Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: lsacchi on May 17, 2016, 10:19:19 AM

Title: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 17, 2016, 10:19:19 AM
Hi All,

first of all forgive me for my english  :)

I have an old notebook with WIN XP and avast 2015.10.4.2233.
The notebook is connected via wifi to a router (alcatel y900) for mobile connection to the Internet.
It is possible to activate/deactivate the connection to the Internet and setting the router parameters through some web management pages on the router (accessible via http://192.168.1.1).
The problem is that when the avast web shield is activated, you can not see the active content of the web management pages of the router : the page is loaded with no warning issued but is blank!
As far as I can understand, the router's web pages (html 5.0) contains some scripting content based on JS and "modernizr" (a js library which is designed to detect HTML5 and CSS3 features).
When I stop avast web shield, immediately all works fine.
I have tried to make esclusions of the urls involved with the router management in the Active protection - web shied section and in the scripting section too:
http://192.168.1.1/*
http://192.168.1.1/JS/*
http://192.168.1.1/JS/LIBS/*
but they don't work! (..and no warning is issued).
Any one can help me understand what is going wrong and why the avast web shield is blocking these contents?
Thank you in advance
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 17, 2016, 10:26:53 AM
Upgrade to the latest avast version and see if the problem is solved or not.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 17, 2016, 10:29:37 AM
The notebook is very old...
I do not want, for the moment, make a program update.
All went fine previously.
Thank you
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 17, 2016, 10:31:56 AM
It doesn't matter if it is a old system.
If it supports the SSE2 instruction set the latest avast version will work on it.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 17, 2016, 10:33:52 AM
as i have said, for the moment i want to mantain 2015 version
thank you
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 18, 2016, 08:13:33 AM
..anyone in the forum can help me to fix this?  :(
thankyou
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 18, 2016, 11:53:47 AM
A lot of things have changed since the 2015 version.
Install the latest version and check if the problem is solved.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 18, 2016, 03:09:14 PM
Eddy, you have just replied this to me , but this is not at at all a solution because it does not help me in understanding the problem.
For the moment, as i have just said, I do not want to upgrade the version.
So thank you for your patience and precious effort but, if you do not have any kind of technical help to supply, please refrain from reply and leave that some else try to understand the problem.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 18, 2016, 03:13:41 PM
The blank page has happened before and avast has changed things to make it work correctly.
It seems you are reluctant to solve the problem which is ofcourse your choice.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 18, 2016, 03:27:22 PM
The blank page happens ONLY when the avast web shied is on, when the avast web shied is off the page work correctly.
I want to understand and solve the problem but i do NOT WANT to upgrade the program.
Once again let some one else more experienced try to help
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: bruce_b on May 18, 2016, 11:44:46 PM
Depending on what browser you have try adding the URL of the Modem/Router to the Proxy Exception list as below:

For Internet Explorer:

Adding an Exception in Internet Explorer

    Go to Tools >> Internet Options.
    Click on the Connections tab.
    Click on LAN settings in the Local Area Network (LAN) settings section.
    Click on the Advanced button in the Proxy Server section.
    Add your exceptions in the Exceptions section, separated by semi-colon


For Firefox:

Adding an Exception in Firefox

    Go to Tools >> Options.
    Click on Advanced.
    Select the Network tab.
    Click on the Settings button in the Connection section.
    Add your exceptions to the No Proxy for field, each separated by a comma.

For Opera: http://help.opera.com/Mac/12.10/en/server.html

I am fairly certain this will fix your problem.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 19, 2016, 06:55:02 AM
thank you for your kind reply.

I have only firefox installed on the notebook and there is no proxy betwen the pc and the wifi router...
I am not sure to undestand why is needed to set such exception if no proxy is used.
Moreover, as I explained, when the web-shield is off all works fine, so the actual configuration of the browser (as-is) should be correct.
Thank you again
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: bruce_b on May 19, 2016, 01:40:15 PM
I can not give you a specific reason as to why it must be done. But that is what I had to do
to get access to my router as well and I also do not use a Proxy. I run XP Pro SP3 with the
latest Avast Free Antivirus installed. I think it has something to do with how DNS works. Not sure
but try what I said to do and see if you can access the Router / Modem home page properly.
I am almost certain this will solve your issue. See screen shot for how my Firefox is set up:

