Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: wickedd on December 07, 2015, 01:17:03 AM

Title: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 07, 2015, 01:17:03 AM
hey there support, need help from you.. I cant upgrade, reinstall, remove AVAST because this annoying error: The stub cannot run installer/updater executable c:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\sfx\avast.setup (code 0x3)

I tried everything, please help
thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Pondus on December 07, 2015, 01:41:18 AM
Tried this .... avast uninstall utility  https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB10#artTitle

then try a new install

Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 07, 2015, 09:40:11 AM
already tried, same error: The stub cannot run installer/updater executable c:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\sfx\avast.setup (code 0x3)
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Asyn on December 07, 2015, 10:25:46 AM
- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Which version..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 07, 2015, 02:36:32 PM
everything in attached log bro
- no other security sw
- no other AV before avast

thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Eddy on December 07, 2015, 03:27:36 PM
And the problem...
I see 5(!) av's that are/where on the system.

https://blog.kaspersky.com/multiple-antivirus-programs-bad-idea/2670/
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 07, 2015, 03:53:11 PM
cmon guys please be more specific how can I upgrade avast, I want purchase new licence but I cant do anything
what other AVs, just installed malwarebytes (because my avast licence expired and avast tells me that my pc is unprotected)

thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Eddy on December 07, 2015, 03:58:12 PM
I see (parts of) McAfee, Windows Defender, AVG, ESet and avast

Delete everything from them using the specific tools/instructions for each of them.
http://www.ache.nl

If the tools worked or not...
Delete everything that is still there from the av's manually.
Folders, files and registry entries.

After doing so, perform a clean installation of the latest avast version:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179855.0
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: bob3160 on December 07, 2015, 04:01:35 PM
How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde (http://goo.gl/VLXde)
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 07, 2015, 05:57:06 PM
guys nothning helped :/ I just used av remover and remove mcafee windows defender avg and eset and stil same error
whn I want use avastcleaner.exe = The stub cannot run installer/updater executable c:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\sfx\avast.setup (code 0x3)

any other tips please?
thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Eddy on December 07, 2015, 06:09:33 PM
Did you also removed "leftovers" manually as I suggested ?
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 07, 2015, 06:16:38 PM
yes everything I found and can be related to those AVs and still same error :/
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Eddy on December 07, 2015, 06:50:20 PM
Did you also removed all folder, files and registry entries from avast ?
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 08, 2015, 12:31:44 AM
no manually not, I want use official AVAST remover, thats the point of this thread
(some parts of avast still running in background: AvastSvc.exe, afwServ.exe)

thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: bob3160 on December 08, 2015, 12:35:40 AM
no manually not, I want use official AVAST remover, thats the point of this thread
(some parts of avast still running in background: AvastSvc.exe, afwServ.exe)

thanks
Not if you used the aswclear tool. ???
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 08, 2015, 12:45:43 AM
aswclear and avastclear.exe is the same right?
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Asyn on December 08, 2015, 05:58:49 AM
First, be sure to get rid of all remnants of your prior installed AV(s)..!!
-> https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB11#artTitle

Then:
1. Download Avast Free Antivirus: https://files.avast.com/iavs9x/avast_free_antivirus_setup.exe
2. Follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility (Run this tool for all prior installed Avast versions..!!)
3. Reinstall Avast with the downloaded installer from point 1.
4. Reboot.
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 08, 2015, 12:01:25 PM
guys this is the same all over again, I CANT RUN YOUR UNINSTALL UTILITY BECAUSE OF THIS: The stub cannot run installer/updater executable c:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\sfx\avast.setup (code 0x3)

thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Asyn on December 08, 2015, 12:07:04 PM
Did you run it in safe mode..!?
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 08, 2015, 12:50:59 PM
of course bro
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Asyn on December 08, 2015, 12:52:47 PM
Follow instructions: https://www.avast.com/faq.php?article=AVKB33#artTitle
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: Eddy on December 08, 2015, 01:06:26 PM
As I said, if a uninstaller is not working you will need to remove things manually.
Unless you want to stay stuck and not want to move forwards.
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 08, 2015, 01:33:44 PM
ok lets do this Eddy thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 08, 2015, 03:18:10 PM
btw do you have a list of all AVAST locations?? ie folder, registry etc thanks
Title: Re: cant do anything ERROR CODE 0x3
Post by: wickedd on December 08, 2015, 05:39:59 PM
nevermind, this is the best and final solution for this thread aka forget oficial remover

"you will need to remove things manually."

thanks everyone