soon 
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Lord_Ami on April 15, 2015, 07:41:11 PM
Running great on W8.1 x64 :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 15, 2015, 07:52:46 PM
No issues so far on my Win 7 x64 system :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: boe323 on April 15, 2015, 08:20:33 PM
After the update and reboot on premier, my popup message said id just updated to 2215, it does say 2216 in about section though.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Alikhan on April 15, 2015, 09:12:22 PM
Any chances the VPS notifications/sounds will return?

I miss them and they also give that peace of mind of protection. It could even be disabled by default but I'd be nice for the user to be able to decide if they want them.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Asyn on April 16, 2015, 06:06:40 AM
Testing it asap...

Edit: No issues so far.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: NON on April 16, 2015, 01:34:32 PM
Updated over 10.2.2215 via GUI. So far working fine.

After the update and reboot on premier, my popup message said id just updated to 2215, it does say 2216 in about section though.
I also noticed this.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 02:46:53 PM
Any further news on the promised Right Click Icon enhancements ???
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429187202518-20196.png)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 02:49:45 PM
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429185351758-66456.png)
Skype install hidden in this latest beta ???
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429184540118-63135.png)
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429184745101-59909.png)
I only noticed this because I use I use WinPrivacy Plus
Not a good thing.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Eddy on April 16, 2015, 02:52:46 PM
This problem is still there:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=166433.msg1188150#msg1188150

A broken link in the OP's post:
The requested URL /supp/util/avastsupportR2.exe was not found on this server.

https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle
It still provides the old(er) report creator.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Staticguy on April 16, 2015, 02:54:55 PM
Hi Avast Team! I am currently running Avast Free 2015.10.2.2215 and I have no intentions to install beta. Reason I am writing is that I have reported a existing bug/issue that was in the previous versions of avast couple of times and it is still present in the version that I have and one of the user in this forum also confirmed it from my post. The bug/issue that I am talking about is when you sign in to avast account via Avast GUI and it gives you completely different component status that is shown compared to what you have installed (custom installation). I have already submitted an ticket and it is still open and currently getting assistance from an technical support specialist from Avast though it hasn't been solved yet. Ticket # #BYU-790-31187

I just want this bug to be fixed in this new version when it comes out as final. Thanks. Much appreciated.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Bradley14 on April 16, 2015, 03:24:32 PM
 Installed the update on my PC that was experiencing the 100% disk usage. Installed fine over the top of current install. So far disk usage has not hit 100% and my Wifi is now connecting automatically at boot. The only major difference I saw that the beta uninstalled the avastNG tools, I don't know if those are not included in the beta but just reporting what I see :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Secondmineboy on April 16, 2015, 04:00:32 PM
Any further news on the promised Right Click Icon enhancements ???
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429187202518-20196.png)

That update will come with R3, this is just R2 SP2 :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 04:04:01 PM
Unless you're doing a clean install, you never get to see this:
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429191101421-72049.png)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 04:04:58 PM
Disk Load problem still not solved ???
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429191981421-90478.png)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 04:05:37 PM
Remote Control still not possible without giving approval on the remote device.
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429191740173-46193.png)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 04:12:39 PM
Disk Load problem still not solved ???
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429191981421-90478.png)

The following still seems to work in quieting disk activity:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=19387.msg1202686#msg1202686 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=19387.msg1202686#msg1202686)

(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429193540743-35443.png)


Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Vladimyr on April 16, 2015, 04:17:48 PM
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429184745101-59909.png)
I only noticed this because I use I use WinPrivacy Plus
Not a good thing.

To the side-issue first. Good to find someone else using WinPrivacy Plus (I couldn't resist the pre-release lifetime license price).
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Vladimyr on April 16, 2015, 04:24:28 PM
Unless you're doing a clean install, you never get to see this:
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429191101421-72049.png)

Lately, nearly every Avast user I know - including me - has had issues with or after updating Avast versions within the GUI. Now I'm just not routinely updating Avast on machines I depend on, which in theory is potentially counter-productive but in practice, every time I update I waste heaps of time going back.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 04:37:53 PM
Unless you're doing a clean install, you never get to see this:
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429191101421-72049.png)

Lately, nearly every Avast user I know - including me - has had issues with or after updating Avast versions within the GUI. Now I'm just not routinely updating Avast on machines I depend on, which in theory is potentially counter-productive but in practice, every time I update I waste heaps of time going back.
I had no problems updating. The reason for a clean install was the inability to uncheck Skype by simply updating to this beta.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: DavidR on April 16, 2015, 04:41:29 PM
I did an update from the UI of and I didn't get Skype and would have been well pi**ed if I did. If I ever wanted Skype then it would already have been installed.

