Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: D1ssident on February 12, 2007, 02:54:35 PM

Title: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: D1ssident on February 12, 2007, 02:54:35 PM
With the latest version of Avast, if I block the inbound and outbound connections with the Vista embeded firewall (advanced mode) and allow all the Avast services/files to pass through (in+out), strangely, Avast will not be able to make updates with downloadxx.avast.com. If I remember well, the logs said to check the ie settings (wich were untouched). I'm using the retail version of Vista so is there something I can do
to make the updates work correctly? Is this a bug or something?
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: DavidR on February 12, 2007, 03:24:04 PM
there is no service for avast.setup which requires internet access to be able to be able to update. Ensure it isn't blocked by the Vista firewall.

The avast.setup isn't a permanent file but one that is created at the time of update and once the update is complete it is deleted. It would be in this folder when created, C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup, assuming you installed avast in the default location, you could try adding that path.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: D1ssident on February 12, 2007, 05:24:07 PM
Windows Vista firewall (advanced security mode) can't allow rules with .setup file extention (so I can't add the path) but only .exe so I uninstalled Avast, reinstalled (with default firewall settings- blocking inbound packets) and the updates were ok but once I block incoming and outgoing connections and allow all the Avast .exe files/services via rules (in+out), I get the message: "Last encountered error: Cannot connect to downloadxx.avast.com (xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80)". Everything is fine except the updates.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: .: Mac :. on February 12, 2007, 05:39:07 PM
Disable the outbound protection of the vista firewall. If you really want outbound protection invest in a good third party firewall. Most are more configurable than the built in one and some have free versions
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: D1ssident on February 12, 2007, 06:07:36 PM
Vista firewall isn't that bad so I hope that in a near futur, Avast programmers will make it usable for users/admins who want to stick with Vista firewall and block in+out connections.

Someone have a good non-beta third party firewall to suggest?
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: DavidR on February 12, 2007, 06:16:14 PM
Mac is right to say you should seriously consider a third party firewall, the Vista firewall was never going to give the kind of flexibility, configurability or protection of a full blown software firewall. If it did the firewall manufactures would be screaming blue murder and instructing their legal eagles to issue anti-trust/competitive suits about monopoly position, etc.

For me a firewall that 'isn't that bad' 'isn't going to be good enough' certainly not for me, vista or otherwise. I mean it should be a basic option that Vista's outbound protection at the very least ask permission for a process to connect. If you make an error in your decision you should at least be able to correct it and either allow connection or delete the entry for the blocked process, which would force it to ask again.

avast isn't doing that much different to other update processes and a firewall should be flexible enough to cater for multiple configurations for individual files accessing the internet.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: fabrice518 on March 17, 2007, 09:21:04 AM
Hi,

I don't have find your avast.setup on XP and vista !
But you can allow avast update with :

VisthUpd.exe

see U

PS: see my topic :
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=27102.0
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Lisandro on March 17, 2007, 12:54:59 PM
I don't have find your avast.setup on XP and vista !
avast.setup is a temporary file created by setup.ovr file on the <avast>\setup folder.
It's used to update avast.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: reachnet on March 25, 2007, 04:35:40 PM
For those interested and running Vista FW with OB access blocked, just to confirm - these Avast settings work correctly. After getting these to work you can "tighten" the actual ports used.
BTW - you can add avast.setup as an exception - just specify *.* in the files dialog box when looking for it.

Rule1: IE OutBound - general IE access.
Rule2: Avast Web Shield - ashWebSv.exe
Rule3: Avast Mail Scanner - ashMailSv.exe - haven't actually tried this yet.
Rule4: Avast.Setup

After adding the rules - reboot - keeps things simple.

Seems to me Avast will need to be "re-engineered" at some point - the idea of allowing access to a "temp" file is a tad questionnable - although it works.

BTW - you can also get Windows Updates working by adding an exception for svchost - again - you may need to "tighten" the ports afterwards - the firewall runs under svchost. There may be security implications by doing this - haven't had the time to look into that yet.

