Avast WEBforum

Consumer Products => Avast Free Antivirus / Premium Security (legacy Pro Antivirus, Internet Security, Premier) => Topic started by: BURTON on February 18, 2004, 06:39:48 PM

Title: Avast Interface screen again!
Post by: BURTON on February 18, 2004, 06:39:48 PM
Hi,

I have now found out how the VDRB works but I have just recently done another thorough scanb of my pC and the date will not update to show when the last scan was done.  I am doing the following when I do the scan.

Load up avast interface screen.
I then click on Folder Selection
This then brings up a box indicating which folders & drives neeed to be scanned.
I then click on 'My Computer' which ticks every box
Then I press Start.
It then scans away but when it finishes showing the results I then click box goodbye and then go to status screen and see that the date has not updated.

Please could you tell me why!
Title: Re:Avast Interface screen again!
Post by: Lisandro on February 21, 2004, 04:24:09 AM
Hi,

I have now found out how the VDRB works but I have just recently done another thorough scanb of my pC and the date will not update to show when the last scan was done.  I am doing the following when I do the scan.

Load up avast interface screen.
I then click on Folder Selection
This then brings up a box indicating which folders & drives neeed to be scanned.
I then click on 'My Computer' which ticks every box
Then I press Start.
It then scans away but when it finishes showing the results I then click box goodbye and then go to status screen and see that the date has not updated.

Please could you tell me why!

I'm not sure but I thought you have to select 'scan archives' and make a 'full' scanning of all HDD in your system...  :-\
Title: Re:Avast Interface screen again!
Post by: MikeBCda on February 21, 2004, 07:20:37 AM
As Technical suggests, and this seems to have been the experience of others here, you're probably better off selecting "local drives" rather than "folders", since it sounds like you're doing the whole drive anyway.

Maybe the team can figure out -- or already know, and can explain in relatively simple terms -- why the status info seems to update fine if you scan using local drives rather than using folders and including all folders.

(Edit) As a P.S., for the purpose of keeping stats updated I don't think it matters whether or not you include archives in the scan.  I always do anyway, but there have been times in the past when I didn't bother and I'm pretty sure the last-scan info still updated ok.