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 19, 2016, 03:48:05 PM
As far as iI know, proxy esclusions are effective only when a proxy is used, exactly to bypass the proxy itself (for instance it is useless passing through the proxy to go to a local url like localhost or 127.0.0.1 or in general for a intranet address).
That's way the esclusions are greyed in the connection settings when  the setting "No proxy" is selected.
Furthermore, as I said, when the avast web-shield is off all work fine without any esclusion in the browser connection setting...that's why I think there is something wrong whith avast.
When I installed and started to use the new router (alcatel y900) all went fine with avast , then suddenly started the mis-behaviour...
...I am starting to think that some virus definition update (same program version)  that I have performed after the router installation has inserted something that is causing the mis-behaviour...
Anyway thank you for your patience and advice :-) , I will try it (maybe it works :-)) as soon as I got home.
Cheers
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 20, 2016, 06:46:06 AM
I have tryed to apply the suggestion but it does not solve the issue
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lukor on May 20, 2016, 04:18:11 PM
You can try to turn script scanning off - in the Settings of WebShield.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lukor on May 20, 2016, 04:19:29 PM
What about making a packet capture (or fiddler capture) of the traffic with and without webshield? If you'd have this, send it to me and we migh come up with some explanations.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 23, 2016, 06:45:31 AM
Thank you for your attention!  :)
I have also tryed your suggestion to turn off script scanning but it does not change nothing...
Your suggestion is too technical for me.. could you explain me how to perform this "packet capture" and the tool to utilize?
BTW is there any avast log in which we can find some others useful information?
Thank you again
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 07:19:11 AM
Free and very good tool for packet capturing > https://www.wireshark.org/
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 23, 2016, 08:16:40 AM
lukor have offered to help in analyzing the issue so I'd rather wait for their support about the correct way in performing the packet capture and the tool to adopt (as I said I am not too into developing stuffs).
I have taken a look on the site you suggested but seems that their tool is not the best as far as winXP is concerned:

"The  current  version  of  Wireshark  should  support  any  version  of  Windows  that  is  still  within  its
extended support lifetime. At the time of writing this includes Windows 10, 8, 7, Vista, Server 2016,
Server 2012 R2, Server 2012, Server 2008 R2, and Server 2008."
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 08:23:32 AM
https://www.wireshark.org/download/win32/all-versions/
Version 1.10.x is working fine on XP
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 23, 2016, 08:40:23 AM
thank you for your info.
The version at present available on the site is 2.0.3 and the old stable release is 1.12.11
Now, if you do not mind, I will wait for the reply of lukor
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 08:47:21 AM
See reply #16
Lukor did suggested to record the packets so he can have a look at them.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 23, 2016, 09:04:25 AM
See reply #17 and see reply #19
please as I said in reply #7 and #9 refrain from reply to this topic
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 09:32:52 AM
Reply #17
Quote
could you explain me how to perform this "packet capture" and the tool to utilize?
I am giving you a tool that can be used.
It really isn't hard to use it.
- Install it
- Run it
- Normally the correct network device is selected, if not select the correct one
- Hit the capture button
- Try to open the routers IP in your browser.
- Stop the capture after about e.g. 3 minutes.
- Save the log file

Do those steps with and without the webshield enabled.
It really isn't hard to do.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: lsacchi on May 23, 2016, 09:48:14 AM
maybe you really do not understand: my request was for lukor and not for you
See reply #17, #19 and #21 (all your suggestion are useless)
from here on out I will ignore all your replies

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 10:08:30 AM
You came to a public webboard for help.
Be glad that there are people who are willing to help you for free here.

Help Lukor and at the same time yourself.
Create the two logs and let Lukor have a look at them.
Keep in mind that he isn't using your system.
That means you need to give him the information he wants.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: s.luca on May 23, 2016, 10:20:44 AM
Mybe you are a troll...

I will wait for lukor reply

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 10:22:18 AM
The only troll here seem to be you.

You come here asking for help and then you refuse to accept it. :(
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: s.luca on May 23, 2016, 10:52:01 AM
I don't think so and anyone can see the poor level of help that you give.

- You were only able to insistently suggest to upgrade the version when I clarify that I did not want to do so (reply #1, #3, #6, #8...
...honestly in reply #8 you give also a very "meditated" technical explanation:
"The blank page has happened before and avast has changed things to make it work correctly." ...?? non sense!!

When I finally got a reply from an avast representative (lukor) and was asking HIM some help, then you made another inappropriate intervention suggesting a tool that is no more used for WinXP (on the site documentation is clearly reported that support for winxp is "deprecated" since release 1.12.0 and the only versions available are 2.0.3 and 1.12.11)
...I wonder if you are an "evangelist" or a sales representative... (I could exclude the first...)

