Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: Zoart666 on January 21, 2020, 09:10:47 PM

Title: Avast status symbol
Post by: Zoart666 on January 21, 2020, 09:10:47 PM
I noticed today that the symbol on the status page became a circle in stead of a shield.

I was wondering if this is cause of an update or if it's something else or that it means something?
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 21, 2020, 09:54:54 PM
Is this what you are talking about (see attached image) ?

If so, I'm not experiencing it.

You don't say what Avast version and build you are using ?
I'm using avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.544) UI-1.0.415.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Eslam15 on January 22, 2020, 05:08:47 AM
yes. Avast symbol changed for me too.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Asyn on January 22, 2020, 05:11:06 AM
I noticed today that the symbol on the status page became a circle in stead of a shield.
I was wondering if this is cause of an update or if it's something else or that it means something?
Yes, the UI has been updated.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 22, 2020, 10:29:01 AM
I noticed today that the symbol on the status page became a circle in stead of a shield.
I was wondering if this is cause of an update or if it's something else or that it means something?
Yes, the UI has been updated.

Interesting on checking the About Avast, my build number has changed (that one which sent the build number lower) as has the UI version, see signature below post.
But I haven't been asked to restart and I haven't done one for little a while, so it would appear my UI hasn't yet changed.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Asyn on January 22, 2020, 11:12:55 AM
Hi Dave, time to reboot - your build# still isn't up to date.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: bob3160 on January 22, 2020, 03:30:51 PM
Hi Dave, time to reboot - your build# still isn't up to date.
Updated, restarted but no updates here.
(https://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1579703411659-88601.png)



Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 22, 2020, 05:17:21 PM
Hi Dave, time to reboot - your build# still isn't up to date.

I'm loath to reboot when is isn't asked for, especially when what I have is running just fine. 

If a build update warranted it I would have though there would have been a notification to at least restart ???

Also, both a Program Update and About Avast confirm I'm up to date with the Avast version/build and UI that I previously reported ???

Currently the only consistency in avast is its inconsistency, as in the reporting of different VPS versions being up to date.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Zoart666 on January 22, 2020, 06:16:35 PM
I noticed today that the symbol on the status page became a circle in stead of a shield.
I was wondering if this is cause of an update or if it's something else or that it means something?
Yes, the UI has been updated.

Thanks, good to hear that it is just updated and everything is fine.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 22, 2020, 07:02:23 PM
Hi Dave, time to reboot - your build# still isn't up to date.

Finally got around to rebooting after completing some work.

And an update (or rather the version/build and UI version have been updated.  Why isn't this communicated to the user I don't know and I would have to suggest that they also inform users why a reboot is required.

Edit: Not impressed by the change (attached image3) as mentioned by the OP:
The Shield I would say is the better of the two, is this change for changes sake is is there a reason.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: bob3160 on January 22, 2020, 07:28:08 PM
Apparently in the paid version, Omni, the symbol has not changed.
(https://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1579717612766-71661.png)
(https://screencast-o-matic.com/screenshots/u/Lh/1579717670049-40946.png)
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: bob3160 on January 22, 2020, 07:34:09 PM
I've reported this to Avast and asked for clarification.
Let's see if that helps.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Asyn on January 23, 2020, 04:36:15 AM
I noticed today that the symbol on the status page became a circle in stead of a shield.
I was wondering if this is cause of an update or if it's something else or that it means something?
Yes, the UI has been updated.
Thanks, good to hear that it is just updated and everything is fine.
You're welcome.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: petr blatny on January 23, 2020, 07:36:44 AM
Hello all, we updated dashboard statuses and there is a circle instead of a shield. It was released in avast, but not yet for omni. In omni we are preparing new feature related to DHCP and ARP switching. When this is released, omni will have circle too.
Anyway thank you for noticing ;)
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Asyn on January 23, 2020, 08:50:51 AM
And an update (or rather the version/build and UI version have been updated.  Why isn't this communicated to the user I don't know and I would have to suggest that they also inform users why a reboot is required.
Hi Dave, as you seem to be interested, I usually post updates (build/UI) in the German section.

Stable: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229463.0
Beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229927.0
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: rocksteady on January 23, 2020, 10:08:25 AM
For what it's worth, mine has changed from shield to circle this morning, That was from a soft startup, not a full "Restart".
Like DavidR, I prefer the shield over circle design, but seems trivial change. UI v1.0.440.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 23, 2020, 10:14:33 AM
And an update (or rather the version/build and UI version have been updated.  Why isn't this communicated to the user I don't know and I would have to suggest that they also inform users why a reboot is required.
Hi Dave, as you seem to be interested, I usually post updates (build/UI) in the German section.

Stable: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229463.0
Beta: https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=229927.0

Thanks, I will book mark it.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Asyn on January 23, 2020, 11:08:23 AM
You're welcome Dave. (Side note, links will change with program updates.)
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 23, 2020, 04:43:36 PM
You're welcome Dave. (Side note, links will change with program updates.)

I took that as a given, perhaps you can add the link to the new topic for the program update (in the existing topic), unless it were to become a sticky.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Pierogi on January 24, 2020, 01:52:17 AM
My icon is still a shield. UI version here is still 1.0.437, no updates available by now.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Asyn on January 24, 2020, 09:08:58 AM
My icon is still a shield. UI version here is still 1.0.437, no updates available by now.
Reboot.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Pierogi on January 24, 2020, 01:01:12 PM
My icon is still a shield. UI version here is still 1.0.437, no updates available by now.
Reboot.

What do you mean by 'reboot'?
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: CraigB on January 24, 2020, 01:03:38 PM
What do you mean by "reboot"?
Restart your computer.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Pierogi on January 24, 2020, 01:10:30 PM
What do you mean by "reboot"?
Restart your computer.

I thought it was related to the program itself, but i'm doing it few times every day.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Ilie I. on January 26, 2020, 09:00:54 PM
At me it's still with the shield ones :/
3 reboots, nothing happened.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 26, 2020, 09:25:03 PM
At me it's still with the shield ones :/
3 reboots, nothing happened.

You still have the old UI version, 1.0.437 according to your 3rd image attachment, the latest UI version is 1.0.440.

Try a manual Program Update and follow that with a system restart.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: Ilie I. on January 27, 2020, 11:01:28 AM
I also tried that.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: DavidR on January 27, 2020, 04:52:02 PM
I also tried that.

Not sure why you haven't got it then.

Personally if that is all there is in the new UI (which I doubt) you aren't missing much then, and a UI bug that effects lots of people still isn't resolved.  I refer to the different reported VPS versions if you use the avast tray icon About Avast and the avast UI > Settings > General > Update.
Title: Re: Avast status symbol
Post by: bob3160 on January 27, 2020, 06:57:08 PM
I also tried that.
Have you actually re-started your computer or, did you just shut off and the start it back up?