Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: herculespapadimitrakis@yahoo.com on January 13, 2016, 10:10:27 PM

Title: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: herculespapadimitrakis@yahoo.com on January 13, 2016, 10:10:27 PM
Ive been using Avast for years without any problems. I did a network scan this morning and got this error.

(https://scontent-lga3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/1937225_10206791911213965_7645470125814144056_n.jpg?oh=5cf5a424e5780c807633c39c32c442ab&oe=573AA696)

I changed username/password on the router. But I am UNABLE to figure out how to change the DNS record on a FiOs  MI424WR router.

Furthermore.... I just PURCHASED Avast Internet Security 2 months ago, its the program I used to scan (See upper left corner of the image), when I click that link it brings me to a page to buy it again.

I need help.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Pondus on January 13, 2016, 10:14:40 PM
Quote
I changed username/password on the router.
Did you factory reset it first?

Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: herculespapadimitrakis@yahoo.com on January 13, 2016, 10:19:04 PM
The router? yeah.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Eddy on January 14, 2016, 03:38:37 AM
Looks like this is what you are looking for :
https://www.verizon.com/support/residential/internet/fiosinternet/troubleshooting/network/questionsone/99144.htm
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: iheartchocolate@live.com.au on January 14, 2016, 07:56:31 AM
I have had the exact same issue! Is it an error with Avast? Because yesterday and ever day before that for the last year I have had my router it has scanned fine. This morning I got the same message when I did a network scan. I reset my router, changed the DNS to 8.8.8.8, and also updated the router firmware and am still getting the message.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: va.land on January 14, 2016, 01:10:59 PM
I have same issue from yesterday, changed DNS not solved.

(http://postmyimage.com/img2/162_Cattura.JPG) (http://postmyimage.com/img2/162_Cattura.JPG)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: abruptum on January 14, 2016, 01:29:29 PM
Same here. This is a bug.
Advice to change DNS server to Google DNS is stupid since DNS servers on router are already 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

  http://imgur.com/3ONUaZI
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: herculespapadimitrakis@yahoo.com on January 14, 2016, 06:16:46 PM
Should we be alarmed? Is Avast working on it????

I couldnt even find the DNS setting!!!!
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Lotan on January 14, 2016, 06:25:24 PM
same issue here details mention something about "rom-0"
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Andrey,pro on January 14, 2016, 06:40:54 PM
same issue here details mention something about "rom-0"
Hi,

it seems that your router is vulnerable, you should upgrade your router's firmware, read more here: https://blog.avast.com/2014/11/13/network-security-4-how-to-upgrade-your-router-with-the-latest-firmware-or-replace-it-completely/
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: ligurlurks@yahoo.co.uk on January 14, 2016, 06:56:40 PM
I've had the same issue as others posting here. I ran my daily Smart Scan this afternoon on a computer that had scanned clean the previous day (i.e. prior to the last update). As I have another laptop in the house I decided to double check by switching it on and running a Smart Scan without updating. The scan came up completely clean. Then I updated and re-ran. The scan once again flagged the issue.

Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Lotan on January 14, 2016, 07:01:49 PM
same issue here details mention something about "rom-0"
Hi,

it seems that your router is vulnerable, you should upgrade your router's firmware, read more here: https://blog.avast.com/2014/11/13/network-security-4-how-to-upgrade-your-router-with-the-latest-firmware-or-replace-it-completely/

firmware is already up to date
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Andrey,pro on January 14, 2016, 07:11:39 PM
Just to make sure that your router isn't vulnerable and it's an avast bug can you please test your router here: http://rom-0.cz/
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Lotan on January 14, 2016, 07:14:54 PM
Just to make sure that your router isn't vulnerable and it's an avast bug can you please test your router here: http://rom-0.cz/
ok i got a "Address is probably not vulnerable" so im guessing its a bug with how many people started getting this issue about the same time
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: ligurlurks@yahoo.co.uk on January 14, 2016, 07:19:56 PM
Same here. Ran the test and got the "Address is probably not vulnerable" message
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: va.land on January 14, 2016, 08:11:12 PM
At  8.00 pm cet time issue seem fixed, no more alert message at my PC runnig avast scan network , some1 can confirm it?

