Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: vonVile on November 02, 2017, 12:46:30 AM

Title: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: vonVile on November 02, 2017, 12:46:30 AM
My product's registration has expired and I can't update it or update the program. I was able to do the 30 Day registration once, but can't get to it anymore.

When I try the Register Now or Offline Registration button a window pops up, but can't connect to the server. I downloaded the latest version of Avast, but it doesn't load giving a kernel.dll error and something else. What do i do? Thanx!
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: Asyn on November 02, 2017, 04:51:36 AM
- Which Avast..? (Free/Pro/IS/Premier)
- Which version..?
- OS..? (32/64 Bit..? - which SP/Build..?)
- Other security related software installed..?
- Which AV(s) did you use before Avast..?
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: vonVile on November 04, 2017, 03:27:47 AM
I have problems with 2 old computers.

- Free
- 11.2.2262 (04.27.2016)
- XP (32 bit)
- No other security
- I had Norton on one computer and nothing on another.

After I try to register through Settings a small window pops up and tries to load and then closes. When I try to Activate there's no connection to the Avast server saying "The Online Content Is Unavailable."

Wen I try to update Avast by downloading the install file I get 2 errors:
- The procedure entry GetLogicalProcessorInformation could not be located in the dynamic link library.
- The instruction at "0x0018a3e"refrenced at "0x0018a3e." The memory could not be written.
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: Asyn on November 04, 2017, 04:27:33 AM
- XP (32 bit)
Which SP..?
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: vonVile on November 07, 2017, 10:05:04 AM
Both computers use SP 2.
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: Asyn on November 07, 2017, 10:17:53 AM
Both computers use SP 2.
You need to update to SP3, else Avast won't work.
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: DavidR on November 07, 2017, 10:23:29 AM
XP SP3 is the requirement for the latest versions of avast, also there is a requirement that your CPU (processor) can handle the SSE2 instruction set.

You may have to stick with an older version of avast.
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: vonVile on November 07, 2017, 01:17:51 PM
I don't mind using the old version, but how do I register when all I get is "The online content is unavailable?"
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: bob3160 on November 07, 2017, 02:06:06 PM
I don't mind using the old version, but how do I register when all I get is "The online content is unavailable?"
This should help you https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=164936.msg1322691#msg1322691
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: vonVile on November 16, 2017, 06:37:28 PM
Whatever Avast did it seemed to fix the problem. Both machines are now secured. Thanx!
Title: Re: I Can't Do Anything With Avast
Post by: bob3160 on November 16, 2017, 06:47:04 PM
You're welcome. Don't forget to uncheck the auto update option.