Cheers, r
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Lisandro on March 25, 2007, 04:39:38 PM
Seems to me Avast will need to be "re-engineered" at some point - the idea of allowing access to a "temp" file is a tad questionnable - although it works.
I think they won't change this... the temporary file has its own meanings... although they never published them (maybe for commercial/security reasons).
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: al968 on March 25, 2007, 04:42:00 PM
If you are looking for alternative Comodo Firewall is a firewall that many people seem happy with, the only bad news is that right now its not compatible with Vista but if you wait about 21 weeks it will be ready.

Please note that Comdo firewall is freee and is the only known antivirus to have passed all known leaktests.

Al968
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: reachnet on March 25, 2007, 04:54:24 PM
I think they won't change this... the temporary file has its own meanings... although they never published them (maybe for commercial/security reasons).

Possibly - if they don't change it they definetly need to officially document it
Correction on my previous post "the firewall runs under svchost" should obviously have been "Windows Update runs under svchost".

I've read the various "slaggings" about MSs two-way FW in Vista and I only actually have one real complaint with it -which is more geared around the fact they probably just didn't have time to implement it within the Vista release timeframe.
The FW (as in XP/SP2) prompts when InBound access is required by Apps/Progs and gives you some idea as to
what that App is.
For OB access - it doesn't give you a darned thing - only the blocks in the FW logs give you any indication where to start.
Users will have no choice but to consult documentation for the Apps in question - which is exactly what MS want - i.e. that's nothing to do with us.
I can imagine some Corps having monumental issues with this and there will be *ALOT* of work required to keep existing Infrastructures up and running.
That said, the FW does what it is documented to do - it just needs more development to be up to competing with third party firewalls etc... which is more than a few years away yet.

r
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Lisandro on March 25, 2007, 05:09:47 PM
Possibly - if they don't change it they definetly need to officially document it
What do you mean? This is a well-known update behavior, there is nothing 'hidden' here.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: reachnet on March 25, 2007, 05:14:58 PM
Possibly - if they don't change it they definetly need to officially document it
What do you mean? This is a well-known update behavior, there is nothing 'hidden' here.

You are of course correct.
http://support.avast.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=25
My bad..

r

Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Lisandro on March 25, 2007, 05:29:07 PM
My bad..
No need to be sorry. By the way, thanks for posting that link.
Maybe it will be useful to this user: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=27338.msg222781#msg222781
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 07, 2009, 02:21:21 PM
yeah, i just ran into this Windows Advanced Firewall issue, Avast won't update itself... tried to add everything i could as an outbound exception but no go...
has this been fixed yet? i see no reason why Avast can't work with Vista/Windows 7 native firewall (considering its a very decent firewall)
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Lisandro on April 07, 2009, 02:24:52 PM
i see no reason why Avast can't work with Vista/Windows 7 native firewall (considering its a very decent firewall)
Neither do we... avast works perfectly with Windows Vista firewall... maybe you mess any configuration (Advanced) and you're experiencing trouble. Can you update with Windows firewall off (disabled)?
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 07, 2009, 02:48:55 PM
yes, it updates fine when 'outbound' connections allowed (turned off), if i block all outbound connections but add all the exceptions i've seen on the boards it still doesn't work, parts of avasts update exes seem to freeze in task manager, until they timeout...

where is a list of exceptions i need to add to advanced firewall outbound protection? in order to get things to work properly, i saw somewhere that there are issues with avast.setup file and how its temporary being one cause of this type of issue, saw that when looking at a thread on the Vista Firewall Control app

help!
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Lisandro on April 07, 2009, 03:47:09 PM
Into the firewall settings, the following programs should be allowed to connect:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe (avast! Web Scanner)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe (avast! e-Mail Scanner Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup (avast! Update executable). This is a temporary file that just appears when an update (check) is about to launch, and disappears again afterwards.

Don't need rights to connect:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe (avast! Update Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service). Although, ashServ.exe sends ping packets to find out if the Internet connection is alive. You can turn this off by checking the "My computer is permanently connected to the Internet" box in the avast Program Settings > Update (Connections) page.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 07, 2009, 09:43:33 PM
i've added the following, no luck... when firewall with outbound protection is on (changed from allow to block) ... avast.setup and VisthUpd.exe hang in the task manager for awhile, then disappear, and not checking for an update

when outbound protection is changed from blocked to allow, all is fine... checking for update takes a second

any other ideas?

