Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: MartinZ on July 24, 2015, 05:39:56 PM

Title: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: MartinZ on July 24, 2015, 05:39:56 PM
Hi all,

New beta version is released: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (build number 2015.10.3.2224)

Changes
- Fixed minor issues with Firewall during Windows 10 update
- Fixed minor issues with Cleanup

How to install:

1. If you have installed some beta version before you can update it to this latest version via Settings->Update->Program.

2. Or you can download and install from here:

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_pro_antivirus_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_internet_security_setup.exe

http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avast_premier_antivirus_setup.exe


How to provide feedback
Please for specific issues set a new topic in the Beta section (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=15.0). For general open discussion feel free to use this thread.

Avast cleaner:
http://files.avast.com/beta9x/avastclear.exe

It should be possible to install this version on top of your existing avast! installation (all settings should be preserved).

To report BSODs, crashes or any other none trivial problems please use new SupportPackage generating tool.
- http://utils.support.tools.avast.com/tools/support/utils/avastsupport.exe

Instructions how to use it can be easily found:
- https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle



We are looking forward for your feedback!

Thank you
Avast team
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Secondmineboy on July 24, 2015, 05:51:32 PM
Gonna update and test out :)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: DavidR on July 24, 2015, 06:34:37 PM
Updating from UI 10.3.2223 and about to reboot.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Asyn on July 24, 2015, 07:10:02 PM
Updated to the latest beta, no issues so far.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: irongod on July 24, 2015, 07:10:39 PM
...updated thru UI and rebooted... no issued noticed so far (Win7 SP1) but the fact that it does not appear the "BETA" note on the UI (nevertheless I can live with that ;D )
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: DavidR on July 24, 2015, 08:44:05 PM
...updated thru UI and rebooted... no issued noticed so far (Win7 SP1) but the fact that it does not appear the "BETA" note on the UI (nevertheless I can live with that ;D )

I have the reverse of that, I was on the previous beta testing for R3, and when that completed the build number remained the same - as did the Beta branding on the UI even though it was a final build. Now I'm back on the 10.3.2224 beta stream and Beta is no longer on the UI.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: jrace on July 24, 2015, 10:02:41 PM
Updated to this beta version (2224) which is working for me like the last oficial release (2223), smoth and flawlessly.
No change for me anyway. The said changes, Firewall and Cleaner, are not on my system.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: bob3160 on July 24, 2015, 11:35:41 PM
...updated thru UI and rebooted... no issued noticed so far (Win7 SP1) but the fact that it does not appear the "BETA" note on the UI (nevertheless I can live with that ;D )

I have the reverse of that, I was on the previous beta testing for R3, and when that completed the build number remained the same - as did the Beta branding on the UI even though it was a final build. Now I'm back on the 10.3.2224 beta stream and Beta is no longer on the UI.
Same for me. I spotted reference to this version on a different topic.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Rednose on July 25, 2015, 11:13:05 AM
Indeed,

When installed, this build doesn't show as a Beta in the UI.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: DavidR on July 25, 2015, 02:34:51 PM
Updating from UI 10.3.2223 and about to reboot.

I had a number of system lock-ups, had to do a hard reset to reboot, but it still locked up shortly after boot. Because of this I was unable to gather any meaningful information as I couldn't download or run the support tool. I ended having to use my system imaging boot CD to restore my last image.

Now back on 10.3.2223 and no system lock-ups, whilst this could be coincidental/conflict, but I had no way to tell as the system was unusable.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: NON on July 25, 2015, 04:27:46 PM
Really silent update. Will reboot soon. Thanks for the update. :)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: YLAP on July 25, 2015, 05:44:32 PM
Final version is planned before 29th?  :)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: abruptum on July 25, 2015, 06:19:23 PM
Any news about NG (Disk Check and Defrag problems) ?
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: essexboy on July 25, 2015, 06:20:57 PM
Need I say more :)

Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Asyn on July 25, 2015, 06:21:53 PM
Need I say more :)
A repair should fix it.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Rompin Raider on July 25, 2015, 06:28:15 PM
Smooth install on Win7x64 SP1. This should be an interesting week if the roll out commences. Bob, can we call you 24/7 if we have problems? LOL RR
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: essexboy on July 25, 2015, 07:01:57 PM
Need I say more :)
A repair should fix it.
Hmm I installed the update yesterday and have rebooted several times...  I think it is because I was complaining of no problems :)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Asyn on July 25, 2015, 07:04:12 PM
Need I say more :)
A repair should fix it.
Hmm I installed the update yesterday and have rebooted several times...  I think it is because I was complaining of no problems :)
Who knows... ;D
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Para-Noid on July 25, 2015, 10:52:28 PM
Need I say more :)
A repair should fix it.
Hmm I installed the update yesterday and have rebooted several times...  I think it is because I was complaining of no problems :)

Are you sure all of England uses the same calendar?  ;D
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: essexboy on July 25, 2015, 11:04:46 PM
Well I am in Cornwall so the clocks could be running backwards :)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: DavidR on July 26, 2015, 12:07:23 AM
Well I am in Cornwall so the clocks could be running backwards :)

If you haven't tried it, the avast Repair as mentioned, usually resolves out of sync issues where reported data doesn't match the actual data.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: NON on July 26, 2015, 02:57:27 AM
Any news about NG (Disk Check and Defrag problems) ?

