Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: Asyn on June 16, 2015, 01:17:34 PM

Title: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 16, 2015, 01:17:34 PM
Hi guys,

there are no settings for HTTPS-Scanning on XP. Please fix.

Cheers
Title: Re: [BUG] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Alikhan on June 16, 2015, 02:11:37 PM
Hi guys,

there are no settings for HTTPS-Scanning on XP. Please fix.

Cheers

Confirmed.
Title: Re: [BUG] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: DavidR on June 18, 2015, 08:29:50 PM
Yes confirmed and I wanted to be able to disable this to see if it is the cause of some problems, some slow page loads avast.forum and problems with uk.yahoo.com portal, layout completely messed up. https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=172470.msg1224548#msg1224548 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=172470.msg1224548#msg1224548)
Title: Re: [BUG] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: MartinZ on June 19, 2015, 03:20:11 PM
Thanks for reporting, it will be fixed soon.
Title: Re: [BUG] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: DavidR on June 19, 2015, 04:37:02 PM
Thanks for reporting, it will be fixed soon.

I have just uploaded an OS manual crash dump -
Whilst browsing my system completely locked up, nothing I tried could get the mouse or keyboard to close the browser (firefox 38.0.5) and 2015.10.3.2219 R3 beta of avast free. So I initiated an os manual crash dump.

Uploaded to the avast ftp incoming as file name DavidR_manual-crash-dump.7z. I hope this is helpful.
Title: Re: [BUG] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 20, 2015, 08:34:16 AM
Thanks for reporting, it will be fixed soon.
NP, thanks Martin.
Title: Re: [BUG] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 25, 2015, 08:03:59 AM
Fixed in Build 2220. :)
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 25, 2015, 11:46:40 AM
Maybe just me? Not quite fixed. After automatic updates, enable HTTPS scanning appeared, but HTTPS traffic is not inspected. Test on: http://www.eicar.org/85-0-Download.html
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 25, 2015, 01:08:56 PM
It works for me (see screenshot), did you reboot after the update..!?
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 25, 2015, 03:17:41 PM
Night updated. I turned off the computer and went to bed. Day turned on the computer to run services was the error in the form of the red cross. Automatically start the service bug report. I started the interface, the red cross is gone. I looked at what appeared the enable HTTPS. I read on the forum Asyn the answer. I started the restore Avast, received not working Avast. I uninstall Avast through "Add and remove programs", turned off the computer. Install R3 AVAST 2015 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.3.2220). The Scanning HTTPS enabled, file to HTTPS is not blocked, skips. Files through HTTP blocks. I not see errors in work R3 AVAST 2015 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.3.2220). Only not scan HTTPS.

To scan through HTTPS in Win. XP Avast installs a new service?
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: DavidR on June 25, 2015, 03:34:24 PM
Night updated. I turned off the computer and went to bed. Day turned on the computer to run services was the error in the form of the red cross. Automatically start the service bug report. I started the interface, the red cross is gone. I looked at what appeared the enable HTTPS. I read on the forum. I started the restore Avast, received not working Avast. I uninstall Avast through "Add and remove programs", turned off the computer. Install R3 AVAST 2015 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.3.2220). The Scanning HTTPS enabled, file to HTTPS is not blocked, skips. Files through HTTP blocks. I not see errors in work R3 AVAST 2015 Beta 2 (build number 2015.10.3.2220). Only not scan HTTPS.

To scan through HTTPS in Win. XP Avast installs a new service?

HTTPS scanning is working on my XP system, whilst it did on the 2219 build, it took a long time to load pages and some pages didn't load correctly.

Since XP didn't have the functionality to scan https previously I feel they would have to have done something to achieve this - what I did notice was something being launched as part of the update. See attached image of that action.

What was also fixed was the lack of a means of disabling https scanning in the Web Shield customize. That too is also there now, so I would suggest checking that setting to see that https scanning is in fact enabled. EDIT see image2.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 25, 2015, 03:49:43 PM
Since XP didn't have the functionality to scan https previously I feel they would have to have done something to achieve this - what I did notice was something being launched as part of the update. See attached image of that action.
Also noticed it. (Btw, if you're interested in the log, check your win folder.)
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: DavidR on June 25, 2015, 04:00:46 PM
Since XP didn't have the functionality to scan https previously I feel they would have to have done something to achieve this - what I did notice was something being launched as part of the update. See attached image of that action.
Also noticed it. (Btw, if you're interested in the log, check your win folder.)