Vista Ultimate SP1 32bit

note, firewall functions just fine, every other program i've added from Media Player, IE to IM apps work just fine when rules are added for their respective components, i even have Windows Update working with outbound protection (block) on and i have no other protection software running atm other than Avast

i notice this in the log viewer
setifaceupdatepackages () has failed return code is 0x20000004.
dialog box returns failure connecting to server and hangs there retrying...
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 08, 2009, 06:47:43 PM
*bumping this thread
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: DavidR on April 08, 2009, 07:32:28 PM
The Vista firewall isn't very friendly, perhaps you could try til tool to make life a little easier.

- Vista Firewall Control, check out this topic for some user friendly help for the Vista Firewall, Outbound protection, http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=30234.0 (http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=30234.0)
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 08, 2009, 09:11:11 PM
Windows Vista Advanced Firewall is friendly enough, as long as you know which components of a program to fully allow outbound connections, i can't figure Avast out :P i've tried that little app Vista Firewall Control previously, it does notify me when apps are blocked  and i add them (EnableAll) ... yet Avast still don't connect to the update server, further the app doesn't even look like its adding any outbound rules to the Advanced Firewall itself, no even when run under Admin...

when i had AVG previous to my install of Avast, it updated just fine when i added rules for it, either way... a component is not allowed somewhere, i added what was mentioned a few posts above...

does that little Vista Firewall Control app just stop any outgoing traffic, until you allow it within the app? because i have 'Outbound' connections blocked, under Vistas Advanced Firewall, and if rules aren't being added to both that app and the built in firewall, won't the connections still be stopped by Vista? i do not want to use the Firewall Control app to protect outbound connections....

explain...

edit: yeah i just read though the FAQ on that VFC website, its independent of the built-in Firewall, therefore useless to me and another third-party resource i don't need running on my system...
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: DavidR on April 08, 2009, 09:16:15 PM
I would suggest running this tool to ensure all remnants of AVG are gone - AVG8 Remover, download tool from here, http://www.grisoft.com/ww.download-tools (http://www.grisoft.com/ww.download-tools) there is a 32bit and 64 bit windows version, ensure you use the correct one.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 08, 2009, 09:23:59 PM
seems gone, the log file generated from that had basically removed nothing, because nothing cound be found out of the list of entrys and files it was looking for... i'm quite sure all of AVG is gone, this problem i'm having shouldn't have anything to do with AVG, as refused connections happen when i toggle Outbound as Blocked in Vistas firewall, even with said rules added for Avast

Log pretty much went like this down the line
2009-04-08 19:20:08,136 INFO Processing registry SOFTWARE\AVG\AVG8
2009-04-08 19:20:08,136 DEBUG Key SOFTWARE\AVG\AVG8 ForceRemove
2009-04-08 19:20:08,136 DEBUG Key SOFTWARE\AVG\AVG8 not found
2009-04-08 19:20:08,136 INFO Processing registry SOFTWARE\AVG
2009-04-08 19:20:08,136 DEBUG Key SOFTWARE\AVG Remove
2009-04-08 19:20:08,137 DEBUG Key SOFTWARE\AVG not found
2009-04-08 19:20:08,137 INFO Processing registry aAvgAPI.AvgBro
2009-04-08 19:20:08,137 DEBUG Key aAvgAPI.AvgBro ForceRemove
2009-04-08 19:20:08,137 DEBUG Key aAvgAPI.AvgBro not found
2009-04-08 19:20:08,137 INFO Processing registry AVG.Office
2009-04-08 19:20:08,137 DEBUG Key AVG.Office ForceRemove
2009-04-08 19:20:08,137 DEBUG Key AVG.Office not found
2009-04-08 19:20:08,138 INFO Processing registry AVG.Office.8
2009-04-08 19:20:08,138 DEBUG Key AVG.Office.8 ForceRemove
2009-04-08 19:20:08,138 DEBUG Key AVG.Office.8 not found
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: DavidR on April 08, 2009, 09:43:59 PM
I don't know what else to try as I don't use vista so I'm not familiar with how the vista firewall works.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: YoKenny on April 09, 2009, 01:19:40 AM
does that little Vista Firewall Control app just stop any outgoing traffic, until you allow it within the app? because i have 'Outbound' connections blocked, under Vistas Advanced Firewall, and if rules aren't being added to both that app and the built in firewall, won't the connections still be stopped by Vista? i do not want to use the Firewall Control app to protect outbound connections....

explain...

edit: yeah i just read though the FAQ on that VFC website, its independent of the built-in Firewall, therefore useless to me and another third-party resource i don't need running on my system...
Vista Firewall Control Free is easy to use and makes the Vista firewall manageable for me.

