Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: hectic-mmv on June 16, 2017, 08:32:32 PM

Title: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: hectic-mmv on June 16, 2017, 08:32:32 PM
Hi everyone,

new beta version 17.5.2300 is released.

We fixed:
- Web Shield issues
- Ransomware Shield UI glitches
- general crashes reported by users
 
Download links:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0


Enjoy this beta!
We are looking forward to your feedback.

AVAST Team.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Secondmineboy on June 16, 2017, 08:33:31 PM
Hi everyone,

new beta version 17.5.2300 is released.

We fixed:
- Web Shield issues
- Ransomware Shield UI glitches
- general crashes reported by users
 
Download links:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0


Enjoy this beta!
We are looking forward to your feedback.

AVAST Team.

Very nice grammar.......
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: hectic-mmv on June 16, 2017, 08:36:56 PM
Hi everyone,

new beta version 17.5.2300 is released.

We fixed:
- Web Shield issues
- Ransomware Shield UI glitches
- general crashes reported by users
 
Download links:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0


Enjoy this beta!
We are looking forward to your feedback.

AVAST Team.

Very nice grammar.......

Time to start enjoying it and go home for me
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 16, 2017, 08:39:01 PM
What happened to Status monitoring :o

Avast - Settings - General - Status monitoring

It is not available anymore ...

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: REDACTED on June 16, 2017, 10:52:07 PM
web shield issue, but not for https for play.google.com or bugs.chromium.org. problem persist
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Alikhan on June 16, 2017, 10:57:36 PM
It would help to expand on which Web Shield issues were fixed.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: NON on June 17, 2017, 05:47:27 AM
Thanks for the new beta :)
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 17, 2017, 07:22:28 AM
What happened to Status monitoring :o
Avast - Settings - General - Status monitoring
It is not available anymore ...
Confirmed. It's gone. :-\
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 17, 2017, 10:01:00 AM
What happened to Status monitoring :o
Avast - Settings - General - Status monitoring
It is not available anymore ...
Confirmed. It's gone. :-\

Do you know if this was Intentionally or by omission/accident ?
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 17, 2017, 10:26:10 AM
I really have no idea David :-\

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 17, 2017, 10:40:50 AM
I really have no idea David :-\
Me neither, my best guess is that is has been dropped (for whatever reason).
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 17, 2017, 11:20:11 AM
I really have no idea David :-\
Me neither, my best guess is that is has been dropped (for whatever reason).

Thanks guys, I guess we will have to wait for a response, I think that many find this handy.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Lord_Ami on June 17, 2017, 11:35:58 AM
Update went smooth. Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.

I believe there was this new string that said something: Restart required. We will continue to protect you but suggest you to restart your computer as soon as possible.

This (or any other restart request) is not visible on main UI. Maybe tied to the missing Status monitoring?
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 17, 2017, 04:56:17 PM
I really have no idea David :-\
Me neither, my best guess is that is has been dropped (for whatever reason).
Thanks guys, I guess we will have to wait for a response, I think that many find this handy.
NP Dave. And I agree, it is/was a quite handy feature.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 17, 2017, 04:59:58 PM
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Lord_Ami on June 17, 2017, 05:03:38 PM
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 17, 2017, 05:10:23 PM
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.
I see. I didn't check it, but I will have a look at the main GUI after the next beta update. Cheers.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 17, 2017, 05:34:29 PM
I asked Petr Kurtin ( one of the Avast Head Developers ) why "Status monitoring" was removed in this Beta, but he has no idea either.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 17, 2017, 06:09:52 PM
I asked Petr Kurtin ( one of the Avast Head Developers ) why "Status monitoring" was removed in this Beta, but he has no idea either.

Greetz, Red.


Thanks for that, looks more like an omission/accident. Hopefully we will see it return soon.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 17, 2017, 08:54:18 PM
I asked Petr Kurtin ( one of the Avast Head Developers ) why "Status monitoring" was removed in this Beta, but he has no idea either.
Thanks for that, looks more like an omission/accident. Hopefully we will see it return soon.
Hi guys, I asked about it on Slack, let's see... ;)
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Zeniit on June 18, 2017, 01:32:34 PM
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.

+1 Lord_Ami

Confirmed, nothing here too on the Main UI.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Lord_Ami on June 18, 2017, 01:59:53 PM
Only "issue" I caught is that even after updating via Settings, main UI shows nothing about Restart needed.
Can't confirm it, I got the usual pop-up. (Screenshot attached)
I got this too. But Main UI (when you open Avast) does not show anything about restart required. It used to show it.

