Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: baudav on May 20, 2017, 11:09:10 AM

Title: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 20, 2017, 11:09:10 AM
Not sure that Avast is still an antivirus! It warns of unnecessary news, unnecessary stats, pubs ... but does not even prevent when an update of the program is required, only a tiny exclamation point appears in the notification icon!

Option is set to request when update is available.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: DavidR on May 20, 2017, 11:21:03 AM
Given that you are posting in the Beta sub-forum, I can only presume this is the recently released beta 17.4.2295 (as 17.4.2294 has been out for a while) ?

If so you are on the beta channel and program updates are handled differently (as far as I'm aware) to the regular Program Updates as they want the beta version updates to all of those on the beta channel. If you have previously used the beta version you are on the beta channel, to change that you need to download and install the current avast version 17.4.2294.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 20, 2017, 11:38:41 AM
I use beta: 17.4.2294 (I forgot that I had removed my signature)
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: DavidR on May 20, 2017, 12:00:29 PM
I use beta: 17.4.2294 (I forgot that I had removed my signature)


That is no longer in beta, it was released to regular program update, the current beta is 17.4.2295 and that will no doubt be what this exclamation point over the avast tray icon is about.

Another point, even when you have the regular release installed, those on the Beta Channel will still have Beta on the user interface. So at times it may appear you are on the beta when you are running the regular version.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 20, 2017, 01:07:03 PM
ok, understand why no warning. it's just a new beta.

But I do not understand why a version with which you can not use the https scan (web agent) on bugs.chromium.org; Google translate .. switch to stable release !

Just after upgrade to beta 17.4.2295, no found problem to display this https page.
I removed AVAST to switch to stable.. and this problem not solved. must use avast without scan https
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: DavidR on May 20, 2017, 02:50:29 PM
<snip>
But I do not understand why a version with which you can not use the https scan (web agent) on bugs.chromium.org; Google translate .. switch to stable release !

If this was the case there would be masses of posts in forums about this and I'm not seeing that. I didn't experiencing that on my XP system that I use for beta testing.

Just after upgrade to beta 17.4.2295, no found problem to display this https page.
I removed AVAST to switch to stable.. and this problem not solved. must use avast without scan https

I have yet to update my XP system to the beta 17.4.2295 build, but since I didn't have the problem in 17.4.2294 I'm not expecting to find this issue.

Interestingly there is no mention of web shield fixes in the new beta - https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=202655.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=202655.0).
Quote from: Extract of fixes 17.4.2295 change log.
This is more service release. Internally, we did major change in our internal infrastructure which should improve release and development process.

Under the hood there are fixes of:
- crashes in installer during VPS update
- update GUI framework renderer - libcef
- fixes in licensing library
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 20, 2017, 04:25:26 PM
...when an update of the program is required, only a tiny exclamation point appears in the notification icon!

Option is set to request when update is available.
Hi, in fact I got a popup about the new beta.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 20, 2017, 06:39:18 PM
I have yet to update my XP system to the beta 17.4.2295 build, but since I didn't have the problem in 17.4.2294 I'm not expecting to find this issue.

Interestingly there is no mention of web shield fixes in the new beta - https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=202655.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=202655.0).

Win XP  ;D  ,OK Latest Chrome not support XP.
and perhaps work because not use TLS1.2 and ECDHE with XP
(http://i.imgur.com/0qTH3hO.png)

I check another time if it's work with latest beta.. or perhaps work because enable HTTPS scan after reboot,and avast not enable it immediately?
I check and post result in previous subject: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201694.msg1391029 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201694.msg1391029)

Quote
Hi, in fact I got a popup about the new beta.
After reboot? or when use PC ?
I not receive popup, but my PC not restarted for more day and use standby.
And I had not seen the request of reboot necessary in beta during the last update with the setting 'Automatic update'; it's why I switched to request when update exist.
You use same setting? I see another option to request when update is downloaded.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: DavidR on May 20, 2017, 06:56:27 PM
I have yet to update my XP system to the beta 17.4.2295 build, but since I didn't have the problem in 17.4.2294 I'm not expecting to find this issue.

Interestingly there is no mention of web shield fixes in the new beta - https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=202655.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=202655.0).