Rom-0 test, say: "Address is probably not vulnerable"
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: nothings2good@verizon.net on January 14, 2016, 08:19:56 PM
I got the same message this morning after a scan and was worried. I also have FIOS and the same router. But when a free antivirus program tells me to change system settings I draw the line. (I, and many others, had a HUGE issue with free Panda AV which effectively labeled all system .dll's as non legitimate and promptly REMOVED them!) So instead I called Verizon tech support and after 1-1/2 hours it was determined there was no threat to my router.

So all she did was reset the router to factory defaults on her side and I did the same thing on my side by pressing and holding the red reset button on the back of the router with a pen for 15 seconds. It took about 3 minutes for the router to come back up. I then went into the router settings by opening a browser window and entering 192.168.1.1, entering the router's default username and password located on the bottom of the router, and the settings page will open up.

She verified all the connected devices she saw on her end with what I was seeing on my end and said that no other unwanted connections were there. She assured me my router was working properly, my firewall was up and running and I had no security issues.

Also, I asked her if changing the DNS address to 8.8.8.8 like Avast's message said made sense and she said "no."

So bottom line, ignore the Avast warning. This one is on them.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: abruptum on January 14, 2016, 08:21:07 PM
At  8.00 pm cet time issue seem fixed, no more alert message at my PC runnig avast scan network , some1 can confirm it?

Rom-0 test, say: "Address is probably not vulnerable"
Yes, the issue is fixed.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: susie.shou@gmail.com on January 14, 2016, 10:54:49 PM
I've had the same problem since yesterday morning...what differs for me is that I'm using a cable modem so I have no router. I also did the Rom-0 test just now and got the same "Address is probably not vulnerable" message.

(http://i.imgur.com/EgWABf8.jpg)

I just ran the scan again and this message still pops up. I called my ISP's tech support and the tech said that things were fine on my end as well when he checked. Will this be fixed?
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: psanhueza.cad@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 06:32:35 AM
Hey there!. :)

Also I have the same problem in my Avast Free. I think this is a problem of Avast and not the modem. Regards. :(
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Milos on January 15, 2016, 11:27:13 AM
Hello,
for analysis we need some logs.
First enable debug logging: GUI -> Settings -> General -> Maitenance -> Enable debug logging
Then reproduce the issue.
Then create support package and submit it (https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33) and post here ID of created package so we can find it.

Thank you,
Milos
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: regemorw@skynet.be on January 15, 2016, 11:37:46 AM
I have the same problem since yesterday afternoon.

(http://nl.tinypic.com/r/x3j1fm/9)

Verified my DNS records with my ISP and they confirmed that they are OK.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: regemorw@skynet.be on January 15, 2016, 11:57:15 AM
for analysis we need some logs.
First enable debug logging: GUI -> Settings -> General -> Maitenance -> Enable debug logging
Then reproduce the issue.
Then create support package and submit it (https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33) and post here ID of created package so we can find it.

I enabled the debug logging, then reproduced the issue.
But I have no idea how to create the requested support package.
(My AVAST version is in Dutch)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: jursa on January 15, 2016, 12:03:50 PM
for analysis we need some logs.
First enable debug logging: GUI -> Settings -> General -> Maitenance -> Enable debug logging
Then reproduce the issue.
Then create support package and submit it (https://www.avast.com/en-us/faq.php?article=AVKB33) and post here ID of created package so we can find it.

I enabled the debug logging, then reproduced the issue.
But I have no idea how to create the requested support package.
(My AVAST version is in Dutch)

Hi, just download and run following tool: http://utils.support.tools.avast.com/tools/support/utils/avastsupport.exe and post here generated ID number.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: regemorw@skynet.be on January 15, 2016, 12:11:01 PM

Hi, just download and run following tool: http://utils.support.tools.avast.com/tools/support/utils/avastsupport.exe and post here generated ID number.

Thanks
20160115_1108_31RKX_4192011058.zip
or file ID 31RKX
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: va.land on January 15, 2016, 12:48:35 PM
Quote
At  8.00 pm cet time issue seem fixed, no more alert message at my PC runnig avast scan network , some1 can confirm it?

OMG!! Today same alert message is up again. This is not funny.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 01:22:36 PM
I also have the same problem.

