Avast WEBforum

Avast Products => Avast Secure Browser => Topic started by: hannon31 on September 20, 2018, 10:42:48 PM

Title: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on September 20, 2018, 10:42:48 PM
Hi Guys,

Just started to use the Avast Browser, and I kind of like it better than Chrome. It might be me, but I think it is a wee bit faster and easier to use, than GC. That being said, I am having an issue with Tabs, that I hope someone can help with ?

Using Twitter and Facebook, as examples of my problem, it seems as though whenever I click on an article to view on FB or T, in my news feed, and it opens up in a new tab, when I close the tab, after reading, the original FB or T tab, resets itself, and shoots back up to the top of the page, starting from scratch. So, if I had scrolled down to the bottom of my FB or T page to read the article, and close the new tab, it brings me all the way back to the top, forcing me to scroll all the way down again, to pick up where I left off. And this happens EVERY time. Only if I click on the article post to 'open in a new window' does this not cause the issue. This does not happen on any other browser I have used, so is there some kind of setting I can use in Avast to stop the original tab page to not reset, upon opening a new tab ?

Much obliged for any help.

Thanks !
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: schmidthouse on September 24, 2018, 06:23:50 AM
Same issue here I believe:
https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=222083.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=222083.0)
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: bob3160 on September 24, 2018, 12:54:25 PM
Reported to Avast.
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on September 24, 2018, 05:21:01 PM
Thanks for reporting. I see that I am not the only one this is happening to, so hopefully, this can be fixed ?
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: bob3160 on October 11, 2018, 04:08:41 PM
Thanks for reporting. I see that I am not the only one this is happening to, so hopefully, this can be fixed ?
I can't reproduce the reported problem and Avast can't either.
Have you changed any settings in the browser?
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: schmidthouse on October 11, 2018, 06:18:49 PM
Thanks for reporting. I see that I am not the only one this is happening to, so hopefully, this can be fixed ?
I can't reproduce the reported problem and Avast can't either.
Have you changed any settings in the browser?

I have also tried to reproduce this issue and can't
All good here with ASB on WIn 10 64 Bit
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 11, 2018, 09:09:50 PM
No, I have not changed any of the browser's settings, since I started to use it when it was originally installed. However, I am using it on XP, so could that be why it is happening ?
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: schmidthouse on October 11, 2018, 09:51:19 PM
No, I have not changed any of the browser's settings, since I started to use it when it was originally installed. However, I am using it on XP, so could that be why it is happening ?

I also have an XP machine I use for in office stuff, I don't have ASB on that system nor have I tried to install the Browser on that system so I can't speak to how ASB operates with XP.
I can add however, that with XP anything (and many things) can ocurr as conflict with an OS as old as XP. :-\
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: bob3160 on October 11, 2018, 10:19:09 PM
No, I have not changed any of the browser's settings, since I started to use it when it was originally installed. However, I am using it on XP, so could that be why it is happening ?
I'll give you an answer as soon as I get a reply from Avast. :) I haven't used XP in may years and can't do any testing on that system.
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: Asyn on October 12, 2018, 05:40:00 AM
Hi, you need at least W7 to run ASB - XP and Vista aren't supported.
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 12, 2018, 05:56:10 AM
Really ? Because other than that one 'tab' issue I mentioned, the browser is working fine on my XP system, and actually is even better and faster than Chrome.   :)
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: Asyn on October 12, 2018, 06:05:59 AM
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 12, 2018, 06:25:55 AM
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?


I don't think it's the SafeZone browser. It says Avast Secure Browser Version 49.0.79.76. on the About page.
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: Asyn on October 12, 2018, 06:41:04 AM
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?
I don't think it's the SafeZone browser. It says Avast Secure Browser Version 49.0.79.76. on the About page.
That's strange..!! There never was a V49.0 of ASB - the first openly available version was V64.0 back in April.

Edit: I stand corrected, just heard there's indeed a version for XP/Vista but it's a bit complicated to explain. Hopefully one of the devs will chime in...
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 12, 2018, 05:15:18 PM
Yes, see: https://www.avast.com/secure-browser
Are you maybe running the old SafeZone browser..!?
I don't think it's the SafeZone browser. It says Avast Secure Browser Version 49.0.79.76. on the About page.
That's strange..!! There never was a V49.0 of ASB - the first openly available version was V64.0 back in April.

Edit: I stand corrected, just heard there's indeed a version for XP/Vista but it's a bit complicated to explain. Hopefully one of the devs will chime in...

Well, any way that gets that 'tab' problem fixed, I welcome !  :)
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: Asyn on October 12, 2018, 09:32:26 PM
Well, any way that gets that 'tab' problem fixed, I welcome !  :)
The devs are trying to reproduce it, but be patient - it's weekend. ;)
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 13, 2018, 03:14:08 AM
Well, any way that gets that 'tab' problem fixed, I welcome !  :)
The devs are trying to reproduce it, but be patient - it's weekend. ;)

I'm chill. No prob.  8)
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 18, 2018, 04:49:08 PM
Well, if this 'tab' problem can't be fixed, is there a way to simply change the browser options from 'open in new tab', to 'open in new window' ? I don't see that option anywhere in my settings page.
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: bob3160 on October 19, 2018, 02:42:15 AM
Well, if this 'tab' problem can't be fixed, is there a way to simply change the browser options from 'open in new tab', to 'open in new window' ? I don't see that option anywhere in my settings page.
Right click on a link and make your selection:
(https://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1539909668774-22786.png)
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 19, 2018, 05:38:40 PM
Well, if this 'tab' problem can't be fixed, is there a way to simply change the browser options from 'open in new tab', to 'open in new window' ? I don't see that option anywhere in my settings page.
Right click on a link and make your selection:
(https://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1539909668774-22786.png)

Thanks ! Yes, I know about this 'right click' feature, but I was wondering if 'settings' would have it as a 'permanent' setting, where I can just set it to 'open as new window' automatically, when I click on a link, instead of right clicking everything I want to see.   ;)
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: mchain on October 20, 2018, 06:30:37 PM
Avast Team Member BWhit has provided a fix, see here:  https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=222462.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=222462.0)

Issue is inactive tab auto-clears page data so when you go back to an inactive tab, there is nothing there, resulting in a blank page.

Turn it off, works for me. 
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 21, 2018, 01:52:31 AM
Avast Team Member BWhit has provided a fix, see here:  https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=222462.0 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=222462.0)

Issue is inactive tab auto-clears page data so when you go back to an inactive tab, there is nothing there, resulting in a blank page.

Turn it off, works for me.

Hi, and thanks for the message. I did what you suggested, and it actually worked ! For about 10 minutes.............then the FB tab page refreshed again, like usual. But for that 10 minutes, I was clicking left and right with no probs. So, now I'm completely stumped.  :-\
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: mchain on October 21, 2018, 04:08:58 AM
I'd suggest opening ASB to the home page and then pressing these three keys at the same time:

Ctrl+Shift+Delete.

This should/will bring up a new tab with the image [attached] found below:

Each user should set Privacy Cleaner to clean data after every session and also choose which categories to clean to what they need.  Six settings are set to clean by me (manually only, auto-clean is not available) with 5 shown and the sixth hidden.  That setting is Content Settings with the two last settings left unchecked.

One other thing:  I use a sandbox to protect any browser from unwanted changes but make any desired changes outside of the sandbox.

Did Ctrl+Shift+Delete help?
Title: Re: Avast Browser TAB issue glitch
Post by: hannon31 on October 24, 2018, 07:15:40 AM
Nope, still hasn't helped the issue, so I guess I'll just stick with Chrome, as the tab problem does not exist there.....................................