Make sure that the 4 avast! services have inbound and outbound enabled.

I check each application as to why it wants outbound and deny it if I don't want it to but most of them it is just an update check so I find where in the application the update check is requested and if enabled then I permit outbound.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 09, 2009, 01:24:52 AM
from what i can gather Vista Firewall Control, does not work with Vistas actual built-in firewall, it works as a sort of firewall on its own, ie) it won't work right if you have Outbound 'Blocked' under Advanced Firewall, Advanced Firewall has to remain on 'Allow' in order for Vista Firewall Control app to work... otherwise you've basically got two (2) outbound protective barriers in place :P one canceling out the other...

i don't want to use a third-party tool/app just for the sake of using Avast, i'd like to make Avast work with Vistas Advanced Built-In Firewall, as it should... Vista has been around for years, Windows 7 firewall functions in the same way :S
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: DavidR on April 09, 2009, 01:51:13 AM
Well from what I gather it is just an interface to the vista firewall making it easier to configure it, it isn't a firewall in its own right. At just over a 1006KB download it is hardly going to be a firewall in its own right.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: artfuldodga on April 09, 2009, 02:17:04 AM
its a standalone app, not an interface to the Vista built-in Firewall
any other ideas anyone?
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Confused Computer User on April 09, 2009, 06:06:10 AM
Here are two links you might want to look at.

The first is another forum discussion, really short.
http://www.vistax64.com/system-security/86099-vista-firewall-control-standalone-app.html

The second is another forum discussion but gives some pointers on how to figure out the Windows Built in FireWall.
http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/92748-windows-firewall-advanced-security.html
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: YoKenny on April 09, 2009, 06:27:41 AM
When I looked at Vista's native firewall I do not see any entries for avast! so if you have all outbound blocked then avast! can not communicate properly because it has applications that need to communicate outbound at one time or another.  You could figure out what the applications are by trial and error or Vista Firewall Control Free will alert you easily what they are and you can choose to Enable/Deny All the time or One time only.

I'm not a fan of software firewalls as I have written about their being redundant when one is behind a hardware firewall that is included in most high speed Internet modems or are knowledgeable about what is running on their system and what should be communicating outbound so when I saw Vista Firewall Control Free I decided to investigate and saw how easy it was to use and only takes a little over 2MB to run so I decided to keep it.

You may be interested in watching what Bruce Harrison one of the developers of Malwarebytes MBAM has to say about software firewalls that lead me to my way of thinking:
http://www.revver.com/video/1118865/malwarebytes-developer-interview <== software firewall discussion starts about 8 minutes into the video.
Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Malachy on June 26, 2009, 05:28:10 AM
I know this is an old thread, but I just had this problem and wanted to post my solution in case anyone is still having this problem.  Here is how I was able to resolve it...with the understanding that I am using Vista x64 SP1 with Windows Firewall with Advanced Security with outbound connections blocked.  I was having two problems after I installed Avast!: I could not update avast; and I could not browse the web.

To resolve these issues, you need to add two outbound rules:
1.  Add avast.setup.  For me the path is: "%ProgramFiles%\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup"
2.  Add ashWebSv.exe.  For me the path is: "%ProgramFiles%\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe"
Regarding number two, I am guessing (and this is just a guess here) that all web communications in or out (over ports 80, 443, 8080, etc...) pass through the Avast Web Shield...like a proxy.  So if ashWebSv.exe is blocked then the result is like blocking your web clients (firefox, IE, etc...)

I hope this solution works for you...it worked for me.




Title: Re: Vista firewall + Avast updates
Post by: Lisandro on June 26, 2009, 02:18:21 PM
Thanks for reporting.
Welcome to forums. Feel free to come back any time you need help or just to change experiences 8)