Last night, my smart scan identified this problem (it also cannot install the now Adobe, but I think that this is not a problem). I communicated with the company provided me the router and they told me that they do not think that there is a problem with the router and my connection. They advised me to contact Avast. I tried to solve this problem by making some changes to DNS (8.8.8.8). However, this does not solve the problem.

The second solution proposed by Avast scan is to upgrade to Avast Internet Security. However, I have already done so 2 months before! I already have Avast Internet Security and my Secure DNS Seems activated when I go to settings. Is there any problem with Avast? What can we do?
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Milos on January 15, 2016, 01:31:43 PM
Hello,
see reply #20 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=181612.msg1283971#msg1283971).

Thank you,
Milos
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 02:02:02 PM
I went to the General Settings of Avast and then to the Maintenance and then I activated debug. However, I have not understand what I have to do next. I scanned again my PC for my network threats and I got the same message that my Internet security is not secure. Nothing changed after activating debug!

What do I have to do after activating debug?? (my avast is not in English, so I try to translate the process that I followed)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Asyn on January 15, 2016, 02:04:46 PM
What do I have to do after activating debug?? (my avast is not in English, so I try to translate the process that I followed)
See: Reply #20.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: regemorw@skynet.be on January 15, 2016, 02:08:34 PM
See: Reply #20.

And reply #23
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: rfgbvsrtrgbs54@gmail.com on January 15, 2016, 02:10:12 PM
I've had the same problem since yesterday morning...what differs for me is that I'm using a cable modem so I have no router. I also did the Rom-0 test just now and got the same "Address is probably not vulnerable" message.

(http://i.imgur.com/EgWABf8.jpg)

I just ran the scan again and this message still pops up. I called my ISP's tech support and the tech said that things were fine on my end as well when he checked. Will this be fixed?

I also have cable modem. I thought router was built in there? It also says that home-PC is compromised, not Router. I'm... really confused.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: darkgod@live.com.au on January 15, 2016, 02:11:47 PM
I have done every solution and it still wont fix it I even bought premium hoping it would fix it I even reset my router and it still wont go away.
So is it a bug or is it real
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: darkgod@live.com.au on January 15, 2016, 02:31:17 PM
Just to make sure that your router isn't vulnerable and it's an avast bug can you please test your router here: http://rom-0.cz/

Address is probably not vulnerable got this message after test
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 02:36:18 PM
File ID: YKYT5

What do I have to do next???

Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: essexboy on January 15, 2016, 02:40:27 PM
Same problem 

Data set :


20160115_1334_040NX_4220596215.zip
File ID : 040NX
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: rfgbvsrtrgbs54@gmail.com on January 15, 2016, 02:43:06 PM
Just to make sure that your router isn't vulnerable and it's an avast bug can you please test your router here: http://rom-0.cz/

Address is probably not vulnerable got this message after test

Same here.

Address is probably not vulnerable


I found this from another site:
One way to check whether your router is accessible is from outside (from an external IP) is :
- Find out your IP address (when you are online) using http://www.whatismyip.com/
- Then visit, http://www.dnstools.com/ and choose option check port 80 then put in your IP address you earlier found. Click GO
- If you get Connected successfully to port 80. Then your router is accessible from outside (not good - change your router settings).


I got:

Domain Whois Results:

   Not Found: extension =


Checking Port 80...

    Connection failed: Connection timed out


Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Asyn on January 15, 2016, 02:46:10 PM
File ID: YKYT5 What do I have to do next???
Nothing much, just wait... ;)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: darkgod@live.com.au on January 15, 2016, 02:51:22 PM
File ID: LBM94
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Milos on January 15, 2016, 03:08:05 PM
Hello,
thank you for the support packages, we have found the issue and it will be fixed in next VPS update.

Milos
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: darkgod@live.com.au on January 15, 2016, 03:12:29 PM
Hello,
thank you for the support packages, we have found the issue and it will be fixed in next VPS update.

Milos
so is it a bug and is it safe to download
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Asyn on January 15, 2016, 03:14:20 PM
so is it a bug and is it safe to download
Yep. :)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 03:45:52 PM
All the above mean that we can safely use our browsers, read our emails etc without having any danger, right??

Are the routers and Internet connections safe despite the fact that the scan identified a problem? There was no attack and our data are protected, right?

