Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: MWassef on November 21, 2003, 08:27:43 AM

Title: 2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 21, 2003, 08:27:43 AM
I had to reformat my C: drive and then installed Avast4 again, updated the program manually to the latest VPS update..
After I connected to the internet, I received a blue notificaction that ver. 4.1.289 is available  ???
I clicked to read more info about it..
I received the attached picture, 2 separate panels for iNew, the main panel and the subject panel..  :D
shouldn't the sub. panel to be placed on the right of the main panel (the main panel is dragable, sub. panel is not)..
I posted a similar problem before  (http://www.avast.com/forum/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=1543;start=msg9404#msg9404) (ver. 4.1.287) but it was without the subject panel..
Could you explain this ?

N.B.:
Avast4 version: 4.1.289
VPS version: 0310-12 dated 11/18
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 21, 2003, 08:29:39 AM
another pic..
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 21, 2003, 02:12:02 PM
minacross,

This is a strange one indeed.  I tried by panel and it moves together.
I would suspect a problem within windows.

At this point, try a simple diskscan and defrag to put things in order witin the system and try again.  We may need to do more research on this.  Not sure why no one picked up on your previous post.  It happens sometimes.

In your last post, did Kubecj ever respond re: your logs?
What version of IE and Windows are you running?

In view of what Kubecj stated in the last post, I would make sure that Windows is updated to the latest file configuration, and you use IE6.

PS:   May I ask if the solution I offered in your last post worked? (Re: Read only files).  I like to know so I can offer the solution to any user who might need it.

Good Luck
techie
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 21, 2003, 05:57:04 PM
thannx 4 ur reply techie  ;D ,
Kubecj examined my log files and could not find any problem  ??? , so we stopped comunicating at this point  :-\
I use Win98se with IE6 SP1, Q330994, Q822925, Q828750.
Do you suggest to scan disk/defrag then uninstall/reinstall Avast4 again?
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 21, 2003, 11:48:55 PM
minacross,

Ok.  I will try to help you but this is most unusual.
For now, lets do the basics:  A diskscan, and defrag.

Lets not uninstall Avast just yet.

techie
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 22, 2003, 07:53:18 AM
Diskscan done with no errors found..
Defragmenting done successfully.
 ::) ::)
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 22, 2003, 11:07:24 AM
Ok.  Before we go on, why did you have to reformat your C drive?
It may give us a clue.

Next, lets do an IE6 repair.  IE6 has its own repair tool.

Now lets check for any conflicts:
Right click on My Computer and open Properties.
Within the Device manager,
Do you see any i in a yellow triangle next to any category?
Open up Display Adapters and the Sound/Audio categories....any yellow flag there?

Do the same now with each category listed.  We might as check them all anyway.

Go into System Tools and run System Information
Then, check Direct X and Display tabs.  Any errors listed in the info box on the bottom?

Last thing for this session, run a Dr. Watson.

I am trying to verify your system intergrity at this point since I do not believe the problem lies in Avast, but it still might.

One question....Are you able to resize the inews window?

techie
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 22, 2003, 11:36:32 AM
Ok.  Before we go on, why did you have to reformat your C drive?
It may give us a clue.

I do a quick format (format C:\ /q)every 3 months as recommended for Win98.

Quote

Next, lets do an IE6 repair.  IE6 has its own repair tool.

done
Quote

Now lets check for any conflicts:
Right click on My Computer and open Properties.
Within the Device manager,
Do you see any i in a yellow triangle next to any category?
Open up Display Adapters and the Sound/Audio categories....any yellow flag there?

Do the same now with each category listed.  We might as check them all anyway.


no problems listed at all.

Quote

Go into System Tools and run System Information
Then, check Direct X and Display tabs.  Any errors listed in the info box on the bottom?

no problem listed

Quote
Last thing for this session, run a Dr. Watson.


Dr. Watson's report:

--------------------
If the Taskbar is behaving strangely, try exiting Keyboard Language Indicator Applet.

Module Name: INTERNAT.EXE
Description: Keyboard Language Indicator Applet
Version: 4.10.2222
Product: Microsoft(R) Windows(R) Operating System
Manufacturer: Microsoft Corporation


Quote
I am trying to verify your system intergrity at this point since I do not believe the problem lies in Avast, but it still might.