I did get the usual Screen with the Google Chrome cr4p after install and restart, which I again declined.

When are avast going to honour the fact that I have declined Chrome on every install since the ark and continue to pre-check it on program updates, when it wasn't on the previous program updates.

If you are going to offer Skype here would be a place to confirm, so you get the chance to opt-out if you have done a program update an not a custom install.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 16, 2015, 04:44:49 PM
Bob,

So you updated from the GUI ( Beta channel ) first ?

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Vladimyr on April 16, 2015, 04:57:27 PM
Bob,

So you updated from the GUI ( Beta channel ) first ?

Greetz, Red.

That's what I presumed Bob did. "Duke" (the WinPrivacy hound) alerted him and allowed him to block the installer.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 06:25:11 PM
Red and Vladimyr,
You are both correct.
Since I didn't get a chance to choose or reject this option using a simple custom install over the existing version,
I decided to do a clean install to find out where this added install was hiding.  :(
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: priest_lucas on April 16, 2015, 06:37:35 PM
For the past few years people have been writing on this forum that Chrome was being installed without giving them a chance to opt out, but other people just commented that this was not the case and the opt out option was missed on another screen that the user missed.

Now the same problem is being found with Skype.

Maybe the original complaints about Chrome were valid and should have been taken seriously as a bug or something with the install process?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 06:42:40 PM
For the past few years people have been writing on this forum that Chrome was being installed without giving them a chance to opt out, but other people just commented that this was not the case and the opt out option was missed on another screen that the user missed.

Now the same problem is being found with Skype.

Maybe the original complaints about Chrome were valid and should have been taken seriously as a bug or something with the install process?
Since an install of Avast over an existing installation apparently doesn't show the initial installation screen,
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429191101421-72049.png)
An install over an existing version doesn't need to welcome you to Avast and,
your comment may well be true.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Chitoge on April 16, 2015, 07:11:19 PM
Is it possible or not to install 2015.10.2.2216 without skype? I'm going to do clean install, but previous posts are frightening me.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: DavidR on April 16, 2015, 08:28:58 PM
Is it possible or not to install 2015.10.2.2216 without skype? I'm going to do clean install, but previous posts are frightening me.

Of course it is possible. The very post in front of yours shows how, the very first screen of a clean install has the option. Uncheck the Skype box and also click the Custom Installation button - not the big Blue one, but the small insignificant Grey one.

This gives the opportunity to uncheck many options and tools if you don't require them.

Another point, if you that concerned/frightened about this, then running a beta version of avast may not be a good idea. Whilst the greatest majority beta testing in avast hasn't had any major issues for me, you have to be aware of the risk in any beta testing on a live system, not a test system.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Andrey,pro on April 16, 2015, 09:16:58 PM
To report BSODs, crashes or any other none trivial problems please use new SupportPackage generating tool.
- http://public.avast.com/supp/util/avastsupportR2.exe
Hi, this link is broken...
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: irongod on April 16, 2015, 09:22:40 PM
 :-\ I do not see the update in the GUI...
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 16, 2015, 09:30:04 PM
:-\ I do not see the update in the GUI...
Have you rebooted ???


(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429212597157-68563.png)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: irongod on April 16, 2015, 10:23:50 PM
:-\ I do not see the update in the GUI...
Have you rebooted ???


(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429212597157-68563.png)

yes, but still it shows v2215 as updated... I do not remember if there is any setting to activate the BETA updates or not...  ???
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 16, 2015, 10:33:40 PM
yes, but still it shows v2215 as updated... I do not remember if there is any setting to activate the BETA updates or not...  ???