Do we have to make any further action??
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Asyn on January 15, 2016, 03:49:00 PM
1. All the above mean that we can safely use our browsers, read our emails etc without having any danger, right??
2. Are the routers and Internet connections safe despite the fact that the scan identified a problem?
3. There was no attack and our data are protected, right?
4. Do we have to make any further action??
1.-3. Yes
4. Nope.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: bob3160 on January 15, 2016, 03:49:31 PM
All the above mean that we can safely use our browsers, read our emails etc without having any danger, right??

Are the routers and Internet connections safe despite the fact that the scan identified a problem? There was no attack and our data are protected, right?

Do we have to make any further action??
Try doing a manual VPS update to see if it's already fixed:
(http://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1452869204121-21567.png)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 04:25:52 PM
Thank you very much for your replies and your support! I tried to update Avast manually. Then, I scanned again and the same problem was identified.
Nevertheless, I suppose that the problem has not been already fixed and there is no reason for concern!!!

thank you for your help!
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: regemorw@skynet.be on January 15, 2016, 04:30:28 PM
Thank you very much for your replies and your support! I tried to update Avast manually. Then, I scanned again and the same problem was identified.
Nevertheless, I suppose that the problem has not been already fixed and there is no reason for concern!!!

thank you for your help!
I also tried the manual update but there is no new version yet.
(Mine is still 160115-1 from 11:37 this morning).
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Asyn on January 15, 2016, 04:44:59 PM
Guys, just be patient, it shouldn't take too long...
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: bob3160 on January 15, 2016, 04:52:12 PM
Guys, just be patient, it shouldn't take too long...
Most folks, when they have a problem, seem to loose patience.
It always seems to return right after the problem is resolved. :)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: jursa on January 15, 2016, 06:34:02 PM
Hi all,

fix will be delivered in the new VPS update (probably tonight).

Some clarification for this problem:
DNS hijack detetector found an issue with resolving google domains, because all IP addresses returned from this query belongs to your ISP, not to Google. Which is basically DNS hijack on ISP level.
Good article about ISP hijacking here:
https://hackercodex.com/guide/how-to-stop-isp-dns-server-hijacking/
E.g. - "Redirect pings to google to their own IP address. This way speed tests and pings all seem to respond very fast, giving a higher rating. In reality, you are pinging the ISP and not google."

How to test it manually:
- Run the following command: nslookup -q=A google.com
- Then check IP addresses returned from this query on http://www.infobyip.com
- ISP in the result must be "Google Inc.", not your ISP.

Here is an example from some support package delivered today, what was resolved on google.com from client computer:
http://www.infobyip.com/ip-194.78.0.210.html

And good google.com resolve looks like this:
http://www.infobyip.com/ip-173.194.122.18.html

Thnx,
David
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: abruptum on January 15, 2016, 06:52:54 PM
I guess this is good :

http://www.infobyip.com/ip-208.117.229.218.html
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 07:00:55 PM
I am not experienced with things like that and I am a little bit confused after reading the last two comments. i do not how the run commands and check IP addresses. Do the last two comments mean that we have to make any setting or do we have simply to wait for Avast to fix the problem? Is there any danger?

Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: -midnight on January 15, 2016, 07:17:22 PM
My Home Network Security scans have always shown my home network is secured.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: rfgbvsrtrgbs54@gmail.com on January 15, 2016, 07:45:17 PM
Hi all,

fix will be delivered in the new VPS update (probably tonight).

Some clarification for this problem:
DNS hijack detetector found an issue with resolving google domains, because all IP addresses returned from this query belongs to your ISP, not to Google. Which is basically DNS hijack on ISP level.
Good article about ISP hijacking here:
https://hackercodex.com/guide/how-to-stop-isp-dns-server-hijacking/
E.g. - "Redirect pings to google to their own IP address. This way speed tests and pings all seem to respond very fast, giving a higher rating. In reality, you are pinging the ISP and not google."

How to test it manually:
- Run the following command: nslookup -q=A google.com
- Then check IP addresses returned from this query on http://www.infobyip.com
- ISP in the result must be "Google Inc.", not your ISP.