Finally you insist in reply when you were asked (more and more times) from refrain to do so that is trolling to me.

I hope NOT to hear from you soon!


Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: s.luca on May 23, 2016, 11:11:34 AM
I would make a question to the moderators of the forum.

I have noticed that till reply 26 my profile was:
junior member
** (two stars)
Posts:21

then after reply #25 it changed in:
newby
* (one stars)
Posts: 2

Is there any reason for that?
I am not afraid of the "downgrade" because I just want to solve my problem with avast (or decide to install another product), but I'd like to understand what rules are you following, because I honestly do not think to have violate any (not me at least)
Thank you
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Asyn on May 23, 2016, 11:15:53 AM
Is there any reason for that?
Seems, you're using two different profiles ("lsacchi" & "s.luca").
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: s.luca on May 23, 2016, 11:21:16 AM
I have performed the registration on the forum with lsacchi and I am using this profile to post on the forum
Also the other profile is mine and was created because of a registration problem.
Is this a problem?
Can I merge the two's?
Thank you
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Asyn on May 23, 2016, 11:23:26 AM
Can I merge the two's?
Only the forum admin can merge them, afaik.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: s.luca on May 23, 2016, 11:29:37 AM
Ok, so I ask kindly to the forum admin to restore the previous profile information.
Thank you
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Asyn on May 23, 2016, 11:32:14 AM
Ok, so I ask kindly to the forum admin to restore the previous profile information.
Thank you
You'll need to PM him: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?action=pm;sa=send;u=14298
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 11:45:32 AM
Quote
I don't think so and anyone can see the poor level of help that you give.
It it really simple.
If the new(est) version doesn't give you that problem..
1] The problem is solved.
2] avast knows the changes in the webshield between the two versions and very likely can tell you what the problem is.

Quote
"The blank page has happened before and avast has changed things to make it work correctly." ...?? non sense!!
There where people reporting the same problem.
After avast has changed some things in the webshield, the problem was gone.
And that is non sense ?

Quote
When I finally got a reply from an avast representative (lukor) and was asking HIM some help
No, you asked for help. Period.
This is a public webboard and anyone can and is allowed to respond.
If you only want help from someone from avast, you should have used the ticket system and not this webboard.
Quote
then you made another inappropriate intervention suggesting a tool that is no more used for WinXP (on the site documentation is clearly reported that support for winxp is "deprecated" since release 1.12.0
I never said that the tool is no more used on XP, I said it works fine on XP.
The site only says support for XP is deprecated, nothing more nothing less.
Quote
and the only versions available are 2.0.3 and 1.12.11)
As I already showed you, older versions are still available.[/quote]
Quote
...I wonder if you are an "evangelist" or a sales representative... (I could exclude the first...)
No, you can't exclude the first.
It is a "title" that avast only gives to a small amount of people.
Sales representative ?
If I was, I would be a real bad one.
I never have even tried to sell you anything. :P

Asyn, you are correct.
It is possible to merge accounts and it can be done through (my)sql instructions.
Code: [Select]
UPDATE smf_messages SET ID_MEMBER = 'his_new_member_id', posterName = 'his_new_username' WHERE posterName = 'his_old_username';
UPDATE smf_polls SET ID_MEMBER = 'his_new_member_id', posterName = 'his_new_username' WHERE posterName = 'his_old_username';
UPDATE smf_topics SET ID_MEMBER_STARTED = 'his_new_member_id' WHERE ID_MEMBER_STARTED = 'his_old_member_id';
UPDATE smf_topics SET ID_MEMBER_UPDATED = 'his_new_member_id' WHERE ID_MEMBER_UPDATED = 'his_old_member_id';
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: s.luca on May 23, 2016, 12:10:27 PM

Afraid to hear from you once again... :(

Once more I will wait for lukor (avast representative) kind reply (instructions and tool to utilize) otherwise I will change the AV product (..if I will lucky I do not find you in that forum)

Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: Eddy on May 23, 2016, 12:18:08 PM
And how do you think he can have a look at the log files and try to help you if you don't provide them ?

Follow his suggestion.
Get a packet capture tool.
Create the log files.
Show them to him.
Title: Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
Post by: s.luca on May 23, 2016, 12:21:37 PM
OK the first you have said:
"Follow his suggestion."

I will follow his suggestion as soon as he will reply to my request (instructions and tool).