Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: streim on May 10, 2015, 07:51:40 PM

Title: Firewall question
Post by: streim on May 10, 2015, 07:51:40 PM
This may be a simple subject, but I am unable to think of a better way to post this.
In the past program versions if Avast IS, there was always application rules set for the Avast components.  There does not seem to be any now.  I know in the past that the Avast service application needed monitoring because at one time I had more than Avast connections coming through (not associated with Avast in any way). 
Any info on this?  Was this covered in a report of what the newest version does and doesn't have. 
Thanks

Since I am not getting any responses I can only assume this was a dumb question?? 
However I am curious as to why AvastIS had application rules set in the firewall for AvastSvc  and AvastUI connections previous to this most recent program version.  Just curious?

Cats aren't the only creatures with curiosity.
 
Title: Re: Firewall question (this dumb question is fixed)
Post by: streim on May 15, 2015, 08:22:58 PM
This may be a simple subject, but I am unable to think of a better way to post this.
In the past program versions if Avast IS, there was always application rules set for the Avast components.  There does not seem to be any now.  I know in the past that the Avast service application needed monitoring because at one time I had more than Avast connections coming through (not associated with Avast in any way). 
Any info on this?  Was this covered in a report of what the newest version does and doesn't have. 
Thanks

Since I am not getting any responses I can only assume this was a dumb question?? 
However I am curious as to why AvastIS had application rules set in the firewall for AvastSvc  and AvastUI connections previous to this most recent program version.  Just curious?

Cats aren't the only creatures with curiosity.
 

For all of you folks who read my post but offered no help---I am here to tell you that the issue I reported did exist.  I had no firewall/network control over AvastAvc and AvastUI--BUT I, after many hours and repeated help requests from another site (one that Avast sends people to for downloading programs to test/fix issues) the issue is resolved.
Now if perchance any of you Avast 'helpers' read this I just want to say thanks for letting me figure it out on my own with the help of non-Avast people.   ::)


Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: Pondus on May 15, 2015, 08:59:07 PM
Quote
Since I am not getting any responses I can only assume this was a dumb question??   
 Now if perchance any of you Avast 'helpers' read this I just want to say thanks for letting me figure it out on my own with the help of non-Avast people.   
Doh ...what about we dont know, think of that ?    ::)




Title: Re: Firewall question (this dumb question is fixed)
Post by: bob3160 on May 15, 2015, 10:20:12 PM
This may be a simple subject, but I am unable to think of a better way to post this.
In the past program versions if Avast IS, there was always application rules set for the Avast components.  There does not seem to be any now.  I know in the past that the Avast service application needed monitoring because at one time I had more than Avast connections coming through (not associated with Avast in any way). 
Any info on this?  Was this covered in a report of what the newest version does and doesn't have. 
Thanks

Since I am not getting any responses I can only assume this was a dumb question?? 
However I am curious as to why AvastIS had application rules set in the firewall for AvastSvc  and AvastUI connections previous to this most recent program version.  Just curious?
Cats aren't the only creatures with curiosity.
 

For all of you folks who read my post but offered no help---I am here to tell you that the issue I reported did exist.  I had no firewall/network control over AvastAvc and AvastUI--BUT I, after many hours and repeated help requests from another site (one that Avast sends people to for downloading programs to test/fix issues) the issue is resolved.
Now if perchance any of you Avast 'helpers' read this I just want to say thanks for letting me figure it out on my own with the help of non-Avast people.   ::)
This forum is mostly made up of Avast Users. I think you're among that group.
In which case, an Avast user did help you. :)
I've always found it best not to post an answer unless I was reasonably sure that it was a correct answer. :)
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: Rednose on May 16, 2015, 01:04:14 AM
Hi streim :)

Obviously I missed your topic/question, and I am sorry about that.

But I am not sure what problem you had, and how you solved it.
I am also using AIS, and have the application rules set for the Avast! components ( see screenshot ).
Can you elaborate about the problem you had ?