Here is an example from some support package delivered today, what was resolved on google.com from client computer:
http://www.infobyip.com/ip-194.78.0.210.html

And good google.com resolve looks like this:
http://www.infobyip.com/ip-173.194.122.18.html

Thnx,
David


Can somebody please help me - where am I supposed to run the following command: nslookup -q=A google.com? In my browser? That's not doing anything though. Command prompt?

I read the article about ISP hijacking. Hopefully this will not break forum rules if I ask about it a bit.

Internet service providers redirects requests for unresponsive servers and non-existent domains to their own ISP-branded, ad-laden search pages.

Does this mean that ISP hijacking is shoving ISP favoured search pages to user? Or does it go even further - going for email and other account passwords?
Because I actually don't remember having this redirecting issue. I think.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 07:49:07 PM
Do we have to run the command? Is this necessary? Do we have to do something?
I am really confused and I wonder whether there is any danger if we merely wait for Avast to solve the problem.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: Filip Braun on January 15, 2016, 08:21:00 PM
Hello all,

Fix for this issue was just released with latest VPS update (16011502).
It should download automatically, based on your settings.
If you want to download it immediately, follow these steps:
The update will download and your VPS version will be 160115-2.

Thank you for your patience and help,
Filip
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: regemorw@skynet.be on January 15, 2016, 08:36:10 PM
Fix for this issue was just released with latest VPS update (16011502).
The update will download and your VPS version will be 160115-2.
I am sorry, but this fix didn't help.
I installed 160115-2, even rebooted my PC, but I still receive the same error.

20160115_1932_9PWLU_4192011058.zip
9PWLU

Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: abruptum on January 15, 2016, 09:06:50 PM
Fixed here with VPS 160115-2.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: etsachouridi@hotmail.com on January 15, 2016, 09:46:26 PM
The problem seems to have been fixed for me too! Many thanks for the support provided!

However, I have one more question. Were our DNS records actually highjacked or was it a "false alarm"??? Do we need to change our passwords and do actions like that? if we do not make any further action are we totally safe?

I am waiting for your responses!! Thank you!
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: regemorw@skynet.be on January 15, 2016, 10:32:07 PM
I am sorry, but this fix didn't help.
I installed 160115-2, even rebooted my PC, but I still receive the same error.

Just to inform the community: The fix is finally OK, but I had to run the "repair" option in my program list to activate it.

Thanks all!
This was my first contact with this forum and the result was more than could be expected for a free version of the tool!
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: va.land on January 15, 2016, 10:42:03 PM
Yep, issue seems fixed, Thanks at Avast Team. :)
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: lukor on January 15, 2016, 10:52:06 PM
Hi,
thanks to all for reporting this phenomenon to us.

To further clarify, we don't consider this to be a false positive. What we though is that "google.com" address should belong to the Google company and therefore we have updated the Home Network Security routines to check for that. (for google and many other domains)

Now, it seems it is not true with many ISPs. ISPs do sometimes redirect some domains onto their own servers.

We do NOT consider this to be a false alarm. These things seems to happen with some ISP and HNS has correctly detected it does happen. However, it was wrong to report this issue as a sign of hacker infection on your router.

This is most probably something you should not be concerned about - after all you should trust your ISP :-) and ISP is "most probably" doing this to speedup your network access or to provide caching for frequently accessed pages.

You don't have to run anything on your machine to fix that - we just stopped reporting this specific scenario. The commands David (jursa) mentioned bellow are just for the curious ones - do you want to know if the ISP caches google sites for you or not?

What we will do now is investigating the case in more detail and possibly find out what are the reasons for ISPs to do that. In the future we might re-introduce this check into HNS scan again, but with more appropriate wording - for some users it might be interresting to know that they are not talking with google (or other companies) directly.

Thanks a lot again,
Lukas.
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: herculespapadimitrakis@yahoo.com on January 18, 2016, 05:40:49 PM
Thank you for clarifying this for us and looking into it so quickly!!!!
Title: Re: Highjacked DNS records. Need help BIGTIME help please
Post by: xamongxthexdeadx@juno.com on February 07, 2016, 04:55:26 AM
Anyone else still experiencing this issue? My router firmware is current as is my Avast. Still get the router weak password warning when access to admin is a 20 digit randomized (letters, #s, symbols, etc) password. Try to repair through Programs, no luck.