Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Passwords => Avast Passwords for Windows => Topic started by: clifford18 on January 27, 2021, 04:45:57 PM

Title: Avast Password app
Post by: clifford18 on January 27, 2021, 04:45:57 PM
I have been using Avast for many years, including Avast Password. One of my old computers that had Avast Passwords on it crashed. I have a new windows 10 computer, I installed Avast free version on the new computer. I understand that password app is no longer a stand alone product. My understanding is that it is included with a package I can buy, I am not sure which package I would need to buy. I am currently running under a free trial of Avast Premium Security. I have tried to add the password app to Chrome, it says I must reinstall the browser extension, but that has been a futile exercise. I have checked the add on for passwords (old), rebooted, still nothing.
My question is, can I still get password manager with a package? if so what package would I need to purchase?
BTW, the app still works on my other windows 10 machine just fine.
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: bob3160 on January 27, 2021, 10:31:12 PM
I've notified Avast to help you with this problem. Let's see if that does the trick.
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: r@vast on February 02, 2021, 05:28:28 PM
I have been using Avast for many years, including Avast Password. One of my old computers that had Avast Passwords on it crashed. I have a new windows 10 computer, I installed Avast free version on the new computer. I understand that password app is no longer a stand alone product. My understanding is that it is included with a package I can buy, I am not sure which package I would need to buy. I am currently running under a free trial of Avast Premium Security. I have tried to add the password app to Chrome, it says I must reinstall the browser extension, but that has been a futile exercise. I have checked the add on for passwords (old), rebooted, still nothing.
My question is, can I still get password manager with a package? if so what package would I need to purchase?
BTW, the app still works on my other windows 10 machine just fine.

Hi,

Avast Passwords has been put on hold and it is no longer available for purchase either as a standalone product or as part of a package. The chrome extension does not work without Avast Passwords being installed on the device. Avast Passwords should continue to work as long as you do not re-install Avast Antivirus.
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: clifford18 on February 03, 2021, 02:55:56 PM
Well it is a new computer, so when I installed chrome, the extension is no longer available. So it sounds like I have to start looking for a new password manager product.
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: bob3160 on February 03, 2021, 03:13:43 PM
Well it is a new computer, so when I installed chrome, the extension is no longer available. So it sounds like I have to start looking for a new password manager product.
Under troubleshooting - Repair, make sure that Passwords (old) is installed.
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: clifford18 on February 04, 2021, 03:05:48 PM
I tried that, no difference.
thanks
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: clifford18 on February 20, 2021, 11:12:41 PM
It now has somehow installed on my new computer. It won't let me sync though. Every time I try, it says "Sorry, we've run into a problem. Please try again later."
I've tried this a couple of different days and times, each time I get the same message.
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: Asyn on February 21, 2021, 07:44:24 AM
It now has somehow installed on my new computer. It won't let me sync though. Every time I try, it says "Sorry, we've run into a problem. Please try again later."
I've tried this a couple of different days and times, each time I get the same message.
-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=248121.msg1585300#msg1585300
Title: Re: Avast Password app
Post by: bob3160 on February 21, 2021, 12:54:44 PM
It now has somehow installed on my new computer. It won't let me sync though. Every time I try, it says "Sorry, we've run into a problem. Please try again later."
I've tried this a couple of different days and times, each time I get the same message.
-> https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=248121.msg1585300#msg1585300 (https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=248121.msg1585300#msg1585300)
Unfortunately that thread doesn't lead to a conclusion according to the last post in that topic.