If you are talking about the setupapi.log or windowsupdate.log I don't see anything relating to the KB970158_x86.exe mentioned in my previous attached image.

This was why I queried it, in the hope someone from avast could say why it was done.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 25, 2015, 04:06:06 PM
If you are talking about the setupapi.log or windowsupdate.log I don't see anything relating to the KB970158_x86.exe mentioned in my previous attached image.
No, it had another name, but as i already ran CCleaner, I can't tell you the exact name.
You could search by date, it is a .log file with the date and time of the avast update.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 25, 2015, 04:22:35 PM
Difficult to read translation software.

Https enabled i see.  I see the installation process KB970158.  Need to have installed patch KB970158 on Win XP?

I see the error in this log i show.

Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: DavidR on June 25, 2015, 05:19:08 PM
If you are talking about the setupapi.log or windowsupdate.log I don't see anything relating to the KB970158_x86.exe mentioned in my previous attached image.
No, it had another name, but as i already ran CCleaner, I can't tell you the exact name.
You could search by date, it is a .log file with the date and time of the avast update.

I see reference to:
3.500: Source:C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\Avast\setup\kb970158_x86.exe (6.3.15.0)
In the C:\Windows\Wdf01009Inst.log file, created 24 June 2015, if that is the log file you meant.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 26, 2015, 07:19:32 AM
In the C:\Windows\Wdf01009Inst.log file, created 24 June 2015, if that is the log file you meant.
Yes, that's the one.
I also have two restore points with this name in system restore, one for each Beta.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 26, 2015, 02:41:47 PM
Men you have Win. XP SP3. I have "Win XP PRO RU SP4" SP3 + Updates, updates till March 2014 not remember exactly, 110-190 patchs.  IE8 and on image. The test must be done on win XP SP3 + Updates. And: Сontrol panel -> Languages and regional standards. Need CD with Windows.

Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 26, 2015, 02:51:49 PM
I have "Win XP PRO RU SP4" SP3 + Updates...
Personally, as "SP4" is an inofficial release, I won't touch it.
I doubt Avast will support it, but who knows... ;)
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 26, 2015, 02:58:09 PM
I have ~190 separate patches from Microsoft installed on Win XP SP3. SP4 figuratively I called SP3+ Updates
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 26, 2015, 03:06:51 PM
I have ~190 separate patches from Microsoft installed on Win XP SP3. SP4 figuratively I called SP3+ Updates
I see. Well, I'm also on XP SP3 with all updates and it works for me.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 26, 2015, 03:15:34 PM
I have ~190 separate patches from Microsoft installed on Win XP SP3. SP4 figuratively I called SP3+ Updates
I see. Well, I'm also on XP SP3 with all updates and it works for me.

Of course, on one computer not working too early to judge. I have a lot of things.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 26, 2015, 03:19:25 PM
You could try a clean reinstall.

- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 26, 2015, 03:32:06 PM
I have no time now to delve with this. I have a repair in the my room. Later. I'll think of what to answer after 5 -7 days.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 26, 2015, 03:35:29 PM
NP, take your time.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on June 26, 2015, 03:42:05 PM
Speed work a repair in the my room does not depend on me. And I would not rush do faster a repair in the my room to write faster.

Скорость работы ремонта в моей комнате не зависит от меня. И я не стал бы ускорять ремонт для того, чтобы быстрее написать ответ.
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: Asyn on June 26, 2015, 03:44:04 PM
Speed work does not depend on me. And I would not rush to write faster.
Sorry, not sure what you mean..!? ???
Title: Re: [BUG Fixed] HTTPS Scanning on XP
Post by: g5540066 on July 20, 2015, 06:00:14 PM
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=173713.0
Аналогичная проблема после обновления до 10.3.2223. Блокирует страницы и пишет, что следующий сертификат не является действительным.Думаю разрабам надо исправить!!!
Translation: A similar problem after upgrading to 10.3.2223. Blocks page and writes that the following certificate is not valid.Think the developers need to fix it!!!