Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Gaia Lives on December 26, 2003, 04:57:29 PM

Title: Automatic Updates
Post by: Gaia Lives on December 26, 2003, 04:57:29 PM
Dobry Den!

I'm sorry if this has been addressed previously, but I have searched and been unable to find it.

When I right click on the Avast! circle icon, or answer 'yes' when the message announcing new updates comes up, I get the following error message:
 "Server www.asw.cz (195.70.130.34:80) is down"  followed by a list of explanations.

When I connect to www.avast.com, and manually download the update, it works fine.

Is there something wrong with the Czech address?  Is there a way to manually reconfigure the address automatic update is using?

Thanks.  

There are a lot of posts on this board, but I had no problems installing Avast! and it seems to be working flawlessly, except for this one minor problem.
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: techie101returns on December 26, 2003, 06:18:37 PM
Gaia,

Simple question, but not simple answer.
There can be many different reasons why the auto update does not work.
From the basic info you provided, I would not worry since manual update seems fine.

Exactly what was the content of the message?  Did it ONLY inform you that a new update was available?

Do you have Avast configured for Auto update of the database?

There is nothing wrong with the Cz server.  Avast will normally try each of 3 different servers for the update, and believe it or not can use more than one to obtain it.
(One server verifies an update is needed, then should Avast not be able to communicate, Avast moves to the next to actually obtain the data).  This is one reason why setting it to only one server would not be good.

Do you use a firewall?  It must be set to allow Avast access.

Lets start with the questions above first.  It should not be a hard thing to fix.

techie
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: rudiger on December 26, 2003, 08:45:41 PM
I have exactly the same problem since 14 days.
I did -> Add Remove Programs -> Avast -> Change -> update
The log file gives an error 'HTTPGetWininet'

how to fix this?
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Pavel on December 26, 2003, 10:49:52 PM
When I right click on the Avast! circle icon, or answer 'yes' when the message announcing new updates comes up, I get the following error message:
 "Server www.asw.cz (195.70.130.34:80) is down"  followed by a list of explanations.

When I connect to www.avast.com, and manually download the update, it works fine.

There might be a problem in reaching any of our server (www.asw.cz this time) from your place. This could have many reasons - problems on our side, problems on your side, problems of our ISP, problems of your ISP, problems somewhere between us :).

We use several servers so at least some of them should be reacheable all the time. And if sometimes some update does not make it through, please be patient and retry this soon - it should work then !!

Pavel
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: rudiger on December 30, 2003, 08:10:14 PM
I can't get this ...
my update isn't work since two-tree weeks ...it tooks server by server (all tree of them) ..none of them are reachable ..there must be an other reason for the problem ..all other thinf function well (mail, server, http, ftp etc)

I believe if i'can't update the scanner ..i'm not good proteted,
I use the trial ..nothing tells me here when i buy one, the problem isn't still holding

do i need to get another one?
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Lisandro on December 31, 2003, 01:29:13 AM
I can't get this ...
my update isn't work since two-tree weeks ...it tooks server by server (all tree of them) ...none of them are reachable

It's imposible, the updates are coming to everybody, each Tuesdays and Thurdays without any trouble. Could you ping the avast! servers?

 http://www.asw.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 195.70.130.34)
 http://www.avast.com/iavs4pro (IP: 64.246.6.135)
 http://www.iavs.net/iavs4pro (IP: 207.44.156.15)
 http://www.iavs.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 62.168.45.69)
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: rudiger on December 31, 2003, 01:01:34 PM
Hi,
for all the 4 ip's -> same ping error message:

transmit failed - errorcode 65
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: bassbag on December 31, 2003, 03:12:11 PM
Sounds like a firewall , or maybe proxy sever blocking the update requests.Do you use such programmes?.Also can you remember if you installed uninstalled any such prog in the last few weeks?
me
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: rudiger on December 31, 2003, 03:33:13 PM
I have zonealarm somethimes on or off ... Avast did always the job well.
Win XP firewall is off

On install ..avast was detecting Internet Norton Security, that program was on this PC long time ago .. Avast did work before well. I have serach the win registry for norton keys on this .. i couldn't find one .

One off my last install programs are IE 6.1, Messenger 6.1, MDAC 2.8

Maybe i should take a look in the task manager ..but what/where do I looking for?

thanks in regards
Rudi
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: bassbag on December 31, 2003, 03:41:24 PM
I dont use ZA but can you check the application list that Nothing from avast is being blocked.Also i believe ZA has somesort of content sites/ads blocking features?.If so check logs that nothings being blocked there from avast.Also check in tools>internet options>security that no thing from avast is in restricted sites.
me
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Lisandro on December 31, 2003, 06:36:05 PM
Right now, my results were:

 http://www.asw.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 195.70.130.34) > 100% loss

 The others works perfectly without any loss:
 http://www.avast.com/iavs4pro (IP: 64.246.6.135)
 http://www.iavs.net/iavs4pro (IP: 207.44.156.15)
 http://www.iavs.cz/iavs4pro (IP: 62.168.45.69)

I use Windows XP Pro SP1, ZoneAlarm and XP firewall in ON.
So, I think you have a trouble with your connection... Maybe you can uninstall and install avast again but I can't think what is going on...  :-\
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Gaia Lives on January 04, 2004, 05:00:18 AM
Gaia,

Exactly what was the content of the message?  Did it ONLY inform you that a new update was available?