+1 Lord_Ami

Confirmed, nothing here too on the Main UI.
Nice :)
All in all, I think it has to do with the missing Status monitoring.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: MartinZ on June 19, 2017, 11:02:00 AM
What happened to Status monitoring :o
Avast - Settings - General - Status monitoring
It is not available anymore ...
Confirmed. It's gone. :-\

Hi yes status monitoring was removed as the system of warning messages has been changed. Now you can Ignore specific messages directly on the dashboard. The ignored warnings can be later found in the notification center.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Gopher John on June 19, 2017, 11:59:36 AM
What happened to Status monitoring :o
Avast - Settings - General - Status monitoring
It is not available anymore ...
Confirmed. It's gone. :-\

Hi yes status monitoring was removed as the system of warning messages has been changed. Now you can Ignore specific messages directly on the dashboard. The ignored warnings can be later found in the notification center.

Does this mean that the user won't see that a shield is disabled if the AvastUI is not opened?
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: MartinZ on June 19, 2017, 12:24:41 PM
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2017, 12:34:38 PM
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.

I just tested it, but it doesn't warn when "Ransomware shield" and "Real site" are disabled.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 19, 2017, 12:50:01 PM
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.
I just tested it, but it doesn't warn when "Ransomware shield" and "Real site" are disabled.
Hi Red, it works for me, see screenshots. Cheers.

Edit: I may correct myself, I did test it with behavior shield, it doesn't show up if ransomware protection is disabled (Real Site not installed).
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Eddy on June 19, 2017, 01:06:49 PM
Stats still haven't returned.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 19, 2017, 01:24:53 PM
No it doesn't mean that. The behavior of the systray icon stays the same. So in case a shield is turned off user will be notified by yellow mark on the systray icon, then UI opens with details why it's yellow. And with an option to ignore such warning.


Surely that was the point of the status monitoring, to allow the user to disable notification on certain components in advance of any warning. Previously I believe the Behaviour Shield status monitoring option was off by default, how then would we know if an option was disabled for a shield ?

I had also unchecked the Program Update status monitoring option in this current beta session as I had many BSODs on one of the beta builds and decided to drop back to the last stable beta.

So are you saying that once you get the warning for the first time you can elect to ignore that for all time ?
If so how would the user reverse and temporary use of the status monitoring option in the past.

Or are you going to have to ignore it every time, which doesn't seem very intuitive to me.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: NON on June 19, 2017, 01:31:27 PM
The new "ignore" feature does not remember what shields is ignored.
i.e. Once Behav shield got ignored, Mail shield will get ignored too.

Also, "Unignore" does not work for me.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2017, 02:12:13 PM
Yep, NON is right,

If you ignore it for one shield, all the other shields are ignored as well.
That can't be right imo.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: MartinZ on June 19, 2017, 05:04:31 PM
yes Ignore and Unignore is still a little bit broken, working on fixing that
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 19, 2017, 06:00:03 PM
yes Ignore and Unignore is still a little bit broken, working on fixing that

A bit broken, is a 'bit' of an under statement.

I have to say the old adage it is isn't broken, why fix ii. What was wrong with the previous function ?

To me it seems that there have been many things changed (not just this) for changes sake, possibly to show things are being done.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Gopher John on June 19, 2017, 06:07:42 PM
It seems that a lot of Avast changes are to remove control of Avast (and it's settings) from the users, so we are blind.  Avast seems to want total control of our computers. 
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2017, 06:19:55 PM
From the systray icon you can only disable all shields at once, and that is imo undesirable as that is too much of a security risk.
It should be possible to select which shield(s) you want to disable.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 19, 2017, 06:53:39 PM
From the systray icon you can only disable all shields at once, and that is imo undesirable as that is too much of a security risk.
It should be possible to select which shield(s) you want to disable.

Greetz, Red.

Whilst that would be preferable, but that is one area 'that hasn't changed.' Whilst it is possible to disable one shield from the avastUI > Settings > components.

Something that for years was meant/promissed to be updated/improved is the very same avast tray icon context menu to allow easier access to UI areas. This has essentially remained unchanged, whilst all around us is changing and not necessarily for the benefit of the user.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: RejZoR on June 19, 2017, 08:59:11 PM
What was wrong with the status monitoring? It was perfect and one of rare AV's that had full control. With all others, as soon as you disable something, they keep on bitching about it till you enable it back, even if you don't want to for whatever reason. And it was a centralized control. Where will be these hide/unhide now? I just don't see it practical.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 19, 2017, 11:10:19 PM
Whilst that would be preferable, but that is one area 'that hasn't changed.