Win XP  ;D  ,OK Latest Chrome not support XP.
and perhaps work because not use TLS1.2 and ECDHE with XP
(http://i.imgur.com/0qTH3hO.png)

I check another time if it's work with latest beta.. or perhaps work because enable HTTPS scan after reboot,and avast not enable it immediately?
I check and post result in previous subject: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201694.msg1391029 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=201694.msg1391029)
<snip>

Personally, I couldn't be happier about Chrome not supporting XP, if only avast would acknowledge that and stop offering chrome to me in various avast ads :)

That said Firefox (my browser of choice) is planned to go the same way and possibly others also.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 20, 2017, 07:28:02 PM
Quote
Hi, in fact I got a popup about the new beta.
1. After reboot? or when use PC ?
2. ...it's why I switched to request when update exist. You use same setting?
1. While I was working.
2. Yep, it's set to "ask" here.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 20, 2017, 07:57:04 PM
1. While I was working.
2. Yep, it's set to "ask" here.
ask, but ask when update exist, or ask when it downloaded ?
(http://i.imgur.com/jOjMD0s.png)
in french, I not installed english
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 20, 2017, 08:08:49 PM
Same as yours. (See Screenshot)
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 20, 2017, 08:29:11 PM
 :-\  I wait the next update
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 20, 2017, 09:05:44 PM
:-\  I wait the next update
OK, maybe I can fetch a screenshot next time.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 23, 2017, 01:15:12 PM
new beta 2296. same as before, see it more time after wake up PC (sleep S3), just icon to say update (http://i.imgur.com/xFJFsol.png) new update available.
(http://i.imgur.com/pvwarRf.png)
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: A. User on May 29, 2017, 08:21:15 PM
It also happens on the stable version.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 30, 2017, 05:06:16 AM
:-\  I wait the next update
OK, maybe I can fetch a screenshot next time.
Here you go, screenshot attached.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 30, 2017, 06:07:23 AM
I restarted my computer yesterday after clic update program (manually)

My global setting:
(http://i.imgur.com/awxHSgQ.png)

and see this day after check settings! (no reboot since yesterday, just sleep S3)  another time avast wait for reboot, but no alert, no request to reboot, avast icon not change statut!
status displayed is GOOD !!
(http://i.imgur.com/2os4XVi.png)
(http://i.imgur.com/Qo4kMmE.png)
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 30, 2017, 07:41:48 AM
I restarted my computer yesterday after clic update program (manually)

[...]

and see this day after check settings! (no reboot since yesterday, just sleep S3)  another time avast wait for reboot, but no alert, no request to reboot, avast icon not change statut! status displayed is GOOD !!
Hi, I also updated manually (via GUI) and got this notification. (See screenshot)
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: A. User on May 30, 2017, 08:50:22 AM
I might have misunderstood something. The issue with Avast stable is that when the option "Ask when update is downloaded" is selected Avast doesn't popup a message saying "There is an update to Avast, click here to start the update", but only shows a yellow triangle in the tray. And what about the users who think - "hey, I will get a popup if there is a bug in my Avast and it needs to update. I am protected." But there is a bug and Avast doesn't update because you don't know it is not going to notify you of an update and your tray icon is hidden!? I am not even sure of Program Updates was one of the default selected options to monitor for the security status.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 30, 2017, 09:02:32 AM
The issue with Avast stable is...
Hi, we're discussing the latest beta versions in this forum-section..!!
I'd suggest to post/ask here: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 30, 2017, 09:10:03 AM
First: I choice with beta update auto for program
 problem: it never popup to request reboot

Second: I choice to request when update exist (better choice, REQUEST and can connect to wifi/lan before update when use low connection)
 And because it's beta change check status to include program version (by default disabled)
 problem: it never popup to say new version exist (just add ! in avast notification, not hidden but tiny icon) and not change status.

Yesterday after manually upgrade, Avast request to reboot and can postpone it.. popup again after the elapsed time..
I restarted PC.. This morning (to make screenshot) I see avast wait for reboot !!!
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 30, 2017, 09:17:09 AM
Well, as you can see in my posted screenshots, it works for me.
I'd suggest to try a clean reinstall of the latest beta and see if it helps.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: baudav on May 30, 2017, 09:22:58 AM
already a clean install (use cleanup avast tools before install beta; for first post).
But perhaps must just use the default avast settings and never choice another option?
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: Asyn on May 30, 2017, 10:40:19 AM
Hi, I meanwhile can confirm the second (silent) reboot request.
And I didn't get any notification for it either. This might be a bug.
Title: Re: no popup when AVAST require reboot/update!
Post by: A. User on May 30, 2017, 07:58:47 PM

Hi, we're discussing the latest beta versions in this forum-section..!!
I'd suggest to post/ask here: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2)
I know, I just posted before about this issue and later saw that the issue you're talking about might be a different one so I posted to correct myself.