It Says, "A new version of avast! is available on the web.  Click here to downloar."

When I "click here" it takes me to the www.asw.cz website but I get the error message, "Server www.asw.cz (195.70.130.34:80) is down."  I get this EVERY time.  

Do you have Avast configured for Auto update of the database?

I'm not sure.  Where would I check?

Do you use a firewall?  It must be set to allow Avast access.

No firewall.


Thanks for the help.  
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Lisandro on January 04, 2004, 03:45:19 PM
Do you have Avast configured for Auto update of the database?
I'm not sure.  Where would I check? Thanks for the help.

You can right click the system tray icon, Start avast antivirus, right click into the skin (main application), choose settings, than go to Update (Basic) page and choose Automatic for program updates and/or only database (VPS) updates.
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Gaia Lives on January 04, 2004, 07:21:59 PM
That was fun.  I had assumed that Avast was always running in the background and I didn't need to "start" anything.  I did as you suggested and found I was not set up for automatic updates, and I reset it.  

Then I clicked on the little lightening bolt icon to "update" and got the same error message that says the server is down.  I did this repeatedly and eventually had received the same message with refererence to 4 servers (207..., 195..., 66..., 216...)

I have also been noodling around and looked into the log files and found that there have been nearly daily attempts to update that are not manually started by me.  One, on January 3, is different from the rest, and reports several files were downloaded and vps udated to 31203.  This one has the line "selectcurrent: selected source 'tmp.sfxstorage' from 'sfx.'  

All the others list other servers in this line, followed by the error message, "http get WINSOCK, WINSOCKTCPConnect() returned 0X0000274D" and a second line that is the same, or similar.  Then, "Tried to download servr.def but failed with error 20000004."

The 'returned' part is either 0X0000274D or 0X00002AF9, or both.  The error number is always the same.

FYI, I'm running windows XP with service pack 1, via a dial up connection.  I don't have anything other than my Mozilla browser running at these times.

Now I'm concerned I didn't set the software up correctly in the beginning and may not have been protected for the last couple of months.  HELP!
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: b.j. on January 05, 2004, 03:24:46 AM
I am having the same problems. It has been going on for weeks. Automatic updates fail with a "server is down" message. I cannot even do a manual update-- same results. I am running the built-in XP firewall only.
Here is the log for the last update I tried (for security reasons I have removed my IP address):

04.01.2004 18:15:54 general: Started: 04.01.2004, 18:15:54
04.01.2004 18:15:54 general: Running setup_av_pro-130 (304)
04.01.2004 18:15:54 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 1.0 [Service Pack 1]
04.01.2004 18:15:54 system: Computer WinName: BLACK
04.01.2004 18:15:54 system: Windows Net User: SYSTEM
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /silent /progress
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: DldSrc set to inet
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Old version: 130 (304)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 system: Computer DnsName: black
04.01.2004 18:15:55 system: Computer Ip Addr: {removed}
04.01.2004 18:15:55 internet: SYNCER: Type: -1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 internet: SYNCER: Auth: 0
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part prg_av_pro-130 is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part vps-31100 is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part news-2d is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Part setup_av_pro-130 is installed
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Old version: 130 (304)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 file: SetExistingFilesBitmap: 182->103->103
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: GUID: aeb334b1-d6d2-4211-adfe-1a5ef7a56aa5
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'mirror': 0 (maint:0)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 5 (maint:0)
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Secondary ASW server' from 'main'
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcessPro::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress thread start
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress start - 1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress start - 2
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
04.01.2004 18:15:55 package: Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 0x20000004
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress end - 1
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress end - 0
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: progress thread end
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: Err:Server www.iavs.cz (217.31.49.10:80) is down.
04.01.2004 18:15:55 general: errordlg: 375,181
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Vlk on January 05, 2004, 01:08:38 PM
According to the Windows docs, error code 274D stands for "No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it". Interesting...

Can you manually access the server www.iavs.cz in your browser (i.e. does the link work)?

Do you use a proxy server while connecting to the web? Are the proxy parameters set up correctly?
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: b.j. on January 05, 2004, 08:20:25 PM
No, I am not using a proxy server and yes, the link works in my browser.
Hope you can figure this out.

b.j.
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: kubecj on January 06, 2004, 01:05:08 AM
0x274D = 10061 = Connection refused
0x2AF9 = 11001 = Host not found

Both usually mean some serious problems with internet connection. Does it matter if you do a manual attempt?

Does Test button in proxy settings work as expected?
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Gaia Lives on January 07, 2004, 06:06:23 AM
This is getting a little confusing, with others who have a similar problem also responding.