You should install a Beta once to be notified in the Avast! GUI about ( future ) Beta updates.
You can install a Beta over your current installation :)

Greetz, Red.

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: irongod on April 16, 2015, 10:40:00 PM
yes, but still it shows v2215 as updated... I do not remember if there is any setting to activate the BETA updates or not...  ???

You should install a Beta once to be notified in the Avast! GUI about ( future ) Beta updates.
You can install a Beta over your current installation :)

Greetz, Red.

I used to have BETAs, but probably the fact that I did I clean installation when the .2214 came out (cleaning the registries/left overs with Revo Uninstaller) cancelled the "BETA settings" ... I will wait still for tomorrow, then I'll do it manually as you suggested if nothing shows up!  8)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 16, 2015, 10:46:18 PM
Yes,

A clean install will bring you back to only the regular upates :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: DavidR on April 16, 2015, 10:58:24 PM
:-\ I do not see the update in the GUI...

You will only see it if you have previously taken part in beta testing, e.g. installed a beta build before (and not done a clean install at any point since then).
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Asyn on April 17, 2015, 08:28:20 AM
To report BSODs, crashes or any other none trivial problems please use new SupportPackage generating tool.
- http://public.avast.com/supp/util/avastsupportR2.exe
Hi, this link is broken...
New link: http://utils.support.tools.avast.com/tools/support/utils/avastsupport.exe
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: MartinZ on April 17, 2015, 09:52:40 AM
Hi,

the Skype is offered only for new installs (+also when you have avast installed and just run the installer again), not for updates.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 17, 2015, 02:34:30 PM
Hi,

the Skype is offered only for new installs (+also when you have avast installed and just run the installer again), not for updates.
I installed this version on top of the previous version and NEVER had a chance to opt out.
It was a secondary program that warned me of the silent install.
The opt out screen only appeared when I did a clean install.  :(
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: ondrejz on April 17, 2015, 02:40:21 PM
Installed the update on my PC that was experiencing the 100% disk usage. Installed fine over the top of current install. So far disk usage has not hit 100% and my Wifi is now connecting automatically at boot. The only major difference I saw that the beta uninstalled the avastNG tools, I don't know if those are not included in the beta but just reporting what I see :)

Hi,

perfect... Regadring to the ngtools, please could you tell us which version of Avast was previously installed + your OS (32bit or 64bit) and installed RAM memory?

thanks
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 17, 2015, 02:49:15 PM
Installed the update on my PC that was experiencing the 100% disk usage. Installed fine over the top of current install. So far disk usage has not hit 100% and my Wifi is now connecting automatically at boot. The only major difference I saw that the beta uninstalled the avastNG tools, I don't know if those are not included in the beta but just reporting what I see :)

Is it not simply the name change that confuses you ? NG is now called Secure Virtual Machines in the installer.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 17, 2015, 03:11:14 PM
Installed the update on my PC that was experiencing the 100% disk usage. Installed fine over the top of current install. So far disk usage has not hit 100% and my Wifi is now connecting automatically at boot. The only major difference I saw that the beta uninstalled the avastNG tools, I don't know if those are not included in the beta but just reporting what I see :)

Is it not simply the name change that confuses you ? NG is now called Secure Virtual Machines in the installer.

Greetz, Red.
Task Manager still shows it as NG:
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429276233452-36677.png)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: MartinZ on April 17, 2015, 03:40:04 PM
Hi,

the Skype is offered only for new installs (+also when you have avast installed and just run the installer again), not for updates.
I installed this version on top of the previous version and NEVER had a chance to opt out.
It was a secondary program that warned me of the silent install.
The opt out screen only appeared when I did a clean install.  :(

Thanks Bob, we will double check this scenario, as it's not desired behavior.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 17, 2015, 05:09:36 PM
Hi,

the Skype is offered only for new installs (+also when you have avast installed and just run the installer again), not for updates.
I installed this version on top of the previous version and NEVER had a chance to opt out.
It was a secondary program that warned me of the silent install.
The opt out screen only appeared when I did a clean install.  :(

Thanks Bob, we will double check this scenario, as it's not desired behavior.
Thanks. :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 17, 2015, 08:43:50 PM
The Avast! GUI tells me that build number 2015.10.2.2217 is available ???