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: streim on May 16, 2015, 10:14:27 PM
to Pondus:  Not knowing is ok... if over 250 times the post was read, someone more kniwledgable than I could have just said "I don't know".

to Bob: you are quite right, someone from the forums helped me fix it---ME.  That's ok, but I am in the novice category compared to all of you.

to Rednose:  Thank you for the apology. The issue I had was exactly the fact that at the time I reported, in my firewall application settings, there was no group for Avast. Nada..nothing.  What I did since I've had various issues since 3/31/15 I was not happy.  So, I spent a lot of time effort searching for a better internet security suite.  Asked lots of questions; read a lot of articles, etc. I finally realized that even though Avast has it's share of "oops" with program changes... it is still the best!  So, did a clean re-install to resolve several of the issues I had.  Then ran full scan and Mbam free.  Looked good-clean.  Then WHAM!!---I got 5 pop-up alerts about some  WIN32:evo-gen (suspicious).  I reported that here, someone did respond and asked me to send a snapshot of the pop-up message; low and behold it didn't happen again-- but I still have those 5 suspicious items in my virus chest because I don't know what to do with them. 
Then, this past week with the Windows updates, one of them failed and I am unable to update it, no matter how I went about it. Still can't btw.  Then there's the "2" c2rss.exe programs running that I have NO control over but the following program does-- Windows/servicing/TrustedInstaller.exe which my web and file shield like very much because when these shields are scanning at start-up, the meter goes all the way up to red.
So started all over again. Did a complete new reinstall. (downloaded the file from the first post in the topic re. the new update)  Ran full scan nothing (but it still shows the 5 virus chest items), Mbam updated scan, Win Patrol free, adwcleaner.  All these showed things are good.  So yesterday I decided to do a repair on Avast.  WOW... something happened and all looked great, worked great, etc.  Until I booted up today.  I am right back where I was.
Honestly, I feel insecure....
I've read many topics on here since the most recent program update that resemble or are exactly the same as mine.  I know this is a lot to hit you with.  It was/is a lot for me and I do apologize for getting 'grumpy/snarky'. :-[

Any input Rednose or Bob or Pondus would help.   I have to tell you as an old baby boomer grandmother I try my best to keep my machine clean. 
Thank any or all of you for reading this.  :)
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: bob3160 on May 16, 2015, 10:33:12 PM
Which windows update failed and what was the error message associated with the failure ???
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: Rednose on May 17, 2015, 06:21:08 PM
@streim

Can you provide us with a screenshot of the Virus Chest ( With a full path of the original location(s) ) ?

And, if you want, you ( or we ) can always ask Essexboy to look at your system :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: streim on May 19, 2015, 09:55:54 PM
Which windows update failed and what was the error message associated with the failure ???
Sorry I haven't been around; have a major respiratory infection.  The one I was talking about, I tried again and it did install.  Thanks Bob for your response.  :)

@streim

Can you provide us with a screenshot of the Virus Chest ( With a full path of the original location(s) ) ?

And, if you want, you ( or we ) can always ask Essexboy to look at your system :)

Greetz, Red.

Yes I can provide you with a screenshot.  I clipped one the first day I posted.  I will attach it.  Essexboy must get sick of me and muddled messes.  Thanks Red for your kindness.

Streim
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: Rednose on May 19, 2015, 11:04:35 PM
That is the SoftwareDistribution folder where the Windows automatic updates are stored. But we can't see what Avast! detects ( Virus colom ).
Can you try to re-scan the file ? https://www.avast.com/en-eu/faq.php?article=AVKB21#idt_04

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: DavidR on May 19, 2015, 11:16:04 PM
That is the SoftwareDistribution folder where the Windows automatic updates are stored. But we can't see what Avast! detects ( Virus colom ).
<snip>

You can see it you just have to scroll out to the right as it is off screen.
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: Rednose on May 20, 2015, 03:39:53 PM
Yes, stupid me ;)

So it looks like a false positive.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: essexboy on May 20, 2015, 04:49:13 PM
Unsigned windows updates, no need to worry about them :)
Title: Re: Firewall question
Post by: Rednose on May 20, 2015, 06:52:14 PM
So now streim should decide if she would like to have her system checked :)

For that look at this tutorial https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

Scroll down to "Farbar Recovery Scan Tool" and follow the directions for that tool only.
Attach both FRST.tx and Additions.txt logs.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Firewall question (Issue Resolved)
Post by: streim on May 20, 2015, 09:19:21 PM
Yes, stupid me ;)

So it looks like a false positive.

Greetz, Red.
Unsigned windows updates, no need to worry about them :)
So now streim should decide if she would like to have her system checked :)

For that look at this tutorial https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=53253.0

Scroll down to "Farbar Recovery Scan Tool" and follow the directions for that tool only.
Attach both FRST.tx and Additions.txt logs.

Greetz, Red.


Thanks Red and of course  EssexBoy.  I don't think there is a need for a system check.  As long as these are false positives/ unsigned windows updates I feel quite comfortable with my machine now.
I can never tell you how helpful these forums are.  :)
Just an Avast forum member (as Bob said)
Streim