Yes, I can connect to www.iavs.cz and from there manually download an update.
 
No, I can't get the downloard to work by manually starting from the Avast! icon-right click-select update approach, nor can I get it to work by starting Avast! and clicking on the lightening bolt icon.  (This did suceed a couple of days ago, however.)

I access the Internet via Earthlink, an ISP provider, on a dial up line.  I am not currently running a firewall.  There is no proxy server or network involved.   I don't know what you are referring to with the Test button, but if it has to do with a proxy server, perhaps it's not relevant to my situation.

Recently, I have been unable to SEND e-mail, though I can receive it fine.  I have no idea why this should be as I have not done anything that would change the e-mail settings that have worked fine for a long time.  Our outgoing phone line is dicey at times, but this has not been an issue lately.

Thanks for your continued efforts.
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: luiss on January 07, 2004, 06:24:12 PM
hello friend. I cannot update avast, completes time was day 2, either today I can, I imagine that the problem was fixed as your you say we are patient, this text this translated automaticamente

 ::)
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Gaia Lives on January 07, 2004, 07:16:33 PM
The problem with my outgoing e-mail turned out to be changes in the smtp server settings required by the ISP.  That problem is solved, and my attempt at an  update just now got the same "server down" response.

My log file looks similar to the post from BJ, but here is a copy, in case it helps.

07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Started: 07.01.2004, 11:00:38
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Running setup_av_pro-121 (289)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 1.0 [Service Pack 1]
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Computer WinName: DELPHI
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Windows Net User: SYSTEM
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Cmdline: /downloadpkgs /noreboot /silent /progress
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: DldSrc set to inet
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Operation set to INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Old version: 118 (280)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: SGW32P::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Computer DnsName: Delphi
07.01.2004 11:00:38 system: Computer Ip Addr: {removed--good idea BJ!)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 internet: SYNCER: Type: -1
07.01.2004 11:00:38 internet: SYNCER: Auth: 0
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part prg_av_pro-121 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part vps-31203 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part news-29 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 package: Part setup_av_pro-121 is installed
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Old version: 118 (280)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 file: SetExistingFilesBitmap: 182->110->79
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: GUID: 1b12af62-50eb-497d-ac24-bd6c9894b61c
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'mirror': 0 (maint:0)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 5 (maint:0)
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Main AVAST server' from 'main'
07.01.2004 11:00:38 general: Entered SetupProcessPro::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_GET_PACKAGES )
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: progress thread start
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: progress start - 1
07.01.2004 11:00:39 general: progress start - 2
07.01.2004 11:00:40 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
07.01.2004 11:00:40 package: ERROR:HttpGetWinsock, WinsockTcpConnect() returned 0x0000274D
07.01.2004 11:00:40 package: Tried to download servers.def but failed with error 20000004
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: progress end - 1
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: progress end - 0
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: progress thread end
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: Err:Server download1.avast.com (66.98.166.72:80) is down.
07.01.2004 11:00:40 general: errordlg: 375,187

It also suggests that it's not just www.aws.cz  since this attempt went to download1.avast.com.

Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: b.j. on January 10, 2004, 09:04:04 AM
OK, this is a firewall issue.
I was running the XP firewall. I disabled it and installed ZoneAlarm as my firewall. Now all is well, and avast! updates proceed normally.
I don't understand this, as I had been using the XP firewall since I installed XP and also began using avast! at the same time. Something has obviously changed, but I'm not sure what.
b.j.
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Lisandro on January 10, 2004, 11:49:03 AM
OK, this is a firewall issue.
I was running the XP firewall. I disabled it and installed ZoneAlarm as my firewall. Now all is well, and avast! updates proceed normally.
I don't understand this, as I had been using the XP firewall since I installed XP and also began using avast! at the same time. Something has obviously changed, but I'm not sure what.
b.j.

Hmmm  ::) I'm using both XP firewall and ZoneAlarm (togheter) and everything is working  :-\
Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Gaia Lives on January 11, 2004, 06:14:17 AM
I was not using a firewall up until a couple of days ago, so this doesn't explain anything in my case.

However, on the first try, I was able to update using the Avast system tray icon's update selection.  The report also indicated that I was one edition more up to date than the last time I looked.  I have to assume that the really automatic update worked sometime in the last couple of days.

I did just re-activate Zone Alarm, so like BJ, I have a different result with Zone Alarm running than I had before.

Have the geniuses at Avast fixed something without telling us, or is there something therapeutic about running Zone Alarm?  

Will we ever find out the answer to the mystery?

Will Ross and Rachel ever get together?

Title: Re:Automatic Updates
Post by: Lisandro on January 11, 2004, 03:44:27 PM
I have both avast and ZoneAlarm Free working fine together.
First I installed ZoneAlarm and then avast!
What are your versions for both programs?

The last build for avast is 4.1.319 and for ZoneAlarm Free 4.5.538.000

If your results are different with ZoneAlarm on, is it well configurated?  ;)