Avast WEBforum

Other => Non-Avast security products => Topic started by: Nori-chan on July 02, 2017, 05:13:46 AM

Title: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: Nori-chan on July 02, 2017, 05:13:46 AM
Hello everyone.

I have in my computer AIS, but I also have ESET Online Scanner for on-demand scans.

Today, I was scanning and it found 1 malware: the Avast Safezone installer.

Here is the Virus Total link: https://www.virustotal.com/pt/file/6e5d95babebe7698afe08597d376cf896cdfa330eae32b82c9bb1f60d9170c15/analysis/1498964719/

The file is located at: C:\Program Files\AVAST Software\SZBrowser\setup

I'm pretty sure it's a false positive, but I can't find the ESET forums to tell them about the false positive.

Does anyone know where can I find their forums?

Thank you

EDIT: Ok, I just found it and I will post there: https://forum.eset.com/
Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: Pondus on July 02, 2017, 09:04:27 AM
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=14433.msg1260414#msg1260414


What Do I Do If an Engine Detects My Safe File as a Threat?
https://www.opswat.com/blog/what-do-i-do-if-engine-detects-my-safe-file-threat

Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: Eddy on July 02, 2017, 09:24:17 AM
ESet isn't listed and I don't know how up to date the list is, but it seems handy to bookmark it.
http://www.techsupportalert.com/content/how-report-malware-or-false-positives-multiple-antivirus-vendors.htm#Easily_Submit_Malware_To_All_Vendors
Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: Pondus on July 02, 2017, 09:51:23 AM
Quote
   ESet isn't listed and I don't know how up to date the list is,
It is 
Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: Eddy on July 02, 2017, 09:59:49 AM
I expected it to be listed as ESet, not as NOD32/Eset that is why I didn't saw it.
Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: DavidR on July 02, 2017, 11:14:45 AM
@     Nori-chan
Given that:
1.  it is part of avast.
2.  only 1 of 61 scanners on VT finds anything (ESet-Nod32), there is a liklihood of it being a false positive (FP).
3.  when the malware name/detections mentions generic in the name also increases the chance of an FP.
4.  if you look at the File Detail tab in the VT results, you will see that the file is also digitally signed.
Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: FDLischke on September 27, 2017, 09:23:59 PM
i have Problem in the same.  ESET NOD32 and Malwarebyte cannot use in Avast Premier (AP). AP says " ... this ... programs are uncompatible with Avast, please remove it". ... look into the bible "never other god near me..". And Avast say "never other Antimalwaretool in my PC".
An other problem, i used "Reimage.exe" from www.reimage.com to repair my pc. it found the virus "TR/Crypt.XPack.Gen2" into the file "C:\program files\avast software\avast\wsc_proxy.exe". it find the same virus in an other path and remove it. But it cannot remove the virus in the avast-path. AP find the virus not in his own path.

1. uninstall avast complete and use an other tool to clear the pc and then install a clear version from avast-Server?


can anyone help me or have an idea.
Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: Pondus on September 27, 2017, 09:55:09 PM
Quote
An other problem, i used "Reimage.exe" from www.reimage.com to repair my pc. it found the virus "TR/Crypt.XPack.Gen2" into the file "C:\program files\avast software\avast\wsc_proxy.exe".
A classic program conflict and false positive


Why Using Multiple Antivirus Programs is a Bad Idea
https://www.kaspersky.com/blog/multiple-antivirus-programs-bad-idea/2670/

Title: Re: ESET Online Scanner detected Avast Safe zone installer as a malware
Post by: webpozycjainsetkiller on October 18, 2017, 03:21:11 PM
Wait,looks like that i didn't understand everything.... You are telling that without connection, EOS will only take more time to scan (but the scan will still find infections)? EDIT: Please remember that since I'm using Google Chrome,