Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Beta - Avast => Topic started by: jan.svoboda on November 03, 2017, 12:50:15 PM

Title: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: jan.svoboda on November 03, 2017, 12:50:15 PM
Hi everyone,

new beta version 17.8.2317 (build 17.8.3701.0) is released.

New Features

There are no new features in Avast product in this beta version.

Fixed Bugs

Known Issues

Suggested areas of testing

We would like to ask you for deeper testing mainly in these areas:

We are aware of suspicious behavior in mentioned areas and we would like to get your feedback and bug reports regarding these areas. It is important for us to obtain more results from different scenarios, environments, OS's, and so on.

Thank you very much.

Download links:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=179943.0


Enjoy this beta!
We are looking forward to your feedback.

AVAST Team.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: bob3160 on November 03, 2017, 01:12:52 PM
(http://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1509710963892-66622.png)
The lock on the Webcam Shield, indicating a paid product, was missing right after the update.
It appeared after I selected it and received the message that it was a paid option and did I want to upgrade.  :(
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 04, 2017, 04:24:10 AM
Thanks Jan, testing...
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: NON on November 04, 2017, 09:47:06 AM
I just feel there might be new beta and viola, it is there  ;D

Thanks for new beta :)
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: corentin8 on November 04, 2017, 03:05:11 PM
Hello,
can you reintegrate the update sound of the virus base please?
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 04, 2017, 04:05:57 PM
Hello,
can you reintegrate the update sound of the virus base please?
Probably not, this is long gone...
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 04, 2017, 05:07:44 PM
Regarding the chest, same as reported in a prior beta.
-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?msg=1426092
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 04, 2017, 05:10:01 PM
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: DavidR on November 04, 2017, 06:02:33 PM
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.

My word, I would have expected this to have been caught as QA and or Alpha testing.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Patrick2 on November 04, 2017, 06:46:02 PM
Thankfully my Windows 7 Test Machine too slow to display too many of the Webshield alerts lol,  but did display 2 on that test page lol.    Would test on faster Windows 10 Desktop, but prefer testing on less used PC in case of any major issues,  debating what to do with my old AMD FX system as well, possibly might convert that to secondary Windows 10 System

Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: TheLightgg on November 04, 2017, 09:54:43 PM
Have you had any memory leak issues with this release? Avast used 2 GB of RAM and used 25% of my CPU even when disabled.

I will try to reproduce the problem.

(https://i.imgur.com/LHwg1w5.png)
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 04, 2017, 10:17:17 PM
Have you had any memory leak issues with this release? Avast used 2 GB of RAM and used 25% of my CPU even when disabled.
Nope, no such issues here.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: TheLightgg on November 04, 2017, 11:55:08 PM
How do I recover a quarantined file? ... I only have the option "delete" and "lower level" ... :(

I used "lower level" but the file could not be recovered ....
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Pondus on November 05, 2017, 12:00:14 AM
Try right click tray icon to access chest .... do you see the option now?

Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: TheLightgg on November 05, 2017, 12:14:36 AM
Try right click tray icon to access chest .... do you see the option now?
I have the french version of the antivirus with two options on the file -> DELETE and RESTORE...
I made a file restore but it deleted me ... The file is no longer in the quarantine area. :)

The French translation is bad ... In English it is mentioned "restore" but in the French version it is written "niveau inférieur (lower level in english)" any sense. Restore in french it's "Restaurer" ....
Same error in the documentation avast ...

https://support.avast.com/en-us/article/21/
(https://i.imgur.com/BAsjnm2.png)
https://support.avast.com/fr-fr/article/21/
(https://i.imgur.com/EUBYjmo.png)

"Restaurer" and no "niveau inférieur (lower version)"...
(https://i.imgur.com/KTxh4YB.png)


Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: NON on November 05, 2017, 04:05:53 AM
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.
Not for me ???
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 05, 2017, 08:42:00 AM
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.
Not for me ???
Still happens here. Also multiple entries in the notification center.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: TheLightgg on November 05, 2017, 09:56:01 AM
After installing a program, Avast takes the initiative to scan all the files that are on my different disks ...

Avast then uses 25% of my CPU (i5 3570k) and it this lasts very very long ...
I did not have this problem with the .2314 version (release version) ...

Can I turn off AVAST's scan of all my disks to see if the problem continues ?

Another problem is that Avast does not purge its data in RAM. After a scan it takes more RAM, it's normal but do not purge after its operations ...
I had this problem once already described on the previous page or Avasr occupied 2 GB of ram ...

(https://i.imgur.com/XCdpWgt.png)


Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: DavidR on November 05, 2017, 11:29:20 AM
<snip>
Another problem is that Avast does not purge its data in RAM. After a scan it takes more RAM, it's normal but do not purge after its operations ...
I had this problem once already described on the previous page or Avasr occupied 2 GB of ram ...
<snip image>

Though that figure would seem excessive, though if it is scanning all your drives as you say (why I don't know, that isn't normal) it would be using a lot of RAM as that is faster.  It should however drop back down when concluded.

How much RAM have you got ?