Well, at least you know now how much I use the systray options ;)

What was wrong with the status monitoring? It was perfect and one of rare AV's that had full control. With all others, as soon as you disable something, they keep on bitching about it till you enable it back, even if you don't want to for whatever reason. And it was a centralized control. Where will be these hide/unhide now? I just don't see it practical.

I agree.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Zeniit on June 21, 2017, 07:55:32 AM
What was wrong with the status monitoring? It was perfect and one of rare AV's that had full control. With all others, as soon as you disable something, they keep on bitching about it till you enable it back, even if you don't want to for whatever reason. And it was a centralized control. Where will be these hide/unhide now? I just don't see it practical.

+1
We need status monitoring!

Thanks,
Zeniit
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Jigsaw on June 21, 2017, 06:09:26 PM
Hi Guys

I found an bug of ransomware protection,when i add folder or drive to this option my folder or my drive for protect not add even after restart windows.

Please fix this bug
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 21, 2017, 06:22:51 PM
<snip>
I found an bug of ransomware protection,when i add folder or drive to this option my folder or my drive for protect not add even after restart windows.
<snip>

You don't say what avast version you are using (free or paid version, AIS or Premier) ?
On the free version, only the default locations are protected. Those with the AIS or Premier paid versions can add additional folders to be protected.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: RejZoR on June 21, 2017, 06:28:34 PM
<snip>
I found an bug of ransomware protection,when i add folder or drive to this option my folder or my drive for protect not add even after restart windows.
<snip>

You don't say what avast version you are using (free or paid version, AIS or Premier) ?
On the free version, only the default locations are protected. Those with the AIS or Premier paid versions can add additional folders to be protected.

When has this changed? Free protecting only default locations was just my suggestion or have they actually implemented it?
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: DavidR on June 21, 2017, 06:38:37 PM
<snip>
I found an bug of ransomware protection,when i add folder or drive to this option my folder or my drive for protect not add even after restart windows.
<snip>

You don't say what avast version you are using (free or paid version, AIS or Premier) ?
On the free version, only the default locations are protected. Those with the AIS or Premier paid versions can add additional folders to be protected.

When has this changed? Free protecting only default locations was just my suggestion or have they actually implemented it?

I thought I had read it somewhere, other than just your suggestion.

If it hasn't been implemented, then the question asked of  'mohammadi.a1370' is even more crucial as it would appear those options are in the beta build.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 21, 2017, 10:47:12 PM
Hi Guys

I found an bug of ransomware protection,when i add folder or drive to this option my folder or my drive for protect not add even after restart windows.

Please fix this bug

Confirmed.

Although this was working ( I tested it myself ) it doesn't anymore.
Also two new folders ( specific related to my system ) were added to the default protection.

My guess is they ( trying to ) tweak it with micro updates, and that is also the reason for this issue.
I will ask on Slack.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 22, 2017, 10:00:30 AM
Issue mentioned above is confirmed :

Quote
rednose: it seems that beta UI packages contain broken button or that. eta for fixing this is today.

Greetz, Red.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Asyn on June 22, 2017, 10:05:29 AM
Hi Red, thanks for the update/info. :) Cheers.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Jigsaw on June 22, 2017, 02:39:31 PM
<snip>
I found an bug of ransomware protection,when i add folder or drive to this option my folder or my drive for protect not add even after restart windows.
<snip>

You don't say what avast version you are using (free or paid version, AIS or Premier) ?
On the free version, only the default locations are protected. Those with the AIS or Premier paid versions can add additional folders to be protected.

When has this changed? Free protecting only default locations was just my suggestion or have they actually implemented it?

i have AIS but not add folder or drive not add.
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Jigsaw on June 22, 2017, 02:45:59 PM
When will this final version be?

 17.5.2300
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Lord_Ami on June 22, 2017, 05:39:57 PM
Seems like new BETA is out (3001)
While tray icon displayed yellow exclamation mark before update, it did not show it later (after update) when restart is needed.
Should it show it?
Title: Re: Avast Beta 17.5.2300
Post by: Rednose on June 22, 2017, 06:31:45 PM
Issue mentioned above is confirmed :

Quote
rednose: it seems that beta UI packages contain broken button or that. eta for fixing this is today.

Greetz, Red.

Fixed in Beta 17.5.2301 which is availabe from the Avast UI :)

Greetz, Red.