It seems not :(
I still got the same error with chkdsk.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Spulci on July 26, 2015, 07:01:32 PM
I read about a minor issue with firewall during Windows 10 setup. Should I wait this beta to be released to the stable channel before upgrading to Win 10 on July 29th? Ok, I know that this time we'll have a staged roll out from Microsoft, so I'm not sure I will receive Win 10 on the first day.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: giogio on July 27, 2015, 08:20:55 AM
Hi,
anyone know if this beta fix the https scanning trouble in XP/Vista ? https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=173418.msg1235971#msg1235971
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: MartinZ on July 27, 2015, 09:42:38 AM
Hi,

to All: I know the BETA sign is gone but it will return for good today/tomorrow. I will keep it there forever so you know you are on the beta channel, even when you might be currently running final version (2223). In V2016 we will make the differentiation better way

to Spulci: You can update to Win 10 with the current latest final version 2015.10.3.2223. This service pack is just fixing some issues with firewall start on Windows 10, when updating Windows, but for most users it works and usually restart helps.

to giogio: Yes this will be fixed today/tomorrow via hotfix. The problem occurs on Windows XP SP2- and we will turn off the HTTPS scanning by default on these OS.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: giogio on July 27, 2015, 12:29:25 PM
to giogio: Yes this will be fixed today/tomorrow via hotfix. The problem occurs on Windows XP SP2- and we will turn off the HTTPS scanning by default on these OS.
Hi martin
Thanks for the info.
So if one has the XP sp2 cannot use the https scanning ?
It works only on XP SP3?
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: MartinZ on July 27, 2015, 12:33:24 PM
to giogio: Yes this will be fixed today/tomorrow via hotfix. The problem occurs on Windows XP SP2- and we will turn off the HTTPS scanning by default on these OS.
Hi martin
Thanks for the info.
So if one has the XP sp2 cannot use the https scanning ?
It works only on XP SP3?

Yes only XP SP3 and higher.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: giogio on July 27, 2015, 12:34:35 PM
Ok, thank you
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: bob3160 on July 27, 2015, 01:27:42 PM
@MartinZ,
What happened to NG ?  Can we please get an answer. It seems to be here today and gone tomorrow.
Right now I can't find any part of it ???
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: DavidR on July 27, 2015, 04:33:59 PM
to giogio: Yes this will be fixed today/tomorrow via hotfix. The problem occurs on Windows XP SP2- and we will turn off the HTTPS scanning by default on these OS.
Hi martin
Thanks for the info.
So if one has the XP sp2 cannot use the https scanning ?
It works only on XP SP3?

Yes only XP SP3 and higher.

How that would work for those with XP Pro SP2 64bit as there is no SP3 for that OS version ?

Also for those experiencing this issue with Vista, is there a solution for that ?
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: MartinZ on July 27, 2015, 04:36:23 PM
For XP users there will be just work around, not a fix. Unfortunately we don't have capacity to support such outdated OS. We are glad that we were able to introduce HTTPS scanning to XP SP3 users, which is the majority of XP users.

Vista is probably different issue, and that would be fixed differently
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Spulci on July 27, 2015, 09:11:12 PM

to Spulci: You can update to Win 10 with the current latest final version 2015.10.3.2223. This service pack is just fixing some issues with firewall start on Windows 10, when updating Windows, but for most users it works and usually restart helps.


Thanks. I'll let you know about the update procedure when Microsoft will notify me for Win 10. ;)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: igor on July 28, 2015, 04:09:31 PM
to giogio: Yes this will be fixed today/tomorrow via hotfix. The problem occurs on Windows XP SP2- and we will turn off the HTTPS scanning by default on these OS.
Hi martin
Thanks for the info.
So if one has the XP sp2 cannot use the https scanning ?
It works only on XP SP3?

Yes only XP SP3 and higher.

How that would work for those with XP Pro SP2 64bit as there is no SP3 for that OS version ?

I believe that technically, Windows XP x64 isn't really Windows XP, but rather Windows 2003 (so you cannot really compare the index of the service pack).
(I don't know if HTTPS scanning is supported on Win 2003 though, so it doesn't really answer the question - just saying that the OS is different.)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: HDW38 on July 28, 2015, 05:56:30 PM

What happened to NG ?  Can we please get an answer. It seems to be here today and gone tomorrow.
Right now I can't find any part of it ???

Hi Bob!

I'm not Martin, but I want to give answer concerning your question:

please start your Task-Manager, There you'll find 'AvastVirtualBox Interface', klick on it, then select 'Details' and you'll find 'AvastVBoxSvc.exe'.
There 'NG' is hidden!!!
 :)
HDW
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: MartinZ on July 28, 2015, 07:39:32 PM
Thanks HDW ;-)

new stable program update is available (not beta), but is also pushed to the beta channel..
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=173591
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: HDW38 on July 28, 2015, 07:55:13 PM
Thanks HDW ;-)

new stable program update is available (not beta), but is also pushed to the beta channel..
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=173591

You're welcome.
 :)
HDW
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: heikwith on July 29, 2015, 12:28:26 PM
Is somebody running Vista with 2015.10.3.2225 and  has NO problems anymore.
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: bob3160 on July 29, 2015, 12:33:03 PM
Thanks HDW ;-)

new stable program update is available (not beta), but is also pushed to the beta channel..
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=173591 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=173591)

You're welcome.
 :)
HDW
Since the latest update, it's there.  Thanks. :)
Title: Re: NEW: AVAST 2015 R3 SP1 Beta (2015.10.3.2224)
Post by: Cast on August 01, 2015, 05:43:09 AM
Is somebody running Vista with 2015.10.3.2225 and  has NO problems anymore.
Kind of. I had to do a clean install because after I updated to .2025 avast wouldn't open up nor could I see the icon spinning like it should indicating that it was scanning so I just decided it was best to clean install it.