I was under the belief that your OS controls RAM usage, there is little point in having RAM if you aren't going to use it.  If another program needs RAM then it will push/release some out to the pagefile on the hard disk.  If that information (RAM) is required it needs to be loaded back into RAM, this swapping back and forwards to the pagefile puts an additional load on your processor and hard disk, this can also effect performance.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: TheLightgg on November 05, 2017, 12:33:16 PM
I have 8 Gb of ram and I have 7 paritions system. Actually the use of RAM by AVAST has diminished by itself, you are right but after a long time...

But I do not understand the interest of scanning disks (randomly?) after any program installation ... Avast does not scan the newly created directory of the new program but scans all over the disk. I can see the input / output paths that avast reads with a program ...

And its excessive use of CPU take time, long time ...

The Operating System controls the management of the ram but the program (in language C for example) can indicate to destroy objects in memory formerly created and not used.
Optimizing the memory management of a process in memory is already done during development by programmers.

And I'm not saying that Avast's development team did a bad job, they are very competent ! :) I explained a clarification on "I was under the belief that your OS controls RAM usage". ;)

Thank you for your explication ^^
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: DavidR on November 05, 2017, 02:44:07 PM
I have 8 Gb of ram and I have 7 paritions system. Actually the use of RAM by AVAST has diminished by itself, you are right but after a long time...

But I do not understand the interest of scanning disks (randomly?) after any program installation ... Avast does not scan the newly created directory of the new program but scans all over the disk. I can see the input / output paths that avast reads with a program ...

And its excessive use of CPU take time, long time ...
<snip>

That certainly isn't normal, I certainly haven't experienced that in the past whilst installing a program, but I'm not running the current beta build on any of these systems.  I have avast free on three systems, XP with two hard drives and multiple partitions, win7 32bit netbook with only one drive and two partitions and a win10 64bit with 1 SSD drive and 1 HDD drive (neither are partitioned).

That said I'm not running the current beta on any of these systems, so I can't say if this a beta related bug.

Did you do a clean install of this beta or update from the program interface ?
You may want to consider restoring factory defaults in the Troubleshooting section of the UI, in case any of your settings are aggressive.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: bob3160 on November 05, 2017, 03:20:20 PM
Not happening on any of my systems and 2 of those systems are old clunkers running Windows 10 (1709)
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: J.Bryl on November 06, 2017, 09:19:54 PM
Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

You have to disable the webcam shield to bring back the webcam.

(http://i66.tinypic.com/2ik4inl.png)
(http://i63.tinypic.com/2mhcs3d.png)
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: bob3160 on November 06, 2017, 09:23:18 PM
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: J.Bryl on November 06, 2017, 09:47:29 PM
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.

Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

The question to allow this app was in Strict mode not in Smart. Then I clicked Allow app and it says it will always allow the app. Will this not put the App in Trusted Programs? It should be right?
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: jan.svoboda on November 07, 2017, 08:13:58 AM
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.

Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

The question to allow this app was in Strict mode not in Smart. Then I clicked Allow app and it says it will always allow the app. Will this not put the App in Trusted Programs? It should be right?

Hi J.Bryl

did you try to close the app between changes of WebCam Shield modes? The application is evaluated when is started. Any changes in WebCam shield settings done during the application is already running and using you webcamera are not reflected to the current session of the application.

Please let me know if it works for you.

Thank you very much.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 07, 2017, 08:25:54 AM
We would like to ask you for deeper testing mainly in these areas:
  • Smart scan and performance scan behavior
Regarding Smart-Scan, while compatibility scan is checked in the settings, it doesn't run/show up.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: Asyn on November 07, 2017, 08:33:21 AM
Detection via web shield produces multiple/countless pop-ups.
Not for me ???
Still happens here. Also multiple entries in the notification center.
Update, the bug has been confirmed by the devs.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: J.Bryl on November 07, 2017, 06:14:28 PM
In smart mode, you should be asked to allow the program that uses the Cam if it isn't already a trusted program.
I can't test it since I'm using the Free version.

Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

The question to allow this app was in Strict mode not in Smart. Then I clicked Allow app and it says it will always allow the app. Will this not put the App in Trusted Programs? It should be right?

Hi J.Bryl

did you try to close the app between changes of WebCam Shield modes? The application is evaluated when is started. Any changes in WebCam shield settings done during the application is already running and using you webcamera are not reflected to the current session of the application.

Please let me know if it works for you.

Thank you very much.

Yep, I closed the App and open it again and still the same. Btw it's the builtin camera app of Windows 8.1.
I didn't experience it with AVG beta.
Title: Re: New Beta version 17.8.2317
Post by: MartinZ on November 09, 2017, 09:41:36 AM
Webcam Shield  - When you put it to strict mode and allow the app , its still blocked and when you put it back to Smart Mode , still blocked.

You have to disable the webcam shield to bring back the webcam.

(http://i66.tinypic.com/2ik4inl.png)
(http://i63.tinypic.com/2mhcs3d.png)

Hi this is happening on Win 8 Metro app full screen right?