Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: hectic-mmv on April 28, 2017, 03:00:36 PM

Title: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: hectic-mmv on April 28, 2017, 03:00:36 PM
Hi everyone,

new beta version 17.4.2294 is here  8).
 
What's new:
- fixes and things under the hood
- fixed several crashes in web shield
- fixed crashing setup during VPS update on 32b OSes

 
Download links:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0


Enjoy this beta!
We are looking forward to your feedback.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Lord_Ami on April 28, 2017, 04:22:07 PM
Thanks for the update! Went smooth as usual.

EDIT:
Same on second PC.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 28, 2017, 04:52:42 PM
Testing it asap...
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: NON on April 28, 2017, 06:48:21 PM
Thanks for the new beta ;D
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on April 28, 2017, 06:59:26 PM
Just updated from the UI of 17.4.2293.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Rednose on April 29, 2017, 12:22:00 AM
Thnx guys :)

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 29, 2017, 08:35:57 AM
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: NON on April 29, 2017, 09:31:20 AM
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: alice0775 on April 29, 2017, 11:26:00 AM
tested with Avast Beta 17.4.2294,
 :(Nothing is fixed the problem ( https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=199732.0 ).
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 29, 2017, 05:37:26 PM
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on April 29, 2017, 06:32:59 PM
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.

Mine appears fine as I hadn't done a context scan in some time.

I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.

The is getting frustrating avast fix something and seem to break something else, though I did find and report this in 17.4.2293.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 29, 2017, 06:47:21 PM
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.
Mine appears fine as I hadn't done a context scan in some time.
After rebooting the system, the entry/bug (Reply #6) is gone. (Didn't try to reproduce it yet)
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 29, 2017, 06:51:48 PM
I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.
Hi Dave, can't reproduce this one. The funny thing is, I don't get any notifications after running a scan at all.
Wonder, if this is another bug or just a sloppy workaround for the smart-scan rescan issue...
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on April 29, 2017, 07:00:23 PM
I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.
Hi Dave, can't reproduce this one. The funny thing is, I don't get any notifications after running a scan at all.
Wonder, if this is another bug or just a sloppy workaround for the smart-scan rescan issue...

Sloppy may well be the case in getting rid of one bug only to create another. Given that my test system is my XP Pro SP3 desktop, as it has the greatest protection and a really robust backup and recovery strategy. And some had been reporting issues with XP, but I didn't suffer with them.

However, I did experience this in the last beta and reported it also in the 17.4.2293 beta, https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201164.msg1389908#msg1389908 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201164.msg1389908#msg1389908).
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 29, 2017, 09:49:40 PM
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.
Mine appears fine as I hadn't done a context scan in some time.
After rebooting the system, the entry/bug (Reply #6) is gone. (Didn't try to reproduce it yet)
OK, just tried it again and this bug is reproducible.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 29, 2017, 11:28:50 PM
Erm, another Chrome ad, this time in the SU... ::)
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on April 29, 2017, 11:41:05 PM
I'm in luck, no Chrome ad for me.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 29, 2017, 11:57:12 PM
I'm in luck, no Chrome ad for me.
Lucky you..!
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on April 30, 2017, 12:31:45 AM
I'm in luck, no Chrome ad for me.
Lucky you..!

I generally have no problem with the ad in the bottom quarter of the UI main page,  but to start shoving them in other sections of the UI is I believe a step too far.

With popup ads, the one in the main page of the UI and now in other UI pages, isn't going to endear the user to purchase (or install) what is being rammed down their throats.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Giraffe on April 30, 2017, 10:47:53 AM
Why all this pushing of Chrome - money? I wouldn't ever use Chrome itself - possibly Vivaldi or another derivative at a push..
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on April 30, 2017, 11:03:49 AM
I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.
Hi Dave, can't reproduce this one. The funny thing is, I don't get any notifications after running a scan at all.
Wonder, if this is another bug or just a sloppy workaround for the smart-scan rescan issue...
I meanwhile can confirm the issue.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on April 30, 2017, 11:09:32 AM
I have however found another bug (the Invisible Smart Scan), after boot I opened the UI to check if the same issue as yours was present but mine was OK.

I did however notice that there was the Red circle with '1' over the Bell (notifications), clicking that it reports Smart Scan - 'We found some issues.' Well I never ran a Smart Scan and as per previous issue No Report in Scan History or entry in the log file.
Hi Dave, can't reproduce this one. The funny thing is, I don't get any notifications after running a scan at all.
Wonder, if this is another bug or just a sloppy workaround for the smart-scan rescan issue...
I meanwhile can confirm the issue.

A good sign (bad for you though) perhaps avast might be able to replicate it.

That's the weird thing there is no on-screen indication that a Smart Scan ran (presumably because it didn't), just the Notification entry when you next open the UI after a reboot.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Sadhu35 on May 01, 2017, 05:08:43 PM
 IDP still conflict with Mactype , unable exclude from IDP scanning.
http://www.mactype.net/
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on May 02, 2017, 10:35:35 AM
Found a GUI bug, see screenshot. (German GUI)
Confirmed here, too. I have 4 of them.
As each of their settings have certain path in the "Scan Areas" section, it looks like a remnant of context menu (Windows Explorer) scan in the past.
Hi NON, seems you're on the right track. Cheers.
Mine appears fine as I hadn't done a context scan in some time.
After rebooting the system, the entry/bug (Reply #6) is gone. (Didn't try to reproduce it yet)
OK, just tried it again and this bug is reproducible.
Note: This bug has been fixed, just reboot you system. Cheers.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on May 02, 2017, 11:32:04 AM
@ Asyn
Quote from: Asyn
Note: This bug has been fixed, just reboot you system. Cheers.

Thanks for that I'm not on my 17.4.2294 system right now but will start it up when I get back.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on May 02, 2017, 11:36:31 AM
You're welcome Dave. Cheers.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on May 02, 2017, 03:59:35 PM
You're welcome Dave. Cheers.

I have started my avast 17.4.2294 XP Pro system, I ran the avast emergency update function for good measure and then rebooted.

I can now confirm that the Invisible Smart Scan in the Notifications area when you open the avastUI bug has been squashed.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Yashinsider on May 07, 2017, 10:15:46 AM
this beta version having bug of connecting to internet
when i turned off all shields then my internet is working otherwise its not working.

solve this isssue

Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on May 07, 2017, 10:29:37 AM
The beta is a final now: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201729.0
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on May 07, 2017, 11:03:57 AM
The beta is a final now: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201729.0

That's a tough call, there seems to be more issues in the regular release than there was in the beta.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on May 07, 2017, 11:17:27 AM
The beta is a final now: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201729.0
That's a tough call, there seems to be more issues in the regular release than there was in the beta.
Well, it's the same build, so there shouldn't be any difference.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: DavidR on May 07, 2017, 11:50:47 AM
The beta is a final now: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201729.0
That's a tough call, there seems to be more issues in the regular release than there was in the beta.
Well, it's the same build, so there shouldn't be any difference.

Which is what I hate about keeping the same version build when going from beta to regular release. Not to mention there was a micro fix/emergency update thrown into the mix so the build should technically have changed then ???
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.4.2294
Post by: Asyn on May 07, 2017, 12:02:58 PM
Not to mention there was a micro fix/emergency update thrown into the mix so the build should technically have changed then ???
Nope, this bug has been fixed on server side.