One question....Are you able to resize the inews window?

techie

I opened iNews from within the program, there is only one window for the 2 panels ::)
there is no resize button just a close one..
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: igor on November 22, 2003, 01:41:08 PM
Quote
I do a quick format (format C:\ /q)every 3 months as recommended for Win98.

Gee... I've been using Win98SE since the first Win95 installation - never reinstalled, only 3 times updated (to Win95 OSR2, to Win98, and to Win98SE) - i.e. I'm running the system for about 7 years. I copied it to new hardware whenever I updated and it still works. I would never format the drive just because it's "recommended" - I wouldn't be able to configure the system again to my (favourite) state.

As for the problem with the iNews window - I'd say it's a problem of the avast<->Internet Explorer connection - i.e. either IE, or avast, or something in between. Maybe a problem with the particular IE version on Win98... is anybody else running the same OS/IE combination?
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 22, 2003, 06:22:39 PM
Quote
I do a quick format (format C:\ /q)every 3 months as recommended for Win98.
I use W98 and only reformated when my system crashed.  Igor is correct here.  Do not reformat unless necessary.  A monthly Diskscan and Defrag is usually all that is needed as a preventive measure.

Quote
As for the problem with the iNews window - I'd say it's a problem of the avast<->Internet Explorer connection - i.e. either IE, or avast, or something in between. Maybe a problem with the particular IE version on Win98... is anybody else running the same OS/IE combination?

Igor,

Yes, I do believe that IE is the culprit here in combination with Windows.  I have one of my machines with W98 and Avast 4.289   The panel function incorporates both IE and Windows function as sort of a "drag and drop" operation.  The separate panels are (for lack of better technical terminology) linked, or coupled, or piggybacked, or just stuck toghether whereby they are supposed to "move" together when grabbed by the top edge of the window.  This behavior of minacross' is most strange.

Minacross,

There is no actual resize box in the upper left corner.  That is called a Minimize/Maxmimize icon.  Most panels can be "stretched" by moving your cursor the any outer edge where it should cange to double arrows.  If you now click and hold.....you can drag the edge in or out as needed.
I want you to try to do this with the inews panel.

Then, try separating the panels into two separate ones and try stretching each of them.  Right now, as we try to eliminate causes, we are gathering information.

Following on what Igor has said and what I believe at this point, we need to eliminate Avast.  So YES, we need to uninstall it.
Here's where I get into hot water with some of the Avast Team but I like to be sure.
Use the Add/Remove function of Windows to take out Avast.  THEN, I want you to download and use AVCLEAR 4.  This is an Avast removal tool for stubborn "uninstalls".
http://www.avast.com/i_idt_1336.html

Let's see how your system acts after the reinstall.
We are all in unchartered  territory on this one.  ???
I'll be here.

techie101
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 22, 2003, 07:02:50 PM
I uninstalled the program using add/remove programs then used the Avast4 uninstall utility..
after reinstallation I received the same 2 panels  ::)
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Lisandro on November 22, 2003, 07:17:26 PM
Sorry mina... Both on XP and 98 I had only one window, draggable but not resizable  :'(

What is you monitor configuration (I mean, pixels x pixels).
Btw, I just format the HDD on catastrofic events  ;D Who recommend a periodic formating?  :o
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 22, 2003, 07:53:16 PM
my monitor is 640x480 pixels.. (I do think it has nothing to do with this problem).  ???
I do remember that I read months ago on the Microsoft site that it is recommended to reinstall win98 every 3 months but I can not find the page right now  ::)
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Lisandro on November 22, 2003, 08:03:51 PM
my monitor is 640x480 pixels.. (I do think it has nothing to do with this problem).  ???
I do remember that I read months ago on the Microsoft site that it is recommended to reinstall win98 every 3 months but I can not find the page right now  ::)

Could you change your monitor configuration to 800 x 600 and see what happens? You said it has nothing to do with this problem, so why can´t you drag the window?

I suggest the use of ScreenSizer (a freeware: www.Lkei.com).
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 23, 2003, 12:56:12 AM
Technical,

I do not believe that the pixels is what causes the problem.  This is only in the visual display.  The problem is that the 2 panels are not linked together as they should be.

