Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: Rednose on June 19, 2015, 01:39:19 PM

Title: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2015, 01:39:19 PM
I have changed the HIPS sensitivity to two bars, and got my first pop-up screen.
But :

- There is no choice to make.
- You can't pin the pop-up.

And where can we find the log ?

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: TrueIndian on June 19, 2015, 01:56:11 PM
This is really weird.I had the same problem.Did avast block it? I seriously don't understand what's going on?

I think if this is going to be another behaviour shield then its going to be another useless addition if it doesn't help in protection.
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2015, 02:08:49 PM
Did avast block it?

Sorry, I didn't realise the pop-up was is Dutch, but Avast blocked it.
I changed the language to English, and now got a second pop-up.

Greetz, Red.

Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2015, 02:19:12 PM
Wow ... really :o :-\

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: TrueIndian on June 19, 2015, 02:24:18 PM
Its really confusing? First it was user-interactive and now it becomes automated.Now what's next? The thing becomes silent and passive like the old behavour shield.  ???
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2015, 02:33:16 PM
Yes, it is very confusing.

But I made a  system image before I installed the Beta. And also one this morning before I changed the sensitivity.
So I don't matter what happens ;)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 20, 2015, 05:07:22 AM
Testing with HIPS sensitivity on three bars now.

The difference in pop-ups :

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: TrueIndian on June 20, 2015, 05:26:33 AM
This is weird.Were the pop-ups asking you questions? Or was it straight forward blocking?
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 20, 2015, 05:36:04 AM
The first pop-up on level 2 is staight forward blocking.
The second pop-up on level 3 is asking. "Allow" is the default choice, and you can also choose "Deny".

Greetz, Red.

Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: RejZoR on June 20, 2015, 09:21:11 AM
So, levels aren't sensitivity, they just signify how avast! deals with fixed detections. I mean, same thing gets detected, it's just how it presents that to the user. On lower levels it blocks it directly, on higher levels, it asks the user what to do. Though sensitivity could still be hidden below all that...
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 20, 2015, 01:18:35 PM
Strange is also that there is no option to "remember" your decision.
So you get the same pop-up(s) over and over again.

Greetz, Red.

Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: khronos@seznam.cz on June 20, 2015, 02:33:50 PM
Blocking consent.exe huh? Bright idea. I would have expected it to be smart enough to ignore important system processes, at least if they have a valid digital signature. And with no option to remember user decisions, it looks like another useless addition that I will have to turn off.
Title: Re: HIPS pop-up
Post by: Rednose on June 22, 2015, 01:52:30 AM
Hi guys :)

I am definitely no expert, and I am only posting my observations.
I am testing here with HIPS sensitivity on three bars.

When I run "HostMan" ( a program to update/edit the HOSTS file ), I get the first pop-up ( and Allow it ).
When I run "HostMan" as Administrator, I get the second pop-up ( and Allow it ).

Now when I exit "Hostman" ( checked in Task Manager ) and run it again, I don't get the first pop-up again.
But when I run it as Administrator again, I also get the second pop-up again.

Untill ( regarding the first pop-up ) I reboot.

Greetz, Red.