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Secondmineboy on April 17, 2015, 08:46:29 PM
I can confirm this, seems to be a new Beta since its coming from the Beta channel :)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: DavidR on April 17, 2015, 08:56:12 PM
The Avast! GUI tells me that build number 2015.10.2.2217 is available ???

Greetz, Red.

The same in my 2216 UI, but I didn't get a notification of the availability. Also no new/updated post in the beta sub forum.

Interestingly clicking the Program Update, throws up this screen.

Have now updated and about to reboot.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 17, 2015, 09:00:44 PM
The update went fine, and I am indeed on build number 2015.10.2.2217 :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 17, 2015, 10:08:24 PM
(http://www.screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1429300948946-5435.png)
Still can't do a remote without approval on the other computer.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: heikwith on April 18, 2015, 11:14:57 AM
In windows 10PV 10049 the Avast! GUI told me that build number 2015.10.2.2217 was available.
After update and reboot 2217 active without problems.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 18, 2015, 12:09:23 PM
And the topic has now been updated to version 2015.10.2.2217 too :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: NON on April 18, 2015, 01:15:12 PM
Updated over 10.2.2216. I still get 10.2.2215 after reboot though.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Be Secure on April 18, 2015, 01:40:03 PM
What is the new fix in  2015.10.2.2217?
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: CraigB on April 18, 2015, 02:20:16 PM
What is the new fix in  2015.10.2.2217?
Read the first post in this thread.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Be Secure on April 18, 2015, 03:54:01 PM
You mean to say no changes only build number 2015.10.2.2216 to 2015.10.2.2217.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: CraigB on April 18, 2015, 03:58:28 PM
If there were major changes they would have been added/edited in the first post.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: schmidthouse on April 18, 2015, 06:22:29 PM
Updated on xpSP4 via GUI after receiving notification (!) in System Tray.
Flawless upgrade. ;)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: eapraven on April 19, 2015, 02:54:10 PM
Just returned to Avast! IS after being away for about six months. After trying several other IS suites I'm back for good! There is just no comparison! After that short time, it is amazing how much even Avast has improved. It has always been the one I prefer, but the improvements are astonishing. Memory usage is much lower, speed is faster, even the antispam feature has undergone spectacular improvement! The only suggestion I can make (after just a few days back!) is the integration of antispam controls into a stand-alone email program. Currently, (and as long as I can remember) the feature is integrated only in MS Outlook. For many years, my email program of choice has been Mozilla Thunderbird. If possible, it would be nice if a plug-in or add-on could be developed that would enable it to be integrated into Thunderbird! Otherwise, you have a spectacular IS suite!!
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Lord_Ami on April 19, 2015, 08:05:28 PM
So far so good, no issues to report :) Excellent release again!
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: yigido on April 19, 2015, 09:04:47 PM
Beta contains these improvements:

-          Added option to install Skype during Avast installation 

We are looking forward for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team

There is a known issue. Is this really an improvement for you guys?
Make a donation button into interface it will be more welcome than a Skype installation.  :-X

Thanks,
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bob3160 on April 19, 2015, 09:25:21 PM
Beta contains these improvements:

-          Added option to install Skype during Avast installation 

We are looking forward for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team

There is a known issue. Is this really an improvement for you guys?
Make a donation button into interface it will be more welcome than a Skype installation.  :-X

Thanks,
This unwanted addition has already been pointed out to Avast:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=169573.msg1204921#msg1204921 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=169573.msg1204921#msg1204921)
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: bruce_b on April 21, 2015, 01:20:33 PM
Still very high disc activity with this 2217 beta ... windows xp, sp3 and all updates
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: Rednose on April 21, 2015, 08:21:53 PM
Build number 2015.10.2.2218 is available in the GUI :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 R2 SP2 beta
Post by: DavidR on April 21, 2015, 08:23:58 PM
Appears that 10.2.2218 has been released. I tried the download locations in the first post and they are for 10.2.2218.942.

Don't know if this topic title will be updated or a new topic, depending on status, if this is in fact a beta refresh or regular release ?