I am doing research on this now and will post soon.

techie
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Lisandro on November 23, 2003, 02:28:50 AM
Technical,

I do not believe that the pixels is what causes the problem.  This is only in the visual display.  The problem is that the 2 panels are not linked together as they should be.

I am doing research on this now and will post soon.

techie

Ok, you win... I let this minacross' trouble with you.  ;)
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 23, 2003, 04:11:36 AM
Technical,
I have never known you to give up on a difficult problem.
Stay with me on this buddy.  Because I may rule out one of your suggestions doesn't mean it was not valued.  On the contrary, it helped eliminate a possible cause.  Visual balance (pixels) did not even occur to me.

Minacross,
Technical and I work very well together but sometimes we have out little cat fights. hahaha

techie



Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 23, 2003, 02:00:12 PM
to techie & Technical,

I do appreciate all your help, many thanx guys  :)


Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Lisandro on November 23, 2003, 02:44:29 PM
Mina, my 98 is working well with the iNews.
I really think now - after the shot of pixels - could be something related to IE and HTML handling... But I can´t figure out what could it be. Give me time, I promise I'll think about it  ;)

Techie, a big laught  ;D
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 23, 2003, 04:36:08 PM
problem solved  ;D
there was an IE component called "Dynamic HTML Data Binding" (kindly check attached pic)  that was not installed..
I uninstalled avast, reinstalled IE6 including this component..
then reinstalled avast4 again and it worked just fine  ;)
thanx guys  ;D
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 23, 2003, 04:37:28 PM
you see what I mean  ;)
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 24, 2003, 01:29:25 AM
minacross,

Great!  As I suspected, it was indeed an IE problem.

Technical was also very close when he stated that it might be an html handling problem.

SEE!!  We almost got you there but you indeed were one step ahead.

All right...a definite K for you!

Good luck,

techie101
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Lisandro on November 24, 2003, 02:06:51 AM
Thanks mina, you save my time  ;D
Techie, as last, some of my shots go straight to the target...  ;D
Or better, your shot  8)
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: techie101returns on November 24, 2003, 02:20:25 AM
Technical,

You know....our approach usually gets results.
We can't always get the cow to drink, but we certainly lead it to the water!

(There's something of a meaning in that...I think.  ;D

techie
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Hornus Continuum on November 24, 2003, 07:51:41 AM
minacross,

What program did you run to get the Windows Update display?

Regards,
Hornus
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: MWassef on November 24, 2003, 11:56:44 AM
To techie,

thanx for the K  ;)

To Hornus,

it is the installation file of the IE6..
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Hornus Continuum on November 24, 2003, 12:05:09 PM
Minacross,

Thanx for the come-back.  Unfortunately Hewlett-Packard cheaped out and didn't supply installation disks with my computer.  Is there another way to find which IE components are or aren't installed?

Regards,
Hornus
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Walker on November 30, 2003, 01:53:03 AM
minacross,

What program did you run to get the Windows Update display?

Regards,
Hornus

Hi HC

Did you ever find out how to display that screen?. I too am interested in finding it, but no luck so far  :-\

W.
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Lisandro on November 30, 2003, 02:08:01 AM
What program did you run to get the Windows Update display?

That screen is shown when you run the downloaded file for IE update (IE 6.0 SP1): this link (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=1e1550cb-5e5d-48f5-b02b-20b602228de6&DisplayLang=en) for information or this one (http://download.microsoft.com/download/ie6sp1/finrel/6_sp1/W98NT42KMeXP/EN-US/ie6setup.exe) for directly download the English version.

If that windows appears only in the 'old' version, maybe it is untill at http://download.cnet.com/downloads/
There were the IE6.0 (not SP1)

Are we talking about the 'same' window?
Title: Re:2 panels for iNews
Post by: Hornus Continuum on December 03, 2003, 08:47:25 PM
Technical,

Quote
That screen is shown when you run the downloaded file for IE update (IE 6.0 SP1)

Yes, I think we are.

Walker.

I assume you saw the follow-up posts by minacross and Technical.

Regards,
Hornus